The Golden Generation of Hoganstand.

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "100% agreed

we were smaller in number then joxer (Dubs) but we had more quality. Almost all Dubs posting back then were quality posters and we got on very well with our county brethern. A lot of todays better known Dublin posters are all about themselves. Look at me, listen to me, like me like me like me etc....you only have to look at the post count to see that. Lads who only appeared in the last 4/5 years with double the amt of posts as lads who are here since the time of genesis FFS

2006 was the best time to be on here. And as a Dub thats hard to say given what happened and the fact that we were the butt of all jokes. But it hardened us. And now we are reaping what the culchies sewed :)"
History has a habit of repeating itself

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 17/08/2016 10:40:01    1902139

I started posting in 06-07

I remember a lot of venom put the way of the Dublin posters on the site

Some fairly harsh terms banded about

Especially from Mayo posters - Revelled in our demise, and to see the like of themaster whinging about Dublin posters repaying a small amount in kind is laughable to be honest

Liam is right... you reap what you sow!

A lot of said posters are nowhere to be seen now.. funny that.

They made plenty of noise when it was easy though, but where are they now?

There were a lot of rows back then but the like of JayoCluxton and Patrique were both excellent contributors and helped to balance things out better!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:55:20    1902156

Ring a ring a rosie.......

Lots of back patting going here. Behave yourselves

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/08/2016 11:49:13    1902210

Replying To JayP:  "Ring a ring a rosie.......

Lots of back patting going here. Behave yourselves"
I remember Hoganstand in the rare auld times...

When Dublin posters were dragged backwards through the muck... called scum!!

Yet the same posters who did the dragging are now doing the running and nowhere to be seen.. most of them being from Mayo

Makes our 7 National titles since 2011 all the sweeter....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 12:23:28    1902236

Replying To cavanman47:  "Ah lads, there was every bit as much slagging back then.

Everyone hated Tyrone much more than they do now. They had some serious rivalries on here with Meath and Mayo in particular.

But I'd still agree it was the golden era. And if I'm honest, I think Jim took the best of HS with him following that faithful final post of his in 2008. .

link"
cavanman that is still the all time most memorabe post by Jim.
It prob hasnt the same effect reading it now but when I first read his post and the replies to it.....I was in tears from laughing so hard.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 17/08/2016 12:39:20    1902247

Patrique was some man to form an opinion and debate with the best about it!
very intelligent man, who used to stoke the fires and get people risen but without the condescending attitude of a lot of posters on here these days

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 17/08/2016 12:41:17    1902252

Replying To cavanman47:  "Ha! He who laughs last, eh. .

tbh, I don't think there were too many sticking the boot in outside of a few usual suspects from Mayo and Tyrone (and some from Meath). The Kerry lads back then were very humble despite their team's success.

There were still another 28/29 counties who weren't in any position to run down Dublin.

You also have to consider the personalities on that Dublin team - Mark Vaughan never did himself any favours in terms of endearing himself to neutral fans! The team these days are seen as more hard-working and much more grounded (although the notion that the mid-late 00s team weren't is actually misplaced)."
Yeah Dublin were guilty of some cringe-worthy goading back then as I recall. Shouldering John Morrison in the back because Mayo had the cheek to warm up in front of the Hill. The Dubs deserved all the stick they got after that!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 17/08/2016 13:27:48    1902274

Replying To jimbodub:  "I remember Hoganstand in the rare auld times...

When Dublin posters were dragged backwards through the muck... called scum!!

Yet the same posters who did the dragging are now doing the running and nowhere to be seen.. most of them being from Mayo

Makes our 7 National titles since 2011 all the sweeter...."
Down thumb all you want :0)

We had the last laugh and then some... and well ye know it!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 13:54:45    1902289

Jimbo is right. Ok we took and we gave, but at one point here we were all being tarred as junkies, scumbags and zombies and it was allowed thru. At times it go very very nasty and was completely over the top.
As Jim said, most of those protagonists have since disappeared, only one remains.

I dont know why either but it is also true to say that the majority seemed to be from Mayo, Now we all pretty much knew one person was responsible for most of it, but not always the case. It was odd at the time as Dubs Mayo had no rivalry on the field atall but there was a desperate atmosphere on here between us. When Mayo beat us in 06 this place literally went crazy.

