Dublin will not win the All Ireland

Replying To Tonny1975:  "Teams win All Irelands and the media usually criticizes and tries to demeans those teams acheivements eg Meath 80, 90s Tyrone in the noughities. While Dublin are hyped beyond belief. McMenanmin on sunday had full frontal charge on Kerry player and RTE commentator couldn't praise him high enough. Dublin played like a team that won the All Ireland last year. They are not as good as last year. The referee gave every decision going in the last few minutes to Dublin. While they found it very hard worrk to beat alright Kerry team compared to the Kerry teams of 80s and noughties, a Kerry team in transition. .Dublin have won 1 double in 93 years (76,77) and 2 in 100 years ( 1976,77 and 1921,22,23). They are not Kerry , they are not Kilkenny. I saw nothing on Sunday to convince me that Dublin will Sam this year. This overhyped team will not win the All Ireland this year."
Holy God. Mayo have been very bad this year and will need to bring the nappies to Croker the third weekend in September if anything over the last 50 years is anything to go by. Your post is a laugh. The whole country outside of Dublin would love to see Mayo win, but just can't see it I'm afraid.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/08/2016 22:26:32    1908420

Replying To waynoI:  "lol"
Dublin have only one two in row in 93 years. Kerry have won two 4 in a rows, two 2 in a rows and three 3 in a rows. Kilkenny have 1 four in a row and 7 two in a rows . Dublin are not Kilkenny and Kerry. Whats so funny about that. Dublin will not win the All Ireland this year. What so funny about that. I think I have hit a nerve. This is a team on it last legs. Cluxtons 35, Basticks 35, Brogan 32, Flynn 30, MCauley 30 Connolly 29-30 and McMenenimin 29 and Sullivan are all near 30. In any sport( Soocer, Rugby, Hockey) if all your main players are 30 or over, that team is its final stage. What so funny about that. The truth hurts for the poor auld Dubs. Enjoy the success while it last , things are going change pretty soon.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:30:31    1908421

Dublin have only one two in row in 93 years. Kerry have won two 4 in a rows, two 2 in a rows and three 3 in a rows. Kilkenny have 1 four in a row and 7 two in a rows . Dublin are not Kilkenny and Kerry. Whats so funny about that. Dublin will not win the All Ireland this year. What so funny about that. This is a team on it last legs. Cluxtons 35, Basticks 35, Brogan 32, Flynn 30, MCauley 30 Connolly 29-30 and McMenenimin 29 and Sullivan are all near 30. In any sport( Soocer, Rugby, Hockey) if all your main players are 30 or over, that team is its final stage. What so funny about that. , things are going change pretty soon

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:38:01    1908427

lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/08/2016 22:41:21    1908428

Dublin`s strength is their greatness weakness, their arrogance and cockiness. It used to be termed Dublin had a swagger to them. Which is a great for any team to have. Kerry and Kilkenny don't have that arrogance and cockiness as such. They place the cup in the cupboard after September. And their is unnatural drive to keep winning year after year, decade after decade. Dublin do have good footballers coming through. But time will tell if they can replace this golden generation. Dublin had talent in the80s eg Duff, Rock, Hargan, Kennedy, McNally. In the 90s eg Stynes, Whelan, Christie, Barr, Curran, O`Leary, Redmond, Farrell. They will continue to produce very good footballers as mentioned above, but there is no evidence that there is all time great like Cluxton waiting in the wings. After 91 Meath games , Dublin were mentally fragile. Lost one big game after another eg 92 ,94 final 93, 2002 semi final. At this moment this Dublin team are super strong mentally. But one or two losses and that sense of invincibility would vanish very quickly. As I said Dublin cockiness is their greatest strength and weakness. It will their undoing. They wouldnt win All Ireland this year, I am convinced of that. If they do, that's the last one for this decade. Things are going change very soon.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:43:46    1908431

I am convinced we coming to the end of this great Dublin teams dominance. Again they will win a pile of Leinsters , be in the top 2,3,4 counties in the country, and play in All Ireland finals in the next few years. But the question for me is when have they peaked, was it last September or will be this September. There might be one All Ireland in them but that's it. I have see great Dublin full backs eg Doherty, Hargan, Christie, O`Connell. Cooper is not a out and out full back. I have seen great Dublin full back lines. I think this full back line is a weakness. Mayo in finals, well there is so many issues and baggage with them. You cannot be anyway confident in them. But unlike every Mayo team who lost final since 89 this team is actually good enough to win Sam, is the most prepared, the most experienced and most successful team since 51. They know this is the last chance for this team. Tony McEntees tactical awareness could be important also. Mayo are due a big performance in a final. In the last five finals they have been poor. I expect big performance from them.
For me its Mayo. I cannot see Dublin winning this All Ireland.If Mayo can exploit that Dublin full back line, there goals galore for Kerry there. Dublin have been great champions but they are on the wane.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:45:35    1908433

By the way Im a Meath man, Mayo is my address on this, when I set it up I was on holidays in Mayo, but I am Meath man. As a Meath man I can say, Meath and Mayo there was bad blood in the past. But this Mayo team and the Mayo people, the way they keep trying to win Sam , keeping coming back it is a sort of madness, but more so a sign of incredible bravery and courage. They keeping suffering in finals but yet keep coming back. They have some resilence and character. Mayo will win Sam some day, and this team is the best prepared ever to do it.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:46:37    1908434

