O'Gara red overturned

Right decision...up da da dubs

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 20/08/2016 09:32:40    1903446

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

lets get one thing clear that nowhere in the rule book is the word common sense used.
the rules are quite clear to strike or attempt to strike with the Hand, fist ,head or leg is a straight red card offence.
What O Gara did was it intending to strike, pat , paw or shove Mc Gee away.
Anyone that saw it will be in no doubt that it was not a friendly pat or paw.
I rest my case"
What's your opinion on the pat on the head that Connolly got off the westmeath player? Should he have seen red?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2016 09:41:57    1903450

Replying To yew_tree:  "Right decision...up da da dubs"
This thread makes great reading & great for a laugh. It epitomises everything about some users of the forum, I pointed out a few things on Waynos longing for his long lost friends post & gave a few examples & here they are coming to light again, it's gas stuff. The league table boys out in force, Dumbothe dub praising his buddies in the north west & ewe tree now chanting for the Dubs who have beat seven different types of sh#te out of them over the years, it's hilarious. Thank god for Tom Smith from Cavan, LOL.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 20/08/2016 10:06:36    1903454

Replying To Joxer:  "I suppose the difference bud is that he got the line in the first place. There's one particular Kerry forward, though, who if he planted cemtex in the opposition dressing room, wouldn't receive so much as a ticking. Favouritism is right."
This the same guy who was eye gouged last year Joxer?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 20/08/2016 10:42:49    1903457

There's no helping some but it's obvious that a fair few of you have never played the game, or if you did you'd be the sort to be off ratting to lines men and in the refs ear the whole game quoting the rule book! :)

Once again hats off to the Donegal lads in here.

If it had of been a closed fist then red card all day long. It wasn't. As such a yellow card would have been the correct call. Unfortunately the umpires told the ref the incorrect info, and the ref could only go by their instructions and issued a red card, hence it was overturned.

It's blatantly obvious that a few of Ye culchie numb skulls didn't even read the article.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2016 10:57:51    1903461

Replying To moc.dna:  "This thread makes great reading & great for a laugh. It epitomises everything about some users of the forum, I pointed out a few things on Waynos longing for his long lost friends post & gave a few examples & here they are coming to light again, it's gas stuff. The league table boys out in force, Dumbothe dub praising his buddies in the north west & ewe tree now chanting for the Dubs who have beat seven different types of sh#te out of them over the years, it's hilarious. Thank god for Tom Smith from Cavan, LOL."
It's the old boys club...big salaries and pensions. We're not Stupid enough to go to Brazil tho

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 20/08/2016 11:02:45    1903464

Replying To TheHermit:  "I wonder would all these posters be playing the common sense approach card if it was a Kerry player in the dock?!"
Absolutley not the hermit and if it was the dubs playing tipp or mayo in the semifinal people would be going mad on here that o'gara got off.
To every poster on here Dublin are the lesser of two evils so there won't be too many people outraged by this result for the dubs.
It does show that the dubs are the tail wagging the GAA dog.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 12:41:19    1903493

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Typical GAA madness .... gaa has a rule book for their marquee teams and a separate one for the rest of the country. I'm donegal through and through but living in dublin I have to take my son to their games which is fine I love the standard of play the current team have great to watch in the modern game but rule are rules and changing them as we seen with connolly previously and now o gara just because it is a marquee team is a disgrace guaranteed if that was a tipp player in the last round he would not be playing on Sunday against mayo."
So you're saying the red was justified?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:03:29    1903499

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Every single Donegal poster here agrees that EOG deserves his red card resinded and I'm no different .

What's done is done and I'm happy he is available for selection ."
Every Donegal poster - except for ulsterules. There's always one!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:05:39    1903501

Replying To Jackeen:  "What's your opinion on the pat on the head that Connolly got off the westmeath player? Should he have seen red?"
Brave woman asking him a serious question! Prepare for the waffle you'll get in response! :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:07:36    1903503

Kerry lads your biggest sin is winning all the time people don't hate Kerry there just sick of you's winning . Dublin on the other hand are hated for being Dublin please don't ever think your more hated than us cause it will never be true.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2016 13:16:47    1903505

I think any right minded person would be happy to see it downgraded.There's no sport in giving a man a red card for that.
If every push or shove was to be carded you'd have 5 a sides at the end. Redicioulous in fairness.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/08/2016 13:21:42    1903508

Replying To JayP:  "Lee Keegan's hold, Dermo defending.......

Cillian O'Connor seemed coldConnolly while in a headlock on the ground.

FACT

What's your opinion on that!?

(Awaiting waffle based answer and numerous Philly McMahon references.....heads up on that."
Too dumb too see that the poster was agreeing with the card being overturned!

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 20/08/2016 13:24:42    1903510

Replying To offtheboat:  "Too dumb too see that the poster was agreeing with the card being overturned!"
Less of the personal insults.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:27:18    1903512

Correct that it was overturned,but I want to more consistency in relation to common sense.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/08/2016 13:34:33    1903517

Replying To Joxer:  "I suppose the difference bud is that he got the line in the first place. There's one particular Kerry forward, though, who if he planted cemtex in the opposition dressing room, wouldn't receive so much as a ticking. Favouritism is right."
I have to say that the particular Kerry player has gotten away with an awful lot throughout the years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/08/2016 13:35:29    1903518

Replying To JayP:  "Lee Keegan's hold, Dermo defending.......

Cillian O'Connor seemed coldConnolly while in a headlock on the ground.

FACT

What's your opinion on that!?

(Awaiting waffle based answer and numerous Philly McMahon references.....heads up on that."
I was joking man. Relax.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7362 - 20/08/2016 13:36:40    1903519

Maybe I'm absolutely mad posting this but this is turning into a slagging match, Lads let's just enjoy the game and what happens happens.
Far more serious things going on like that poor lad Batman Ben & the poor child pictured in Syria.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 20/08/2016 13:47:20    1903529

Replying To westkerry:  "Maybe I'm absolutely mad posting this but this is turning into a slagging match, Lads let's just enjoy the game and what happens happens.
Far more serious things going on like that poor lad Batman Ben & the poor child pictured in Syria."
You're not mad atall just a bit more aware of perspective.I doubt that poor kids parents will give to hoots about the who wins what this year.
This kind of stuff is par for the course on here and that's fair enough as most of it is just unimportant and will make no difference to anyone.I doubt the conversations those people are having will be about what colour card a player should get.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/08/2016 14:07:12    1903533

Replying To westkerry:  "Maybe I'm absolutely mad posting this but this is turning into a slagging match, Lads let's just enjoy the game and what happens happens.
Far more serious things going on like that poor lad Batman Ben & the poor child pictured in Syria."
Fair enough Westkerry well said I think il tune out for a while and enjoy this lovely wet and windy day.
And ya there are far worse things in the world and god bless the poor parents of those little children. Our toughts and prayers are with them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 14:16:20    1903537