Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "link"
All of the ball over all of the line.

That's not the angle you're looking for bud to prove it was a goal.

Go again."
Lads it was a goal. It was a great call by the umpire, unsighted or not. It's like a close offside in soccer where they look at it from five different angles and say grudgingly 'the linesman just about got that right'. He either got it right or he didn't and if he did it's ten out of ten not eight out of ten. It made Dublin play that little bit harder but obviously didn't affect the outcome of the game. Now deep breaths and repeat after me 'it was a goal but Dublin won'."]I thought it was a goal too on first viewing but unlike you I cannot be definite in my assertion.

Any photo or replay shown of the goal so far is inconclusive. Hawkeye should be used for these incidents.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 29/08/2016 11:02:44    1907425

Replying To Murph:  "Dublin got the 50 50 decisions toda if you watch match again. It's stupid to say one decision cancels another. That's not how it works. Question is how come a Leinster ref has always been in charge of Dublin Kerry? Anyone find it strange? Well done Dublin bte"
I certainly don't find it strange anyway...or relevant. If anything appointing a ref from Meath (their arch enemies) should favour the opposition. It doesn't matter though as these guys are honest, decent people that referee the game fairly and with the best intentions.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2016 11:03:38    1907427

It's grand lads

I'm hearing that the Kerry supporters who were throwing programs at the ref were only doing a bit of recycling and unfortunately missed the green bin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 11:43:06    1907460

Objects thrown at that ref? Well, if you must, might I suggest some or all of the following:

1) varifocals

2) the rulebook

3) a Zimmer frame

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2016 11:49:12    1907463

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "link"

Go again."
Lads it was a goal. It was a great call by the umpire, unsighted or not. It's like a close offside in soccer where they look at it from five different angles and say grudgingly 'the linesman just about got that right'. He either got it right or he didn't and if he did it's ten out of ten not eight out of ten. It made Dublin play that little bit harder but obviously didn't affect the outcome of the game. Now deep breaths and repeat after me 'it was a goal but Dublin won'."]I thought it was a goal too on first viewing but unlike you I cannot be definite in my assertion.

Any photo or replay shown of the goal so far is inconclusive. Hawkeye should be used for these incidents."]Exactly Mes

It was/is highly inconclusive

Yet Kerry got the call in their favour, plenty of umpires wouldn't have given it

A call worth 3 points

And as pointed out by JayP

The same umpire also gave a score that was well wide, he had a bit of an eventful afternoon

So did Kerry benefit from a dubious / inconclusive call worth 3 points at a very advantageous time?

Yes they did.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 11:53:54    1907469

Replying To bennybunny:  "I certainly don't find it strange anyway...or relevant. If anything appointing a ref from Meath (their arch enemies) should favour the opposition. It doesn't matter though as these guys are honest, decent people that referee the game fairly and with the best intentions."
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2016 12:20:42    1907494

Not quite at the Marty Duffy level but a very poor performance form Gough yesterday.

1: The tackle on Crowley was nowhere near a fair shoulder. An easy red card.
2: McManamon fisted the ball wide, never a 45
3: Refused to even consult HawkEye on dubious Murphy wide which looked close
4:Shoulder on Philly McMahon was not legal. At least yellow.
5: Very soft free for Dublin near the end (not the Brogan one)
6: I'll never figure what he done at the end, why black card Costello for an infringement but no free for it? Strange.
7: He was well able to spot frees miles away on Dubs lads jerseys being pulled but wasn't even looking ahead of the play anytime Kerry were looked to kick ball inside.

rossie1996 (Roscommon) - Posts: 143 - 29/08/2016 12:42:58    1907517

Replying To rossie1996:  "Not quite at the Marty Duffy level but a very poor performance form Gough yesterday.

6: I'll never figure what he done at the end, why black card Costello for an infringement but no free for it? Strange.
7: He was well able to spot frees miles away on Dubs lads jerseys being pulled but wasn't even looking ahead of the play anytime Kerry were looked to kick ball inside."
I think we are getting away from the topic at hand here.

If a ref performs poorly are we allowed to hurl objects at him from now on?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 12:51:13    1907521

Replying To rossie1996:  "Not quite at the Marty Duffy level but a very poor performance form Gough yesterday.

