Refereeing in Kilkenny v Waterford

Replying To SaffronDon:  "there's a difference between passion and petulance you know"
Petulance ..... ah wud ya quit !
Were ya at the game ?
We all roar and shout at games it is called passion
Show me an act of petulance that happened once the final whilst let blew

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 13/08/2016 22:01:20    1900694

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Have to disagree with a lot of the posts here . Ref did well in general .made a few mistakes for both teams. A waterford defender got a yellow when colin fennelly just charged into him and richie hogan got 2 very soft frees . Kilkenny fans and brian c didnt cover themselves in glory."
Absolutely agree.Brian Cody has won so much and is so admired but thought he let himself down this evening.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 13/08/2016 22:04:16    1900696

There's letting things flow and then there's tonight. Kilkenny got away with several chops and holding hurls and Waterford got away with some dubious tackling. Terrible reffing performance added to a great game but he shouldn't ref a game again anytime soon, wildly inconsistent.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 13/08/2016 22:27:56    1900701

Replying To rossy15:  "Petulance ..... ah wud ya quit !
Were ya at the game ?
We all roar and shout at games it is called passion
Show me an act of petulance that happened once the final whilst let blew"
how about the round of boo's the ref had to endure when he left the field after the whistle. would passion not be better defined by celebrating after a savage contest?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 13/08/2016 22:40:22    1900706

Very hard game to referee. It is probably true that he gave Waterford more frees than KK. It is certainly true that KK were the better team.

Intercounty hurling is very difficult to referee. It is an incredibly cynical sport - much more so than football as players have helmets and hurleys to interfere with as well.

The amount of steps that a player can take with the ball should be increased to 8 or 10 if the 4 step rule is not going to be enforced.

These rucks are blighting the game as well. There is nothing at all attractive about them. Nearly all of them result from a foul that is not blown for.

The game was tense and exciting. There was great skill shown from two committed teams. Unfortunately, refereeing in general (as opposed to this ref) is very poor. A change of culture and attitude is needed to do anything though.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/08/2016 22:40:47    1900707

People giving out about Cody? Jesus lads was he gonna stand there and watch Dan act the maggot for the whole game?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2016 22:59:17    1900708

Just home...no major qualms with referee...he made an awful lot of errors but in the end it seems they balanced out as per numerous posts. The day of 2 referees is not long away me thinks. Hoping we push on and win the U21s and come back next year knowing that the once invincibles are beatable. Ive said it the last 2 years....there is an all ireland is this team yet. They'll take alot out of these last 6 days.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 13/08/2016 23:07:01    1900710

Replying To SaffronDon:  "how about the round of boo's the ref had to endure when he left the field after the whistle. would passion not be better defined by celebrating after a savage contest?"
These boos were by Kilrenny folk only ??
Can you confirm that ?
I spent years of me life living in Waterford love the place would love to see them won this evening they threw the kitchen sink at Kilrenny and couldn't get over the line this evening
Some of the refs decisions were dubious but he definitely gave every chance to Waterford at the end playing extra extra time look man people get annoyed just because their Kilrenny and have won a gazillion all Ireland doesn't mean their not going to get animated I'd they feel they've been wronged
Nothing petulant about it ... tonight was a battle Kilrenny won it .. end of

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 13/08/2016 23:11:48    1900711

Replying To waynoI:  "I have never, in my entire life, seen such unbelievably biased refereeing. Honestly, its scary."
Killkenny dominating hurling with a population of 100k is better than the likes of Dublin dominating leinster because you at least have some hope they'll be caught. And they almost have been.

But I won't deny. Its demoralising as a neutral who wants to see hurling healthy, to see the game damaged by Killkenny dominance.

Two cracking semis between Waterford and Killkenny attracted less than 70k total. If hurling was proper competitive you'd see that at 1 semi final alone. I pray cody retires and hurling can bounce back.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/08/2016 02:54:45    1900724

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Just home...no major qualms with referee...he made an awful lot of errors but in the end it seems they balanced out as per numerous posts. The day of 2 referees is not long away me thinks. Hoping we push on and win the U21s and come back next year knowing that the once invincibles are beatable. Ive said it the last 2 years....there is an all ireland is this team yet. They'll take alot out of these last 6 days."
100% juniorjudge, Waterford should be more confident of winning an All-Ireland after these two duels with Kilkenny.

Hard luck tonight, they played so well and when the dust settle should have no regrets but renewed hope.

You are dead right, the most important short term goal now is the win the under 21 championship next month. That is absolutely crucial.

I agree, the referee didn't favour either team. He did an ok job in a tough game to manage considering how frantic the tempo was.

I'd love to see two referees but you know yourself how slow the GAA is to change.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/08/2016 06:00:54    1900727

Replying To MesAmis:  "Chop, chop, chop all day long.

Disagree with the general mood. The ref let an awful lot go on both sides.

KK got a few questionable ones too."
Yep.

Then you go to a club game and everything is blown for chops.

Hard game to ref, I think he did well

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/08/2016 09:54:36    1900743

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Killkenny dominating hurling with a population of 100k is better than the likes of Dublin dominating leinster because you at least have some hope they'll be caught. And they almost have been.

