Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Replying To plike:  "Three times more Dubs sucking it all up on the morning after. No surprises there then"
????

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 07:31:40    1907907

Replying To plike:  "I really love kids too... but... I couldn't possibly eat a whole one. Football? It's a game. If you want a religious experience, go to a church. If you want to wrap yourself in a national flag and bawl a national anthem, get a British passport and develop a taste for the Olympics."
And I guess if you want a lesson in how to play football down in Kerry, you should go to Dublin.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 09:04:52    1907921

Replying To bennybunny:  "Yes is the answer to your question.

I have reffed loads of games myself. I have reffed games involving my own club (challenge games and underage games) and never went out to screw the opposition over. Referees are humans. You are right. They make mistakes- of course they do. I like to trust that they are honest mistakes and the referee does not intentionally go out of his way to do a team out of it. Therefore, logically speaking it is an irrelevance where he is from. If he is a dishonest person, this is more relevant than where he is from also. A different issue.

In terms of David Gough's performance yesterday, he was actually excellent. He got one or two calls wrong - would you have gotten every call right? Are you as fit as him? are you able to keep up with the play at that speed and make those decisions in a split second without the view of a TV camera? If you are, then no doubt you'll be reffing intercounty games soon as well - maybe they'll even put you forward for the final (Dublin v Mayo). Hopefully, after all your training etc nobody will hurl objects at you or accuse you of bias."
Benny bunny I would not have a chance my money is on Joe McQuillan he is always around for Dublins big games they like him'!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 30/08/2016 09:31:56    1907930

My comments not liked eh?

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 30/08/2016 09:41:06    1907933

Replying To royaldunne:  "And I guess if you want a lesson in how to play football down in Kerry, you should go to Dublin."
Lots of Kerry blood in that Dublin bunch that's why you might have a point Would recommend the triumvirate of McQuillan Gough and Goldrick as rules instructors no one else knows them -the rules I mean

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 30/08/2016 09:47:52    1907936

Replying To royaldunne:  "And I guess if you want a lesson in how to play football down in Kerry, you should go to Dublin."
Thanks for the advice. I love a bit of ancient history so I do. When was the last time a ball was kicked to any useful purpose in Meath? I also seem to recall that ye were fairly handy at the black arts. Ye must be either sick with nostalgia or suffering from dementia to forget all that...

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 30/08/2016 09:49:03    1907939

Replying To plike:  "Thanks for the advice. I love a bit of ancient history so I do. When was the last time a ball was kicked to any useful purpose in Meath? I also seem to recall that ye were fairly handy at the black arts. Ye must be either sick with nostalgia or suffering from dementia to forget all that..."
Unfortunately its 15 years ago since we had a good cheering session, but dont worry with Andy mc it wont be too Long until we return.
The good thing about Meath is we accept we not world beaters anymore and know we have journey to go, now if we could only beat Clare +2 and Tipp to get to Ai semi we might still have delusions of grandeur, but sure we all cant be that lucky

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 10:01:59    1907944

Replying To dingle2:  "Just home from game.

A few eejits threw programmes and some rolled up copies of the Sunday papers down on him. He couldn't have asked for confetti could he but it actually amounted to the same...bits of paper."
And is that acceptable in your opinion?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 10:03:46    1907946

FFS if anyone thinks this was a bad ref display they haven't been at many games!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/08/2016 11:12:21    1907993

Replying To royaldunne:  "Unfortunately its 15 years ago since we had a good cheering session, but dont worry with Andy mc it wont be too Long until we return.
The good thing about Meath is we accept we not world beaters anymore and know we have journey to go, now if we could only beat Clare +2 and Tipp to get to Ai semi we might still have delusions of grandeur, but sure we all cant be that lucky"
The thing is you wouldn't beat either Clare or Tipp with your current team.
No manager will change that the simple fact is Meath football is cat look at the club scene, clubs get beaten in the first round of Leinster year after year.
So as much as you like knocking Kerry I'd much rather be in our shoes than the abysmal mess that meath football is.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/08/2016 11:15:51    1908000

Replying To westkerry:  "The thing is you wouldn't beat either Clare or Tipp with your current team.
No manager will change that the simple fact is Meath football is cat look at the club scene, clubs get beaten in the first round of Leinster year after year.
So as much as you like knocking Kerry I'd much rather be in our shoes than the abysmal mess that meath football is."
Well we have something in common, Dublin own us both in footballing terms,
And lets Wai and see what players we have when properly managed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 12:02:33    1908023

Replying To ziggy32001:  "FFS if anyone thinks this was a bad ref display they haven't been at many games!"
Ziggy its called the ostrich effect, bury head in sands, then Kerry folk can claim dubs still not as good as them, and only for ref, games been stolen , not turning up, yeraa yerraa. They actually think they are still better than them, its kinda sad in one way, but sure just look at what they send to dail, I mean honestly , god mother nature and pro drink driving gombeems, I am sure there is intelligent Kerry people who accept Dublin are way out in front of them at present and barring two very lucky goals the scoreline would have been more reflective of the gulf in class at present.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 12:10:17    1908028

