The Golden Generation of Hoganstand.

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah man, I started posting here in 2006 when I was still living in London and just before I moved back home

TBH I wasn't into forums and stuff, I have a FB account but don't remember the last teem I was on it!

But being away even though its only across the road, I joined up to keep up on the news, team selections and such

Came on here... and I honestly couldn't believe the level of hate directed towards Dublin posters

Genuine GAA people - it was an eye opener, as before I'd be going to games and you wouldn't hear a culchie say boo to a Dub

Give them a keyboard though... brave lads then alright

It was an eye opener, and many revelled in the fact that we were going through a bad time as a GAA county

Honestly called every name under the sun we were... scum, junkies, and that's just a selection of terms

It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

So that's why you have to laugh at the likes of themaster whinging now

Dublin have won 7 National titles in the last 6 years and all these keyboard warriors back have disappeared!!

I'll be honest regardless of what happens this year - I'll soon be doing my own disappearing act."
Got to say this mirrors my own experience. The level of hate and begrudgery directed towards us Dubs is pretty shocking. And as for he Master's whinging..I think it's pretty rich coming from him; wasn't he the man who made that dig about Dubs being heroin addicts.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 12:18:09    1902700

Replying To Breffni39:  "Lads I think yis are overplaying the dub-hating a bit"
we are really not Breff
twas toxic here at one point

long gone now tho thankfully

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 12:25:00    1902705

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "I love Dubs.
Every home should have a pet Dub.
They're great craic."
your robbing a line from whiterbananas there kid
zero marks for originality

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 12:25:39    1902708

Replying To yew_tree:  "Jimbodub - It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

How many exactly you seem to love repeating this line? Ballboy, Whitter, what 2 or 3 who really went to town on ye?
IF you want to look at hate go on Facebook and take a look at the GAA banter or fans page's...would make you sick."
yew tree
to be fair, the majority of those Mayo posters were one and the same fella.....i think !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 12:27:29    1902710

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "
Replying To yew_tree:  "Jimbodub - It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

How many exactly you seem to love repeating this line? Ballboy, Whitter, what 2 or 3 who really went to town on ye?
IF you want to look at hate go on Facebook and take a look at the GAA banter or fans page's...would make you sick."
yew tree
to be fair, the majority of those Mayo posters were one and the same fella.....i think !"
Are you talking about 51longago???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 12:38:03    1902717

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "[quote=yew_tree:  "Jimbodub - It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

yew tree
to be fair, the majority of those Mayo posters were one and the same fella.....i think !"
Are you talking about 51longago???"]Avonali

Ballboy, 51longago, Whiterbananas, Paddyogall and there was another fella whose name i cant think of, were, almost certainly, the same fella!
RedandGreen was another but not to be confused with the current greenandred from mayo who is a top fella and not atall like that

Some of the best lads on here today are Mayo lads. Yew Tree. Greenandred and a few others. Sound as youd meet.

But then, there is still yer man!

But we have had our fair share of nutters ourselves! Remember Tomaoo!

But I will say one thing for Ballyboy, he was a clown sure, and we had WAR, but, you always knew he was a WUM behind it all and it was funny at times and i actually had time for the fella!

The current incarnation tho, diff story

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 13:05:50    1902733

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "we are really not Breff

long gone now tho thankfully"
Maybe but Tyrone/Northerners got serious abuse too, plenty from Dubs included so it wasn't all about the poor aul Dubs!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 18/08/2016 13:39:39    1902757

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "[quote=yew_tree:  "Jimbodub - It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

yew tree
Are you talking about 51longago???"]I agree but with the way your mate Jimbo is going on he is tarring more than a few Mayo fans.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 18/08/2016 13:45:52    1902761

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah man, I started posting here in 2006 when I was still living in London and just before I moved back home

TBH I wasn't into forums and stuff, I have a FB account but don't remember the last teem I was on it!

