Dublin v Kerry

Very entertaining game... some great scores by both teams, some awful mistakes by both teams.
Half time came at the right time for Dublin but the wrong time for Kerry.

If (I personally don't think it was) the McManamon shoulder on Crowley was a free/yellow card then O'Mahony's shoulder on McMahon was too..
I don't think the referee was the winning or losing of the game..

Baffling decision by Fitzmaurice taking off Geaney and putting on O'Sé when the game was level.. were they playing for the draw at that stage?
He probably showed too much loyalty to the Gooch by leaving him on whereas Gavin was ruthless enough to take Brogan off...

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 28/08/2016 22:59:15    1907218

Replying To Joxer:  "One of these days Kerry may find a better excuse than blaming the ref. A gifted goal and beaten 13-6 in the second half. No excuses lads. The ref seemed to forget about the black card rule today. Dublin, with star players still not performing, still out scored Kerry 22 scores to 16 so I don't think the Kingdom can complain again in fairness. Gavin was almost outfoxed on tactics. 3 points coming from Kerry's right back position in the second-half was absolutely unforgiveable. Bernard should not have been on the pitch for the last 20. Hard luck Kerry. They put it up to this Dublin team but this bunch of lads just keep going, and they still have not performed yet."
On the recent "things in the gaa that make you cringe", one of mine was this BS people come out with that team X can't blame a refereeing error because they should have been out of sight / were outscored in the 2nd half, etc.

A goal is worth 3 points for a reason. There was a point between the sides when the referee made a critical error in not awarding Kerry a free. They lost. Regardless of what went before, it is absolutely correct to say that the error had a massive impact in the result.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 28/08/2016 23:20:00    1907227

Just back in the Kingdom and first off I am extremely disappointed it was a brilliant performance but we ran out of legs in the last 5 minutes.
Well done to Dublin and best of luck in the final even though I would rather a Mayo win.

I'll look at the game again tomorrow but it was incredible to watch up there it had everything.
Its a real pity Donaghy went off injured because the Dublin full back line and Cluxton were dreading every ball going in there between Star, Gooch and Geaney. Gooch dragged Cian O Sullivan all around Croker today, poor Cian was chasing shadows and it was probably his best performance in a Kerry jersey since 2013 semi final. Geaney gave a master class in scoring and the amount of tracking back he done as well was huge probably my man of the match but he did run out of steam and thats why he was taken off. Kerry have really improved defensively O Mahony and Griffin were absolutely solid. Enright a bit lucky not see black it looked very similar to the Tipp player's last week. Moran had his best game in a couple of years but Maher was a good bit off the pace but still matched Fenton till he went off.

McMahon and O Mahony was a clear shoulder to shoulder it was right in front of me. Kevin Mc's hit on Crowley also looked shoulder to shoulder but I will have to watch that back again because I wasn't at the best angle.
But what annoyed me was the ref over ruling the umpire for a 45 after Kevin Mc's protests. The ref was too far away to have seen that how on earth could he have known if it was a 45. The umpire had a better view of it.

I'm going to watch the game again so I will have a better opinion next week.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 28/08/2016 23:58:11    1907241

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "Just back in the Kingdom and first off I am extremely disappointed it was a brilliant performance but we ran out of legs in the last 5 minutes.
Well done to Dublin and best of luck in the final even though I would rather a Mayo win.

I'll look at the game again tomorrow but it was incredible to watch up there it had everything.
Its a real pity Donaghy went off injured because the Dublin full back line and Cluxton were dreading every ball going in there between Star, Gooch and Geaney. Gooch dragged Cian O Sullivan all around Croker today, poor Cian was chasing shadows and it was probably his best performance in a Kerry jersey since 2013 semi final. Geaney gave a master class in scoring and the amount of tracking back he done as well was huge probably my man of the match but he did run out of steam and thats why he was taken off. Kerry have really improved defensively O Mahony and Griffin were absolutely solid. Enright a bit lucky not see black it looked very similar to the Tipp player's last week. Moran had his best game in a couple of years but Maher was a good bit off the pace but still matched Fenton till he went off.

McMahon and O Mahony was a clear shoulder to shoulder it was right in front of me. Kevin Mc's hit on Crowley also looked shoulder to shoulder but I will have to watch that back again because I wasn't at the best angle.
But what annoyed me was the ref over ruling the umpire for a 45 after Kevin Mc's protests. The ref was too far away to have seen that how on earth could he have known if it was a 45. The umpire had a better view of it.