Replying To Tonny1975:  "Dublin have only one two in row in 93 years. Kerry have won two 4 in a rows, two 2 in a rows and three 3 in a rows. Kilkenny have 1 four in a row and 7 two in a rows . Dublin are not Kilkenny and Kerry. Whats so funny about that. Dublin will not win the All Ireland this year. What so funny about that. I think I have hit a nerve. This is a team on it last legs. Cluxtons 35, Basticks 35, Brogan 32, Flynn 30, MCauley 30 Connolly 29-30 and McMenenimin 29 and Sullivan are all near 30. In any sport( Soocer, Rugby, Hockey) if all your main players are 30 or over, that team is its final stage. What so funny about that. The truth hurts for the poor auld Dubs. Enjoy the success while it last , things are going change pretty soon."
Mystic meg?.
Do you have tomorrow nights lotto numbers by any chance?

shantygael (Derry) - Posts: 25 - 30/08/2016 22:49:16    1908437

Every Dublin response is Lol. Its seems that I have struck a nerve saying this team is at the end of its time of dominance. Its the final stages of this great team. Overhyped team, but great overall. Can any Dublin contributor respond utter something other then lol. My aim true and correct. Any team with player with the average 30 or near is at the end of their lifecycle.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 22:50:55    1908438

Jaysus

2.5 weeks more of this

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/08/2016 23:02:45    1908440

Lantern heart of jaysus Tonny you must still be drowning your sorrows after Kerry were beat :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 23:07:29    1908443

If you are convinced - why do you need to send message after message telling us.

You sound like someone who breaks up with someone , tells everyone your over them but won't shut up about them .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/08/2016 23:11:35    1908445

Replying To Tonny1975:  "Dublin`s strength is their greatness weakness, their arrogance and cockiness. It used to be termed Dublin had a swagger to them. Which is a great for any team to have. Kerry and Kilkenny don't have that arrogance and cockiness as such. They place the cup in the cupboard after September. And their is unnatural drive to keep winning year after year, decade after decade. Dublin do have good footballers coming through. But time will tell if they can replace this golden generation. Dublin had talent in the80s eg Duff, Rock, Hargan, Kennedy, McNally. In the 90s eg Stynes, Whelan, Christie, Barr, Curran, O`Leary, Redmond, Farrell. They will continue to produce very good footballers as mentioned above, but there is no evidence that there is all time great like Cluxton waiting in the wings. After 91 Meath games , Dublin were mentally fragile. Lost one big game after another eg 92 ,94 final 93, 2002 semi final. At this moment this Dublin team are super strong mentally. But one or two losses and that sense of invincibility would vanish very quickly. As I said Dublin cockiness is their greatest strength and weakness. It will their undoing. They wouldnt win All Ireland this year, I am convinced of that. If they do, that's the last one for this decade. Things are going change very soon."
Lol

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 23:12:37    1908448

Nonsense

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 30/08/2016 23:17:46    1908449

Can anyone respond from Dublin without lol or a putdown, or just I don't want to bleeding hear wat ye say. The Dubs are awesome we r going to win 5 in a row bla, bla. Its a serious point I have many in very comprehensive and thorough messages over the last fortnight. Or is it that struck a nerve that this Dublin team is on the wane.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 23:22:19    1908450

Should this thread not be on the Dublin page?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 30/08/2016 23:44:16    1908458

No way should this be on Dublin forum. It is a national GAA question about Dublin and the All Ireland. Its right place is here. Dublin are not above criticism. We can criticize them. Hide the message away that criticizes Dublin and just leave messages that say Dublin are great, I don't think thats right.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 30/08/2016 23:59:34    1908460

You're obsessed with this notion that back to backs are really hard to do.

Back to backs really aren't that rare an occurrence, particularly from the great teams.

This current Dublin team will go down as a great team, they are also in the final. Are rightly favourites having not lost a league or championship game in ages. These are the important details and are why the bookies have them at 4/11.

Where does Mayo and the fact they haven't won in 65 years come into your history is against Dublin theory.

I gave you way more of a response than the nonsense your spouting deserves.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4239 - 31/08/2016 06:36:49    1908479

Replying To Tonny1975:  "Can anyone respond from Dublin without lol or a putdown, or just I don't want to bleeding hear wat ye say. The Dubs are awesome we r going to win 5 in a row bla, bla. Its a serious point I have many in very comprehensive and thorough messages over the last fortnight. Or is it that struck a nerve that this Dublin team is on the wane."
Or could it just be that you're a boring, unoriginal wind-up merchant that nobody really wants to listen to?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 31/08/2016 07:31:18    1908480

Replying To Tonny1975:  "No way should this be on Dublin forum. It is a national GAA question about Dublin and the All Ireland. Its right place is here. Dublin are not above criticism. We can criticize them. Hide the message away that criticizes Dublin and just leave messages that say Dublin are great, I don't think thats right."
Hide it away? Because it'd be SO hard to find it and comment on it over on the Dublin page? Criticise us all you want.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2016 07:42:03    1908482