GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship

Great win for the media underdogs, hard luck to Donegal. Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 21/08/2016 16:10:17    1903849

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "There's nothing worse than a bad winner, well done to Galway and good luck in the final,

@Ulsterman
sorry there Ulsterman I see you say you are from Antrim, I understand now why you don't like Donegal after us beating you year in year out."
To be honest I think ashure has a fair point although if ye get a few such as Niall O'Donnell of that team for your senior team going forward that is what counts in the long term I guess. Panama lauded Donegal a lot although I acknowedge that poster appeared to see more minor football than the average punter. As for us likely to be underdogs in the final particularly if it is against a pretty red hot Kerry team. Natural talent never really in doubt with most Galway teams. It is the other things we sometimes fail to live up to.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/08/2016 16:14:58    1903855

I didn't mean any disrespect towards Donegal I just think we had the more naturally gifted footballers on the field.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 21/08/2016 17:25:03    1903929

Replying To chicago09:  "Why would they ever want to get rid of this minor football great skill and speed shown by both teams great scores Galway should have won by more but typical donegal just like their seniors when they did played direct football towards the end they looked good."
Minor football and hurling will change to U17 at inter-county level. Club GAA will remain U18.

U21 football will change to U20 at inter-county level and in a positive move will be played out from June to August. U21 hurling and U21 club GAA will remain unchanged.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 21/08/2016 17:44:56    1903949

Replying To Donegalman:  "well played galway. I think we could learn a lot from your direct ball into the forwards. The money was in the bank early in the 2nd half. Hard luck to our lads. They did their best but it was not enough unfortunately for us."
I have to agree Donegal played no balls into danger areas - playing side to side and backwards - in saying that I have to say Galway were a much better footballing side - they played the ball into their danger man a lot #14 and he did a lot of damage - their 2 corner forwards very classy also. They tried to walk the ball into net a few times and should have scored more.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2016 18:36:01    1904000

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Is that Ulster-Scots you are rambling in?"
Funny that, the only part of Ireland were anyone speaks 'Ulster Scot's' if such a lingo could be called a language is in Antrim,
good luck in your 2 championship defeats next year as per usual.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 21/08/2016 19:37:28    1904066

Ouch.....some very sensitive and touchy Donegal people out there. So giving an opinion is deemed as an insult?? It was plain to see that Donegal over-egged, once again, the crab like tactics of going sideways and backwards. It was like watching Armagh of 10 years ago. Why would any team use this system if you have fellas in the forward lines looking for quick ball into them? Surely sport is all about scoring more than your opponent. As for the nonsense about Galway somehow being superior footballers, well it's just rhubarb. They got the ball and they went forward and got goals. The Donegal fellas were just as capable and talented but they played to a ridiculous negative system that is stifling them as a county.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 21/08/2016 20:28:54    1904110

Ulsterman is right. Our minors are a very talented side but like our u21's and seniors our talented players are being stifled by outdated tactics. Our only tactic was to run with the ball and hand pass. Galway set up very defensively and we played right into their hands by slow progress play. We need to see quicker transition to our forwards to have any hope. Our seniors were exactly the same this year. Let's hope lessons are learned.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 21/08/2016 22:30:17    1904208

At half time according to TG4's statistics Donegal's handpassed 112 times and only kicked 9! Which is almost a 13:1 ratio

Galway on the other hand I think were 53 Hand passes to 20 Kick passes, I didn't see the full time stats.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 22/08/2016 10:21:21    1904322

Replying To KYTitletown:  "At half time according to TG4's statistics Donegal's handpassed 112 times and only kicked 9! Which is almost a 13:1 ratio

Galway on the other hand I think were 53 Hand passes to 20 Kick passes, I didn't see the full time stats."
WOW that says it all really

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/08/2016 11:19:07    1904345

Surprised Galway looked so superior yesterday to be honest. Donegal were talked up a lot beforehand (not by themselves I must add) but a 4 point defeat flattered them really. Had Galway taken even 50% of their goal chances they would probably have walked away with a 10 point win. Think Galway will be the underdogs again in the final. Definitely if it's Kerry anyway but maybe even if Kildare beat Kerry too.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 22/08/2016 13:05:33    1904421

