The Golden Generation of Hoganstand.

Replying To moc.dna:  "Stupid post, longing for the past. Like fellas saying ah shure I remember when we used to have Summers, or when went to school in our bare feet & had no arse to our trouser. When the pint was less than a pound & if you were in a row it would be just fists no knives or guns. You just want a select group of people, one of the big laughs here is this league table & it is so obvious, fellas showing up on every thread & different counties threads, a typical example is Pat from county x comes on & says wishing Ye all the best the next day ye should win. This is repeated over & over till he gets the likes. Or it's usually where one group from a county target another group & they keep posting & all the lads from his county give him loads of likes, it's pathetic, just like the need to have Tim, John & Pat from the old days, ffs."
"if you were in a row it would be just fists no knives or guns".... Jaysus not sure what kind of rows you have in Galway these days haha

WestsideWarrior (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/08/2016 17:52:38    1901989

Replying To waynoI:  "Will the magic of HS ever come back ?

This is a different place nowadays.

I'll always remember the good times when we had posters like Loyal2TheRoyal, Dubupnorth, Dubbydave, Ta32, Patrique (God bless him), Slayer, BettystownRoyal, Horse, JayoCluxton, RealLouth, Cavan Slasher, Whiterbananas (As I called him), PPlocal. Niamh, Orlaith

I'm sure there are many more not mentioned.

We had the non-sport forum.

We had the craic and a bit of a laugh.

But, alas, Hoganstand has gone from a once mighty place, To a bit of a borefest. With people just lining up to complain or fuel there agendas against certain individuals. Childish carry on.

There is very little discussion kept on topic anymore, It doesn't take long before a thread descends into chaos and a slagging match.

I appreciate the thumbs up and thumbs down thing, I appreciate that we can now reply directly to posts without having to copy and paste (Though Ormond doesn't seem to notice that yet) but legends of the past are gone and they cant be replaced.

2006-2009 despite being a desperate time to be a Dublin fan on here, was undoubtably the golden generation of HS.

I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!"
And there was I thinking we were friends and I see this list...

You're dead to me waynoI!

Seriously though if you were to read Hoganstand the most exciting thing that happened this summer was Aidan O'Shea falling over. I blame twitter for all this mock outrage!

And no hurling chat!

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 16/08/2016 18:12:38    1901993

Trust me chaps, even back then we pined for the days prior to that and so on and so forth.
For me the best days ever were 10 years ago. Snuf, Myself, Aidan, Horse, Loyal, JayoC, Holymoly, Thomasclarke, Shinners, Ballboy, CorkCelt, Patrique etc. War, but hilarious.
Every generation thinks its was the best, such is life.

The Dubs Mayo All Ireland Semi Final of 2006 and the subsequent fall out was HS in its zenith

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/08/2016 18:58:20    1902004

I was around in those days, and same thing was happening. I see i am not in the golden generation put up by my fellow county man , :(
I'm most displeased . There was nobs then as there is now, I had great craic with the Kildare lads circa 10/11/12.
Also had some craic with the rossie lads last year. But it depends on mods what gets allowed, and who is the mod that's working.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/08/2016 19:30:45    1902011

I USED to think you were one of the more intelligent posters on here.

This is not a hoganstand, GAA or online thing. This is an Irish thing. A deep problem we have. We call it living in the past.

You see it when people talk about football, how it used to be. I saw it in Sydney when lads would say how the pints were better at home, in Vancouver when they said food was cheaper at home. Stay home , stay in the past, long for the glory days.

I wont be. I like to more forward and be optimistic instead of dreaming of past glories and things that may have been

p.s Id say most of those posters (or just the usernames) got banned and never told why ;)

bobobo (Clare) - Posts: 20 - 16/08/2016 19:50:25    1902015

Ah the hoganstand a version if the golden years, can you buy that on VHS or DVD ?

Anyway I'm insulted so I'm going to set up my own GAA forum and call it the davin stand.
What do ye think of that!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/08/2016 20:09:07    1902019

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah the hoganstand a version if the golden years, can you buy that on VHS or DVD ?

