Dublin v Kerry

Replying To westkerry:  "Lads let's call a auld spade a spade here,

This is a phenomenal Dublin team that proper GAA fans admire / respect and have no doubts about their ability.

The 2011 Dubs are so far removed from the current team and the same applies to us, our 2011 team was far superior to today.

Dubs have improved massively based on the under 21 success and the transition of JG into the role.

EF has made Kerry a competitive team with lesser resources that Jack had and I think that puts him up there with the best managers we've had.

Regarding the game I'm actually positive enough yes we could get murdered if the dubs hit top gear but actually I'm not sure they will.

I believe we have a solid shot at this and I believe tactically lessons have been learned we should have been hammered last year we were all but on the scoreboard but I also believe we didn't reach our potential and if we reach our potential on the 28 then I've faith in the Kingdom."
Great post. 100% spot on.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/08/2016 11:46:34    1902673

Hermit
where to start.....!
First of all, I was referring also to Cluxtons free in 2011. If you dont believe me, go on youtube and watch it with Radio Kerry commentary. Weeshie and his fellow commentator say its a stonewall free....so get over it!! Its been 5 years!!!
Are you mixing me up with someone else saying i am arrogant and calling people chumps and has beens on a regular basis? What are you on about?
Ask the Kerry lads on here for a few years, Woops, Westkerry, thats not my form and never has been. Your here a wet week and think you know it and us, all!
My issue with you is this thing you have that Dublin have never beaten Kerry on the back of simply being a better team, You always have an excuse, a reason. As I said, in 2011 we led at half time and full time. We made our huge come back, and yet ye still equalised but we still came again and beat ye, As I said, we lead at half and full time. How do you call that "throwing a game away"
Last year you were on about the rain etc and how ye never played to ye're potential etc etc, when the fact it, we whipped ye and had it not been so wet, we probably would have beaten ye by double digits.
4 years ago, I said all along we were not gonna win the All Ireland, I could see it. I never claimed anything else so what are you blabbering on about!
3 years ago, again according to you, it wasn't that Dublin were better, it was that Kerry, didnt perform yada yerra from you
2 years ago, again, on the back of winning the previous year I and Jimbo were saying all the year thru that we didn't see the same killer in the Dubs and didn't see them winning Sam. Where is the arrogance there?
Its different with you Hermit.You point blank refuse to accept that Dublin are better than Kerry, with better footballers and just simply are superior right now. That's your biggest flaw on here
God Knows it wont last. These things are cyclical. We spent the entire of my youth losing to ye when ye were far superior, and never once did we claim we "left it behind" or refuse to accept ye were better etc etc . We knew ye were better and had no qualms in admitting it.
As I said, Woops, Westkerry, RealKerryFan etc will all verify this, but you just have a lump in your throat about accepting that Dublin are better than Kerry with better players.
Maybe ye will beat us, and if ye do I will be the first one on here to say well done. And I wont bitch and moan and cry that the ref did this, or the weather did that or Allah did this or Jehovvah did that….
If ye beat us by being the better team I will accept it. But you……if we win, we all know you will find a reason, a mitigating circumstance, anything rather than admit, Dublin beat Kerry, plain and simply because Dublin are better than Kerry.
As for your apology.. 

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 11:53:44    1902681

Replying To TheHermit:  "Avolni first part is about 2011, last part is responding to you about 2015.

Don't get me started on the phantom foul that gave Cluxton the match wining free!"
BUt HErmit lad..if you're talking about that last free, the ref was busy trying to find Bryan Sheehan and then booked him ...yeah there was some tooing and froing betweeen Cluxton and Connolly but play would have been held up anyway with the booking....Connolly was in position to kick the ball when the ref resumed play!!!! Fact.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 12:08:10    1902691

Where do I begin responding Liam?

RE Cluxton's free, I was having a bit of banter with a Dublin poster. You're on another thread longing for days when their used be great banter but at the same time you go around insulting someone engaging in it with another poster.

It's my opinion that we threw 2011 away, most Kerry people have the same opinion. You might not like that opinion but to call me 'arrogant' for having it is out of line.

You are correct that I have stated and believe that Kerry did not turn up in 2015, for whatever reason. I didn't blame the rain for Kerry's defeat, (PLEASE SHOW ME WHERE I DID). I didn't say Dublin didn't deserve to win (AGAIN SHOW ME WHERE I SAID THAT). I simply said we didn't turn up, we didn't perform and that was the hardest part to take about it.

