Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Replying To MesAmis:  "Reality is he got a number if significant calls wrong in the last 15 mins in particular, almost exclusively making those calls in favour of Dublin......reality is game now finished, Dublin through to final again and probably just about deserved it on their overall performance.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts:255 - 29/08/2016 13:19:28

No that's not the reality.

He got one call wrong (from a Kerry pov) from what I can see. Kev Mc's challenge should have been a free in. However it was a very difficult call to make.

O'Mahoney's challenge was a much more obvious call he missed but these things happen.

All the other calls that there has been crying over from Kerry when looked at seem to have been the correct call to be fair."
well that's not true. .

What is the punishment for abusing match officials?

What punishment did Philly McMahon receive for abusing a match official?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 29/08/2016 14:16:06    1907599

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Reality is he got a number if significant calls wrong in the last 15 mins in particular, almost exclusively making those calls in favour of Dublin......reality is game now finished, Dublin through to final again and probably just about deserved it on their overall performance.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts:255 - 29/08/2016 13:19:28

No that's not the reality.

He got one call wrong (from a Kerry pov) from what I can see. Kev Mc's challenge should have been a free in. However it was a very difficult call to make.

O'Mahoney's challenge was a much more obvious call he missed but these things happen.

All the other calls that there has been crying over from Kerry when looked at seem to have been the correct call to be fair."
well that's not true. .

What is the punishment for abusing match officials?

What punishment did Philly McMahon receive for abusing a match official?"
Philly could've gotten black as could maybe 2 Kerry players.

The two shoulders were called wrong but were difficult calls.

Kerry got plenty going for them from Gough and yet some eejits abuse him coming off the field.

The mind really boggles at things like this.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/08/2016 14:37:00    1907617

Look,
Kerry gave up the lead and the momentum, you cannot ever blame the outcome of a game on 1 decision. If Kerry had more scores at the end of the game they would have won, that is the only FACT out there. Scores happen throughout the game, incidents happen throughout the game, the game is never decided on what happens in the last few minutes. It is decided on the final score which is a culmination of what happened throughout the entire game. If you are worried that stuff like this might happen ion the last minute, then make bloody sure you are ahead enough to still win the game.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 29/08/2016 14:58:58    1907642

The mind boggles indeed. There were a number of bad calls on both sides. I didn't see these soft frees for Dublin in the last 15. Which frees were soft? A kerry player touched the ball on the ground when Mannion fumbled, clearly shown on TSG. Brogan was taken out when clear through. This should have been a black card but wasn't. Not sure how that would favour Dublin. Crowley's tackle was a foul no doubt but it happened very quickly with the ball to be won. O'Mahony's on McMahon was equally as bad except the ball was long gone. It could have been a red. Dublin had other decisions go against them also, hop ball when they were in possession because the ref wanted to halt for a Kerry player on the ground for example. There were poor calls on both sides. In a game of this intensity it's to be expected.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2016 15:04:20    1907645

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "link"
All of the ball over all of the line.

That's not the angle you're looking for bud to prove it was a goal.

Go again."
Lads it was a goal. It was a great call by the umpire, unsighted or not. It's like a close offside in soccer where they look at it from five different angles and say grudgingly 'the linesman just about got that right'. He either got it right or he didn't and if he did it's ten out of ten not eight out of ten. It made Dublin play that little bit harder but obviously didn't affect the outcome of the game. Now deep breaths and repeat after me 'it was a goal but Dublin won'."]I thought it was a goal too on first viewing but unlike you I cannot be definite in my assertion.

Any photo or replay shown of the goal so far is inconclusive. Hawkeye should be used for these incidents."]The umpire thought it was a goal, from six feet away, the referee thought it was a goal, otherwise he would have overruled the umpire as he did later on from much further away and the camera angle suggests it was a goal. So if it walks like a duck etc. I'd be inclined to go with the goal. If you choose to believe it isn't a goal then rock on my friend, we'll just agree to differ.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/08/2016 15:16:26    1907655

Replying To Joxer:  "The mind boggles indeed. There were a number of bad calls on both sides. I didn't see these soft frees for Dublin in the last 15. Which frees were soft? A kerry player touched the ball on the ground when Mannion fumbled, clearly shown on TSG. Brogan was taken out when clear through. This should have been a black card but wasn't. Not sure how that would favour Dublin. Crowley's tackle was a foul no doubt but it happened very quickly with the ball to be won. O'Mahony's on McMahon was equally as bad except the ball was long gone. It could have been a red. Dublin had other decisions go against them also, hop ball when they were in possession because the ref wanted to halt for a Kerry player on the ground for example. There were poor calls on both sides. In a game of this intensity it's to be expected."
AOM made no attempt to play that ball alright

Completely blocked the run and deliberately frontal shouldered P Mc because he knew he was under pressure because Philly had the legs on him, he completely played the man when the ball was gone.

Black card all day long

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 15:17:43    1907656

Getting back to the topic it is never acceptable to abuse a ref. It reflects poorly on the association if they dont come out strongly against such behaviour. The person(s) concerned should be banned for life from attending GAA matches, that would send out a clear message. It is however notable and depressingly predictable that the indo decided to highlight this negative incident after such a thrilling exhibition of football from both teams.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/08/2016 15:19:10    1907659

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Ill admit its stupid IF you tell me the last time a Connacht ref eg Marty Duffy Michael Duffy or Paddy Neilan did a major champ game involving Mayo ??? It wouldnt happen. In fact in 2007 laois dublin leinster final aidan mangan from kerry was appointed then removed because liam kearns laois manager was from near him."
It is not that is stupid - it is irrelevant. Referees are decent, honest people. It does not matter where they are from.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2016 15:19:47    1907660

Replying To bennybunny:  "It is not that is stupid - it is irrelevant. Referees are decent, honest people. It does not matter where they are from."
That's what the boxers thought before Rio Benny :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2016 16:06:21    1907691

Replying To bennybunny:  "It is not that is stupid - it is irrelevant. Referees are decent, honest people. It does not matter where they are from."
Are you honestly saying that in theory you would be happy for Cork to play all future games with a referee from the county they are playing against? I highly doubt that.