On the Kerry/Tyrone/Dubs thing, historically on HS, Dubs, Tyrone and Kerry fans have always got on well bar the odd one or two on each sides. Even when we were being annualy embarrassed, we got more sh*te from lads from peripheral counties than we ever got from Kerry or Tyrone lads.
Anyone remember Fear an Srath Ban? Legend of a man.
Thomasclarke is still here and would be a lad I would hold in the highest esteem.

We have all started a thread or 2 or 3 to wind people up, its all in the name of craic but.......
there is no doubt these days HS is more of a vanity project for a few of the newer regulars, but the odd good discussion does break out now and again.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 14:26:14    1902302

The whole GAA thing has been diluted.

I mean now you have lads from down the country supporting the Dubs a la Man U fans from London. Then you have lads who only support their inter-county team and don't bother with the club scene.

That never happened in my day.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 17/08/2016 15:26:41    1902329

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jimbo is right. Ok we took and we gave, but at one point here we were all being tarred as junkies, scumbags and zombies and it was allowed thru. At times it go very very nasty and was completely over the top.
As Jim said, most of those protagonists have since disappeared, only one remains.

I dont know why either but it is also true to say that the majority seemed to be from Mayo, Now we all pretty much knew one person was responsible for most of it, but not always the case. It was odd at the time as Dubs Mayo had no rivalry on the field atall but there was a desperate atmosphere on here between us. When Mayo beat us in 06 this place literally went crazy.

On the Kerry/Tyrone/Dubs thing, historically on HS, Dubs, Tyrone and Kerry fans have always got on well bar the odd one or two on each sides. Even when we were being annualy embarrassed, we got more sh*te from lads from peripheral counties than we ever got from Kerry or Tyrone lads.
Anyone remember Fear an Srath Ban? Legend of a man.
Thomasclarke is still here and would be a lad I would hold in the highest esteem.

We have all started a thread or 2 or 3 to wind people up, its all in the name of craic but.......
there is no doubt these days HS is more of a vanity project for a few of the newer regulars, but the odd good discussion does break out now and again."
Liam - good post

You know better than anyone what it was like

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 16:00:36    1902346

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah Dublin were guilty of some cringe-worthy goading back then as I recall. Shouldering John Morrison in the back because Mayo had the cheek to warm up in front of the Hill. The Dubs deserved all the stick they got after that!"
If you haven't read John Leonard's autobiography, I highly recommend it - easily the best sports autobiography I've ever read.

Anyway, you may remember the famous picture on the back of many Monday morning papers when Dublin beat Laois in 2007 and Dublin forwards were getting in the face of their defenders and pointing at the scoreboard.
Leonard states in the book that this was a direct instruction from management.

The goading certainly didn't go down well, especially as it looked (and has turned out to be) systematically rehearsed in advance of the match. Haven't seen Jim Gavin's team at the same, hence my earlier post.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 17/08/2016 17:00:24    1902375

I've been on the forum a good few years now and I must say you are an "old soul" Wayno,and I get where you're coming from. When you see some of the posters named you do wonder where they are these days,and off course Patrique is no longer with us but I'll always remember him playing his bodhran in the clip I once saw. Others too are no longer around such as Dhorse from Laois. I used to have some "battles" on here with him. Most posters are sound,although I do wish they hadn't taken away the non Gaa forum as it was a good past time in Oct,Nov and Dec and even at other times to discuss what was happening in the world or musical tastes or any multitude of subjects. I'd say posters move to other forums also where the posting is less prohibitive. It's still a good forum for discussing Gaa matters but it was better when it had a broader scope for other topics also. I used to spend endless hours on here years ago and I really think it helped me stay off the drink!! So I'll always appreciate this forum and its users for that reason,and that goes for those i used to do battle with as much as those I found agreement with! Lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/08/2016 18:27:27    1902410

Replying To jimbodub:  "Liam - good post

You know better than anyone what it was like"
U remember it Jimbo, u were here. This place was like a warzone. It was great craic in the main but there was a very nasty streak. Were you here around the Tommy Lyons era??? That was an "experience".....i think a lot of lads on here thought the Dubs were finished, for good.....they getting their answer the last few years...........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 10:39:53    1902631

