Dublin v Kerry

Fear? Between 1987 and 1997, the well went dry for us. We weren't afraid. There was no panic. That too came to pass.

In more recent times, there was irritation that it took us so long to get to grips with the style of football served up by Tyrone. That too came to pass.

Up until recently, there was real concern that we weren't making a showing at the younger age levels, especially In the minors. That too has begun to pass.

If Dublin do what we all expect them to do then few on our side will begrudge the Dublin team and management. The odd gomb on the Hill is another story BUT what will they do as and when "their team" (sic) begins to slide down the Hill

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/08/2016 14:18:55    1901821

In my opinion Dublin weren't fantastic in their win over Donegal, they got the job done yes but it wasn't until Paul Mannion's late goal that the game was fully put to bed.

Kerry don't have as bad a panel as people on here are making out, we definitely have 18-20 quality players that can perform on the day and put it up to this mighty Dublin team. While Dublin have the likes of Mannion(who looked excellent against Donegal), O' Gara, Bastick & Fitzsimons on the bench to come on alone Kerry will be encouraged by Gooch, Buckley & M. Geaney all coming back from injury so it'll be interesting to see the team selection for this one.

It'll be interesting to see also if Eamonn will persist with Donnacha for this one as he doesn't contain the powerful running and scoring that will be needed although I feel O Donoghue could let loose if given the right service and could be coming into the same sort of form we saw from him in 2013/14. Paul Geaney looks to be the go to man although he lacked that bit of sharpness in the Clare game. In the grand scheme of things I wouldn't fear Dublin too much although I've the utmost respect for them having seen a good deal of this current team.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 16/08/2016 14:53:01    1901854

If Bryan Sheehan starts in goals it will say a lot about how little EF thinks of his keepers and how little faith he has in Sheehan as an outfielder these days that in order to have a fella to take a free, he will sacrifice his keeper!
Also, all those Kerry lads moaning about Cluxton taking frees, ye wont have a leg to stand on!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 10:34:10    1902133

Liamo massive rumours it's going to happen, as you more or less said it's Fitzmaurice badly needing his best free taker on the field but he obviously doesn't feel Sheehan is good enough to play out field against Dublin. Hey if it works Fitzmaurice will go down as a genius if it doesn't he's a fold. For me managers get way too much stick for losing and way too much praise for winning.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/08/2016 11:12:05    1902172

well if it does happen, i hope all the people who were laughing at Geezer for the same thing earlier in the year wont start defending Eamo cos he is a Kerryman!
Personally, if it does happen then we know we have them rattled! I hope it does CD :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 11:38:24    1902196

Look lads it makes total since to have Sheehan in goals for this game and this game only and I'm sure kealy and Kelly would totally understand , Sheehan would manage out the field against every other team in Ireland but not Dublin as they're just too athletic so in fairness to fitzy he's thinking outside the box ( or inside the box) what a lot of people don't know is Sheehan was our minor keeper back in 2001 so it's not going to be overly strange to him, and if nothing else it might keep the dubs honest if they're going to give away silly frees from within 55 yards of their goal Sheehan could punish them. It's starting to get interesting .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2016 12:07:29    1902225

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "If Bryan Sheehan starts in goals it will say a lot about how little EF thinks of his keepers and how little faith he has in Sheehan as an outfielder these days that in order to have a fella to take a free, he will sacrifice his keeper!
Also, all those Kerry lads moaning about Cluxton taking frees, ye wont have a leg to stand on!!"
We won't have a leg to stand on only if he takes as long as Cluxton to kick them :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/08/2016 12:13:55    1902229

Replying To Superglue:  "We won't have a leg to stand on only if he takes as long as Cluxton to kick them :-)"
Ya taking 3 minutes to take a free is taking the p*ss a bit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2016 13:20:18    1902266

Replying To plike:  "Fear? Between 1987 and 1997, the well went dry for us. We weren't afraid. There was no panic. That too came to pass.

In more recent times, there was irritation that it took us so long to get to grips with the style of football served up by Tyrone. That too came to pass.

Up until recently, there was real concern that we weren't making a showing at the younger age levels, especially In the minors. That too has begun to pass.

If Dublin do what we all expect them to do then few on our side will begrudge the Dublin team and management. The odd gomb on the Hill is another story BUT what will they do as and when "their team" (sic) begins to slide down the Hill"
The same as the Kerry supporters one would imagine....accept it!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2016 14:01:47    1902292

"The odd gomb on the Hill is another story BUT what will they do as and when "their team" (sic) begins to slide down the Hill"

I wouldn't go taking the moral high ground there, Kerry supporters are hardly angels themselves, just ask Mickey 'The Gun' O'Sullivan. Paidi's remarks about them being ***** animals must have some foundation if he's going to say it. If memory serves, Ogie Moran had an awful time of it when he was managing Kerry back in the early 90s too. Kerry have enough band wagon supporters too

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 17/08/2016 14:39:59    1902313

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya taking 3 minutes to take a free is taking the p*ss a bit."
Yeah Yeah

As if Kerry lads haven't been going down with "cramp" in tight games for years when enjoying a lead

Also how long did Donnacha Walsh stay down in injury time

Kerry's last free... he made the mistake of thinking he could run through Paul Flynn

Kerry lads whinging, surrounding the ref, giving out about time wasting.. while wasting time!

For a tap over free that a monkey could kick over the bar with the use of it's arse... it took yiz close to two minutes to tap it over! Well over a minute anyway!

