Andy McEntee - New Meath Manager

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly either scored or contributed to 45% of Meath scores in championship this year, I dont know of any other player who is not the free taker for team who would do that.
Btw that figure is actually a fact. Andy is not a stupid man, he knows this only too well, and other players in forward line must up their performances to reach same levels. He is one of only 4 nailed on certainties in Meath team.
And watch this space, the captain will be announced soon enough. Could be interesting choice."
You truly are the king of optimism, fair play to ya

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 10/08/2016 00:38:26    1899193

Lads We all know how bad the standard of football is in Meath at the minute, but let's not forget one thing here , and that is its the clubs that produce the players..Now having seen a lot of Dublin senior championship matches over the last 3 years, I can reiterate to ye that the standard is way above that of Meaths, from skill , fitness levels , strength and conditioning , & passion . As Andy Mc has already confirmed in a interview since taking the reigns he has admitted that in Dublin Senior league that there is no much difference in the top two teams and bottom two teams .Looking at my own club St Colmcilles compete in their inaugural year in Div 1 and the difference is like night and day between the top & botom clubs.So realistically club football has to improve along with coaching before the benefits are seen by the county, but best of luck to Andy , Gerry , Donal Cormac & ,Finian , just hope Meath county board and the afore mentioned leave no stone unturned to get Meath back competing again.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 10/08/2016 02:04:55    1899200

Replying To cilles man:  "Lads We all know how bad the standard of football is in Meath at the minute, but let's not forget one thing here , and that is its the clubs that produce the players..Now having seen a lot of Dublin senior championship matches over the last 3 years, I can reiterate to ye that the standard is way above that of Meaths, from skill , fitness levels , strength and conditioning , & passion . As Andy Mc has already confirmed in a interview since taking the reigns he has admitted that in Dublin Senior league that there is no much difference in the top two teams and bottom two teams .Looking at my own club St Colmcilles compete in their inaugural year in Div 1 and the difference is like night and day between the top & botom clubs.So realistically club football has to improve along with coaching before the benefits are seen by the county, but best of luck to Andy , Gerry , Donal Cormac & ,Finian , just hope Meath county board and the afore mentioned leave no stone unturned to get Meath back competing again."
Yeah I've got to agree with you. Its the structures in club football, they have to change. I think we can see this when our champions go on to compete in Leinster.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2016 10:30:47    1899268

Replying To lilypad:  "You truly are the king of optimism, fair play to ya"
Ahh I've been down beat for too long. This appointment is the first opportunity to get optimistic in awhile.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2016 10:32:39    1899270

Replying To cilles man:  "Lads We all know how bad the standard of football is in Meath at the minute, but let's not forget one thing here , and that is its the clubs that produce the players..Now having seen a lot of Dublin senior championship matches over the last 3 years, I can reiterate to ye that the standard is way above that of Meaths, from skill , fitness levels , strength and conditioning , & passion . As Andy Mc has already confirmed in a interview since taking the reigns he has admitted that in Dublin Senior league that there is no much difference in the top two teams and bottom two teams .Looking at my own club St Colmcilles compete in their inaugural year in Div 1 and the difference is like night and day between the top & botom clubs.So realistically club football has to improve along with coaching before the benefits are seen by the county, but best of luck to Andy , Gerry , Donal Cormac & ,Finian , just hope Meath county board and the afore mentioned leave no stone unturned to get Meath back competing again."
Agree with you here.

We have 18 teams in senior
One gets relegated

That means too many teams are threading water.Also it is possible to lose 3 games and win the championship.No doubt the competitiveness is a huge issue.
I would say though,that Intermediate and junior is as strong as any other county in Leinster though.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/08/2016 10:44:09    1899276

You're hoping against hope there tho I'm afraid.

The standard of club football in Dublin is light years ahead any of the rest of the country and the gap is only widening.

