Bubbles O'Dwyer Swearing

i was upset because it was wrong grammatically? would it not have been correct to say " we are f....ing all ireland champions?" maybe he wasnt paying attention during english class?!?!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 05/09/2016 20:09:29    1910408

It reflected poorly on him. In any event he apologised and he had a terrific game.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 05/09/2016 20:10:13    1910409

Honestly I'm sure any kids at that match yesterday or any club/county game hears far worse in the stand, people need to keep things in perspective, the guy was completely pumped after playing a blinder .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1916 - 05/09/2016 20:34:53    1910418

He has apologised so I think he realised it wasn't best thing to say but really these daft interviews where players are asked how they feel two minutes after the whistle is just not necessary and players should be left to enjoy the victory without a mic being shoved in their face.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2016 21:10:32    1910434

Very very disappointed to hear he apologised for this, the PC nazi's have won again.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2016 22:11:20    1910447

It was a foolish and crass comment from the lad but I have to say I don't think RTE or anyone else should be shoving mikes in players faces seconds after the full time whistle.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 05/09/2016 22:11:44    1910448

Replying To kavvie:  "i was upset because it was wrong grammatically? would it not have been correct to say " we are f....ing all ireland champions?" maybe he wasnt paying attention during english class?!?!"
Oooo controversial. That sentence of yours can have other connotations. The Cork ladies wouldn't be happy!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/09/2016 22:31:52    1910461

Replying To kavvie:  "i was upset because it was wrong grammatically? would it not have been correct to say " we are f....ing all ireland champions?" maybe he wasnt paying attention during english class?!?!"
Neither were you kavvie!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 05/09/2016 23:01:23    1910475

Replying To Htaem:  "Very very disappointed to hear he apologised for this, the PC nazi's have won again."
Nothing to do with political correctness.
Boorish behaviour should always be unacceptable.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 05/09/2016 23:02:37    1910476

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Oooo controversial. That sentence of yours can have other connotations. The Cork ladies wouldn't be happy!!"
I think the some of the Cork ladies will be very happy!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 05/09/2016 23:04:11    1910477

Replying To Htaem:  "Very very disappointed to hear he apologised for this, the PC nazi's have won again."
objecting to someone uettering 'f*cking Ireland' to 80,000 people and a huge televsion audience has nothing to do with 'political correctness'. It's just not appropriate in that context. Some people (not me mind you) still find the f-word offensive. That's not being a nazi for God's sake!!!
The phrase "politiclal correctness nazis' is empty rhetoric.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2016 23:56:18    1910496

Ah lads give it over I'm sure no kids woke up in the middle of the night screaming with nightmares over what by bubbles said.
It was wrong he admitted it time to move on.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 06/09/2016 00:08:42    1910501

That's what happens when you shove a mic in front of a player when there's still adrenaline coursing through their system...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/09/2016 07:45:25    1910511

Replying To The_Fridge:  "My god would some of ye give over. This please think of the children nonsense is boring and stupid. Just after winning the all Ireland and get slightly carried away. The PC crew all alive and well I see."
You're missing the point. Look, we all swear and blind on a minute by minute basis without realizing it. But on live national TV, in front of 80,000 people, a bit of restraint isn't much to ask for. He may have thought he was underlining his point by swearing but in reality, all he did was make himself look a bit immature and childish.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/09/2016 09:18:08    1910529

Replying To liner:  "Nothing to do with political correctness.
Boorish behaviour should always be unacceptable."
Nail on head.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/09/2016 09:25:07    1910533

I didn't have any issue with the swearing at all. these things happen. He was pumped after all. What i did really annoying was the fact that he referenced the people who had written them off and how they proved them wrong. Pretty sure at the end he also said something about people writing him off and that he proved HIS doubters wrong!!
Tipp won and i was delighted for them but i hate that attitude, it should be enough to be all ireland champions without feeling the need to bog the knife or whatever he was at ( and Donaghy a few years ago)

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/09/2016 10:22:33    1910560

Thought myself there was no need for it and he let himself down a bit but hes apologised for it. He also had another tweet saying that he was getting letters abusing him and his family so that was probably the reason for him being so fired up.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 06/09/2016 11:32:34    1910597

He used a 'bad' word.

No need to apologize he didn't do anything . An amateur sportsman said a boo boo on live t.v after winning a championship ,first world problems.

Too much cotton wool is as bad as none

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 06/09/2016 13:18:18    1910677

The adrenaline rush/it just slipped out/pc gone mad excuses don't apply to this case as it was clearly intentional rather than off the cuff.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 06/09/2016 13:42:18    1910699

I didnt think it was intentional at all. To me thats just normal.
I curse every day and never think much of it. when im around kids and that I try reign it in but I have been know to forget from time to time.

Now add to that that the man won an All Ireland and played unreal then ill forgive him this once.

It is people being way over sensitive.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 06/09/2016 14:41:18    1910744