Mayo's All-Ireland challenge?

GNR, half the guys tipping us are trying to big us up so they can cut us down later on, be that in the media or here on the forum. Ulsterman's post being an example. All of a sudden we are going to topple Dublin? How does that work?
Truth be told we had a soft run in the qualifiers, tyrone were over-hyped, and we have gotten the easier side of the draw. I think tipp will put it up to us but hopefully we can scrape by, and if that does happen we then find ourselves in a final against one of two teams that are going better, and indeed are better. We probably lose to one of them and the same old rhetoric gets wheeled out about losing finals from the same guys, despite us being outsiders from the off. Sad

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/08/2016 10:20:14    1901136

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I'm sorry as much as I would like to see this current bunch of Mayo players win an all Ireland - they simply won't Dubs or Kerry will do what they always do with Mayo - there's no getting away with it."
I predict by the end of his career Aidan O'Shea will have won Sam at least once.

You keeping putting yourselves in semifinals and finals eventually things will go right for you on the day.

I don't see any reason to suggest they won't be contenders for the next 3/4 years at least, given the team's age profile and their recent u21 success.

They might win this year, although probably not. Dublin still look the most likely winners.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4240 - 15/08/2016 10:44:28    1901151

Replying To Whammo86:  "I predict by the end of his career Aidan O'Shea will have won Sam at least once.

You keeping putting yourselves in semifinals and finals eventually things will go right for you on the day.

I don't see any reason to suggest they won't be contenders for the next 3/4 years at least, given the team's age profile and their recent u21 success.

They might win this year, although probably not. Dublin still look the most likely winners."
Probably the most realistic post about Mayo I've seen.They COULD win it this year if they somehow get everything on point,every game is different,but you'd rather put your money on Dublin obviously.
I think it's Mayos form that is driving everyone mad.If a team doesn't play as well as the Dubs in every game it's hard to imagine them winning the All Ireland based on that average form but it does happen.Look at Portugal in the euros,nothing special and still scrapped a euros. If they beat Tipp (which I presume they will) they'll be in the final , once they are there anything could happen on the day .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 15/08/2016 11:02:33    1901163

Replying To TheMaster:  "GNR, half the guys tipping us are trying to big us up so they can cut us down later on, be that in the media or here on the forum. Ulsterman's post being an example. All of a sudden we are going to topple Dublin? How does that work?
Truth be told we had a soft run in the qualifiers, tyrone were over-hyped, and we have gotten the easier side of the draw. I think tipp will put it up to us but hopefully we can scrape by, and if that does happen we then find ourselves in a final against one of two teams that are going better, and indeed are better. We probably lose to one of them and the same old rhetoric gets wheeled out about losing finals from the same guys, despite us being outsiders from the off. Sad"
Not trying to be a cute hoor here but Kerry are no better than Mayo, and are certainly not going better, as we've faced nothing resembling a test so far. If it's a Kerry vs Mayo final it's a 50/50 in my view and will come down to how things fall on the day.

Dublin are better than both and will probably make the final, you'd be up against it then in fairness and I could agree with what you're saying.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2016 11:05:55    1901165

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The same people that are Tipping (see what I did there!) to beat Tipp by 10+ points are the same people who said we'd beat Westmeath by a similar margin. That didn't work out too well. Remember Fermanagh in 2004? Even after their great win over Armagh we were complacent in the first game against them and we nearly came unstuck. Tipperary are a better football team than Fermanagh in '04, no disrespect to what was a very good Fermanagh team then. Tipperary are a much better outfit than Westmeath built on great underage structures and success they've been Championship top 12 level the past 4 or 5 years. Beating Cork, Derry and Galway on their way to the semi-final they play fearless attacking football and are great to watch. A one point win, over a Tyrone team who were poor on the day, is not a sign that we are playing well though we improve every game. I think Tyrone were a bit overhyped based on their Ulster win. All of a sudden because many treat Tipp as also-rans, Tyrone were a great team and we're looking good because we beat such a team. We have to keep the heads and forget any complacency and go and prove we're the better team on the scoreboard. I expect us to win on Sunday but only by 2 or 3 points."
If Tyrone had won that game by one or two points we wouldn't have been 'overhyped '.Everyone would be expecting us to go out and give it to Dublin in the final, all-Ireland contenders. The margin for error seems so small in the GAA.Instead we lost by one so now we were overhyped after all.Although I believed ever since the Ulster final we were overhyped and I wrote a post here about it because there was some truth behind it.I find it amazing that before Mayo beat us so many had said we were to be the contenders for the throne and yet half their fans don't even believe they can win the thing after beating such a team . Serious amount of doubt with Mayo fans but i suppose it's not unfounded after all the near misses with sam.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 15/08/2016 11:15:09    1901169

