Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Replying To mactomac:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness if there was a lot of handy frees given to Dublin

topdownfan (Down) - Posts:457 - 28/08/2016 21:43:20   1907183 

Same as every single close game (and some not so close) that Dublin have ever won according to many.

Excuse us if we take this with a pinch of salt.

The culchies who cried wolf."
Gee Admin enough of the "culchies".
There is a reason we don't hear this derogatory on main stream media.

Excellent game of football, well done to Dublin who won the game honestly in my opinion. Hard luck to Kerry who battled well and will take loads of positives away from this semi final.

Note to referees - leave Dublin be, they are well capable of winning on their own steam.

Note to the GAA - Going forward please remember there are 4 provinces in Ireland. Pick a referee from any of the 2 not in the semi final of the AI final and it will be generally seen as fair by the whole country."
So if a certain referee from Ulster gets the All-Ireland final, nobody will raise an eyebrow??

For what it's worth, a Laois man should get it - Deegan is about the only decent ref left at this stage.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 29/08/2016 08:53:26    1907292

Replying To Murph:  "Dublin got the 50 50 decisions toda if you watch match again. It's stupid to say one decision cancels another. That's not how it works. Question is how come a Leinster ref has always been in charge of Dublin Kerry? Anyone find it strange? Well done Dublin bte"
He from bloody Meath, if you really think a Meath ref is going to favour the Dubs you're not thinking straight. It's lilke suggesting a Cork ref would favour Kerry or a Tyrone ref would favour Donegal. Madness.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 08:54:38    1907294

Had he given a free for the shoulder on Crowley we would almost certainly be looking at a replay next week and posters on here giving out about 'typical GAA' arranging a draw to get more money. I'd have loved a replay, 70 minutes more of that would have been a treat.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 29/08/2016 08:55:42    1907295

Replying To cavanman47:  "A new angle has shown it to be a goal. Correct Decision.

A replay also showed kev Mac shouldering Crowley in the chin. Incorrect decision.

Neither were "50/50" decisions."
Could you please direct me to that new angle?

Also what about AOM directly shouldering PMc right in the face?

No free given for that. It was a blatant free, made no attempt to play the ball.

Sorry but Kerry got a few handy ones themselves so lets no let another myth become the hear say narrative

Fair play to the ref - Kerry were at the same lark in the 2015 final, fouling Dublin players off the ball

If you're going to play with fire or play on the edge like that.. then frees can go against you

Yesterday they were spotted

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 08:58:01    1907297

David Gough had a game by all accounts yesterday. No decision incorrect or otherwise cost Kerry the game yesterday. They were simply beaten by a fitter team in the end.

If they are going to blame anyone or look for scapegoats why not start a bit closer to home. The players on the field fluffed their lines at times.

What about all of the kickouts the dubs turned over in the first half? Or the wides gooch kicked?

But hey these lads are above taking responsibility in the eyes of fans so blame the ref instead.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 09:28:27    1907321

Really typical of Kerry supporters, They can never accept that they team is 2nd best and will blame everyone and anyone . From a neutral stand point I thought that Gough had a good game. The kevin mcmanamon challenge is the one there are frustrated about but it was the type of challenge that gough let go numerous time in the game for both sides. Everyone wants consistency from refs and i believe he was consistent throughout .

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 29/08/2016 09:58:05    1907357

Replying To CroiGorm:  "He from bloody Meath, if you really think a Meath ref is going to favour the Dubs you're not thinking straight. It's lilke suggesting a Cork ref would favour Kerry or a Tyrone ref would favour Donegal. Madness."
I think he has a valid point, no referee from the same province of either team should be officiating, surely there is a referee from Ulster or Connaught capable. On another note with regards the throwing of objects I have seen Meath & Dublin fans (at their own manager) throwing objects down from the stands also so this problem is not specific to Kerry.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 29/08/2016 09:58:54    1907358

Poor behaviour but Gough was poor he got 4 crucial decesions wrong in Dublins favour ...Two 45s in a row either end that both went in favour of Dublin.
Then the free for handling on the ground which was ridiculous.

The crowley tackle ...

Dublin are the best team in the land and don't need help

But the always seem to get it

Should a man who works and lives in Dublin be reffing their matches ?????

I think not

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 29/08/2016 10:16:00    1907374

Replying To jimbodub:  "Could you please direct me to that new angle?

Also what about AOM directly shouldering PMc right in the face?

No free given for that. It was a blatant free, made no attempt to play the ball.

Sorry but Kerry got a few handy ones themselves so lets no let another myth become the hear say narrative

Fair play to the ref - Kerry were at the same lark in the 2015 final, fouling Dublin players off the ball

If you're going to play with fire or play on the edge like that.. then frees can go against you

Yesterday they were spotted"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 29/08/2016 10:26:36    1907391

Replying To cavanman47:  "link"
That in no way proves the ball was over the line

It proves that it may or not have been and it proves that the umpires view was blocked

There is no way he could have judged it 100% accurately from his view point

My point is 100% accurate

Kerry got a very dubious yet highly advantageous call in their favour worth 3 points just before half time

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 10:29:52    1907393

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "Poor behaviour but Gough was poor he got 4 crucial decesions wrong in Dublins favour ...Two 45s in a row either end that both went in favour of Dublin.

The crowley tackle ...

I think not"
Majority of country work or have a association to dub. I married one, trust me it wouldn't make me favour them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2016 10:31:49    1907395

All of the ball over all of the line.

