Dublin v Kerry

I dont think it was a classic, dublin were the better team for 3/4 of the game. They missed a lot as well. 2013 was a much better game IMO. Dubs will be hard to beat!

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 28/08/2016 19:14:05    1907071

Fuck it anyway 5 points up and they don't score for 15min at start of the second half. Criminal from a Kerry team. We didn't score for first 12 min? I think either. Jesus Christ when are we going to get 70 minutes from these lads.

Thought it was a free and not a shoulder in last minute against Crowley.

Fair play to the Dubs, game was in the fire and they were prepared to get the hands scalded!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2016 19:20:12    1907077

Replying To plike:  "Would it have made a difference? Should it have made a difference?

A very unusual game:

1) the good... It ebbed and flowed and you could see thought and effort, brains as well as brawn.

2) the bad... Kerry were often too slow and predictable when working the ball forward & Dublin seemed to be angling for frees for long stretches.

3) the ugly... The referee had a shocker, with 'that goal' being a howler of dithering.

The bottom line is Dublin deserved their luck, but players like Connolly need to have a look at themselves. Kerry need to retire Star, Sheehan and the Gooch because they simply don't have the legs any more.

I watched in a London pub sandwiched between a tall woman whose food arrived in the first half and who had some thirst on her there after. On the other side, I had a hipster (with beard) who insisted on a tedious monologue throughout, most of which had nothing to do with the game. Joy unbounded... and a bargain at £4.70 a pint. September is a 'dryathlon' month... so I'll start tomorrow (life gives you lemons; make lemonade)"
It couldn't be any worse than listening to Martin Carney on RTE

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/08/2016 19:20:33    1907078

Dublin played well and would have been comfortable only for a few minutes of madness from Cluxton. He had a mare today.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 28/08/2016 19:26:20    1907084

Delighted

Well done to Kerry

But we gifted yiz quite a bit when only minutes before Dublin were giving you a bit of a run around, but yiz capitalised on some big Dublin errors and that is to your credit

Fantastic come back by Dublin, showed some serious composure and came out like true champions. Outscored Kerry 13-6 in 2nd half. When Dublin went behind by 3 late on, Dublin turned it around with the last 5 points, some of which were probably the best points I've ever watched Dublin kick under such circumstances

All credit to Kerry and I can't pay you anymore of a compliment, but I'm delighted to have watched Dublin beat you again. We owe you a fair few more yet..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/08/2016 19:27:03    1907085

It was as good a semi-final as I have seen over the last 50 years. It had everything, power, speed, quick decision making, good scores and an exciting finish. The ref dithered a lot confusing players umpires and the crowd, forgot his black card and failed to punish the tackle on Crowley which might have seen the game end in a draw and given us the chance to see them in a replay. BTW the wholesale changes from the announced teams is becoming a bit of a joke.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/08/2016 19:34:42    1907090

A pretty dismal display by Gough Kerry have cause to feel aggrieved
Leinster refs for all of Xu line games and more than likely Joe M. Quillan Dublin reside twill get the final Peter Crowley a head high t takle left go unpunished but all in all a great game Mayo be prepared for the 50 / 50 calls to go against you
The GAA NEEDS THE Dubs!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 28/08/2016 19:57:22    1907105

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Donaghy showing his class (or lack of) by refusing to shake Phillys hand before the game. Can't say I'm surprised."
I wouldn't either.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/08/2016 20:09:03    1907109

Replying To neverright:  "It couldn't be any worse than listening to Martin Carney on RTE"
Agree there can't listen to the man drivel anymore - idiotic comments, obvious comments, biased comments - the list goes on.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/08/2016 20:15:45    1907111

Disappointing performance but showed great character to dig out the result.

Kev Mc was immense.

I'll take the giving out about the ref by everyone with a pinch of salt. Every close game that Dublin have won has been down to the ref according to most.

It's the boy who cried wolf at this stage.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 28/08/2016 20:21:24    1907115

Replying To 37sowhat:  "A pretty dismal display by Gough Kerry have cause to feel aggrieved
Leinster refs for all of Xu line games and more than likely Joe M. Quillan Dublin reside twill get the final Peter Crowley a head high t takle left go unpunished but all in all a great game Mayo be prepared for the 50 / 50 calls to go against you
The GAA NEEDS THE Dubs!!"
That will be no different than any other year The ones I hate are the 60 40 ones for Mayo that Dublin will get Par for the course

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2016 20:28:53    1907119

One of these days Kerry may find a better excuse than blaming the ref. A gifted goal and beaten 13-6 in the second half. No excuses lads. The ref seemed to forget about the black card rule today. Dublin, with star players still not performing, still out scored Kerry 22 scores to 16 so I don't think the Kingdom can complain again in fairness. Gavin was almost outfoxed on tactics. 3 points coming from Kerry's right back position in the second-half was absolutely unforgiveable. Bernard should not have been on the pitch for the last 20. Hard luck Kerry. They put it up to this Dublin team but this bunch of lads just keep going, and they still have not performed yet.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/08/2016 20:45:34    1907134

I'm not having any of this garbage about referees favouring Dublin. It doesn't stand up to scrutiny. Boring pathetic narrative that people from many counties buy into but only back up by cherry-picked examples. Mayo fans whining about refs have a serious cheek.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 28/08/2016 20:55:29    1907142

Massive respect to this group of players. It would have been easy today to accept defeat but there's no quit in these boys.
Kerry brought there A game and cannot have any excuses this time although I doubt that will be the case considering the comments we had from Sheehan recently.That's how you answers those guys.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/08/2016 20:59:35    1907145

Yes Kev Mc's hit on Crowley was a yellow and a free obviously, badly timed or dirty? Kev is not a dirty player so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt, outside of that, better team won.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/08/2016 21:12:58    1907162

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Kev Mc's hit on Crowley was a yellow and a free obviously, badly timed or dirty? Kev is not a dirty player so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt, outside of that, better team won."
Thank God for an absolute gem of a semi.
Dublin were mighty in adversity and deservedly win I think.Kerry tried everything but are not able for this bunch.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/08/2016 21:33:47    1907179

Great game - fantastic performance from Kerry, they nearly did it but the Dubs are just a different class

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/08/2016 22:03:02    1907192

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "I'm not having any of this garbage about referees favouring Dublin. It doesn't stand up to scrutiny. Boring pathetic narrative that people from many counties buy into but only back up by cherry-picked examples. Mayo fans whining about refs have a serious cheek."
Don't see Kerry supporters whining, neutrals are entitled to call it as they see it. Nothing worse than a sore winner.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/08/2016 22:05:38    1907196

Replying To border Gael:  "The best match this year. Well done to both teams."
My thoughts entirely.

....and I would join the ranks of those who would have relished watching a replay.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 28/08/2016 22:54:03    1907215

Replying To Pericles:  "Don't see Kerry supporters whining, neutrals are entitled to call it as they see it. Nothing worse than a sore winner."
I should imagine that the Kerry supporters throwing bottles and programmes at the referee were whining. Eamon Fitzmaurice seemed a bit peeved also yet Spillane thought the referee was brilliant. I wouldn't read too much into. Kerry will look at themselves I would say.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/08/2016 22:54:14    1907216