Dublin v Kerry

Replying To 37sowhat:  "At least he did not aim his salute at Phillys eye"
Not surprising how sour you are. God knows you have little to be doing with yourself I suppose.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/08/2016 13:40:27    1908086

Hard luck to Kerry I know you don't want to hear this now but after watching your minor team Sunday it won't be long til Sam is back in the kingdom. Great game to win I'll still never understand how James O Donoghue is a sub for me he's the first name down. Jonny Copper outstanding he was my motm , Kev was brilliant but that was a free on Crowley all day long and you could understand Kerry folk unhappy, delighted for dean he was unreal. Donaghy, Marc, O Mahoney , Sheehan and maybe Gooch played there last game for Kerry Sunday what service and outstanding players they have been for Kerry. Mayo will be some game anyone writing off Mayo one question for you's ; when have Dublin ever beaten Mayo easy in championship football?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2016 13:49:11    1908095

Replying To Jackeen:  "Obviously delighted with the win. Missed this game and will miss the final too :((((( Two things surprised me about yesterday though. Donagheys refusal to shake Phillys hand? Connolly showing his softer side by checking on Crowley after Kmacs challenge. Thought that was a great gesture at a time when the game was in the balance."
Surely he got a close enough look at that fellas paw last year

Mossycurr (Kerry) - Posts: 8 - 30/08/2016 15:25:57    1908159

Congratulations to Dublin who are arguably now and certainly to my mind the greatest Gaelic football team of all time. They'll be no argument about which team is the greatest in this decade.

I expected Dublin to win this match by 8-10 points beforehand and Dublin were so dominant in the first 25 minutes, I initially thought my prediction was going to be too conservative. However, fair play to Kerry for taking advantage of Dublin switching off and responding with courage. While Dublin are clearly the superior team it has to be said that Kerry were very gallant losers who gave everything.

I thought referee David Gough did an excellent job with the best refereeing performance this year. Gough really aided this game to be the classic it turned out to be and how I wish we had Gough in 2014 for our semi-final with Kerry. I don't know how Mayo will handle the greatest team ever in the final but we'll give it lash!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/08/2016 19:15:24    1908314

Excellent game of football, and it has to be said that the better team won, Kerry got a gift of a goal of Cluxton and he should have done better with the second one as well. Those 2 scores put Kerry in a good position and to their credit they stuck with Dublin all they way through, but Dublin just has that extra gear that nobody else has at the minute and it told in the end.

There's some all time legends still in that Kerry team, but you'd just wonder if their day is nearly done at this stage, it will be sad to see them go but the memories they've left behind won't be forgotten too easily.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/08/2016 20:01:13    1908337

Replying To Htaem:  "Excellent game of football, and it has to be said that the better team won, Kerry got a gift of a goal of Cluxton and he should have done better with the second one as well. Those 2 scores put Kerry in a good position and to their credit they stuck with Dublin all they way through, but Dublin just has that extra gear that nobody else has at the minute and it told in the end.

There's some all time legends still in that Kerry team, but you'd just wonder if their day is nearly done at this stage, it will be sad to see them go but the memories they've left behind won't be forgotten too easily."
If one more person calls that goal lucky I'll scream... Lol

In fairness Kerry still had a lot to do once Geaney intercepted that ball, and it was a seriously ballsy move to push everybody up like that in the first place. It was a move they had been practicing in training according to Fitzmaurice in his interview afterwards. Nothing lucky about it.

If Dublin had done the same and Connolly had ended up putting it in the net we'd be talking about what genius it was.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 30/08/2016 20:12:36    1908341

Replying To Jackeen:  "Considering the amount of bad press Connolly gets it was worth highlighting imo. No need to get so facetious!"
Fair enough, but if you had praised a Kerry lads actions and raised an eyebrow at something a Dub should have done I would have saluted you. Still point taken.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 21:40:33    1908399

Replying To JamesH:  "Congratulations to Dublin who are arguably now and certainly to my mind the greatest Gaelic football team of all time. They'll be no argument about which team is the greatest in this decade.

I expected Dublin to win this match by 8-10 points beforehand and Dublin were so dominant in the first 25 minutes, I initially thought my prediction was going to be too conservative. However, fair play to Kerry for taking advantage of Dublin switching off and responding with courage. While Dublin are clearly the superior team it has to be said that Kerry were very gallant losers who gave everything.

I thought referee David Gough did an excellent job with the best refereeing performance this year. Gough really aided this game to be the classic it turned out to be and how I wish we had Gough in 2014 for our semi-final with Kerry. I don't know how Mayo will handle the greatest team ever in the final but we'll give it lash!"
greatest team ever !! what a load of horse s_ _t

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/08/2016 22:36:51    1908426