That's not the angle you're looking for bud to prove it was a goal.

Go again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/08/2016 10:34:09    1907398

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Really typical of Kerry supporters, They can never accept that they team is 2nd best and will blame everyone and anyone . From a neutral stand point I thought that Gough had a good game. The kevin mcmanamon challenge is the one there are frustrated about but it was the type of challenge that gough let go numerous time in the game for both sides. Everyone wants consistency from refs and i believe he was consistent throughout ."
Exactly, he didn't award McMahon a free for the challenge from O'Mahony (who wasn't even going for the ball) so in the interest of fairness he didn't award Crowley a free a few minutes later for a similar challenge. Kerry fans can moan that it was unfair Crowley didn't get a free but if he had we would have been hard done by not getting one for the challenge on Philly.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 10:35:17    1907401

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "Poor behaviour but Gough was poor he got 4 crucial decesions wrong in Dublins favour ...Two 45s in a row either end that both went in favour of Dublin.

The crowley tackle ...

I think not"
Re the crowley tackle,

Aidan O'Mahony nearly killed Philly McMahon with something similar and would have seen a second yellow for it surely.

The ball was handled on the ground to be fair.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 10:42:32    1907407

Replying To daytona11:  "David Gough had a game by all accounts yesterday. No decision incorrect or otherwise cost Kerry the game yesterday. They were simply beaten by a fitter team in the end.

If they are going to blame anyone or look for scapegoats why not start a bit closer to home. The players on the field fluffed their lines at times.

What about all of the kickouts the dubs turned over in the first half? Or the wides gooch kicked?

But hey these lads are above taking responsibility in the eyes of fans so blame the ref instead."
In fact I thought on at least three occasions yesterday S O Brian lost possession as he took too much out of the ball JOD done similar plus the Gooch fired a shot into Cluxtons when he should have pointed.
As regards the shoulder on PC it was a free but as was highlited on TSG so was AOM on Philly. Both were not given.
The Irish news states today that Dublin are a lot FUTHER ahead of Kerry than the score line yesterday suggests I would agree with that. The first Kerry goal had a big bearing as it rattled Dublin and lifted Kerry big time. It was a period Kerry got on top and I suppose half time came at a bad time for Kerry
But Dublin got back to business after half time and to me overall were the better team. I'd say they were worth a six point winning margin.
On all known form they should do back to back A I but in the last two game they have made errors and conceded goals , two to Kerry and one to Donegal. They make mistakes but they also steady the ship- no big panic
Fair play to them and before 2011 I think no Leinster county made the AI final in ten years. But this is a serious team
So we hand them over to you Mayo

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/08/2016 10:48:32    1907410

Replying To MesAmis:  "
All of the ball over all of the line.

That's not the angle you're looking for bud to prove it was a goal.

Go again."
Lads it was a goal. It was a great call by the umpire, unsighted or not. It's like a close offside in soccer where they look at it from five different angles and say grudgingly 'the linesman just about got that right'. He either got it right or he didn't and if he did it's ten out of ten not eight out of ten. It made Dublin play that little bit harder but obviously didn't affect the outcome of the game. Now deep breaths and repeat after me 'it was a goal but Dublin won'.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/08/2016 10:50:06    1907412

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "In fact I thought on at least three occasions yesterday S O Brian lost possession as he took too much out of the ball JOD done similar plus the Gooch fired a shot into Cluxtons when he should have pointed.
As regards the shoulder on PC it was a free but as was highlited on TSG so was AOM on Philly. Both were not given.
The Irish news states today that Dublin are a lot FUTHER ahead of Kerry than the score line yesterday suggests I would agree with that. The first Kerry goal had a big bearing as it rattled Dublin and lifted Kerry big time. It was a period Kerry got on top and I suppose half time came at a bad time for Kerry
But Dublin got back to business after half time and to me overall were the better team. I'd say they were worth a six point winning margin.
On all known form they should do back to back A I but in the last two game they have made errors and conceded goals , two to Kerry and one to Donegal. They make mistakes but they also steady the ship- no big panic
Fair play to them and before 2011 I think no Leinster county made the AI final in ten years. But this is a serious team
So we hand them over to you Mayo"
+1

Also when you look at the subs that the Dubs could bring in,

Mannion,
Costello,
Andrews

Versus.

BJ Keane
Brian Sheehan

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 10:51:33    1907413

Thought the ref had a good game. Few marginal calls but the even themselves out. Don't think he favoured Dublin. Don't see the controversy. Nowhere near the refereeing horror show that was Kerry Mayo 2014.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 29/08/2016 10:58:36    1907419

Replying To Malonemagic:  "So youd be happy with a galway ref living and working in mayo for the final ?"
There should be no problem, Referees go out to do things fairly. If I was a Dublin fan, I would be happy with a Mayo referee living in Mayo. If he is a decent human being, he will not influence the result. Much like yesterday, the ref didn't influence the result. Dublin won because they are better.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2016 10:58:43    1907420

The crowley tackle ...

I think not"
Should a man from Meath ref a Dublin match? No more than a man from Kerry should ref a Cork match. Kerry should have had 2 black cards that were not given. The pull down on Brogan was a text book black card. They got a goal that was dubious, unsighted umpire adjudges that ball was wholly over the line. O'Mahony should have got a red for a shoulder to Philly's jaw when the ball was nowhere. The ref was hardly bias towards Dublin. I thought he was poor enough for both sides.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2016 11:02:37    1907424