Bubbles O'Dwyer Swearing

Its funny i was walking down the steps of the Cusack stand yesterday when he interview was happening and just sort of said to myself, did he say what i thought he said? There was so much noise in the stadium that many people werent sure what he even said.

Im sure it was more noticeable on the telly but in fairness kids hear a lot worse these days up at the local pitch etc. Much ado about nothing, if they insist on interviewing sports people straight away after the final whistle then its going to happen, give them a few minutes to enjoy themselves, calm themselves down before sticking a microphone in their face in my opinion.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1353 - 05/09/2016 15:01:23    1910278

How many Hail Marys will he get in confession? Given the public nature of this particular sin; his parish priest will come under pressure to really come down hard on him...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/09/2016 15:19:04    1910282

Replying To TheHermit:  "I was disappointed myself.

Kieran Donaghy gave a memorable line 2 years ago in the same situation but he didn't need to say 'Well Joe Brolly, what do you F-ing thing of that' p- though Plenty of people down here would probably not have been too upset if he said it like that!

Sometimes I think these lads being interviewed on the field after big victories are only trying to copy Star anyway.

It's a if they want to say something dramatic, memorable or controversial so the giff of it gets posted up on Joe.ie or Balls.ie or wherever else, maybe it might make them get a few more twitter followers or get a few more social media hits etc etc.

Ok, he is a young guy, full of adrenaline, being asked straight after a huge moment in his life to talk to a television audience of hundreds of thousands. You can understand why things like that might creep out of a fella's mouth in the exhilaration of the moment.

But I still think you can conduct and should be able to conduct yourself better in those situations. I mean these guys know that whether they like it or not they are expected to be role models for kids. That's part of what comes with being an inter-county player at the highest level.

He didn't try to apologie after it came out of his mouth and that is actually what I find most disappointing, I wouldn't mind it slipping out if he just said sorry, didn't mean that or something."
I disagree.
One comment was pre planned....oh if we win I'm gonna stick it to brolly.
the other was a guy full of emotion after winning the All Ireland. He was just talking normally.

That's obviously my opinion

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 05/09/2016 15:25:11    1910288

They should put up a no swearing sign in Croke Park...now fup off...this is my fupping spot...(said the Dub to the Mayo fan on Hill 16)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 05/09/2016 15:28:25    1910294

Replying To bennybunny:  "How many Hail Marys will he get in confession? Given the public nature of this particular sin; his parish priest will come under pressure to really come down hard on him..."
who would have thought law and order would break down here on Craggy Island?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/09/2016 15:48:00    1910308

Replying To yew_tree:  "They should put up a no swearing sign in Croke Park...now fup off...this is my fupping spot...(said the Dub to the Mayo fan on Hill 16)"
Fupping grasshole

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/09/2016 15:53:45    1910312

Stick a mic in the face of an over-excited or overly-disappointed sports person - expect to hear a couple of f-bombs.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/09/2016 15:56:56    1910314

Thought it was in appropriate. It actually sounded forced: "We're the All-Ireland champions of F**kin Ireland " is not smething you'd say naturally. Also I don't necessarily want my 4 year old to hear that.
I know we have little respect for our politicians now but the President was there in an official capacity. Perhaps players should be reminded they are representing their countries and with that comes with certain responsibilities.
Le t himself down badly in my opinion. But, on the other hand , it's risky business sticking a microphone in to the face of someone who had adrenaline still coursing through the veins.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2016 15:58:25    1910317

Ah lads..seriously????

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 05/09/2016 16:10:52    1910323

Don't get me wrong. I'm no shrinking violet when it comes to a bit of swearing. The wife has threatened a swear jar introduction in the past!
I appreciate that men are men, adrenaline will be pumping etc. But even so, a bit of decorum wouldn't have gone amiss. It did sound forced to me rather than an inadvertent slip of the tongue. But listen - who cares really, let's not get silly here.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 05/09/2016 16:20:55    1910328

Yeh I originally had no problem with this but since I've watched back it certainly did come across as planned and it that case sounded downright immature.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 05/09/2016 16:37:53    1910332

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Don't get me wrong. I'm no shrinking violet when it comes to a bit of swearing. The wife has threatened a swear jar introduction in the past!
I appreciate that men are men, adrenaline will be pumping etc. But even so, a bit of decorum wouldn't have gone amiss. It did sound forced to me rather than an inadvertent slip of the tongue. But listen - who cares really, let's not get silly here."
I would have to agree with you. It wasn't the actual swear word that annoyed me in the interview, it was the manner in which he used it and the manner of his whole interview in general. It didn't seem like a slip of the tongue because if it was accidental I'm sure he would of attempted to apologise or say whoops or something. You could tell last year when Glynn from Galway let something slip he panicked and it definitely seemed like a genuine slip of the tongue. O'Dwyer teammates and manger all gave great interviews and came across really well but O'Dwyer, even taking the swear word out of it, came across as a bit of a so and so. The only thing I can think of is that he must have a lot of haters and had planned to vent his fustration to the whole of Ireland if given the chance but I don't think he went up in any ones estimations as a result of doing so.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 05/09/2016 16:51:45    1910341

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Don't get me wrong. I'm no shrinking violet when it comes to a bit of swearing. The wife has threatened a swear jar introduction in the past!
I appreciate that men are men, adrenaline will be pumping etc. But even so, a bit of decorum wouldn't have gone amiss. It did sound forced to me rather than an inadvertent slip of the tongue. But listen - who cares really, let's not get silly here."
Totally agree that it sounded forced which is obviously worse than accidentally blurting it out...not a big deal but just wondered what people thought..

gorby580 (Limerick) - Posts: 165 - 05/09/2016 16:52:42    1910342

Haha johnny glynns post match bad language last year sounded a bit smoother alright. Bubbles looked like he meant and wanred to say it.
Anyways who cares

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 05/09/2016 16:56:56    1910343

Clearly desperate to be a "viral sensation"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 05/09/2016 17:09:51    1910351

I thought it was f*****g disgraceful.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 05/09/2016 17:19:53    1910354

Couldn't give a fcuk, in fact I love uptight people being rattled a bit, anyway what the is a 'bad' word? They're just words!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2016 17:40:12    1910362

Honestly, I'd have been disappointed if a Kilkenny player did that, but then again if we had beaten our biggest rivals in an All Ireland final, from a scale of 1 to 100 it would probably rank 0.01 in my list of concerns.

But if he is going to curse, he should at least refrain from calling the country "f**king Ireland".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2016 18:26:07    1910383

Honestly, I'd have been disappointed if a Kilkenny player did that, but if we had just beaten our biggest rivals in an All Ireland final, on a scale of 1 to 100 it would be about 0.01 on my list of concerns.

What I would say though, if he is going to curse on live television, don't refer to the country as "f***ing Ireland".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2016 19:53:42    1910404

My god would some of ye give over. This please think of the children nonsense is boring and stupid. Just after winning the all Ireland and get slightly carried away. The PC crew all alive and well I see.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 05/09/2016 20:00:12    1910405