The Golden Generation of Hoganstand.

Replying To Joxer:  "I don't know Seanie. There's probably one particular Ulster (fear) poster on here who gives the province a bad name. But sure most of us would see past that. I don't think there's a particular vendetta against Ulster, granted there may be the odd post match dust-up and some snow flakes may take discussion/debate personally, and indeed get petsonal, but I don't believe in the North/South divide thing no matter how many times a certain Ulster poster might want to go all geographical on his threads. Leave geography, politicals and history to the students. None should be mixed with sport."
Ooh, look at me! I'm making people happy! I'm the Magical Man from Happy-Land, in a gumdrop house on Lollipop Lane!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 18/08/2016 17:51:26    1902928

oh, look at me! I'm making people happy! I'm the Magical Man from Happy-Land, in a gumdrop house on Lollipop Lane!

Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10332 - 18/08/2016

Oh. By the way, I was being sarcastic.

Love it Breff

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 18/08/2016 17:57:10    1902934

Replying To Breffni39:  "Ooh, look at me! I'm making people happy! I'm the Magical Man from Happy-Land, in a gumdrop house on Lollipop Lane!"
....oh by the way I was being sarcastic. Classic Homer. You get Simpsons in Cavan yeah? Oh we are progressing aren't we?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2016 18:43:27    1902951

Replying To Joxer:  "....oh by the way I was being sarcastic. Classic Homer. You get Simpsons in Cavan yeah? Oh we are progressing aren't we?"
Chances are we had it before you

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 18/08/2016 18:57:12    1902955

Replying To Breffni39:  "Chances are we had it before you"
Doubt you'd pay for a TV licence would you?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2016 20:41:58    1902982

Ah lads stop .......lol

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/08/2016 20:48:22    1902983

Replying To Joxer:  "Doubt you'd pay for a TV licence would you?"
ahh for Christ's sake lads would ye ever give over...

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 21:02:44    1902989

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Ah lads stop .......lol"
Ah would you stop Seanie, it's just like 2006 all over again. We even have another Cavan man Tom Smith, hitherto a pacifist, attacking us on another thread. Sure tis only a bit of banter. Don't give it if you can't take it and all of that. We need a bit of this coming into our most important game of the year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2016 21:44:23    1903004

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah would you stop Seanie, it's just like 2006 all over again. We even have another Cavan man Tom Smith, hitherto a pacifist, attacking us on another thread. Sure tis only a bit of banter. Don't give it if you can't take it and all of that. We need a bit of this coming into our most important game of the year."
Up the Dubs!! Lol

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/08/2016 02:46:58    1903066

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ha

Very true

Plenty of disagreements and I even had to apologise one time!"
Case and point.

Liam you haven't been here from the start?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/08/2016 09:34:33    1903093

Replying To daytona11:  "Case and point.

Liam you haven't been here from the start?"
sure havent daytona, but pretty feckin close
started on here the year westmeath beat the dubs....
shudder....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2016 10:21:55    1903103

Replying To daytona11:  "I have been on here a long time now and have seen posters come and go.

Some of the names being mentioned were tossers of the highest order but were part of the clique around here.

A clique that any self respecting poster would have nothing to do with.

Also a lot of posters having multiple names to post under."
We caught a fella out on the Cavan page a few weeks ago - didn't realise he was still logged in as "Sean66" and referred to himself as "he". Funny.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 19/08/2016 14:31:29    1903223

Replying To cavanman47:  "We caught a fella out on the Cavan page a few weeks ago - didn't realise he was still logged in as "Sean66" and referred to himself as "he". Funny."
Shercock Holmes!!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 20/08/2016 01:26:16    1903433

The non sport was great. You could talk about random nonsense, music, movies, american sports etc but thencertain lads started making threads on politics and what not and that's when it went downhill

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 20/08/2016 20:03:35    1903652

I believe Hoganstand is LUCKY to have people like me still interested and posting. When one considers that Croke Park are running the Association solely for the benefit of Dublin it is amazing that interest in Gaelic Games is still there. When one looks at the number of replies tp threads I start, running into the 1000's, I believe the Mods and posters should be grateful and thanking me.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 21/08/2016 02:48:11    1903717

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "also, if u think myself wayno clondalkin and jimbo like to go around agreeing with each other, massaging egos and agreeing like a happy cartel....you havent seen many of our conversations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
If anything, I'm here since 2006 and I could probably count on one hand the amount of times you've agreed with me Liam.

This thread has actually descended into some decent discussion.

What I will say is that while in my light hearted (some seem to have missed that) OP on this thread was negative, Hogantstand despite it only being a forum, has thought me an awful lot.

The 14 year old that started on here took everything to heart.

I was completely out of my depth. Still am in many ways.

But I've also learned from the older Dublin lads on here for example to grow a thicker skin.

Generally speaking I don't read and take offence at stuff directed at me personally, But also at the Dublin GAA fanbase that even up until a couple of years ago i'd have come out all guns blazing defending myself and the Dublin people on here

The arguments that come up now about money and advantages, You have people who will argue and defend Dublin from Dawn to Dusk, I'll just laugh it off cause you cant change these peoples opinions. No matter how many essays or short stories you have with you well written and well thought out points.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2016 10:09:21    1903747

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I believe Hoganstand is LUCKY to have people like me still interested and posting. When one considers that Croke Park are running the Association solely for the benefit of Dublin it is amazing that interest in Gaelic Games is still there. When one looks at the number of replies tp threads I start, running into the 1000's, I believe the Mods and posters should be grateful and thanking me."
Oh squire, We are not worthy !!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2016 10:37:46    1903751

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I believe Hoganstand is LUCKY to have people like me still interested and posting. When one considers that Croke Park are running the Association solely for the benefit of Dublin it is amazing that interest in Gaelic Games is still there. When one looks at the number of replies tp threads I start, running into the 1000's, I believe the Mods and posters should be grateful and thanking me."
Haha nice little 2.48am post there Ulsterman, this is the benefit of 24hr posting :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/08/2016 10:46:38    1903752