7: He was well able to spot frees miles away on Dubs lads jerseys being pulled but wasn't even looking ahead of the play anytime Kerry were looked to kick ball inside."
So people throwing stuff at him was justified because of your above points?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 12:53:10    1907525

My understanding is that the Hawkeye operator contacts the ref if a shot needs to be checked.
I agree with your other points.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/08/2016 12:57:23    1907529

So what you are saying is that this sets the precedent now, we can all throw stuff at ref if we feel aggrieved by any decisions?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2016 13:01:54    1907534

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=Llaw_Gyffes:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "link"

Go again."

Any photo or replay shown of the goal so far is inconclusive. Hawkeye should be used for these incidents."]Exactly Mes

It was/is highly inconclusive

Yet Kerry got the call in their favour, plenty of umpires wouldn't have given it

A call worth 3 points

And as pointed out by JayP

The same umpire also gave a score that was well wide, he had a bit of an eventful afternoon

So did Kerry benefit from a dubious / inconclusive call worth 3 points at a very advantageous time?

Yes they did."]All the angles of the goal and people cant make up their mind but in that split second the umpire got in a unbelievable position and made a great call. best man in the whole of croke park whether you think it was right or wrong he was the best man to call it.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 29/08/2016 13:02:07    1907535

Replying To plike:  "Objects thrown at that ref? Well, if you must, might I suggest some or all of the following:

1) varifocals

2) the rulebook

3) a Zimmer frame"
How was this comment allowed?
Honestly suggesting even if jokingly, to throw objects at a official? Hs is at a very low ebb if this is what is now considered appropriate.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2016 13:04:49    1907539

As a kerryman i agree with those who say it was disgraceful scenes after the game, I was in the Upper cusack and had a good view of the ref coming off the pitch. It is not what we expect from GAA fans, let alone from our own county.
They would do very well to watch Eamon Fitzmaurices post match interview, he is an example of good grace and dignity in defeat, and chose not to even comment when asked about the ref by RTE directly after the game. Yes gough gave Dublin some soft frees, but no referee deserves to leave a pitch like that.

Mossycurr (Kerry) - Posts: 8 - 29/08/2016 13:10:02    1907543

It is never ok to hit a ref. The Gardai need to look at footage and take action.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 29/08/2016 13:12:33    1907545

To be fair I don't see anyone trying to defend throwing items at the ref ............what is very notable is that it's Dubs and Meath posters almost exclusively defending Gough.

Reality is he got a number if significant calls wrong in the last 15 mins in particular, almost exclusively making those calls in favour of Dublin......reality is game now finished, Dublin through to final again and probably just about deserved it on their overall performance.

Frustration for people us that yet again in a major game a ref appears to have got a number of big calls wrong.....predict now expect the same controversy next week in hurling final( another Leinster ref appointed again)

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 29/08/2016 13:19:28    1907555

Please can we keep thus topic on subject, objects been thrown at a official.
If you want to discuss the refs performance in general, set up a new thread.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2016 13:41:19    1907571

Replying To royaldunne:  "Please can we keep thus topic on subject, objects been thrown at a official.
If you want to discuss the refs performance in general, set up a new thread."
Because theres nothing to say on a thread about that. It s disgraceful and should be punishèd . End of. Whats to discuss ?

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 29/08/2016 13:52:41    1907580

Reality is he got a number if significant calls wrong in the last 15 mins in particular, almost exclusively making those calls in favour of Dublin......reality is game now finished, Dublin through to final again and probably just about deserved it on their overall performance.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts:255 - 29/08/2016 13:19:28

No that's not the reality.

He got one call wrong (from a Kerry pov) from what I can see. Kev Mc's challenge should have been a free in. However it was a very difficult call to make.

O'Mahoney's challenge was a much more obvious call he missed but these things happen.

All the other calls that there has been crying over from Kerry when looked at seem to have been the correct call to be fair.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 29/08/2016 13:57:06    1907587

Replying To browncows:  "Stupid comment!! Most of the population of this country work in Dublin and many play football for their own county - is that a problem"
Ill admit its stupid IF you tell me the last time a Connacht ref eg Marty Duffy Michael Duffy or Paddy Neilan did a major champ game involving Mayo ??? It wouldnt happen. In fact in 2007 laois dublin leinster final aidan mangan from kerry was appointed then removed because liam kearns laois manager was from near him.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 29/08/2016 14:05:00    1907595