Anyway I'm insulted so I'm going to set up my own GAA forum and call it the davin stand.
What do ye think of that!"
Ahh the davin stand is sh#te :).
Go the whole hog and call it the nally stand

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/08/2016 20:57:18    1902030

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh the davin stand is sh#te :).
Go the whole hog and call it the nally stand"
Jays I forgot bout the nally or the canal end.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/08/2016 21:44:36    1902043

Replying To moc.dna:  "Stupid post, longing for the past. Like fellas saying ah shure I remember when we used to have Summers, or when went to school in our bare feet & had no arse to our trouser. When the pint was less than a pound & if you were in a row it would be just fists no knives or guns. You just want a select group of people, one of the big laughs here is this league table & it is so obvious, fellas showing up on every thread & different counties threads, a typical example is Pat from county x comes on & says wishing Ye all the best the next day ye should win. This is repeated over & over till he gets the likes. Or it's usually where one group from a county target another group & they keep posting & all the lads from his county give him loads of likes, it's pathetic, just like the need to have Tim, John & Pat from the old days, ffs."
A few more Posts like that and you'll be in the clique in about 8 years time.. For now I am giving you the thumbs up so you can get up the list.. I hope everybody else does the same.. You need to feel the love

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/08/2016 21:44:54    1902044

Will the magic of HS ever come back ? This is a different place nowadays.
I'll always remember the good times when we had posters like Loyal2TheRoyal, Dubupnorth, Dubbydave, Ta32, Patrique (God bless him), Slayer, BettystownRoyal, Horse, JayoCluxton, RealLouth, Cavan Slasher, Whiterbananas (As I called him), PPlocal. Niamh, Orlaith
I'm sure there are many more not mentioned. We had the non-sport forum.
But, alas, Hoganstand has gone from a once mighty place, To a bit of a borefest. With people just lining up to complain or fuel there agendas against certain individuals. Childish carry on.
There is very little discussion kept on topic anymore, It doesn't take long before a thread descends into chaos and a slagging match.
I appreciate the thumbs up and thumbs down thing, I appreciate that we can now reply directly to posts without having to copy and paste (Though Ormond doesn't seem to notice that yet) but legends of the past are gone and they cant be replaced.
2006-2009 despite being a desperate time to be a Dublin fan on here, was undoubtably the golden generation of HS.
I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11517 - 16/08/2016 14:28:00
First of all I know you can quote but I don't like the method of quoting compared to other forums so I still embolden posts as it looks better IMO.
You would need to change the forum. Make posting automatic irregardless of content and then have moderators edit or delete if people report the post or if they see it themselves and deem it offensive or libellous.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/08/2016 21:49:51    1902046

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays I forgot bout the nally or the canal end."
That's it,,, the canal end. It'll be epic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/08/2016 22:25:17    1902059

I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!"
Good post. It does seem to have gone that way. The Galway forum has been hit very hard by some posters as you say "with agendas" and very little chance of discussion. God be with the good aul days on these forums.

philip3 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 16/08/2016 22:26:47    1902060

Replying To TheMaster:  "Shh, adults speaking..."
Now ye're posting lads
I mean
Now ye're posting, lads.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 16/08/2016 22:34:16    1902064

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "LOL"
.......and someone with a username like GAMEOFTYRONES wouldn't be tolerated

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 16/08/2016 22:35:46    1902066

I don't think this is a HS thing, it's a life thing. People grow older, pass on, have different responsibilities and opinions, views, outlook etc change. HoweverI don't think the craic or standard of discussion is as good as it used to be, I am not blaming Dublin and their fans solely for this but they have developed an air of entitlement and arrogance these past few years and anyone who has a different opinion and perfectly valid view on something is summarily dismissed as a whinger/moaner/bad loser etc; there is just NO debating with them anymore and the replies to this post will confirm that. I also believe as the gap has grown between Dublin and the rest so the football interest is waning generally and Croke Park's focus on Dublin has contributed massively to that. 10 years ago Dublin/Kerry/Tyrone/Armagh were at a pretty same level and only a few bad luck incidents stopped the Dubs winning SAM. There was a humility amongst their fans but that has ALL disappeared and it's no coincidence that the standard of debate has dropped too.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 16/08/2016 22:41:25    1902069

