Refereeing in Kilkenny v Waterford

Replying To Lookit:  "I didn't see KK penalised for one chop & very few if any spare hand fowls so when did they throw the toys out of the pram for these exactly?

I was at the match & heard a lot more boos from Wfd for KK wides actually. And I can tell you that Wfd selector used far more profanities than Cody on the sideline from where I was standing.

But I can understand why people have tunnel vision towards KK & Cody, its very natural to feel have disdain for a dominant team. Same happens with Dub footballers.

By the way, it was a Wexford man who reffed the last game in Thurles between KK & Wfd and blew up full time for a draw when the ball had already left Mark Bergins hurl & subsequently went over the bar! Contrast that with James McGrath playing 3 mins extra & giving Wfd a very generous chance to draw. Surely you can see how this might draw a few boos, no?"
Ref done a fine job in game imo as a neutral. The behaviour of Kilkenny fans was similar to Mayo fans in football nothing short of pathetic booing every decision that went against them. Not saying it is all Kilkenny fans but a lot were. Ref was entitled to play over the 3 minutes due to Cody making changes during the added time. Also there should have been more than 3 minutes added game was held up for that alone when Kilkenny player tore hamstring.
Not the first time Kilkenny and cody have been crying over the ref.

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 16/08/2016 09:09:55    1901594

Should Walter Walsh's yellow card have been a red?
As Pat Horgan's was in the 2013 Munster Final.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 16/08/2016 11:09:55    1901669

Replying To Southsham:  "Should Walter Walsh's yellow card have been a red?
As Pat Horgan's was in the 2013 Munster Final."
Patrick Horgan's red card was rescinded so therefore was not deemed a red card offence by the powers that be. So if Walter Walshes 'yellow card' was for a similar offence, then no it should not have been a red card. By the way, I never believed Horgan's red should have been rescinded but I'm not starting that argument again. That one dragged on long enough.

Also, I don't believe Walter Walsh got a yellow card. If i'm thinking of the right incident, Michael Fennelly got one for presumably being the first man into a shamozzle at the same time as about 3 Waterford fellas who weren't booked

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 16/08/2016 12:38:54    1901732

at the game i thought ref did grand -let the game flow which aided it as a sepctacle, yes refs make mistakes but so do players

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/08/2016 12:43:53    1901736

lads if ye think gaa refs are bad - --- disguisting decision in boxing today - last nights one in heavyweight was worse

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/08/2016 15:52:38    1901913