I'm going to watch the game again so I will have a better opinion next week."
I think you'll find the umpire was wrong....and it was a 45. But Kerry would be mad to oust EF

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/08/2016 01:19:37    1907252

Replying to Forpucksake (UK) ;

Judging the Kerry defence in June and July, will some people never learn.

22 Scores conceded and that a score every 3.1 min on 70mins and give that Dublin had 2 10min spells were they didn't score makes it more damning on the Kerry defense. 2.7 mins per score. Really and truly 2 lucky goals made a game of this.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 29/08/2016 09:50:54    1907350

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "Just back in the Kingdom and first off I am extremely disappointed it was a brilliant performance but we ran out of legs in the last 5 minutes.

Jackos.Wackos

It was not shoulder to shoulder

I watched it last night and he shouldered him in the fore head

It's as clear as day, it was a frontal challenge and he played the man, making no attempt to play the ball

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 09:57:07    1907356

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Replying to Forpucksake (UK) ;

Judging the Kerry defence in June and July, will some people never learn.

22 Scores conceded and that a score every 3.1 min on 70mins and give that Dublin had 2 10min spells were they didn't score makes it more damning on the Kerry defense. 2.7 mins per score. Really and truly 2 lucky goals made a game of this."
Now there is an interesting use of statistics! When judging the quality of the Kerry defence we should ignore both 10 minute periods when they kept the best attack in the game scoreless?! Its a pity people cant just enjoy the spectacle they were treated to yesterday - it was all that is great in sport, it should be savoured.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 29/08/2016 10:10:02    1907370

Proud of Kerry's performance and kudos to Dublin.
The Dubs had us in trouble in the first half but what a turnaround before half time.
I knew it was a cushion we needed and Dublin got a few important score at the start of the second half which were got too handily from a Kerry perspective.
Donaghy and Darren going off were massive losses to Kerry.
Mcmenmanin tackle on Crowley was a free all day long and was prob the most crucial decision of the day. Also his punch for a point which went wide..was a wide not a 45! was looking at it today!
All in all Dublin deserved their win , to outscore Kerry 13-5 in the second half really tells the story of a superb team that never panicked.

in our 3 losses to Dublin Fitzmaurice has made some dubious calls and taking Geaney off was mind blowing.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 29/08/2016 10:20:11    1907381

woops (Kerry) -the crucial decision were down to Kerry themselves- in the last 5 minutes Gooch kicked an easy ball into the keepers hand and the corner forward (sub) carried the ball towards the corner flag and gave it away easy- those two incidents lost the match at the end plus a weak performance after half time. Great match to watch and nothing in it at the end and the best of luck going forward to all in the kingdom

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2016 10:32:56    1907397

Mcmenmanin tackle on Crowley was a free all day long and was prob the most crucial decision of the day.

Your opinion on O'Mahony's challenge on McMahon then? As highlighted on the Sunday game it was the same type of challenge but the big difference here was O'Mahony had ZERO intention to play the ball.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/08/2016 10:47:16    1907409

Replying To woops:  "Proud of Kerry's performance and kudos to Dublin.
The Dubs had us in trouble in the first half but what a turnaround before half time.
I knew it was a cushion we needed and Dublin got a few important score at the start of the second half which were got too handily from a Kerry perspective.
Donaghy and Darren going off were massive losses to Kerry.
Mcmenmanin tackle on Crowley was a free all day long and was prob the most crucial decision of the day. Also his punch for a point which went wide..was a wide not a 45! was looking at it today!
All in all Dublin deserved their win , to outscore Kerry 13-5 in the second half really tells the story of a superb team that never panicked.

in our 3 losses to Dublin Fitzmaurice has made some dubious calls and taking Geaney off was mind blowing."
yes it probably should have been a free to Crowley but ref was consistent and it was similar to one O'Mahony got away with. I have watched the attempted point with fist back and IMO the ball hit defenders arm on way out and it was a 45. Right decision again.
However the behaviour of Kerry fans at the end was disgraceful.

