Dublin v Kerry

Replying To avonali:  "Get up the yard yourself....Cluxton has a minimal routine..he plants the ball and spends very little time with any rituals....at least Dublin don't resort to kicking the ball of the tee ala BJK."
Yerra I suppose I was being fesicious, twas more the 5 minute saunter up to the kick that was rilling us!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 20:27:53    1902463

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I suppose I was being fesicious, twas more the 5 minute saunter up to the kick that was rilling us!"
ahh come on now....5 minutes my eye....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 20:52:17    1902475

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree hermit every 1 iv met since the 2011 final from Kerry and everyother county have all said we were totally robbed. It's a fact. A tainted allireland for Dublin and they haven't looked back since."
'robbed; ......ye thought ye had it in the bag, ye got sloppy and paid the price...we outscored ye...simple as....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 20:53:51    1902476

Replying To avonali:  "'robbed; ......ye thought ye had it in the bag, ye got sloppy and paid the price...we outscored ye...simple as...."
and had the training ref on ye're side, don't forget that

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 17/08/2016 21:39:40    1902497

Replying To avonali:  "'robbed; ......ye thought ye had it in the bag, ye got sloppy and paid the price...we outscored ye...simple as...."
You'd have to agree with that, God to think there were Dubs around me with ten minutes to go patting me on the shoulder and telling me we had it in the bag.

I think for my generation it was out Offaly 82 moment.

Now avolni you know Cluxton took his sweet time jogging up. I think one of the Kerry papers had it calculated at 8-9 minutes of stoppages in total with his trees.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 21:50:15    1902505

In fairness I've no quibbles about the 2015 final at all but there was some unreal time wasting going on in that second half. All teams do it, Kerry included, but what Dublin got away with that day took it to a new level for me. Even the dubs near me we're getting p**sed off with it. There seems to be time added on for this kind of nonsense lately which is a good thing.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/08/2016 22:08:47    1902509

Replying To TheHermit:  "You'd have to agree with that, God to think there were Dubs around me with ten minutes to go patting me on the shoulder and telling me we had it in the bag.

I think for my generation it was out Offaly 82 moment.

Now avolni you know Cluxton took his sweet time jogging up. I think one of the Kerry papers had it calculated at 8-9 minutes of stoppages in total with his trees."
ahh now howld yizzers horses! Are we talking about 2011???? sure why would Cluxton be wasting his time when we were trailing up to the last 4-5 minutes...he has no motivation to timewaste until the final minutes lads....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 22:14:47    1902511

Replying To KYTitletown:  "and had the training ref on ye're side, don't forget that"
Rattled I tell ya, rattled!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 17/08/2016 22:32:24    1902517

by jasus will yea ever get over 2011? blaming everyone and anyone for a great Dublin victory.
Best team won end off.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/08/2016 22:35:06    1902520

If Donaghy plays Kerry haven't a prayer.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 17/08/2016 22:43:54    1902525

Replying To arock:  "If Donaghy plays Kerry haven't a prayer."
If Donaghy had started last September we would have won!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 00:11:45    1902548

Replying To avonali:  "ahh now howld yizzers horses! Are we talking about 2011???? sure why would Cluxton be wasting his time when we were trailing up to the last 4-5 minutes...he has no motivation to timewaste until the final minutes lads...."
Avolni first part is about 2011, last part is responding to you about 2015.

Don't get me started on the phantom foul that gave Cluxton the match wining free!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 00:13:57    1902549

Replying To superbluedub:  "by jasus will yea ever get over 2011? blaming everyone and anyone for a great Dublin victory.
Best team won end off."
You'd have more luck selling ice to inuits than selling Dublin were a better team than Kerry that day!

BUT ye won so that's all that matters, who gives a feck what opinions are the result is there in black and white.

Funny was reading lately about the first encounter between Kerry and Dublin in th3 1893 final was kind of the same thing as 2011 just in reverse.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 00:22:16    1902551

Not necessarily arock..I think Donaghy in full forward can be very effective but at midfield he will be a liability

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/08/2016 08:43:37    1902577

Replying To TheHermit:  "Avolni first part is about 2011, last part is responding to you about 2015.

Don't get me started on the phantom foul that gave Cluxton the match wining free!"
Hermit, the phantom free that Weeshie and the main commentator on Radio Kerrry said was a certain free, a sure free.....listen back on youtube.
And as for 2011 final, we led at half time and full time. Now I dunno how you define, robbed a game........but that was no robbery

Hey Hermit, these days we cant stop beating your lads. We beat ye for fun.

Thats gotta hurt!

Up the Dubs :)

(apols to westkerry and the other really good decent kerry lads here, but this hermit fella, he is like the English media, the arrogance is laughable)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/08/2016 10:29:08    1902622

Replying To TheHermit:  "If Donaghy had started last September we would have won!!!"
Sure you would have...

