Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Replying To browncows:  "I would agree with you and if it was an Ulster team everybody would be giving out about bad behaviour -double standards. The ref is one of the best around if not the best - tell me who is better. The Ref did not beat Kerry. When they were up with 7/8minutes to go they played too loose a game running into tackles instead of holding the ball and frustrating the Dubs - a bit of inexperience. The best team won and would all the whingers take a rest please."
In fairness if there was a lot of handy frees given to Dublin

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 28/08/2016 21:43:20    1907183

In fairness if there was a lot of handy frees given to Dublin

topdownfan (Down) - Posts:457 - 28/08/2016 21:43:20   1907183 

Same as every single close game (and some not so close) that Dublin have ever won according to many.

Excuse us if we take this with a pinch of salt.

The culchies who cried wolf.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 28/08/2016 21:58:10    1907190

Dublin played Kerry 3 times this year and haven't lost

Only difference today is we gifted them 6 points

TBH arguably 3 points, I honestly don't think the entire ball was behind the line

Arguably the most advantageous decision today went to Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/08/2016 22:00:05    1907191

No doubt Kerry got the best 50/50 decision today

And it was worth 3 points right on the stroke of h/t

A wee bit of balance needed to this argument

Kerry got some very lucky breaks

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/08/2016 22:05:32    1907195

Replying To 222:  "Lets be honest lads, he made a b***s of the mc menamin hit, id be upset to."
Martin Carney thought that was a great shoulder, but then again everything Kev Mc did today was 'wonderful'.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/08/2016 22:18:28    1907201

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Martin Carney thought that was a great shoulder, but then again everything Kev Mc did today was 'wonderful'."
And it was a great shoulder so whats the problem? You wouldn't be the first fan to see things differently to a ref, you make it sound like it was the single most defining moment of a game with a lot of defining moments. But I suppose that is all the justification needed for having a go at the ref.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 28/08/2016 22:41:36    1907211

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Seriously? So am i to assume all my colleagues from Mayo, Cork, Donegal, Limerick etc all support Dublin because they live and work here?!"
So youd be happy with a galway ref living and working in mayo for the final ?

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 28/08/2016 22:56:04    1907217

Replying To arock:  "And it was a great shoulder so whats the problem? You wouldn't be the first fan to see things differently to a ref, you make it sound like it was the single most defining moment of a game with a lot of defining moments. But I suppose that is all the justification needed for having a go at the ref."
Have a look at it again. It was a shoulder into the chest and should have resulted in a free in and a yellow card. The 'defining moment' are your words and I said absolutely nothing about the ref who apart from one or two bad calls ( referees will never get everything right ) had an excellent game. I was replying to another poster and my remarks were mainly directed at the co commentator. So make a cup of cocoa for yourself and enjoy your win.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/08/2016 23:04:06    1907220

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin played Kerry 3 times this year and haven't lost

Only difference today is we gifted them 6 points

TBH arguably 3 points, I honestly don't think the entire ball was behind the line

Arguably the most advantageous decision today went to Kerry"
A new angle has shown it to be a goal. Correct Decision.

A replay also showed kev Mac shouldering Crowley in the chin. Incorrect decision.

Neither were "50/50" decisions.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 28/08/2016 23:13:31    1907223

The shoulder on Crowley from Mc Mennamin was exactly the same as O Mahoeys on McMahon so each cancel each other out I thought he did a good job on it and it doesnt matter where he is from thats irrelevent he gave the goal at the end of 1st half correct decision he overrulled the umpire with the 45 again correct decision Murphy touched the ball on the ground its a free get over it what I like is he lets the game flow and allows the hits thats the way the game should be but anyone throwing stuff at the ref should be banned its disgraceful behaviour and I doubt anyone who did ever reffed a game in their life

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 28/08/2016 23:31:34    1907231

Replying To Malonemagic:  "So youd be happy with a galway ref living and working in mayo for the final ?"
Eh yep. Because he from Galway. Not Mayo. Why would a referee from a rival county favour a team?!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 23:47:14    1907238

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Martin Carney thought that was a great shoulder, but then again everything Kev Mc did today was 'wonderful'."
But Martin Carney thought that Aidan O'Shea was fouled for the penalty dive against Fermanagh. Enough said!