A referee is human. If anyone moved to a different part of the country, they would form a bond with the area. Myself, I lived in Waterford for a while. I go out of my way to find out how they get on in hurling and watch their games on tv. Did i do this before? No. While the referee may believe they have no problem reffing fairly, they will subconsciously make 50/50 decisions that benefit the place they live and work in.

The referee was awful yesterday in the closing stages of the game. He did not intend to have a poor game, but he did. There is never an excuse to hurl objects at someone. I'm very embarrassed and ashamed as a Kerryman of those who did. Hopefully those responsible for it are caught and weeded out of the sport altogether.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 29/08/2016 16:43:15    1907721

Absolutely no place for that in any sport.These clowns should be banned if identifable. Every game will have contentious decisions and particularly for the loosers.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/08/2016 17:00:14    1907729

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Absolutely no place for that in any sport.These clowns should be banned if identifable. Every game will have contentious decisions and particularly for the loosers."
I saw one aul fella being plucked from the crowd by the Gardaí. Wonder if anything will come of it.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 17:52:25    1907755

Replying To CroiGorm:  "I saw one aul fella being plucked from the crowd by the Gardaí. Wonder if anything will come of it."
You would hope that something would come of it but I'd be surprised if I'm honest if he got more than a word in his ear.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/08/2016 18:05:15    1907767

Regardless of the refs performance, you can never justify the behaviour of some Kerry fans at the end of the game yesterday. Not just the reaction to the ref.

I've heard stories from the lower cusack yesterday lads who've been going to matches for years felt the atmosphere from Kerry fans was to put it mildly very hostile, even with kids present.

Not saying our fans are whiter then white and there is a bad element in every county, but some of the stuff that went on yesterday was awful and not something I ever associated with Kerry.

It's a great shame as the team gave them a lot to be proud of.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2016 19:25:29    1907784

Replying To mod:  "Getting back to the topic it is never acceptable to abuse a ref. It reflects poorly on the association if they dont come out strongly against such behaviour. The person(s) concerned should be banned for life from attending GAA matches, that would send out a clear message. It is however notable and depressingly predictable that the indo decided to highlight this negative incident after such a thrilling exhibition of football from both teams."
*Cough* Mayo Mick. *Cough*.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 29/08/2016 19:29:45    1907786

Ref should never be subject to physical abuse. I find it interesting though that the ref in question is from Meath, living in Dublin and coaches at Kevin Mc's club in Dublin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/08/2016 21:39:45    1907838

Replying To royaldunne:  "How was this comment allowed?
Honestly suggesting even if jokingly, to throw objects at a official? Hs is at a very low ebb if this is what is now considered appropriate."
I really love kids too... but... I couldn't possibly eat a whole one. Football? It's a game. If you want a religious experience, go to a church. If you want to wrap yourself in a national flag and bawl a national anthem, get a British passport and develop a taste for the Olympics.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2016 21:48:59    1907844

Replying To plike:  "Objects thrown at that ref? Well, if you must, might I suggest some or all of the following:

1) varifocals

2) the rulebook

3) a Zimmer frame"
Three times more Dubs sucking it all up on the morning after. No surprises there then

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2016 21:50:30    1907846

Replying To CletusVanDamme:  "Are you honestly saying that in theory you would be happy for Cork to play all future games with a referee from the county they are playing against? I highly doubt that.

A referee is human. If anyone moved to a different part of the country, they would form a bond with the area. Myself, I lived in Waterford for a while. I go out of my way to find out how they get on in hurling and watch their games on tv. Did i do this before? No. While the referee may believe they have no problem reffing fairly, they will subconsciously make 50/50 decisions that benefit the place they live and work in.

The referee was awful yesterday in the closing stages of the game. He did not intend to have a poor game, but he did. There is never an excuse to hurl objects at someone. I'm very embarrassed and ashamed as a Kerryman of those who did. Hopefully those responsible for it are caught and weeded out of the sport altogether."
Yes is the answer to your question.

I have reffed loads of games myself. I have reffed games involving my own club (challenge games and underage games) and never went out to screw the opposition over. Referees are humans. You are right. They make mistakes- of course they do. I like to trust that they are honest mistakes and the referee does not intentionally go out of his way to do a team out of it. Therefore, logically speaking it is an irrelevance where he is from. If he is a dishonest person, this is more relevant than where he is from also. A different issue.

In terms of David Gough's performance yesterday, he was actually excellent. He got one or two calls wrong - would you have gotten every call right? Are you as fit as him? are you able to keep up with the play at that speed and make those decisions in a split second without the view of a TV camera? If you are, then no doubt you'll be reffing intercounty games soon as well - maybe they'll even put you forward for the final (Dublin v Mayo). Hopefully, after all your training etc nobody will hurl objects at you or accuse you of bias.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2016 22:46:12    1907867

Just home from game.

A few eejits threw programmes and some rolled up copies of the Sunday papers down on him. He couldn't have asked for confetti could he but it actually amounted to the same...bits of paper.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 29/08/2016 23:20:08    1907884