But being away even though its only across the road, I joined up to keep up on the news, team selections and such

Came on here... and I honestly couldn't believe the level of hate directed towards Dublin posters

Genuine GAA people - it was an eye opener, as before I'd be going to games and you wouldn't hear a culchie say boo to a Dub

Give them a keyboard though... brave lads then alright

It was an eye opener, and many revelled in the fact that we were going through a bad time as a GAA county

Honestly called every name under the sun we were... scum, junkies, and that's just a selection of terms

It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

So that's why you have to laugh at the likes of themaster whinging now

Dublin have won 7 National titles in the last 6 years and all these keyboard warriors back have disappeared!!

I'll be honest regardless of what happens this year - I'll soon be doing my own disappearing act."
Jimbob while I know things are good now on Dub match days they were not good in the early to mid 2000's. I worked around the bars there and the stuff that went on was crazy. I won't go into detail but there was always trouble in the bars and outside, always. Things have changed but back in those Pillar days the atmosphere was poisonous after games. I have never insulted a Dubs supporter on here, but maybe people have found it hard to move on from those days. I know for sure a couple of my own county men are obsessed with Dublin, but I think we are moving past the insults stage hopefully!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 18/08/2016 13:59:18    1902766

Remember Pomeroy Plunkett had to change his name because he wasn't really from Pomeroy. That was a highlight.

Still some good posters but there has been an increase in bull over the past few years.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 18/08/2016 14:37:51    1902786

Have to say there were plenty nasty anti dubs posters on here at one time but I remember most dubs poster s giving as good as they got! And rightly so. I've never been afflicted with anything other than a healthy rivalry toward other teams myself so I've no idea where lads get this level of dislike of a particular county from. It's ok when it's a biting Craic but when I gets down and dirty it's harder to deal with I suppose. Not too bad these days in fairness.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/08/2016 15:10:03    1902821

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "Remember Pomeroy Plunkett had to change his name because he wasn't really from Pomeroy. That was a highlight.

Still some good posters but there has been an increase in bull over the past few years."
Yeh I wonder where he is now. Oul Plunkett...some Craic lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/08/2016 15:13:21    1902823

I have been on here a long time now and have seen posters come and go.

Some of the names being mentioned were tossers of the highest order but were part of the clique around here.

A clique that any self respecting poster would have nothing to do with.

Also a lot of posters having multiple names to post under.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/08/2016 15:39:28    1902829

I might add Liam that there was then and are now plenty anti Tyrone and anti Ulster posters on here too. Its just the nature of a forum like this I suppose.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/08/2016 15:58:56    1902844

To be replaced by yourself, Jimbo wayno, Clondalkin man and a few others having a little love in. Oh yeh things changed for the better.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/08/2016 16:53:20    1902881

Replying To daytona11:  "To be replaced by yourself, Jimbo wayno, Clondalkin man and a few others having a little love in. Oh yeh things changed for the better."
Yeah Daytona...

Imagine getting on with people that you have a lot in common with!

It truly is an unexplainable phenomenon

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2016 16:58:08    1902886

Replying To daytona11:  "To be replaced by yourself, Jimbo wayno, Clondalkin man and a few others having a little love in. Oh yeh things changed for the better."
replaced??
a few of us are here from the start buddy..................

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 17:06:03    1902895

also, if u think myself wayno clondalkin and jimbo like to go around agreeing with each other, massaging egos and agreeing like a happy cartel....you havent seen many of our conversations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 17:12:45    1902897

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "also, if u think myself wayno clondalkin and jimbo like to go around agreeing with each other, massaging egos and agreeing like a happy cartel....you havent seen many of our conversations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Ha

Very true

Plenty of disagreements and I even had to apologise one time!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2016 17:25:32    1902913

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I might add Liam that there was then and are now plenty anti Tyrone and anti Ulster posters on here too. Its just the nature of a forum like this I suppose."
I don't know Seanie. There's probably one particular Ulster (fear) poster on here who gives the province a bad name. But sure most of us would see past that. I don't think there's a particular vendetta against Ulster, granted there may be the odd post match dust-up and some snow flakes may take discussion/debate personally, and indeed get petsonal, but I don't believe in the North/South divide thing no matter how many times a certain Ulster poster might want to go all geographical on his threads. Leave geography, politicals and history to the students. None should be mixed with sport.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2016 17:38:10    1902920