I don't know why you are bringing 2012 or 2013 into this. I think I only started posting on here around 2013. I never said Dublin didn't deserve to win that game either. How do you think in 2013 I could claim Kerry didn't perform on the day. AGAIN show me where I said that.

On a related point, do you think just because you have been writing here for ten years or more that your opinion is more valid than anyone else? Stating that I have been here 'a wet week'; is that not an example of the arrogance of you I am identifying?

Before the final last year I posted best of luck to ye on the Dublin forum. I came back on here a couple of days after the game and congratulated ye too. You can go look and find that if you don't believe me. What more can a fella do? So don't start some holier than thou thing, if we lose next Sunday I'll say fair play like I always do.

I partly guessed you wouldn't apologies. Perhaps however you might bare this in mind: the only reason we are having this argument is that you went out of your way to start school yard name calling. Rather than have a bit of banter you start dismissing people as arrogant and the irony of it all is lost on you.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 12:46:45    1902721

when i wrote that post there were paragraphs! Honest there was!

And listen Hermit, at the end of the day, tis all about ****holes....sorry, i mean opinions :)

Dont take anything personally or as an offence ok? Sound!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 12:59:39    1902731

No point talking down your chances, either side. Dublin have learned to handle the favourites tag.

When the pressure came on against Donegal they held it together. Mac Manamon and Mannion amongst others on that occasion.
They will need the same determination against Kerry who will throw all they have at the Dubs and for me that's a fascinating prospect.

It's a roll of the dice. The only "expert" I'm paying any attention to is the bookies. 5/2 Kerry means it's up for grabs.

Kerry and Dublin can produce unforgettable matches. Let's all hope it doesn't rain.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 18/08/2016 13:10:35    1902738

jesus lads there more sleding in this thread than in any of the Olympic boxing!!!

kerry and Dubs just sit back and chill out and lets see how Mayo/Tipp pan out and then we can go hell for leather at each other next week!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/08/2016 13:27:29    1902748

Ah come on hermit I said "chumps" as a joke don't be holding me to that when you knew I was only having a laugh. Yes I've said there "has beens" and "over the hill" and Fitzmaurice must agree with me cause he's basically dropped all the players I mentioned. Come on posters why can't we just be friends?

https://youtu.be/5DmYLrxR0Y8

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2016 13:33:59    1902753

Liam

When have we ever said Dublin didn't have better players? Why should we be embarrassed about if someone who never seen Gaelic Football but just knew the raw facts about population, money and home advantage they would logically expect the team with all these factors in hand would win the vast majority of the time - that is fine we accept that, there is no such thing as fairness in life

Are we vexed about 2011 - I am personally I felt it was kinda sinister in how it was taken away from us, the GAA were absolutely desperate for Dublin to win and were sick of Kerry at that stage and did all in their might to stop us, 2013 and 2015 we were beaten by far superior teams - nothing more nothing less. People can accuse me of being bitter and a whinger re:2011 I don't care I can't change how I feel about that game

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2016 14:03:34    1902769

KY should we be still bitter about the 07 semi final when Shane Ryan was clear tru on goal only for the ref to blow his whistle and give Dublin a free in instead of allowing the obvious advantage? Well we're not we got over it years ago I think seen as you've won way more Sam's than everyone else you need to get over 2011.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2016 14:30:24    1902783

Neutral view on 2011:

It was 100% a free.

There were a couple of questionable ones in the preceding minutes (none score-able as far as I can remember) but the last free was definitely a free.

Also, Kev Mc took 11 steps and Kerry were robbed ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/08/2016 14:40:30    1902790

Hermit

I knew it wasn't me used the "hasbeens" and" chumps" words......I see clondalkin has taken responsibility for that. You said it was me....u said i was being a hypocrite and your entire post was based on my having said that, and as I said.....i didn't! I have the utmost respect for Kerry, always have had.
Wheres my apology!!?!

Look as I said, its not personal, lets not all fall out over it!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 14:58:01    1902810

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit

I knew it wasn't me used the "hasbeens" and" chumps" words......I see clondalkin has taken responsibility for that. You said it was me....u said i was being a hypocrite and your entire post was based on my having said that, and as I said.....i didn't! I have the utmost respect for Kerry, always have had.
Wheres my apology!!?!