Not much been said about Mannions shoulder on Sheehan at the end, What a hit fair play to him and also the shoulder at the start when Walsh was in on goal, Some brilliant hard hits

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 29/08/2016 11:03:15    1907426

Do watch it again and it was 45 all day long

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 29/08/2016 11:04:52    1907429

My respect for Eamon Fitzmaurice goes up again. The man had to take a gamble cos he knew after the final lat year as well as the league final that Kerry needed to do something special to beat Dublin. Ciaran Whelan was correct in his assessment in the last 10 minutes of the first half, the big push up on Cluxton's kickouts were pre-planned for that portion of the match. Mayo showed last year that if you can rattle Cluxton, it sends massive aftershocks throughout the confidence of the Dublin team. You could argue that Kerry got lucky there, if Cluxton kicks it straight down the middle who knows what happens but the main thing is Dublin avoid a very silly goal to give away. You could see how that changed Kerry. The high ball in started paying off, Dublin defenders looked a little bit lost and both Philly McMahon and John Small picked up some silly yellow cards. But Fitzmaurice banked on getting that bit of luck and to be going in 5 up at half time in a half where they were mostly the poorer team gave them a great chance to see out the game.
If Fitzmaurice is to leave I hope it's his own choice and not forced out. He did a wonderful job yesterday for the most part. I didn't get the Geaney substitution at all, if you were going to take anyone of the full forwards off then for me it was Gooch who really went off the pace second half. The Maher selection worked to a point but for the most part Kerry struggled in midfield. Aidan O'Mahony as sweeper only worked in patches, in the first half Dublin forwards were able to get into the 45 a number of times to get shots off. Fitzmaurice didn't right all the wrongs from the All Ireland final on their own kick outs, Dublin won a lot of Kerry's own kickouts. Sheehan was a disaster when he came on, I'm surprised Buckley didn't get the nod or why O'Donoghue didn't start. But Kerry were unlucky to lose O'Sullivan who took a while to get going in the game but he was starting to make a big impact as the game wore on.
All in all, I thought Kerry proved once again that your best chance in beating the Dubs is to have confidence in your own ability and take chances when they're there. Not this over elaborate defensive set ups that so many teams have adopted. Mayo will take note and I fully believe they'll go zonal on the Cluxton kick out. They'll have the legs to go the full 70 minutes on that

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 29/08/2016 11:31:03    1907452

Well done to the Dubs in prevailing in a match where it looked to be inexplicably getting away from them. I don't think it was as good as 2013. Dublin practically owned the first half and at one point even Darragh Moloney commented on the strange atmosphere inside the stadium. You could only see one team winning it, and it seriously did look like Dublin could go and win it by whatever they wanted, But, I commented prior to the match that Kerry do have that ruthless ability to get goals from out of nothing.

Granted - Cluxton's error played a big part in the first one. But I think the quality of the goal was a wee bit underappreciated. Donnacha Walsh should great intelligence not to gather the ball in, but instead sort of scooped it into the on rushing O'Sullivan's run. If Walsh grabbed that ball the chance was gone. The second goal was just a bit of a disaster on Cluxton's part. After that, at half time, I thought Dublin were in bother.

For me the opening period of the second half was key. I know hindsight is great and all but if I was Fitzmaurice I would have parked the bus completely for ten or 15 minutes to see how Dublin would have reacted then. As it was, they were able to chip away at the lead and all of a sudden Kerry's advantage was gone. They did show great quality in getting ahead again but I had a feeling Dublin's superior pace, fitness and options from the bench would just get them over the line, and so it proved.

I don't think Kerry can have too many complaints. Some of the calls were hard to make in real time. With the benefit of replays the Kev Mc 45 decision was a 45, Murphy did touch the ball on the ground, by accident I might add, but technically still a foul. The Crowley hit was a free but I have to admit that in real time it just looked like a mighty shoulder to shoulder hit.

Kerry gave it a serious rattle. They have some warriors who died on their shields yesterday and that's all you can ask really as a supporter. Dublin were the better team overall and were deserving winners.

It's hard seeing them being beaten in the final now. They obviously have the ability, but also, they now crucially have the experience and composure to deal with almost any situation. That said, I think Mayo will have a serious kick in them and they'll not want for motivation. An intriguing final in store for sure. The build up will be fantastic!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/08/2016 12:03:10    1907476

Replying To browncows:  "woops (Kerry) -the crucial decision were down to Kerry themselves- in the last 5 minutes Gooch kicked an easy ball into the keepers hand and the corner forward (sub) carried the ball towards the corner flag and gave it away easy- those two incidents lost the match at the end plus a weak performance after half time. Great match to watch and nothing in it at the end and the best of luck going forward to all in the kingdom"
The problem is that the Gooch, Star and Sheehan have had it. We are now paying the price- as we did in the nineties when ye were in yer pomp- of not blooding younger lads as we let the younger age grades slide. We may now win three-in-a-row at minor level... if... our busy bee neighbours oblige.