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well we have something in common, Dublin own us both in footballing terms,
And lets Wai and see what players we have when properly managed."
I think that's fantasy stuff.
We lost in the 74 minute on Sunday we weren't hammered as Meath have been consistently.
Regarding the players, no minor success, no under 21 success, no junior success at county level. No investment in Parc Taitieann for years one of the worst grounds in the country.
Blame the O'Dowd all you want but that's not the issue at all.
I'd go as far as to say Andy's current team Ballybodden are stronger than Meath.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/08/2016 12:39:41    1908044

Replying To ziggy32001:  "FFS if anyone thinks this was a bad ref display they haven't been at many games!"
Very well said

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/08/2016 13:15:34    1908069

Replying To westkerry:  "I think that's fantasy stuff.
We lost in the 74 minute on Sunday we weren't hammered as Meath have been consistently.
Regarding the players, no minor success, no under 21 success, no junior success at county level. No investment in Parc Taitieann for years one of the worst grounds in the country.
Blame the O'Dowd all you want but that's not the issue at all.
I'd go as far as to say Andy's current team Ballybodden are stronger than Meath."
Ahh come on man, Dublin are very far infront of Kerry and indeed all counties. Will you stop thinking your a super power in senior football, id hazard a guess and say you just about top 4, behind dubs mayo and Tyrone just barely ahead of Donegal.
As for Meath lets just wait and see, but I tell you one thing, O'Sullivan keoghan Rooney Reilly on a Kerry team last Sunday and you might have won with the help of the two flukey goals.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 13:52:07    1908096

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

Liamwalkinstown
Dublin

HS Posters upset at the Ref -

Not from Kerry! One thing really making me smile in the last few days is the amt of sour heads on here that the Dubs won Sunday and how many of them are blaming the ref...

99% of them are NOT from Kerry

Cavan, Mayo (cavanman, liner etc)

None or very few from Kerry tho.......

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 30/08/2016 15:46:27    1908179

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh come on man, Dublin are very far infront of Kerry and indeed all counties. Will you stop thinking your a super power in senior football, id hazard a guess and say you just about top 4, behind dubs mayo and Tyrone just barely ahead of Donegal.
As for Meath lets just wait and see, but I tell you one thing, O'Sullivan keoghan Rooney Reilly on a Kerry team last Sunday and you might have won with the help of the two flukey goals."
The top 2 teams played on Sunday, streets ahead of the rest.
You don't like Kerry just pure jealousy my man, you hammered US in 2001 and went into a nose dive since - we haven't.
PS not one meath man one make the Kerry panel let alone team.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/08/2016 16:04:06    1908194

Replying To westkerry:  "The top 2 teams played on Sunday, streets ahead of the rest.
You don't like Kerry just pure jealousy my man, you hammered US in 2001 and went into a nose dive since - we haven't.
PS not one meath man one make the Kerry panel let alone team."
To be fair, I'd say Reilly and Keogan would both be strong contenders to start for Kerry. I'm sure a few others would be pushing for a place in the 26 too.

I think RD got under your skin.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 30/08/2016 16:45:44    1908215

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ziggy its called the ostrich effect, bury head in sands, then Kerry folk can claim dubs still not as good as them, and only for ref, games been stolen , not turning up, yeraa yerraa. They actually think they are still better than them, its kinda sad in one way, but sure just look at what they send to dail, I mean honestly , god mother nature and pro drink driving gombeems, I am sure there is intelligent Kerry people who accept Dublin are way out in front of them at present and barring two very lucky goals the scoreline would have been more reflective of the gulf in class at present."
I think that the goals were brilliantly executed. The first showed decision making, skill and improvisation of the highest standard. I have not seen a better goal all year. The second goal showed opportunism and perfect timing on the part of the forward. Both goals demonstrated what happens when forwards are alert and backs fall asleep.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/08/2016 16:45:49    1908216

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh come on man, Dublin are very far infront of Kerry and indeed all counties. Will you stop thinking your a super power in senior football, id hazard a guess and say you just about top 4, behind dubs mayo and Tyrone just barely ahead of Donegal.
As for Meath lets just wait and see, but I tell you one thing, O'Sullivan keoghan Rooney Reilly on a Kerry team last Sunday and you might have won with the help of the two flukey goals."
Dublin are ahead of us but not by that much. The last 5 minutes showed they have the legs on us but we are well able to match them for football something Meath couldn't really do the last few years. Sure this year they toyed with ye in the last 10 minutes and proved how poor Meath football is at the minute. The only player I would take there is Keoghan because he is a top defender. We have plenty of O Sullivan's on the Kerry team , Rooney isn't mobile enough and we also are stocked with options in Midfield and Reilly is hit and miss.
We pushed up on Dublin's kick outs and made them make mistakes and got rewarded with a goal ye just conceded the kick out if I recall, Meath lay down and rolled over for Dublin.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 30/08/2016 16:45:52    1908218