I've a few bob on them to win this AI. First time I've ever back them in a final.
Scenic route has been the making of them.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 15/08/2016 11:21:13    1901173

You don't need to play the way Dublin play every game to win an All-Ireland. What does hammering opposition in the provincial or a quarter final prove? You just need one big game in September and a bit of luck and you're there. Mayo are in with a good chance.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 15/08/2016 11:25:33    1901178

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "If Tyrone had won that game by one or two points we wouldn't have been 'overhyped '.Everyone would be expecting us to go out and give it to Dublin in the final, all-Ireland contenders. The margin for error seems so small in the GAA.Instead we lost by one so now we were overhyped after all.Although I believed ever since the Ulster final we were overhyped and I wrote a post here about it because there was some truth behind it.I find it amazing that before Mayo beat us so many had said we were to be the contenders for the throne and yet half their fans don't even believe they can win the thing after beating such a team . Serious amount of doubt with Mayo fans but i suppose it's not unfounded after all the near misses with sam."
But who said you were contenders? 20 minutes into the mayo game and it was clear tyrone weren't all they were cracked up to be, so what these guys have to say doesn't matter tbh. The same guys will be bigging mayo up now, and if tipp beat us, it will be their turn. Not a one with the ability to actually back tipp from the start mind... The lesson there is a lot of sports commentators haven't a clue and just make reactionary comments on results. The truth is we have far too many columns/podcasts/radio shows, and guys have to invent things to talk about. The comparison of O'Connor and Brogan is a good example - pure click bait to get a reaction from two large fanbases who have had run ins in the past. They aren't even similar players and there is the guts of 10 years between them in age.

If anyone wants to see how poor our press is, take a look at the narrative in the media that has accompanied mayo this year. After Kerry lost the league final we were supposed to topple Dublin, without kicking a ball ourselves. Then we lose to galway and we are written off for 2 months non-stop - everything is wrong, with loads of rhetoric - 'McLoughlin cant play as a sweeper' (he was consistently one of our better players in all the qualifiers and the quarter). Then we scrap past tyrone and now we are darlings again. It's ridiculous.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/08/2016 11:42:54    1901186

Am just hoping will be decent crowd in Croker on Sunday.

Reality,however,is that majority of Tipp GAA people have little or no interest in football.

Tipp football people always support the hurlers but favour isn't returned.

Plus,lot of people who travelled to Croker yesterday for the hurling semi won't travel again this Sunday for the football semi.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 15/08/2016 12:11:13    1901208

I find a lot of the postings about this match a bit previous and perhaps even a touch disrespectful to Tipp, tbh. If Mayo have themselves fully-tuned in and play to their potential then I expect them to win, but not by a massive margin as some people are predicting. If they lack intensity from the beginning of the game, as in the Galway and Fermanagh games, for example, then Tipp have a real chance of causing an upset. I expect Tipp to cause a few problems for Mayo on Sunday.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/08/2016 12:36:19    1901224

I think Mayo can do it this year. I remember watching them in the league in March and being impressed by their physicality. They are the only team who can match Dublin in this regard I think. Plus they have that intangible thing called hunger! I think they'll beat Tipp comfortably enough. Someone made a Euro 2016 analogy earlier, I'd compare Tipp to Wales. They have done fantastically well to get this far and fair play to them. But now they're facing a real, proper big team with loads of Croke Park experience. Mayo by 7 or 8 points for me.

In the final, in a once off match anything can happen, Mayo have been so close to Dublin and Kerry in recent times. It's surely only a matter of time before it's their turn to come out the right side. Against Tyrone I was very impressed with their defensive discipline. They didn't fall into Tyrone's trap and over commit. Instead they trusted that their marquee players O'Shea and O'Connor to get them enough scores to eek out a tight win. So their problem of conceding soft goals, which scuppered their efforts in the past, might finally be being addressed. Do not underestimate the effect of McEntee in the backroom team psychologically either. This Mayo team might just be the one to end the jinx.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 15/08/2016 12:55:08    1901231

I won't look beyond next Sunday except to say that whoever wins between the Dubs and the Kingdom will go into the final as red-hot favourites.