You wasted plenty of your own valuable time...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 15:03:26    1902320

Replying To keithlemon:  ""The odd gomb on the Hill is another story BUT what will they do as and when "their team" (sic) begins to slide down the Hill"

I wouldn't go taking the moral high ground there, Kerry supporters are hardly angels themselves, just ask Mickey 'The Gun' O'Sullivan. Paidi's remarks about them being ***** animals must have some foundation if he's going to say it. If memory serves, Ogie Moran had an awful time of it when he was managing Kerry back in the early 90s too. Kerry have enough band wagon supporters too"
In fairness to Padi what he meant by his f*cking animal statement was that Kerry fans demand success every year. And he was right because we do. Any year without an All Ireland is regarded as a failure. That's just how it goes down here.

He wasn't talking about band wagon supporters though of course we have them too like any other county and I've been plagued many times before by a few of them looking for All Ireland final tickets.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 15:20:54    1902327

Replying To TheHermit:  "In fairness to Padi what he meant by his f*cking animal statement was that Kerry fans demand success every year. And he was right because we do. Any year without an All Ireland is regarded as a failure. That's just how it goes down here.

He wasn't talking about band wagon supporters though of course we have them too like any other county and I've been plagued many times before by a few of them looking for All Ireland final tickets."
If you like the game, there are times when victory leaves a bad taste in the mouth. The finał against Donegal a few years back was one such occasion. In contrast, the defeat to Dublin in 2011 was less sickening, alrhough clearly not one of our better closing statements

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 17/08/2016 17:16:34    1902384

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah Yeah

As if Kerry lads haven't been going down with "cramp" in tight games for years when enjoying a lead

Kerry's last free... he made the mistake of thinking he could run through Paul Flynn

Kerry lads whinging, surrounding the ref, giving out about time wasting.. while wasting time!

For a tap over free that a monkey could kick over the bar with the use of it's arse... it took yiz close to two minutes to tap it over! Well over a minute anyway!

You wasted plenty of your own valuable time..."
Ah get up the yard.

Cluxton wasted about 8 minutes in the second half alone with his pre kicking routine.

Must have been watching the rugby world cup failry closely the day before.

Hopefully Fitzmaurice will have a stern word with the officals before the game about things like this.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 17:22:44    1902386

im surprised he hasnt star in goal afterall he tells him to run around the pitch for 70 minutes and its little wonder that star doesnt implode with his temper. im looking forward to mcmen soloing past star and star rising his hands up to the sky like a mad thing and then taking it out on the ref. (it will happen)
Im also looking forward to the first big shoulder on gooch to see if they can tickle his fancy around that injury.
unfortunately i think it will be all too predictable with him playing a defensive game crowding the box with kerry players, getting them to run up to mark all dublin players for the cluxton kick outs. By 50 minutes they'll be shattered and mccarthy and co will run like the wind.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 17/08/2016 17:58:28    1902398

Replying To plike:  "If you like the game, there are times when victory leaves a bad taste in the mouth. The finał against Donegal a few years back was one such occasion. In contrast, the defeat to Dublin in 2011 was less sickening, alrhough clearly not one of our better closing statements"
Hi Pike, not sure what your getting at there.

2014 Final wasn't the best but needs must sometimes and surely we gave the GAA public enough footballing spectacles that year with the Semi final replay and the awesome display down in PUC in the Munster final.

Funny, the way some people go on about the 2014 final. The 2013 final was pretty dire stuff too and I don't hear any Dubs complaining because they won it.

Finals are there to be won. We played great football in 2004/2006/2007 didn't we? We also played great football in 2002/2005/2008 and it didn't go our way. C'est la vie.

I must say how can any Kerryman say 2011 was anything but a kick in the nuts is beyond me.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 19:07:54    1902426

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah Yeah

For a tap over free that a monkey could kick over the bar ... it took yiz close to two minutes to tap it over! Well over a minute anyway!

You wasted plenty of your own valuable time..."
Of course our players were whinging wasn't one of them nearly blinded.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2016 19:18:37    1902433

Replying To TheHermit:  "Hi Pike, not sure what your getting at there.

2014 Final wasn't the best but needs must sometimes and surely we gave the GAA public enough footballing spectacles that year with the Semi final replay and the awesome display down in PUC in the Munster final.

Funny, the way some people go on about the 2014 final. The 2013 final was pretty dire stuff too and I don't hear any Dubs complaining because they won it.

Finals are there to be won. We played great football in 2004/2006/2007 didn't we? We also played great football in 2002/2005/2008 and it didn't go our way. C'est la vie.

I must say how can any Kerryman say 2011 was anything but a kick in the nuts is beyond me."
I agree hermit every 1 iv met since the 2011 final from Kerry and everyother county have all said we were totally robbed. It's a fact. A tainted allireland for Dublin and they haven't looked back since.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2016 19:34:50    1902445

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah get up the yard.

Cluxton wasted about 8 minutes in the second half alone with his pre kicking routine.

Must have been watching the rugby world cup failry closely the day before.

Hopefully Fitzmaurice will have a stern word with the officals before the game about things like this."
Get up the yard yourself....Cluxton has a minimal routine..he plants the ball and spends very little time with any rituals....at least Dublin don't resort to kicking the ball of the tee ala BJK.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 19:47:21    1902448

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree hermit every 1 iv met since the 2011 final from Kerry and everyother county have all said we were totally robbed. It's a fact. A tainted allireland for Dublin and they haven't looked back since."
Hah hah, ah I wouldn't go that far KY but twas a hard one to stomach all the same!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2016 20:25:33    1902462