2006 Dublin semi defeat and the weeks following were savage. The Dubs were getting it from all angles, Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry. Absolutely savage stuff. 51Long, Paddyogall, Loyal, Ballboy, Liathrodboy, Whiterbananas were all good wind-up merchants. Some people seem to forget that it's a forum for debate, differing opinions, argument. The day when everyone agrees on everything, everyone patronises each other and other counties will see the end of the forum. It's there for people to agree and disagree. Post on whatever you want. Can never understand people complaining about too many threads on same topic, don't read them, start your own threads. Overall it's still a good resource but the non-sport (general) forum was a big loss. Posters will come and go, as they have done for more than a decade now.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/08/2016 23:37:54    1902080

Jeez... did you spend the night in by yourself with a bottle of whiskey and a Foster and Allen album, or something

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 17/08/2016 01:22:35    1902097

Replying To TheMaster:  "I think a lot of it is down to the moderation to be honest. The life is choked out of a lot of debates, and there appears to be some kind of tactical modding going on. Im generally not allowed to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Even the most simple of things, complete blackout. Yesterday was the first Monday in ages my posts were put up. Maybe that is just me, but if that is going on for others then how is the forum supposed to do well? It used to be great.

The dubs being successful has killed it a bit also. Posters from Dublin tend to be always on the clock. Talk up Dublin, stick the boot into Mayo and Kerry, and never from this mantra shall thou digress. Because of that the non sport thread and the soccer forum are generally better."
Your having a laugh, Dubs posters sticking the boot in to Mayo and Kerry??
your the biggest anti Dub poster on here you never miss an opportunity to have a go at anything to do with Dublin gaa

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/08/2016 10:01:47    1902120

Replying To Joxer:  "2006 Dublin semi defeat and the weeks following were savage. The Dubs were getting it from all angles, Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry. Absolutely savage stuff. 51Long, Paddyogall, Loyal, Ballboy, Liathrodboy, Whiterbananas were all good wind-up merchants. Some people seem to forget that it's a forum for debate, differing opinions, argument. The day when everyone agrees on everything, everyone patronises each other and other counties will see the end of the forum. It's there for people to agree and disagree. Post on whatever you want. Can never understand people complaining about too many threads on same topic, don't read them, start your own threads. Overall it's still a good resource but the non-sport (general) forum was a big loss. Posters will come and go, as they have done for more than a decade now."
100% agreed

we were smaller in number then joxer (Dubs) but we had more quality. Almost all Dubs posting back then were quality posters and we got on very well with our county brethern. A lot of todays better known Dublin posters are all about themselves. Look at me, listen to me, like me like me like me etc....you only have to look at the post count to see that. Lads who only appeared in the last 4/5 years with double the amt of posts as lads who are here since the time of genesis FFS

2006 was the best time to be on here. And as a Dub thats hard to say given what happened and the fact that we were the butt of all jokes. But it hardened us. And now we are reaping what the culchies sewed :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 10:27:30    1902128

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "100% agreed

we were smaller in number then joxer (Dubs) but we had more quality. Almost all Dubs posting back then were quality posters and we got on very well with our county brethern. A lot of todays better known Dublin posters are all about themselves. Look at me, listen to me, like me like me like me etc....you only have to look at the post count to see that. Lads who only appeared in the last 4/5 years with double the amt of posts as lads who are here since the time of genesis FFS

2006 was the best time to be on here. And as a Dub thats hard to say given what happened and the fact that we were the butt of all jokes. But it hardened us. And now we are reaping what the culchies sewed :)"
Ha! He who laughs last, eh. .

tbh, I don't think there were too many sticking the boot in outside of a few usual suspects from Mayo and Tyrone (and some from Meath). The Kerry lads back then were very humble despite their team's success.

There were still another 28/29 counties who weren't in any position to run down Dublin.

You also have to consider the personalities on that Dublin team - Mark Vaughan never did himself any favours in terms of endearing himself to neutral fans! The team these days are seen as more hard-working and much more grounded (although the notion that the mid-late 00s team weren't is actually misplaced).

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 17/08/2016 10:36:30    1902135