With the influx of intercounty players who get offered jobs, etc. to play with Dublin clubs (and the transfer system which allows the likes of Fennell to move 5 mins down the road), the standard of the top 10/12 clubs is immense.

This has the knock-on effect of producing a Dublin county panel of players who play top level club games all year round (when not with the county panel) and even more critically, ensures there is a talent pool there should they have injuries, retirements, loss of form, etc.

The real kick in the teeth to rural counties here is the fact that it is next to impossible for a player playing their club football with a Dublin club to give 100% to their county as well. It's much easier to finish work, travel the 5 mins home for food and a rest, then travel another 5 to training.

Meath are slightly fortunate in geographical terms that they border Dublin, so the impact is lessened, but it hasn't stopped your top players jumping ship in the past.

McEntee is the best you could have got for the job IMO, but he certainly has his work cut out!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 10/08/2016 10:51:42    1899288

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Agree with you here.

We have 18 teams in senior
One gets relegated

That means too many teams are threading water.Also it is possible to lose 3 games and win the championship.No doubt the competitiveness is a huge issue.
I would say though,that Intermediate and junior is as strong as any other county in Leinster though."
Ziggy yeah I agree 18 is way too much. I like the Louth Championship system. 12 in Senior, 12 in Inter and 13 in Junior. 4 groups with 3 teams in each grade. In Junior 1 group has 4 teams. Each team plays each other once in the group with a total of 2 matches for each team in the group stages. Top 2 from each group go through to the quarter finals and the bottom teams in Senior and Inter play each other in relegation play offs. Most teams have 3 matches and have everything to play for in a group.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2016 11:13:32    1899304

Replying To OLLIE:  "Ziggy yeah I agree 18 is way too much. I like the Louth Championship system. 12 in Senior, 12 in Inter and 13 in Junior. 4 groups with 3 teams in each grade. In Junior 1 group has 4 teams. Each team plays each other once in the group with a total of 2 matches for each team in the group stages. Top 2 from each group go through to the quarter finals and the bottom teams in Senior and Inter play each other in relegation play offs. Most teams have 3 matches and have everything to play for in a group."
Ollie that's what system is needed in Meath, but asking clubs to vote for it is like asking turkeys to vote for Xmas. Too many self interests , I watch a few club games in Meath (as many as I can) and the intensity isnt there, even compared to Westmeath club games, I got to say senior is the main problem, teams in intermediate seem to be more competitive.
But until CB pushes through a changed format (perhaps without a vote) (I know controversial) then it will not change. Now I have been a very vocal critic of CB, but they deserve credit for getting this appointment done in a timely manner and not dragging it on endlessly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2016 12:29:01    1899343

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're hoping against hope there tho I'm afraid.

The standard of club football in Dublin is light years ahead any of the rest of the country and the gap is only widening.

With the influx of intercounty players who get offered jobs, etc. to play with Dublin clubs (and the transfer system which allows the likes of Fennell to move 5 mins down the road), the standard of the top 10/12 clubs is immense.

This has the knock-on effect of producing a Dublin county panel of players who play top level club games all year round (when not with the county panel) and even more critically, ensures there is a talent pool there should they have injuries, retirements, loss of form, etc.

The real kick in the teeth to rural counties here is the fact that it is next to impossible for a player playing their club football with a Dublin club to give 100% to their county as well. It's much easier to finish work, travel the 5 mins home for food and a rest, then travel another 5 to training.

Meath are slightly fortunate in geographical terms that they border Dublin, so the impact is lessened, but it hasn't stopped your top players jumping ship in the past.