Have to say fair play to both sides in what was a really high standard and entertaining game of football. I thought the Galway defense really stood up to the plate, they always have excellent footballing forwards but their backs were very disciplined and tackled well, particularly in the first half when they were under pressure.
I wouldn't say Galway were far superior, they got an early goal which gave them a lot of confidence and knocked a bit of belief out of Donegal. Donegal were a bit slow to have a shot at the goal, whereas the Galway lads were just attacking with more purpose.

Best of luck to the Lilies next week, from what I hear they will need some.
Hope the ref is as good as yesterdays. He really made it enjoyable, not giving handy frees and just let the game flow.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 22/08/2016 14:36:59    1904478

First and foremost I want to congratulate the Galway contingent on fantastic win and performance. I was definitely guilty of underestimating them but the team that played yesterday was a big improvement on what I saw in Kiltoom. There was no blanket defense on display that night and you're most influential player yesterday (No.15 think its Goldrick) was a more orthodox forward that night. Yesterday he was coming from deep getting knock down and lay offs and building attacks from there. The Donegal management did not pick this up and he had free reign when a man marking job was needed.

As for this far superior player and 10 point plus victory talk is crap and does the Galway players and management a disservice as unlike some of these posts they were very gracious in victory. Yes I was confident Donegal would win yesterday as I got up off my arse and watched quite a few games and sought the view of others trying to gauge the Munster form for example. Donegal did not lose cause they were beaten by superior footballers they were beaten because Galway had the better players on the day and certainly handled the occasion better. One facet in which they were superior was on the sideline which had a big bearing too. Donegal could and should have had more goals than the one they scored. On more than one occasion they worked the ball well but for a sloppy pass or wrong option lost the opportunity. It might not have been as noticeable as the Galway misses as the breakdowns were slightly further out the field but those in attendance could see the players were in position to punish had the transition being made more effectively. In fact the chance Niall O'Donnell missed from the ground after a good save from the impressive Haslam should have being a walk in but for sloppy passing prior to great pass into Niall.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/08/2016 14:51:56    1904489

From a Donegal perspective the full backline had some shaky moments in previous games especially against Monaghan but were ruthlessly exposed by Galway yesterday. They gave away a very sloppy early goal and as a result their nerves came to the fore. These are young lads still developing and I think we just fell apart defensively. There were lads running into each other running back yet forgetting to go to the man with the ball leaving themselves totally exposed and open. Both sides kicked some great scores. The Donegal goal was as good as any scored by any side in Croke park this year made by Enda McCormick and Peader Mogan who were as good as any players on display. Credit to Galway they also kicked some marvelous points one especially from the NO 17 which killed any Donegal momentum after the goal.

As alluded to before the Galway management were far superior to their Donegal counterparts. Niall O'Donnell was often double marked and the Galway lads were often pulling and dragging from him but smart in that they made sure it was done far enough out the field to ensure any frees were not easily kicked over. Goldrick (No 15) should have being man marked especially in second half. Galway won the kickout battle by always varying their kickouts utilizing the wings ensuring they had one on one match ups always getting the run on the Donegal defender with Goldrick waiting for a lay off to pull the strings. This could and should have been counteracted but was not. On the otherhand our own kickouts were often slow and predictable waiting for either of the midfielders to make a delayed obvious run into isolated areas surrounded by Galway men who knew what was coming and unless ball was won cleanly the ball we were getting easily turned over. This was infuriating as on countless occasions we had men free looking for a swift kickout but whether by design or just nerves in the main we took the lower percentage choice. It was also plain to see we needed urgent changes to our full backline earlier but it did not happen.