My view of Tipp is that when you take Tyrone out of our wins, they arguably beat better sides to get to the semifinal. They dismantled a Galway side who had looked like they finally got their defensive house in order. No more than Galway, we wouldn't have the tallest fb line, so can expect a similar examination on Sunday. I suspect Barry Moran might be needed to play a sweeper role, as he did last year, as the Tipp lads showed how effective they can be with direct ball in. Whatever happens I don't see Tipp taking Mayo by surprise. They'll be treated with the respect they've earned and I expect it will be a hard game. If the hurling ended in a draw yesterday, we could have been expecting a full house for the double header, but now I can't see more than 30k showing up.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/08/2016 14:48:47    1901312

Tipperary have done well to get this far, no doubt about it and all credit to them. Against Galway they really announced themselves on the national stage. However, I did sense Galway were a little too relaxed going into their Quarterfinal meeting with Tipperary. A rising Galway just couldn't see their team losing to Tipperary and mentally as a result they were not at the races. Galway have learnt a harsh lesson, a lesson Mayo will heed. Fail to prepare then prepare to fail and all that.

Mayo have been around the block more times than I can count and I'm sure management and team will have prepared forensically for the challenge against Tipperary. We know Mayo won't panic and I expect they will get the job done in a professional manner. When all is said and done, I expect Mayo to book a place in the All Ireland football final.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 15/08/2016 15:45:43    1901339

As a Tipp man delighted we're in the final 4 with the big boys. Sunday will be a great occasion for us and I really fear we are in for a hiding worse than what Kerry done to us in Munster final.
We don't have the backline to stop Mayo forwards I mean the amount of talent in that line is unreal. The two O Connors are the finest in the country and they will take some stopping.
The two O Sheas as well I mean Tipperary just need to keep the ball away from Aidan O Shea.
Scoring half backs is a big plus for Mayo and defence wise our forwards are quite small apart from Sweeney.
High ball won't beat this Mayo defence alone. Also we need to take every available score.
I'd love to see Mayo win Sam have few friends up around Ballycastle and Westport.
Obviously I wouldn't mind seeing Kerry win either as a Munster man but if anyone is to win it from here I'd love it to be Mayo.
Mention for the Dubz there the team to stop but if Tipperary beat Mayo we'll definitely take down the Dubz or Kerry in a final!!only joking!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/08/2016 17:37:43    1901405

I may have to eat my words but I cannot see Mayo winning. Tyrone had a desperate day out in croker 2 weeks ago and Mayo weren't a whole pile better. Won't wash next day out.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 15/08/2016 22:14:56    1901525

I have a feeling we (Mayo) will win Sam this year....which means very little since I had that same feeling last year and the year before and in 2013. I'll keep the fingers crossed anyways

65years_overdue (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 15/08/2016 23:30:33    1901545

Replying To TheMaster:  "GNR, half the guys tipping us are trying to big us up so they can cut us down later on, be that in the media or here on the forum. Ulsterman's post being an example. All of a sudden we are going to topple Dublin? How does that work?
Truth be told we had a soft run in the qualifiers, tyrone were over-hyped, and we have gotten the easier side of the draw. I think tipp will put it up to us but hopefully we can scrape by, and if that does happen we then find ourselves in a final against one of two teams that are going better, and indeed are better. We probably lose to one of them and the same old rhetoric gets wheeled out about losing finals from the same guys, despite us being outsiders from the off. Sad"
Oh shut up and stop yapping and whinging. I don't need to big anyone up or deliberately talk them down. I call it as I see it and always have done. In the past when Mayo have lost big games it has been down largely to a lack of self belief and the absence of streetwise cuteness to get over the line and I have said so. I don't need to curry any favour with any county or their fans and am not looking for slaps on the back; it's not the way I operate because I don't care who likes or dislikes me and what I say. I have stated all season that I believe Mayo have mentally and physically toughened up and they have gotten results that they may not have done several years back. If they keep this belief they have every chance.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 16/08/2016 00:28:57    1901559

If Tyrone had shooters that day, Mayo would be gone. But they'll be very dangerous if they reach the final. You have seen down the years teams getting over the line by having one of those die for the cause performances. They could peak right on that day. They haven't yet, that's for sure.
I think Tipp's open style might slow their progression in preparation for a meeting with a team like Dublin or Kerry. They'll have to have their eye on the ball in this one.
Can they win it out? Yes
Could they be caught out on Sunday? possibly

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 16/08/2016 03:07:53    1901566

The title of this thread is not accurate...

Mayo cant be All Ireland champions this year

Sure they aren't even champions of Connnacht

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2016 09:09:20    1901592

"IF" is a big word in sport....and sits on shaky ground.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 16/08/2016 09:26:43    1901600