Bubbles O'Dwyer Swearing

Replying To dstuction:  "I didnt think it was intentional at all. To me thats just normal.
I curse every day and never think much of it. when im around kids and that I try reign it in but I have been know to forget from time to time.

Now add to that that the man won an All Ireland and played unreal then ill forgive him this once.

It is people being way over sensitive."
But he would have surely said "We're the f....king all Ireland champions" not....the unnatural ''We're the champions of fucking Ireland''...that's the only thing I picked up on it...again, not a massive deal just a bit strange is all.

gorby580 (Limerick) - Posts: 165 - 06/09/2016 16:17:37    1910799

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You're missing the point. Look, we all swear and blind on a minute by minute basis without realizing it. But on live national TV, in front of 80,000 people, a bit of restraint isn't much to ask for. He may have thought he was underlining his point by swearing but in reality, all he did was make himself look a bit immature and childish."
Look it wasn't that big a deal. He shouldn't of said it but obviously emotion took over. He said sorry. Let's get over it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2016 18:16:11    1910895

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Nail on head."
Boorish? Get over it please. He said sorry. Let's move on

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2016 18:17:39    1910897

Replying To liner:  "Nothing to do with political correctness.
Boorish behaviour should always be unacceptable."
I agree 100%, boorish behaviour is obnoxious and shouldn't be tolerated. However I wouldn't exactly call Bubbles's interview boorish and I'm not a big fan of people taking offence to harmless words.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/09/2016 19:28:54    1910929

Replying To avonali:  "objecting to someone uettering 'f*cking Ireland' to 80,000 people and a huge televsion audience has nothing to do with 'political correctness'. It's just not appropriate in that context. Some people (not me mind you) still find the f-word offensive. That's not being a nazi for God's sake!!!
The phrase "politiclal correctness nazis' is empty rhetoric."
If somebody finds the word fcuk offensive then that's entirely they're own fault, 'I'm offended' is not an argument, it's a statement and it should never be used as justification to censor other people.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/09/2016 19:33:07    1910931

I would like to see some of ye lads put yer lives on hold for 10 months of every year and to finally get the reward at the end of it, to have a mic shoved in your faces 30 seconds after the final whistle. Fair enough he shouldn't of said it but RTE need to stop this carry on and let the players have 5 minutes to enjoy it. Time for the GPA to step in and protect the players when most vulnerable.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 06/09/2016 20:30:47    1910949

Replying To Htaem:  "I agree 100%, boorish behaviour is obnoxious and shouldn't be tolerated. However I wouldn't exactly call Bubbles's interview boorish and I'm not a big fan of people taking offence to harmless words."
it's getting out of hand the way people get offended these days.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2016 20:31:07    1910950

Replying To therealtmo:  "I would like to see some of ye lads put yer lives on hold for 10 months of every year and to finally get the reward at the end of it, to have a mic shoved in your faces 30 seconds after the final whistle. Fair enough he shouldn't of said it but RTE need to stop this carry on and let the players have 5 minutes to enjoy it. Time for the GPA to step in and protect the players when most vulnerable."
I am sure many players love to make comment. Nobody is forced to comment.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 06/09/2016 21:01:52    1910969

Replying To The_Fridge:  "it's getting out of hand the way people get offended these days."
Ha, easily offended?! And you're the lad who started a thread about how big bad Brian Cody (age 62) is so mean and nasty to the poor little referee and linesman!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 06/09/2016 22:19:54    1910996

Replying To Htaem:  "I agree 100%, boorish behaviour is obnoxious and shouldn't be tolerated. However I wouldn't exactly call Bubbles's interview boorish and I'm not a big fan of people taking offence to harmless words."
His use of the" F" word on live TV with an audience of up to 1m people including young children and tens of thousands of supporters in Croke Park is the very definition of boorishness. Personally I believe the use of the obscenity was contrived and an attempt on his behalf to be one of the lads. We come across this puerile behaviour everyday in our secondary schools. Clearly his attempt to impress has seriously backfired. The comment was unnecessary. He had done his talking on the pitch.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 07/09/2016 00:05:47    1911035

He should not have said it. Like someone said, it sounded forced, like he had said to himself that he was going to swear no matter what. Unless he has Tourettes, there's no excuse. This wasn't Michael Conlan is a rage after losing - it was nowhere near that level of emotion. Tipp had that final in the bag from about 10 minutes out. They led from 0-18 1-14 onwards. O'Dwyer had plenty of time to gather himself and he gets no pass from me.

As for me cursing, my kids don't hold me up as a role model. In fact, they barely tolerate me at this stage.

Bubbles O'Dwyer, after a near-MOTM performance in the All Ireland final, IS a role model and the onus is on him to behave properly.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 07/09/2016 08:27:12    1911060

Replying To The_Fridge:  "it's getting out of hand the way people get offended these days."
Aye , people are probably offended your not offended .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2016 08:40:50    1911070

Replying To Cully:  "He should not have said it. Like someone said, it sounded forced, like he had said to himself that he was going to swear no matter what. Unless he has Tourettes, there's no excuse. This wasn't Michael Conlan is a rage after losing - it was nowhere near that level of emotion. Tipp had that final in the bag from about 10 minutes out. They led from 0-18 1-14 onwards. O'Dwyer had plenty of time to gather himself and he gets no pass from me.