McEntee is the best you could have got for the job IMO, but he certainly has his work cut out!"
Cavan Man , you say Meath have such close proximity to the capital that it should be to our advantage but let's be frank here Dublin County Board has invested very wisely into their development squads and currently paying huge dividend( know Our minors beat them this year but my belief Dublin were caught flat footed on the day). Without the development coaches in place & the €€€€ available to Dublin would they be as strong ?Highly unlightly but they just are harvesting now what they have sown earlier. Up to the rest of us counties to carry out dublins blueprint !Your point in relation to country players adding to Dublins success can be argued when in the 80s & 90s most guys were commuting back home to play at weekends while training with the city slickers during the week . Now the road infrastructure is top class for players to go back to home. In relation to players being fixed up with jobs, most guys now are well educated and get positions on their own merit as they have the foresight to look beyond their playing days.Purely down to County Boards and Clubs working harder I believe with the help of a few €€€!

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 10/08/2016 13:24:31    1899375

Replying To cilles man:  "Cavan Man , you say Meath have such close proximity to the capital that it should be to our advantage but let's be frank here Dublin County Board has invested very wisely into their development squads and currently paying huge dividend( know Our minors beat them this year but my belief Dublin were caught flat footed on the day). Without the development coaches in place & the €€€€ available to Dublin would they be as strong ?Highly unlightly but they just are harvesting now what they have sown earlier. Up to the rest of us counties to carry out dublins blueprint !Your point in relation to country players adding to Dublins success can be argued when in the 80s & 90s most guys were commuting back home to play at weekends while training with the city slickers during the week . Now the road infrastructure is top class for players to go back to home. In relation to players being fixed up with jobs, most guys now are well educated and get positions on their own merit as they have the foresight to look beyond their playing days.Purely down to County Boards and Clubs working harder I believe with the help of a few €€€!"
Cilles man do you think that this year will be finally the Cilles year to win Inter?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2016 14:01:16    1899404

Replying To OLLIE:  "Ziggy yeah I agree 18 is way too much. I like the Louth Championship system. 12 in Senior, 12 in Inter and 13 in Junior. 4 groups with 3 teams in each grade. In Junior 1 group has 4 teams. Each team plays each other once in the group with a total of 2 matches for each team in the group stages. Top 2 from each group go through to the quarter finals and the bottom teams in Senior and Inter play each other in relegation play offs. Most teams have 3 matches and have everything to play for in a group."
Very similar to the system I would like in Meath..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/08/2016 14:04:12    1899408

Replying To OLLIE:  "Cilles man do you think that this year will be finally the Cilles year to win Inter?"
Ollie, sorry but don't mean to be smart here but being honest it's a bit unfair hijacking this thread about Cilles winning the intermediate. Honest answer is I would think so , there is a lot of guys around Piltown getting the smell of a championship medal, after last Sunday's performance when Nobber reeled them back in they looked impressive, when kicking on . The squad earlier this year has being hampered with injuries and emmiigration but they are slowly clearing up. Good mix of experience this year with Biggy, Brennan , Ronan , the Mullens , Wardy , Kelly , Mc Closkey , Mc Kenna, and then the youth of Browne , Mc Mahon , Lynch, Banty and Brodser.Would be long overdue for a hardworking committe and a nice conveyor of youth coming through , bring it on Ollie is the answer.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 10/08/2016 14:47:40    1899427

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Very similar to the system I would like in Meath.."
Ollie its a very good system in fairness, and Meath cb could learn alot from it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2016 14:51:47    1899429

Good to see an appointment create such optimisim and best of luck. Perhaps the elephant in the room so many meath posters seem to ignore (similar proplem with co board maybe?) is their underage. Page 4 of a forum talking about the future of meath football ands its hardly mentioned. An unlucky minor team this year that 5% extra effort probly would have them a leinster title but their under 21 record is brutal this last 10 yrs, meekly giving up home advantage and the like is a disgracful way to treat your up and coming.. An agressive, bull by the horns approach at underage would provide alot more optimisim than an appointment at senior with lack of young talent coming through. Meath leinster u21 titles... 89, 90, 91, 93, 96, 97, Now thats a proper foundation for success and well utilised.. underage 1st and foremost senior 2nd... You dont become a force because your successful at underage but you certainly wont if your not...