Look as I said, its not personal, lets not all fall out over it!!"
Well I wasn't basing my entire post on that and I'm sure if I checked back I'd see you having a few sly digs at Kerry over the last months and years. Also I said you are clearly starting threads on here almost every day about this and that to do with 'brilliant' Dublin. So you can't admonish me for being arrogant when you are doing that now can you?

I'll apologise for the former however if you apologise for accusing me of refusing to tip my hat to Dublin in the aftermath of defeat, which I have clearly done multiple times.

We might not like getting beat but we respect the teams that manage to inflict it on us.

And if it's not personal don't inslut a fella just because you don't like what he has to say. Have the banter.

We will leave it there.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 15:18:12    1902826

1st half

Dublin won by a point after without question playing better than Kerry

2nd Half

Dublin started where they left off

Then Kerry being Kerry, some lovely play and some gifted sloppiness from Dublin, and giving away poor frees from kickable positions put Kerry in the driving seat for the first time in the entire game, but in and around that time Dublin should have had a penno, the ball was touched on the ground inside the small square and a free in was awarded to Dublin. That is actually a penno offence. Dublin were without doubt completely robbed of a penno in what must be one of the worst ref decisions of all time in a final!

Then Dublin got back into the game thanks to some Kerry sloppiness, and some never say die attitude from Dublin, but unlike Kerry's purple patch Dublin scored a goal and it changed the momentum of the match, and Dublin kicked some lovely scores after the goal, Kev Nolan and B Brogan kicking marvellous scores to tie up the game and then put Dublin ahead

Kerry people like to believe they were robbed but when you look at the entire game, they were far from robbed.

Dublin led at H/T by a point and finished ahead by a point

Kerry won neither half and close games are won in the last 5-10 minutes

That's exactly what happened

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2016 15:39:49    1902830

i didnt insult u !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

anyways

I am sorry your sorry that i am sorry that your sorry that i am sorry that your sorry that i am sorry that we ever started this in the first place!

Now, is there anything to be said for another mass?

Sound!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 15:41:26    1902831

Replying To cavanman47:  "Neutral view on 2011:

It was 100% a free.

There were a couple of questionable ones in the preceding minutes (none score-able as far as I can remember) but the last free was definitely a free.

Also, Kev Mc took 11 steps and Kerry were robbed ;)"
https://youtu.be/FtnJPTENOKk

Last 10 mins of 2011 final.

The referee only played 2mins stoppage time but Dublin had dominated the last 6-7 minutes.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 18/08/2016 15:49:23    1902838

Lads let's leave 2011 and the rest where it belongs in the past.

Here and now is what matters roll on 28th I'll stay away from here until then emotions are already high and we still have 9 days to go!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2016 16:02:19    1902846

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "https://youtu.be/FtnJPTENOKk

Last 10 mins of 2011 final.

The referee only played 2mins stoppage time but Dublin had dominated the last 6-7 minutes."
Can't watch it as I'm in work ,but what are we looking for exactly? I've seen the goal about 20 times and have yet to count less than 11 steps.

Off the top of my head, the most dubious free was given against Galvin somewhere between the Dublin 65 and 45.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/08/2016 16:04:42    1902851

It's fascinating how some things are recognised though isn't it

Dublin not being awarded the most blatant penno possibly in All Ireland final history

Touching the ball on the ground in the small square = Free in???

Just doesn't even register as a big incident...

If Kerry had of won that game by a point then that penno that never was, would have gone down in history as one of the worst decisions ever in an All Ireland final

Then we have something that happens in every game, and if you look back at many goals, too many steps have been taken, time and time again...

That's what's remembered...

It's odd.. but you see it suited a certain narrative

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2016 16:31:43    1902863

Look lets move on - I'm never going to change my mind on what happened and the result will never change

Those defeats always stick out in the mind than any win does (be it as a player or spectator) - maybe that's just me who thinks like that.

I'd rather the topic move away from 2011 because it is just too painful (lot more than any 10 or 15 point defeat does!) and I'm not going to pretend it doesn't still sting. It's also disrespectful to this amazing Dublin side at present to keep bringing up a game 5 years ago and not relevant to the 28th

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2016 16:36:23    1902866