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/08/2016 10:47:01    1902635

Lads let's call a auld spade a spade here,

This is a phenomenal Dublin team that proper GAA fans admire / respect and have no doubts about their ability.

The 2011 Dubs are so far removed from the current team and the same applies to us, our 2011 team was far superior to today.

Dubs have improved massively based on the under 21 success and the transition of JG into the role.

EF has made Kerry a competitive team with lesser resources that Jack had and I think that puts him up there with the best managers we've had.

Regarding the game I'm actually positive enough yes we could get murdered if the dubs hit top gear but actually I'm not sure they will.

I believe we have a solid shot at this and I believe tactically lessons have been learned we should have been hammered last year we were all but on the scoreboard but I also believe we didn't reach our potential and if we reach our potential on the 28 then I've faith in the Kingdom.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2016 10:56:50    1902638

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, the phantom free that Weeshie and the main commentator on Radio Kerrry said was a certain free, a sure free.....listen back on youtube.
And as for 2011 final, we led at half time and full time. Now I dunno how you define, robbed a game........but that was no robbery

Hey Hermit, these days we cant stop beating your lads. We beat ye for fun.

Thats gotta hurt!

Up the Dubs :)

(apols to westkerry and the other really good decent kerry lads here, but this hermit fella, he is like the English media, the arrogance is laughable)"
I was actually referring to Cluxton's free in 2011.

Also when did I say we were robbed in 2011? I said we threw the game away.

Now why don't you actually respond to what I post instead of just insulting me? Maybe aplogise too while you are at it.

Calling me arrogant for example, you of all people to go banding around a label like that?!!!!

You spend every day putting up multiple threads about how great Dublin are.

You, like many other Dublin posters, who basically spent the back end of 2014 complaining that Kerry won an All Ireland ye thought ye had in the bag.

I have an extreme confidence in the ability of Kerry football. I don't see any need to applogise for that, and unlike you and your cronies on here I don't go around calling other county players 'chumps' 'has-beens' 'over the hill' etc.

While I'll be traveling more in hope than expectation Sunday week, I fee confident we will go down fighting.

The issue with you Liam and a lot of other Dublin lads on here is that you have a problem with anyone who doesn't join in in your 'aren't Dublin the greatest thing ever' cheer leading.

I see on another thread about some 'golden generation' you giving out about Mayo posters who used just insult Dublin posters.

And yet you see no irony in insulting posters like me over a difference of opinion.

Grow up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 10:59:29    1902641

I take your point mate, Kerry without question can make it look it easier given the calibre of players they have been blessed with historically. I do think the flat track exists though this year and historically, i remember games stretching to through the decades of a nice flat track to the final, admittedly barely needed given the great teams. I think this year in praticular highlights it the way the draw is fallen. The comparrison to the slog other counties have put it inis frankly just unfair and the championship has been a poorer tournament because of it in my opinion, teams of a really high competitive calibre have been knocked out due to tougher provincals and subsequent fatipue in the qualifiers, thats not to take away from the achievements of other counties, i just think it is currently and historically unfair, every county should have an equal chance at the beginging of the championship, i dont think that's the case.

This isnt a bitter Dublin post either, i think Kerry and Dublin (well documented) are playing with the odds staked in their favour, maybe Dublin less traditionaly so, but certainly presently. Neither county needs the deck staked in their favour and for me sport becomes less of a sport when its not equitable. for whatever county.

Obviously i hope and would be delighted if Dublin win the all ireland but there is a lingering thought this year more then any other that the odds are staked in Dublins favour, sure we have had a tougher run, but if it was a 100 metre dash we have a 20 metre head start, Kerry this year and arguably histroically maybe 30 meteres.

I genuinely believe if this Kerry team is ever tobeat this Dublin team in its pomp before it regresses there willnever be a better year for the reasons ive stated and wouldnt put it past some of the greats you have giving it one great performence, time, playing scedule and formation to develop a tactical plan for the game and mamage it have been in your favour, every conceivable advantage has been put in Kerry lap to do it, i genuinely wouldnt be surprised if Kerry to do it, in fact i think they are favourates to do it, despite the convential thinking that it willbe a cake walk for Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2016 11:12:43    1902653

That's gotta hurt? We turned out in our thousands to welcome back the beaten team in 1982. I recall being in a pub after, with an atmosphere of a wake. A few of the players came in, kept their own company and everyone respected their space. We've seldom been better than on that day... and we hope never to see another (coming as it did after four titles on the trot).

Can this Dublin team thread two or three titles together? It's harder now, and the pack are catching up. If the players can screen out the bombastic guff from the fairweather set then they have a chance. On meeting them, I would congratulate them wholeheartedly. You shouldn't blame them for the antics of those hanging on their coat tails.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 18/08/2016 11:35:43    1902666