As for me cursing, my kids don't hold me up as a role model. In fact, they barely tolerate me at this stage.

Bubbles O'Dwyer, after a near-MOTM performance in the All Ireland final, IS a role model and the onus is on him to behave properly."
What like you wouldn't be seriously excited after the final whistle in an AI final that you wanted so badly considering the history there and you'd expect to be interviewed 2 minutes later.
Jaysus, you're some man alright.
You could be the next James Bond I'd say.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/09/2016 08:51:33    1911073

Replying To liner:  "His use of the" F" word on live TV with an audience of up to 1m people including young children and tens of thousands of supporters in Croke Park is the very definition of boorishness. Personally I believe the use of the obscenity was contrived and an attempt on his behalf to be one of the lads. We come across this puerile behaviour everyday in our secondary schools. Clearly his attempt to impress has seriously backfired. The comment was unnecessary. He had done his talking on the pitch."
Young children hear worse in the playground and are exposed to strange things like bullying on the internet . It's just a word ,not even projected at anyone to cause offense .

There is many more words that can be used together to cause offense than the f word yet we don't even realise it.

Going a little off topic for a second here but ..

The f word itself and what it represents has very little offensive or negative content in comparison with other words such as racism, rape ,cancer or death.These words can hurt people more than any swear words but its fine to use them in a relative sentence as long as it is not causing offense. Same should be true of the f word.

Bubbles offended no one because he used it in such a context that was purely for emphasis ( even if it was a macho thing, big deal)

Had he said "We are the champions of bloody Ireland" . Is that OK ? He could of accidentally offended relatives to those who died in 1916 -1922 or those in the troubles yet few would even think of that.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2016 09:08:44    1911077

For my sins, I watched the post-match coverage and analysis the other day. Even leaving the cursing aside, he came across as a rather unlikeable individual. But, then again, if he was in the Kilkenny team I wouldn't particularly care if he was Hannibal Lector as long as he did the business on the pitch.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/09/2016 09:20:30    1911083

Replying To gorby580:  "Lads, just interested in what people on here think about Bubbles swearing in his post game interview on RTE? I'm not saying I have a major problem with it as heat of the moment and all that. However, a lot of kids watching and this kind of thing is almost becoming the norm..Mcgregor always doing it...Conlan recently...sportsmen kids watch religiously..just wondering if this is going to keep happening now?"
Its not a big deal.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 09:38:53    1911093

Id imagine that after putting in all of that effort over the last few years and destroying the best corner back in the game on all ireland final day, bubbles would probably be pretty disgusted at the people here who would rather focus on the fact he said the F word in an interview conducted 2 minutes after the final bleedin' whistle.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 09:48:42    1911098

Aw here there's no point in discussing this any further. For emphasis, once again I wasn't offended. Simpletons will probably laud Bubbles for being a great lad for cursing on live TV. Yeah so he'd played a blinder and won the All-Ireland? He's hardly the first man to do that now is he? Off the top of my head I can think of Karl Lacey and Michael Murphy being interviewed straight after our win in 2012. If anything, we'd been starved of success even more so than Tipperary. Yet Karl or Michael didn't feel the need to curse at any begrudgers. And let's face it, there were plenty of people not happy with how we were playing the game.

Your own Peter Canavan was similar in 2003. He could have had a swipe at Spillane's puke football comment post match. Instead he gave a rousing, impassioned speech that no Tyrone Gael will likely ever forget, and he didn't need to swear in it,

There's a wee thing called class. To me it was missing in O'Dwyer's post match interview, pumped up or not.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/09/2016 09:48:56    1911099

Replying To joncarter:  "Id imagine that after putting in all of that effort over the last few years and destroying the best corner back in the game on all ireland final day, bubbles would probably be pretty disgusted at the people here who would rather focus on the fact he said the F word in an interview conducted 2 minutes after the final bleedin' whistle."
So why say it then?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/09/2016 10:25:06    1911124

Replying To gorby580:  "Lads, just interested in what people on here think about Bubbles swearing in his post game interview on RTE? I'm not saying I have a major problem with it as heat of the moment and all that. However, a lot of kids watching and this kind of thing is almost becoming the norm..Mcgregor always doing it...Conlan recently...sportsmen kids watch religiously..just wondering if this is going to keep happening now?"
Without reading through 3 pages of comments on this - I agree completely that this crap has become the norm, too many lads trying to be gas men and make headlines for themselves. O'Dwyer would have made headlines for his outstanding performance and in my eyes at least its slightly tainted by his idiocy in the interview, as you say there are thousands of kids who watched that and he should receive disciplinary action imo.

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 07/09/2016 10:48:00    1911143