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 10/08/2016 15:41:09    1899465

Replying To cilles man:  "Ollie, sorry but don't mean to be smart here but being honest it's a bit unfair hijacking this thread about Cilles winning the intermediate. Honest answer is I would think so , there is a lot of guys around Piltown getting the smell of a championship medal, after last Sunday's performance when Nobber reeled them back in they looked impressive, when kicking on . The squad earlier this year has being hampered with injuries and emmiigration but they are slowly clearing up. Good mix of experience this year with Biggy, Brennan , Ronan , the Mullens , Wardy , Kelly , Mc Closkey , Mc Kenna, and then the youth of Browne , Mc Mahon , Lynch, Banty and Brodser.Would be long overdue for a hardworking committe and a nice conveyor of youth coming through , bring it on Ollie is the answer."
How is Conlon doing by the way?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/08/2016 15:42:55    1899467

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Good to see an appointment create such optimisim and best of luck. Perhaps the elephant in the room so many meath posters seem to ignore (similar proplem with co board maybe?) is their underage. Page 4 of a forum talking about the future of meath football ands its hardly mentioned. An unlucky minor team this year that 5% extra effort probly would have them a leinster title but their under 21 record is brutal this last 10 yrs, meekly giving up home advantage and the like is a disgracful way to treat your up and coming.. An agressive, bull by the horns approach at underage would provide alot more optimisim than an appointment at senior with lack of young talent coming through. Meath leinster u21 titles... 89, 90, 91, 93, 96, 97, Now thats a proper foundation for success and well utilised.. underage 1st and foremost senior 2nd... You dont become a force because your successful at underage but you certainly wont if your not..."
The problem with Meath underage has been discussed again and again on the Meath home page, with posters fully aware of our problems in this area, hopefully structures currently been put in place will address problems. But until we begin to reap benefits we should now be at least competitive once more with Andy Mc in charge

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 10/08/2016 16:02:58    1899472

Replying To ziggy32001:  "How is Conlon doing by the way?"
Collon do you mean Ziggy? Mattock had a strange season last year. They got relegated in the senior championship when beaten by their neighbours Naomh Martin in the relegation playoffs. They also won the Division 1 league when they beat the Pats in the final. This year they are favs to win Inter and they are my tip to go up. They won their group with a 100 per cent record and are playing Dundalk Young Irelands in the quarter finals. They also retained their status for another year in Division 1.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2016 16:03:10    1899473

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ollie its a very good system in fairness, and Meath cb could learn alot from it."
Royaldunne yeah its here in operation in Louth for the last 5 years. Before that it was 2 groups with 6 teams in each group. This system is the closest thing you get to a knock out.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2016 16:07:07    1899478

Replying To cilles man:  "Ollie, sorry but don't mean to be smart here but being honest it's a bit unfair hijacking this thread about Cilles winning the intermediate. Honest answer is I would think so , there is a lot of guys around Piltown getting the smell of a championship medal, after last Sunday's performance when Nobber reeled them back in they looked impressive, when kicking on . The squad earlier this year has being hampered with injuries and emmiigration but they are slowly clearing up. Good mix of experience this year with Biggy, Brennan , Ronan , the Mullens , Wardy , Kelly , Mc Closkey , Mc Kenna, and then the youth of Browne , Mc Mahon , Lynch, Banty and Brodser.Would be long overdue for a hardworking committe and a nice conveyor of youth coming through , bring it on Ollie is the answer."
The Cilles remind me of the Clans in Louth. They are always tipped to be there or there abouts but always end up short in the end. Is Brian Mullen still playing with the Cilles?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/08/2016 16:13:44    1899482

Replying To OLLIE:  "Royaldunne yeah its here in operation in Louth for the last 5 years. Before that it was 2 groups with 6 teams in each group. This system is the closest thing you get to a knock out."
Yeah Ollie. And that's what's needed in every county, Meath is you could loosing 3 games and still be champions, its ridicules to be honest.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2016 17:29:49    1899539