Dublin v Kerry

Mannion's hit on B Sheehan was my own personal highlight of the day

Especially after his waffle article as Kerry captain earlier in the week

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 16:08:38    1907692

Replying To ponger:  "On the hit on Crowley. Was it any different than the hit O'Mahony gave Philly McMahon. I dont think so. Funny as i sat through the game i though the ref did a pretty good job at trying to let the game flow.

I have sat through games this year with a lot of possesion football and you could hear a pin drop in the crowd as the ball is passed over and back. Its turns over like this and quick breaks up the field that get a crowd excited. It needs to come back into the game, maybe not necessarily from big hits but the ability to force a turnover."
Maybe it needs to come back into the game, but it needs to come in via the rule book - not via a ref making up the rules as he goes along!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 29/08/2016 16:38:49    1907714

Replying To cavanman47:  "Maybe it needs to come back into the game, but it needs to come in via the rule book - not via a ref making up the rules as he goes along!"
Not sure what you have been watching. The ref did not decide the match result- errors by Kerry on the field and on the sideline in the last 10 minutes decided it. On Refs ! your own ref decided the outcome of Mayo first round match in the back door and that was pretty clear.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2016 17:33:58    1907749

Replying To browncows:  "Not sure what you have been watching. The ref did not decide the match result- errors by Kerry on the field and on the sideline in the last 10 minutes decided it. On Refs ! your own ref decided the outcome of Mayo first round match in the back door and that was pretty clear."
Cavanman, ure more agressive than any kerryman today. Kerry lads not bitchin, but u are.....?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2016 17:57:34    1907760

Replying To cavanman47:  "Maybe it needs to come back into the game, but it needs to come in via the rule book - not via a ref making up the rules as he goes along!"
I don't know what all the fuss is about. Dublin gave Kerry two goals and still beat the by two points. 22 scores to 16 need I say anymore.

GreenMan (Offaly) - Posts: 38 - 29/08/2016 18:23:16    1907774

I couldn't be prouder of my team and my county.
Kerry have been competitive during a period were we don't have the same players that we had in the 00s and EF deserves massive credit for that.
What we saw yesterday was pure heart and a willingness to die for the respective Jersey.
Dublin players are a credit to there clubs and families and good look to them.
I must say that when Crowley was hit he got up clearly unsteady on his feet and began to run back to help the team, he had two physios hanging out of him what a warrior.
On a side note the first guy to check he was ok was Connolly.. decent gesture.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 29/08/2016 19:34:30    1907787

Thought Kerry were great yesterday, really enjoyed some of their play and more like Kerry in terms of style of play, think in the last two games they focussed to much on stopping Dublin then their own natural strengths, best I've seen Kerry in a long time in terms of style of play.

Many great players played there last game yesterday and I suppose questions will be asked of Fitz . But players and managers yesterday should be proud of their performance. No shame coming second to this Dublin team, we've been and will be on the wrong end of Kerry's defeats, certainly no shame in being beaten by football of the quality these counties can conjure.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2016 19:47:11    1907791

Obviously delighted with the win. Missed this game and will miss the final too :((((( Two things surprised me about yesterday though. Donagheys refusal to shake Phillys hand? Connolly showing his softer side by checking on Crowley after Kmacs challenge. Thought that was a great gesture at a time when the game was in the balance.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2016 20:53:11    1907820

Replying To Jackeen:  "Obviously delighted with the win. Missed this game and will miss the final too :((((( Two things surprised me about yesterday though. Donagheys refusal to shake Phillys hand? Connolly showing his softer side by checking on Crowley after Kmacs challenge. Thought that was a great gesture at a time when the game was in the balance."
Donaghy's antics didn't surprise me in the slightest!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 21:21:19    1907832

Replying To Jackeen:  "Obviously delighted with the win. Missed this game and will miss the final too :((((( Two things surprised me about yesterday though. Donagheys refusal to shake Phillys hand? Connolly showing his softer side by checking on Crowley after Kmacs challenge. Thought that was a great gesture at a time when the game was in the balance."
Ah sure we all know them Dubs are like the Chinese, a great bunch of lads. Them Kerry fellas on the other hand, never had any time for them. Come to think of it, maybe Donaghy had good reason to keep away from Philly's hand.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 00:18:02    1907895

Donaghy was trying to get a reaction on the field from Philly

That's what Kerry were at during the build up to the game too

They were looking to test our discipline

It would have been easier to beat a 14 man Dublin team, so it was a nice wind up attempt by Donaghy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/08/2016 09:15:31    1907923

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Ah sure we all know them Dubs are like the Chinese, a great bunch of lads. Them Kerry fellas on the other hand, never had any time for them. Come to think of it, maybe Donaghy had good reason to keep away from Philly's hand."
Considering the amount of bad press Connolly gets it was worth highlighting imo. No need to get so facetious!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2016 09:38:30    1907932

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Donaghy's antics didn't surprise me in the slightest!"
At least he did not aim his salute at Phillys eye

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 30/08/2016 09:42:56    1907935

Donaghy had no problems patting Philly on the head going off pitch at half time trying to rise him

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 30/08/2016 10:19:04    1907954

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Cavanman, ure more agressive than any kerryman today. Kerry lads not bitchin, but u are.....?"
I'm not bitching about Dublin's victory, per se. .