It seems to me that Fitz got part of the Dublin puzzle right. Cluxton can be a weak link. The other way involves risk. You have to attack them in waves and in numbers. The danger is that they will rip you apart with counter attacks. It also has to be said that sustaining such attacks for an entire match would ask more of most panels around at present. The bonus for doing this though is obvious: Dublin look like Fred going forwards but seldom look like Ginger when going backwards at a turn.

As for sour grapes from Kerry, I don't condone them... but nor do I feel sorry for a man clearly out of his depth. If you want to see this done 'properly', soak up the atmosphere when Perpignan entertain English speaking visitors: the gob all over the other team as they take the pitch. A punch of proper punks if you ask me.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2016 12:04:47    1907479

Replying To Joxer:  "I should imagine that the Kerry supporters throwing bottles and programmes at the referee were whining. Eamon Fitzmaurice seemed a bit peeved also yet Spillane thought the referee was brilliant. I wouldn't read too much into. Kerry will look at themselves I would say."
Didn't know about the ref abuse at the time Joxer. Agree about Kerry and their own postmortem... the goals disguised a real gulf between the teams. Be interesting to see if Jack O'Connor will get another stint.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/08/2016 12:04:49    1907480

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "Very entertaining game... some great scores by both teams, some awful mistakes by both teams.
Half time came at the right time for Dublin but the wrong time for Kerry.

If (I personally don't think it was) the McManamon shoulder on Crowley was a free/yellow card then O'Mahony's shoulder on McMahon was too..
I don't think the referee was the winning or losing of the game..

Baffling decision by Fitzmaurice taking off Geaney and putting on O'Sé when the game was level.. were they playing for the draw at that stage?
He probably showed too much loyalty to the Gooch by leaving him on whereas Gavin was ruthless enough to take Brogan off..."
Connolly should have been hauled ashore. Unlike the Gooch, he will sail again when he sorts his rigging out.

As for Geaney, I'm not sure what the deal was. A draw would have been a fair result BUT I think Dublin would have won that anyway.

The fitness levels, speed of movement and (to borrow a phrase) offloading by Kerry just isn't good enough at present. We're not far off though... and all those who talk of Fitz facing a mutiny should be keel hauled, at the very least (ie dragged off to slaughter in Rathkeale)

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2016 12:10:55    1907485

Is O'Se for Geaney the most puke substitution of all time?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 29/08/2016 12:27:45    1907500

Replying To Breffni39:  "Is O'Se for Geaney the most puke substitution of all time?"
Perhaps equally as bad as taking off JOD in last years final!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 12:29:51    1907502

The afternoon after the day and night before.

Well, That was a bit lovely. Not a fantastic Dublin display by any means, but my god when they look like they might just be beaten, they somehow just up it another notch, compose themselves and have total and utter faith and trust in their ability to get them back into the game. I suppose that's what winning breeds, Confidence.

Before the game I expected Kerry to give it everything. Some of their great players approaching the end of their careers in the green and gold jersey would likely only get one more shot at the Dubs, This was it, after two AI final and a semi final defeat in 5 years, Aswell as a recent league final hammering, I absolutely expected one final, brutal kick from this Kerry team. You had O'se coming out saying the worm has to change direction at some point, and pundits backing "something special" from Kerry in the build up so a close game is what I expected and In fairness to them, they did give it all they could.

But Dublin are just immense right now, though I am sick of people claiming "this Dublin team can be got at, they can be bet", Well, Of course they can. We are not invincible or unbeatable. No team is. But we got the job done again yesterday and have a lot to work on going into the final. Bernard Brogan and Paul Flynn are not the players they where. Flynn in particular is a shadow of his former self and nothing seems to be working for Bernard. We won yesterday scoring 22 points, Only created one clear cut goal-scoring opportunity too. Our lack of goals is worrying me. Hope we are saving them for the final.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2016 12:32:53    1907505