So while Galway thoroughly deserved the win on the day and should have been home and hosed 5-10 mins into the 2nd half on an another day it could have been different. If Donegal had got a goal thy came close to getting at the end they were only a kick away from getting a draw. Again congrats to the Galway team and management and I for one sincerely hope ye go all the way. I really think ye can and if ye do we might view yesterdays game in a different light as to the merits of each side. We got alot wrong on the day, one or two of our previously important players did not play to their potential due to the occasion plus we lost of our best players in Aidan McLaughlin to injury. All that is left to say is best of luck to Galway in the final and just go and fecking win the thing now. Most in the north west will be behind ye.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/08/2016 14:52:17    1904490

Replying To jonno:  "Have to say fair play to both sides in what was a really high standard and entertaining game of football. I thought the Galway defense really stood up to the plate, they always have excellent footballing forwards but their backs were very disciplined and tackled well, particularly in the first half when they were under pressure.
I wouldn't say Galway were far superior, they got an early goal which gave them a lot of confidence and knocked a bit of belief out of Donegal. Donegal were a bit slow to have a shot at the goal, whereas the Galway lads were just attacking with more purpose.

Best of luck to the Lilies next week, from what I hear they will need some.
Hope the ref is as good as yesterdays. He really made it enjoyable, not giving handy frees and just let the game flow."
Excellent post jonno and summed up the game perfectly. The early goal had huge implications for Donegal and was a result of very sloppy play which added to our nerves at the back especially. Easy saying now after the event but it was our weakest line and Galway really exposed it. Best of luck to ye next week also.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/08/2016 14:56:42    1904491

big improvement on what I saw in Kiltoom. There was no blanket defense on display that night
No you are wrong there as one of the key features of Galways victory against us Kiltoom was their defensive system. In McKeon (Boyle) Lennon (Clann) we had forwards that will be seniors in the years ahead unable to break through the Galway blanket. Also our performance that night had alot of tireness as we were forced to play Galway 4 nights after our quarter final win against ahighly fancied Sligo team. I'd wonder how Donegal would have faired under that schedule?

Galway strength at minor level right now is built on their development panels and strong underage club scene. Over the last few years I had seen plenty of Ulster teams involved in U14,U16,U17 competitions and I saw no team that had the strength of Galway.

Kildare was very impressive in recent development competitions also and I think they would have beaten Donegal yesterday if played them also but Kerry are the team to beat and I doubt if Kildare or Galway can topple them.

Donegal can be proud of their efforts. Another Ulster title won which is always tough to win and reached the AI semi final but no disrespect to Donegal I rate them 4th out of the last four.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 22/08/2016 17:00:10    1904558

Whether they are 4th best or 2nd best has no relevance now as they are out. We did not play to our potential yesterday for reasons I have already outlined. From what I saw that night Roscommon got into dangerous positions more consistently than Donegal yesterday but poor final product was an issue. I think Laois created a few goal chances in the quarter final so not sure what happened to the Galway blanket that day. In terms of defensive structure and transitioning from defense to attack Goldrick was Galway's most important player. In Kiltoom I thought he played more as an orthodox forward so this was one big change. Maybe the Rossies will give Galway a better game if the sides play in 2 years time as U-20's especially without having a 4 day turn around. Galway were without question the better team yesterday and all credit to them but take out that stupid sloppy goal we conceded early the match could have had a much different complexion. Plus for a team that should have being beaten by 10 plus points it could easily have being tender hooks time if we converted a goal from scramble near the end.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/08/2016 18:56:37    1904598

It should have been a 10 point victory for Galway, prior to the match I was expecting Donegal to hammer Galway although that was based on one particular poster who clearly hasn't got a clue and just because you've seen a few matches doesn't make anyone an expert.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 22/08/2016 19:35:24    1904611

The best team with the best players won yesterday and if Galway weren't so wasteful the contest would have been won in the first half. Galway defended attacked and won all the individual battles all over the field but credit to Donegal they went down fighting.

On U20 competition. The best U20 players will be with their senior panels and not allowed to play that competition. IMO any competition without its best players won't be worth watching.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 22/08/2016 20:21:14    1904624

It's minor level. Form can be very erratic with young players. They can go from being completely overawed to playing out of their skins often within a half of football. It's not an exact science judging these teams.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 22/08/2016 20:23:27    1904626