Football Player of the Year 2016

Replying To neverright:  "For me, it rests between Lee Keegan, Peter Harte, Ryan McHugh and Dublin's McMannamon. Harte an McHugh will probably lose out because their teams did not reach the final (it is more of a team award than an individual award), so it will probably come down to which of the other two has most impact in the final. McMannamon''s role is more straight forward, to attack with power and speed, whereas Keegan may have to play a containment role on some Dublin forward and also drive his team fordward. Either would be an excellent recipient of the award."
Hold on. . .

Harte deserves an All-Star but probably only has about a 40% chance of getting one.

McHugh will almost certainly not get one.

There is no way in hell you can realistically suggest McHugh should be in the running for player of the year.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 15/09/2016 17:07:03    1914732

Jonny Cooper or Lee Keegan

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 15/09/2016 17:11:35    1914736

It's a tight call this year. MOTM will probably decide it.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 15/09/2016 18:04:34    1914769

Bar a masterclass by another Dub or Mayo winning the final, has to be Kev Mc doesnt it?

As stated earlier in the thread - class act, no sulking - to be honest I couldn't even recognise his voice if it was played now. A great player to watch and I'm sure the Dubs love him for his attitude.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 15/09/2016 18:06:32    1914770

To this point it has to be Kevin Mc but a sterling display from one of Mayos front runners in the off chance that they win could decide it fin their favour and if they do win maybe because they see to it that 'Sam is coming HOME! (LOL) make the 15 of them collective footballer of the year I see where the Taoiseach is getting in on the act Didn't he call Mayo fans Aall Ireland champion wingers a short time ago Yes we would all love to see Sam in Ballintubber COME ON MAYO

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 15/09/2016 18:17:15    1914777

From a Dublin perspective, if there really was such a thing as Player of the YEAR as opposed to player of the AI series who plays well in the final, which is really what POTY is, then it would have to be Johnny Cooper. He has been immense this year through all of the competitions.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2016 18:40:27    1914784

Replying To Joxer:  "From a Dublin perspective, if there really was such a thing as Player of the YEAR as opposed to player of the AI series who plays well in the final, which is really what POTY is, then it would have to be Johnny Cooper. He has been immense this year through all of the competitions."
Love the way he man handled the Gooch sporting to the last !

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 15/09/2016 18:54:20    1914787

Replying To Joxer:  "Probably the most naturally gifted footballer in the country but can be inconsistent. You only have to look at Sunday. Three unbelievable points, 2 off the right, 1 off the left but two other shocking attempts and a dradful crossfield daisy cutter. Don't get me wrong, he is a genius but for me Johnny or Ciaran have been more consistent. Connolly should get an all-star though."
What about the three points he was fouled for plus at least three or four more he set up

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 15/09/2016 21:06:35    1914839

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Love the way he man handled the Gooch sporting to the last !"
Yeah that's what separates the top teams from the also rans. You don't treat players like Gooch (who is more than capable of handling himself) to a red carpet and a hug when you are playing against them. That's what makes players like Cooper, O'Se, Keegan etc good defenders.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2016 21:20:13    1914843

Replying To dubarra:  "What about the three points he was fouled for plus at least three or four more he set up"
Like I said he's brilliant but just needs to get on the ball more. He has a habit of disappearing for spells but unquestionably the best ball player around.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2016 21:23:25    1914846

What of young footballer of the year ? Surely no one has electrified the scene to the extent that young David Clifford has done I have watched him at College level amazing displays in Chorn Uí Mhuirí final Hogan Cup final Munster Minor final All Ireland semi final have we ever seen as precocious a talent barely 17 the displays in question came when he was only 16 I fear once he moves up to the big boys he will receive the treatment how to stop a star let's enjoy him now and reward his talent and dedication but then Galeay will probably have something to say!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 15/09/2016 21:29:32    1914848

What of young footballer of the year ? Surely no one has electrified the scene to the extent that young David Clifford has done I have watched him at College level amazing displays in Chorn Uí Mhuirí final Hogan Cup final Munster Minor final All Ireland semi final have we ever seen as precocious a talent barely 17 the displays in question came when he was only 16 I fear once he moves up to the big boys he will receive the treatment how to stop a star let's enjoy him now and reward his talent and dedication but then Galeay will probably have something to say!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 15/09/2016 21:30:22    1914850

Replying To cavanman47:  "Read the majority of comments on that article. I think they go a little over-board but they do look past what is lazy journalism.

Almost all teams kicked short kick-outs at times - I played in a club team at underage who were small for their age group and relied entirely on midfielders both running in one direction to free up space for a wing forward to come and collect the kickout in open space. Any that's years before anyone had even heard of Cluxton.

County teams were reluctant to do this all the time as it was seen as admitting that your midfield wasn't capable of winning their own ball. Can you imagine Dublin admitting this with Ciaran Whelan in the middle of the field?? But once they got cleaned out by Darragh O'Se and co in 2009, they were left with little choice."
Ciaran Whelan didn't start against Kerry in 2009. Your point doesn't make sense in light of this.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 15/09/2016 21:45:54    1914856

Replying To 37sowhat:  "What of young footballer of the year ? Surely no one has electrified the scene to the extent that young David Clifford has done I have watched him at College level amazing displays in Chorn Uí Mhuirí final Hogan Cup final Munster Minor final All Ireland semi final have we ever seen as precocious a talent barely 17 the displays in question came when he was only 16 I fear once he moves up to the big boys he will receive the treatment how to stop a star let's enjoy him now and reward his talent and dedication but then Galeay will probably have something to say!"
Young player goes to players in senior setups usually.

What is the age limit actually?

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 15/09/2016 21:54:29    1914860

I'd have felt Bryan Fenton has been Dublin's best player this year so far.

The guy just never makes the wrong decision.

Cleaned Kerry out in the first 20 minutes of the semi-final.

He's doesn't have the spectacular moments of some but by god is he effective.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 15/09/2016 21:58:53    1914867

Would love to see the son of a Spa (Killarney) man win it like myself a Kerryman born in exile!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 15/09/2016 22:13:06    1914877

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Ciaran Whelan didn't start against Kerry in 2009. Your point doesn't make sense in light of this."
he came on after 15 minutes!!

but sure why address the actual point, eh?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 16/09/2016 00:15:29    1914919

Replying To Whammo86:  "Young player goes to players in senior setups usually.

What is the age limit actually?"
You have to qualify for U21 during the year in question.

It has to be Diarmuid O'Connor, no other U21 has had his impact.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 16/09/2016 02:20:33    1914937

Nowadays footballer and hurler of the year is based mainly on all Ireland final performance
If right was right Austin Gleeson should be hurler of the year but won't get it as Waterford didn't contest Final
Fenton been playing well all year but if Connolly scores 6 points from play on Sunday he will definitely get it.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 16/09/2016 09:51:35    1914964

Replying To cavanman47:  "he came on after 15 minutes!!

but sure why address the actual point, eh?"
You state that Dublin management couldn't admit that they had to re think their kick out strategy with Whelan on the field but Whelan barely started any games in 2009. The first choice midfield was McConnell and MaGee.

You state that the performance of Darragh O'Sé and company that year altered this by cleaning out Whelan but when Whelan came on after 15 minutes, Dublin were already miles behind and in big trouble. It would have taken a performance of superhuman proportions for Whelan to alter the momentum / result at that point.

You state that management couldn't admit that the Dublin midfield wasn't capable of winning their own ball at this point but the link provided by a previous poster (below) showed that Cluxton was kicking short(er) well before 2009.

This is why I don't think your point makes sense.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 16/09/2016 13:32:00    1915086