I'm just a bit sick of people patting a referee on the back for "letting the game flow" when the means by which he did so was to ignore some of the rules of the game. Players need to know where they stand!
I was at the game as a neutral and know full well that it is 100 times easier to be objective about decisions etc when not supporting one of the sides involved (I'll argue black is white in the heat of the moment in a Cavan game!) and felt Gough had a very poor game, for both sides. It just so happened that Dublin had time to recover from some bad calls, Kerry didn't have time to recover from the last "shoulder".

As for any comments about the quality of our own referees - my views on that are pretty clear throughout anything I've ever posted on here.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/08/2016 10:38:45    1907967

Replying To 37sowhat:  "At least he did not aim his salute at Phillys eye"
What salute? There wasn't one.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/08/2016 10:40:18    1907970

What a gem of a football match. That was everything great about Gaelic football. Lads out on their feet for the jersey, skills, pace, great tactics, individual errors by god it had everything. A massive congratulations to the Dubs - it is so so clear how much they believe in themselves. That belief that they can go to the well no matter what is thrown at them now, I really don't see how Mayo will match that as I feel Kerry were the best placed team to beat them this year. But we'll see and hopefully we'll be treated to another special match.

I've seen a few comments about the goals masking the "gulf" between the teams - what a load of crap. Take the goals out of any match for gods sake, what a pointless statement to make. Kerry played some really lovely stuff at times and you could see they had worked on applying certain tactics at different times. But the Dubs adapted - half-time was such a key moment for them to get in the dressing room and sort themselves out a bit.

Dublin blitzing them at the start of the second half was some of the finest score-taking I'd seen, but Kerry showed unbelievable resolve to stem the tide and go 3 points up once again. BJ Keane's point (Kerry's 1st in the 2nd half I think?) was a really extraordinary score I felt, one of many from both teams during the match.

From my own seat, just a few things I felt through the game:

1. I was right in front of the hit on Crowley and thought it was clear as day a free in. Saying that, from my angle the O'Mahoney hit earlier in the half was a great shoulder - the replays have shown me otherwise. So that just shows you how difficult it can be to tell in real time. I think while it was a pivotal moment (a 2 point swing essentially), Kerry will be kicking themselves. Sheehan skied a shot from 45 out, JOD (I think) turned a Dublin defender inside out and had a chance to take a score - an unforced error and he lost the ball. When it was in the melting pot in those last 5 minutes, the decision making was poor and it needed to be at it's absolute best.

2. Over the entire match, I did feel the Dubs got a couple of soft decisions and with Rock in the form he was in, this was murdering Kerry. However again, these are things that happen during the match. Kerry battled and put themselves in a position to win the game but lost it.

3. Diarmuid Connolly is the finest footballer I've ever seen. You see the pace and strength of the man and you would may be forgiven for thinking he's just an athlete, that maybe there are more skillful players about. And then he pops over that score on his left foot, in full stride (!) from the left side of the pitch! An absolutely incredible score. He is a joy to watch for moments like that. Fantastic.

4. Outside of Connolly, I feel Paul Geaney is really becoming one of the best in the country. He was definitely out on his feet but I feel taking off someone like Gooch instead would've been a better. Geaney was a bit more of a physical presence to have up there and while he had ran himself into the ground, I think he could've had a couple more bursts left in him.

5. Saying all of that, you had a real sense of inevitability in those final 5/10 minutes. Kerry would battle and get a great score - the Dubs would head up the other end no bother. I felt that even if there was a goal from Kerry at the end, Dublin would've managed to go up the other end and level things up.

Can only stand and applaud a great match between the two teams. Yes of course there was some off the ball crap but that's an element of our game that has always been there, and will always be there unless directives come from the top brass about stamping it out. Ask any Kerry player about the off the ball crap and I don't think you'd hear too many grumbling. Sometimes you give it your all and it's not enough on the day.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/08/2016 11:56:44    1908019

Interesting stat (and apologies if someone else has already posted it).

Dublin have outscored Kerry 5-17 to 0-8 in the final ten minutes of the last five 'big games' the pair have played.

The 'big games' being referred to are 2011 AI Final (1-3 to 0-3), 2013 AI Semi Final (2-2 to 0-2), 2015 AI Final (0-2 to 0-1), 2016 League Final (0-7 to 0-2), 2016 All Ireland semi final (0-7 to 0-2).

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/08/2016 12:56:21    1908056

JoeSoap (Donegal)- Very good analysis of the game. Furthermore I though the Ref applied the rules with a bit of common sense which made the game all the better to watch. I agree with Flynn that the black card needs to go and not sure what Burns is watching

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/08/2016 13:12:30    1908067

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Interesting stat (and apologies if someone else has already posted it).

Dublin have outscored Kerry 5-17 to 0-8 in the final ten minutes of the last five 'big games' the pair have played.

The 'big games' being referred to are 2011 AI Final (1-3 to 0-3), 2013 AI Semi Final (2-2 to 0-2), 2015 AI Final (0-2 to 0-1), 2016 League Final (0-7 to 0-2), 2016 All Ireland semi final (0-7 to 0-2)."
Yeah

Kerry were robbed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/08/2016 13:21:23    1908076