But I won't deny. Its demoralising as a neutral who wants to see hurling healthy, to see the game damaged by Killkenny dominance.

Two cracking semis between Waterford and Killkenny attracted less than 70k total. If hurling was proper competitive you'd see that at 1 semi final alone. I pray cody retires and hurling can bounce back."
Jack, even in the golden era of hurling in the 90s there weren't crowds of 60/70 thousand at all Ireland arni finals.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/08/2016 10:06:10    1900747

Replying To valley84:  "Yep.

Then you go to a club game and everything is blown for chops.

Hard game to ref, I think he did well"
It's like the rule doesn't exist at senior inter county level!

Then every now and again a ref will call it once just to remind everyone that the rule is there!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 14/08/2016 10:51:40    1900752

Ref almost robbed kk. Played over the 3 mins, what was the last minute free for ?

Cody is a winner, he will look for the edge in every way, it's scary how much he resembles Alex ferguson. Kk are quite remarkable team, haven't a lost semi
Since 2005. Maybe they are functional and not as good as 2006-2012, but they have some team spirit and work ethic. They stand 70 mins away from another all Ireland and it will TAKE a savage team peformance from tipp or Galway to beat them.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 14/08/2016 11:25:34    1900770

Replying To rossy15:  "These boos were by Kilrenny folk only ??
Can you confirm that ?
I spent years of me life living in Waterford love the place would love to see them won this evening they threw the kitchen sink at Kilrenny and couldn't get over the line this evening
Some of the refs decisions were dubious but he definitely gave every chance to Waterford at the end playing extra extra time look man people get annoyed just because their Kilrenny and have won a gazillion all Ireland doesn't mean their not going to get animated I'd they feel they've been wronged
Nothing petulant about it ... tonight was a battle Kilrenny won it .. end of"
do i need to bring you up to speed with everything that happened? if you'd read my original post instead of half of it, i said that kilkenny were the better side and deserved to be in the final. but there were bad calls on both sides by the ref so maybe you should have watched the game from both teams perspective instead of one, since you claim to have such an affection for waterford.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 14/08/2016 11:41:03    1900773

kilkenny,brian cody and kilkenny supporters are all grand when they are getting away with blatant chops (there were numerous yesterday),holding the opponents loose hand,etc but when a referee blows them for these,they start throwing the toys out of the pram and booing,cheering wides, etc.
cody and kilkenny supporters let themselves down yesterday.
i am a long time admirer of them but yesterday was a disgrace.hurling does not belong to kilkenny,there are rules for a reason and it is a long time since kilkenny produced a decent referee.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2016 11:59:11    1900777

Replying To ballydalane:  "Jack, even in the golden era of hurling in the 90s there weren't crowds of 60/70 thousand at all Ireland arni finals."
If you look back at the 90's both semi's were played on the same day. Which is the way it should be , or like yesterday play them individually in thurlus, there's no atmosphere in Croke park with 30,000 people

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1916 - 14/08/2016 13:08:18    1900792

Replying To SaffronDon:  "do i need to bring you up to speed with everything that happened? if you'd read my original post instead of half of it, i said that kilkenny were the better side and deserved to be in the final. but there were bad calls on both sides by the ref so maybe you should have watched the game from both teams perspective instead of one, since you claim to have such an affection for waterford."
Build a bridge!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 14/08/2016 13:48:59    1900801

Replying To 222:  "Ref almost robbed kk. Played over the 3 mins, what was the last minute free for ?

Cody is a winner, he will look for the edge in every way, it's scary how much he resembles Alex ferguson. Kk are quite remarkable team, haven't a lost semi
Since 2005. Maybe they are functional and not as good as 2006-2012, but they have some team spirit and work ethic. They stand 70 mins away from another all Ireland and it will TAKE a savage team peformance from tipp or Galway to beat them."
funny in the match today Tipp V Galway the ref blew up on 2 minutes. He did'nt allow Galway the chance of a draw!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 14/08/2016 22:37:46    1901038

Replying To perfect10:  "kilkenny,brian cody and kilkenny supporters are all grand when they are getting away with blatant chops (there were numerous yesterday),holding the opponents loose hand,etc but when a referee blows them for these,they start throwing the toys out of the pram and booing,cheering wides, etc.
cody and kilkenny supporters let themselves down yesterday.
i am a long time admirer of them but yesterday was a disgrace.hurling does not belong to kilkenny,there are rules for a reason and it is a long time since kilkenny produced a decent referee."
I didn't see KK penalised for one chop & very few if any spare hand fowls so when did they throw the toys out of the pram for these exactly?

I was at the match & heard a lot more boos from Wfd for KK wides actually. And I can tell you that Wfd selector used far more profanities than Cody on the sideline from where I was standing.

But I can understand why people have tunnel vision towards KK & Cody, its very natural to feel have disdain for a dominant team. Same happens with Dub footballers.

By the way, it was a Wexford man who reffed the last game in Thurles between KK & Wfd and blew up full time for a draw when the ball had already left Mark Bergins hurl & subsequently went over the bar! Contrast that with James McGrath playing 3 mins extra & giving Wfd a very generous chance to draw. Surely you can see how this might draw a few boos, no?

Lookit (Kilkenny) - Posts: 12 - 15/08/2016 21:07:04    1901500