O'Gara red overturned

Very glad O'Gara got this ridiculous red card overturned, he'd need to hit Neil a lot harder than that,just as Stephen O'Neill.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jSWZcgg14c

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 20:49:58    1903365

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So by your logic you can say slap a guy in say the face and get away with once the hand isn't closed? Crazy stuff.
I remember Tomas o'se getting done for the same thing against Stephen Kelly and they used video evidence to get him banned for a game.
Typical double standards by the GAA and they are sending a great message to all dubs young and old alok"
Where did I say that??????
All I stated was what the chc report stated.
that the offence could not be proved that he punched him with an under arm closed fist which was what he was sent off for.
he clearly didn't do that and instead the chc stated it was rough play and an open hand slap/push which is a yellow card offence.
Maybe they changed rule since Tomas o se days?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 20:51:43    1903367

Replying To ruanua:  "From a common sense perspective it's the fairest decision - but techincally it's a red card - but as common sense and fairness prevails then happy for o Gara to have a clean slate - assuming McMahon is out for rest of year under same spirit of fairness ?"
Again you assume the rule instead of actually reading it.
a slap open hand push is categorized as a yellow card offence for rough play the chc has stated.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 20:54:15    1903368

He should be let off for having the minerals to even lay a hand on that beast of a McGee. Definitely the hardest man in Gaelic football right now and I wouldn't like to be that Kerry player who busted his nose if they ever meet again, I've a feeling if it's a league game the Kerry lad might have a tight hammer in training on the Thursday before the game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/08/2016 21:06:19    1903370

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Where did I say that??????
All I stated was what the chc report stated.
that the offence could not be proved that he punched him with an under arm closed fist which was what he was sent off for.
he clearly didn't do that and instead the chc stated it was rough play and an open hand slap/push which is a yellow card offence.
Maybe they changed rule since Tomas o se days?"
How many reds is that ye have got overturned now ? Would anyother team on the country get that kind of favoritism ? Absolutley not.
And hill wasn't there dubs saying Connolly shouldn't have got the road either after big bad Ryan mchugh pulled him to the ground.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/08/2016 21:25:09    1903377

Glad to see this overturned as you couldn't class that as a strike, more like a playful tap. Was it even a yellow card? In general I am not a fan of cards being overturned as it undermines the ref but in this case it was justified.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 19/08/2016 21:42:12    1903382

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So by your logic you can say slap a guy in say the face and get away with once the hand isn't closed? Crazy stuff.
I remember Tomas o'se getting done for the same thing against Stephen Kelly and they used video evidence to get him banned for a game.
Typical double standards by the GAA and they are sending a great message to all dubs young and old alok"
Great to see the vast majority of people here can see common sense prevails. Am I surprised to see it's a Kerry poster that thinks the red was justified? Not in the slightest! Hope he comes on and does some damage against you next week, that'd really be the icing on the cake!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/08/2016 22:11:37    1903390

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How many reds is that ye have got overturned now ? Would anyother team on the country get that kind of favoritism ? Absolutley not.
And hill wasn't there dubs saying Connolly shouldn't have got the road either after big bad Ryan mchugh pulled him to the ground."
in fairness now he shouldn't have been booked in the first place - Connolly though is another story

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/08/2016 22:12:22    1903391

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Great to see the vast majority of people here can see common sense prevails. Am I surprised to see it's a Kerry poster that thinks the red was justified? Not in the slightest! Hope he comes on and does some damage against you next week, that'd really be the icing on the cake!"
It wasn't a red card the correct decision.
The perception is that a lot of reds have been overturned for Dublin but in this instance it's correct.
OGara offers Dublin a big man option but football was in my view limited and I'd argue their are better club players in Dublin .

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/08/2016 22:24:24    1903395

Tomsmith Cavan here

lets get one thing clear that nowhere in the rule book is the word common sense used.
the rules are quite clear to strike or attempt to strike with the Hand, fist ,head or leg is a straight red card offence.
What O Gara did was it intending to strike, pat , paw or shove Mc Gee away.
Anyone that saw it will be in no doubt that it was not a friendly pat or paw.
I rest my case

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 19/08/2016 22:34:46    1903396

To the Donegal lads

Fair fecks!! Yiz are a cut above most.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 19/08/2016 22:50:16    1903400

Typical GAA madness .... gaa has a rule book for their marquee teams and a separate one for the rest of the country. I'm donegal through and through but living in dublin I have to take my son to their games which is fine I love the standard of play the current team have great to watch in the modern game but rule are rules and changing them as we seen with connolly previously and now o gara just because it is a marquee team is a disgrace guaranteed if that was a tipp player in the last round he would not be playing on Sunday against mayo.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 19/08/2016 23:01:32    1903402

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I heard they brought a fly in for the appeal. They said that O'Gara's strike with the hand wouldn't hurt a fly. They asked the fly what did he think. The fly hurt his right wing as he was rolling around the floor laughing thinking it was such a ridiculous question. O'Gara's strike wouldn't bother him at all at all he said, with an injured wing. The Dublin county board paid for the fly's vets bill."
Lee Keegan's hold, Dermo defending.......

Cillian O'Connor seemed coldConnolly while in a headlock on the ground.

FACT

What's your opinion on that!?

(Awaiting waffle based answer and numerous Philly McMahon references.....heads up on that.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 19/08/2016 23:18:32    1903406

Replying To republican:  "While I am glad to see this overturned the rule in the official rule book states a strike with hand or fist is a red card offence. What was this?

"Striking or attempting to strike with arm,
elbow, hand or knee." cat 3 offence. 1 match ban"
Ah wud ya quit !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 19/08/2016 23:36:04    1903412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How many reds is that ye have got overturned now ? Would anyother team on the country get that kind of favoritism ? Absolutley not.
And hill wasn't there dubs saying Connolly shouldn't have got the road either after big bad Ryan mchugh pulled him to the ground."
I wonder would all these posters be playing the common sense approach card if it was a Kerry player in the dock?!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/08/2016 23:55:14    1903420

Kerry poster

Afraid of a lad that may not even get 5 minutes

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/08/2016 00:05:49    1903422

Every single Donegal poster here agrees that EOG deserves his red card resinded and I'm no different .

What's done is done and I'm happy he is available for selection .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/08/2016 00:31:51    1903427

Poster if your saying that tap on McGee should be a red card then why did none of you say the tap on the back of Connolly's head against Westmeath should of been a red card? I mean it was a strike as well but all I remember is you all wanted Connolly suspended for life. Rules are rules according to all you saints.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2016 08:42:33    1903440

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Typical GAA madness .... gaa has a rule book for their marquee teams and a separate one for the rest of the country. I'm donegal through and through but living in dublin I have to take my son to their games which is fine I love the standard of play the current team have great to watch in the modern game but rule are rules and changing them as we seen with connolly previously and now o gara just because it is a marquee team is a disgrace guaranteed if that was a tipp player in the last round he would not be playing on Sunday against mayo."
Ah would you stop. There wouldn't be a player left on the pitch for any team if you sent a player off for that. Besides McGee had O'Gara's jersey in his clench fist underneath O'Gara's chin at the time. I suppose that was perfectly ok yes? O'Gara patted him on the belly to try and get him to release.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2016 09:06:26    1903442

I suppose the difference bud is that he got the line in the first place. There's one particular Kerry forward, though, who if he planted cemtex in the opposition dressing room, wouldn't receive so much as a ticking. Favouritism is right.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2016 09:11:47    1903443