Look, number 1, it was a terrific match from minute 1 to 75.
No. 2, Dublin marginally deserved victory although I would have loved a draw just to witness another brilliant match. Because let's face it, it was the best and only really good 'football' match all year.
Number 3, referees should not be subjected to that behaviour, full stop.
4. I actually thought David Gough had a very good match. That said, I did feel that Peter Crowley was fouled on the stroke of full time by Kevin McManoman, but then again I thought Paul Geaney was similarly fouled by Cian O'Sullivan at end of first half. And Gough didn't give either; consistency shown. Yes Dublin got a couple of soft frees nearing the end, but Kerry received a few also, most noteably the 'foul' on Colm Cooper (I think) which he converted to leave 5 points between the teams on half time.
5. The Geaney goal, was definitely a goal.
Finally point 6, imo taking off/replacing Geaney with Marc O'Se was a crazy and head scratching decision. Geaney was looking for and getting on balls, unlike others who were wail

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 28/08/2016 23:57:56    1907240

Replying To Malonemagic:  "So youd be happy with a galway ref living and working in mayo for the final ?"
Stupid comment!! Most of the population of this country work in Dublin and many play football for their own county - is that a problem

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2016 00:44:01    1907248

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Ref had an undue influence on the game, particularly towards the end. Gave a free out to Dublin that undoubtedly was a free in to Kerry. Game should have been a draw.Spillane very magnanimous on TSG --- comes from having won so many All-Irelands. I'm sure if Kerry lost next year in the same circumstances with the same referee, he'd have called it as it was.."
So.....Dublin got every decision..jesus. Watch if back without.commentary. Really.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/08/2016 01:16:11    1907251

Replying To cavanman47:  "A new angle has shown it to be a goal. Correct Decision.

A replay also showed kev Mac shouldering Crowley in the chin. Incorrect decision.

Neither were "50/50" decisions."
The problem with your post sums up people's ignorance of the job of a ref. "Replay shows", "a new angle". The ref sees and acts in real time. We can all be wise with the benefit of hindsight.

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 29/08/2016 07:37:03    1907277

Replying To cavanman47:  "A new angle has shown it to be a goal. Correct Decision.

Neither were "50/50" decisions."
In the same way O'Mahony's challenge was an incorrect decision.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 07:40:25    1907278

What a game of football first and foremost. That was an incredible performance from Kerry to run this Dublin team so close but in the end, I think the subs that came in for Dublin made a telling difference. This was Gaelic Football at its best and there must be some seriously tired bodies this morning. I think Kerry can take great pride in that performance and they nearly upset the odds. I thought that if they could have rode out the early pressure in the second half then they would have closed it out. But they didn't and the Dubs now have come through a perfect warm up for an All Ireland final. I can't see Mayo stopping them now.

Back to the point of this thread; the scenes at the end were very ugly and certainly something that nobody needs to see. We all know tempers run high but that is simply not acceptable behaviour. From what I could see, it was mainly men in the 50's & 60's hurling stuff down. The same men who most likely bitch and moan about English soccer fans causing hassle. Its not cool and shouldn't be allowed to happen again. If they can't have manners and set an example for younger people then don't allow them back to watch Gaelic Football games.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 29/08/2016 07:43:44    1907279

Dublin got the 50 50 decisions toda if you watch match again. It's stupid to say one decision cancels another. That's not how it works. Question is how come a Leinster ref has always been in charge of Dublin Kerry? Anyone find it strange? Well done Dublin bte

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 29/08/2016 07:51:59    1907281

Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness if there was a lot of handy frees given to Dublin

Same as every single close game (and some not so close) that Dublin have ever won according to many.

The culchies who cried wolf."
Gee Admin enough of the "culchies".
There is a reason we don't hear this derogatory on main stream media.

Excellent game of football, well done to Dublin who won the game honestly in my opinion. Hard luck to Kerry who battled well and will take loads of positives away from this semi final.

Note to referees - leave Dublin be, they are well capable of winning on their own steam.

Note to the GAA - Going forward please remember there are 4 provinces in Ireland. Pick a referee from any of the 2 not in the semi final of the AI final and it will be generally seen as fair by the whole country.

mactomac (UK) - Posts: 37 - 29/08/2016 08:31:03    1907284

Replying To mactomac:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness if there was a lot of handy frees given to Dublin

The culchies who cried wolf."
Gee Admin enough of the "culchies".
There is a reason we don't hear this derogatory on main stream media.

Excellent game of football, well done to Dublin who won the game honestly in my opinion. Hard luck to Kerry who battled well and will take loads of positives away from this semi final.

Note to referees - leave Dublin be, they are well capable of winning on their own steam.

Note to the GAA - Going forward please remember there are 4 provinces in Ireland. Pick a referee from any of the 2 not in the semi final of the AI final and it will be generally seen as fair by the whole country."

So you're suggesting we won with the help of the ref?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 08:51:37    1907291