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I've been on the forum a good few years now and I must say you are an "old soul" Wayno,and I get where you're coming from. When you see some of the posters named you do wonder where they are these days,and off course Patrique is no longer with us but I'll always remember him playing his bodhran in the clip I once saw. Others too are no longer around such as Dhorse from Laois. I used to have some "battles" on here with him. Most posters are sound,although I do wish they hadn't taken away the non Gaa forum as it was a good past time in Oct,Nov and Dec and even at other times to discuss what was happening in the world or musical tastes or any multitude of subjects. I'd say posters move to other forums also where the posting is less prohibitive. It's still a good forum for discussing Gaa matters but it was better when it had a broader scope for other topics also. I used to spend endless hours on here years ago and I really think it helped me stay off the drink!! So I'll always appreciate this forum and its users for that reason,and that goes for those i used to do battle with as much as those I found agreement with! Lol."
lads there is a non-sport superthread under the other sports forum.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 18/08/2016 11:03:33    1902647

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "U remember it Jimbo, u were here. This place was like a warzone. It was great craic in the main but there was a very nasty streak. Were you here around the Tommy Lyons era??? That was an "experience".....i think a lot of lads on here thought the Dubs were finished, for good.....they getting their answer the last few years..........."
Yeah man, I started posting here in 2006 when I was still living in London and just before I moved back home

TBH I wasn't into forums and stuff, I have a FB account but don't remember the last teem I was on it!

But being away even though its only across the road, I joined up to keep up on the news, team selections and such

Came on here... and I honestly couldn't believe the level of hate directed towards Dublin posters

Genuine GAA people - it was an eye opener, as before I'd be going to games and you wouldn't hear a culchie say boo to a Dub

Give them a keyboard though... brave lads then alright

It was an eye opener, and many revelled in the fact that we were going through a bad time as a GAA county

Honestly called every name under the sun we were... scum, junkies, and that's just a selection of terms

It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

So that's why you have to laugh at the likes of themaster whinging now

Dublin have won 7 National titles in the last 6 years and all these keyboard warriors back have disappeared!!

I'll be honest regardless of what happens this year - I'll soon be doing my own disappearing act.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2016 11:18:02    1902655

I've been on the forum a good few years now and I must say you are an "old soul" Wayno,and I get where you're coming from. When you see some of the posters named you do wonder where they are these days,and off course Patrique is no longer with us but I'll always remember him playing his bodhran in the clip I once saw. Others too are no longer around such as Dhorse from Laois. I used to have some "battles" on here with him. Most posters are sound, although I do wish they hadn't taken away the non Gaa forum as it was a good past time in Oct,Nov and Dec and even at other times to discuss what was happening in the world or musical tastes or any multitude of subjects. I'd say posters move to other forums also where the posting is less prohibitive. It's still a good forum for discussing Gaa matters but it was better when it had a broader scope for other topics also. I used to spend endless hours on here years ago and I really think it helped me stay off the drink!! So I'll always appreciate this forum and its users for that reason,and that goes for those i used to do battle with as much as those I found agreement with! Lol.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts:3680 - 17/08/2016 18:27:27
As bumpernut said there is a non sport superthread open... So people can still talk about any other topics though I agree people will use other fora' more as they are easier to post in etc

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2016 11:35:54    1902667

Lads I think yis are overplaying the dub-hating a bit

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 18/08/2016 11:52:02    1902678

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah man, I started posting here in 2006 when I was still living in London and just before I moved back home

TBH I wasn't into forums and stuff, I have a FB account but don't remember the last teem I was on it!

But being away even though its only across the road, I joined up to keep up on the news, team selections and such

Came on here... and I honestly couldn't believe the level of hate directed towards Dublin posters

Genuine GAA people - it was an eye opener, as before I'd be going to games and you wouldn't hear a culchie say boo to a Dub

Give them a keyboard though... brave lads then alright

It was an eye opener, and many revelled in the fact that we were going through a bad time as a GAA county

Honestly called every name under the sun we were... scum, junkies, and that's just a selection of terms

It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

So that's why you have to laugh at the likes of themaster whinging now

Dublin have won 7 National titles in the last 6 years and all these keyboard warriors back have disappeared!!

I'll be honest regardless of what happens this year - I'll soon be doing my own disappearing act."
Jimbodub - It was almost entirely but not completely coming from Mayo posters

How many exactly you seem to love repeating this line? Ballboy, Whitter, what 2 or 3 who really went to town on ye?
IF you want to look at hate go on Facebook and take a look at the GAA banter or fans page's...would make you sick.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 18/08/2016 12:03:40    1902687

Replying To Breffni39:  "Lads I think yis are overplaying the dub-hating a bit"
I love Dubs.
Every home should have a pet Dub.
They're great craic.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/08/2016 12:10:10    1902692