Dublin v Kerry

Great game. Kerry threw the kitchen sink and ironically played better in the second half than the first. The Dubs took it all and scored a couple of classy points to seal it. Tall order for our lads in a few weeks time.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/08/2016 17:10:46    1906956

Replying To cluichethar:  "Where is that buck that was whining about Mayo fans cheering opposition wides Dublin fans were whistling and booing Cooper as he was taking a free All fans do it and I bet he has done it as well"
Me? It wasn't wides I was talking about either. It's booing every foul the referee gives against you.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/08/2016 17:11:42    1906957

Though Kerry threw it away that was a great comeback by Dublin and Kevin McMenamin should get player of the year on that performance alone. Just give SAM to Dublin now, they will horse Mayo by 10 points.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 28/08/2016 17:11:42    1906958

That second half performance from Dublin is one of the greatest I've ever seen.

They showed incredible composure to keep chipping away at Kerry when Kerry responded to them every time they looked like they were going to take over the game and Dublin never panicked which lesser teams surely would have done had they been in the same situation.

The best team won in the end but fair play to both teams for providing us with an epic contest.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 28/08/2016 17:12:25    1906959

Congratulations to Dublin, the best team definitely won today.

No harm to Kerry, they did play well in parts, but Dublin dominated for prolonged periods. The two goal's probably handed Kerry a lifeline which kept this a contest, giving them a decent lead at half-time, but Dublin started the 2nd half very well despite maybe not pressing up to the levels we know they are capable of.

I thought Jim Gavin got his subs right, and decisions on the bench are vital to teams succeeding.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/08/2016 17:16:00    1906961

That was a great game and what we all want to see in gaelic football.Dublin deserved to win though,but future bright for Kerry with all these great minors to come through.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/08/2016 17:18:55    1906963

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Though Kerry threw it away that was a great comeback by Dublin and Kevin McMenamin should get player of the year on that performance alone. Just give SAM to Dublin now, they will horse Mayo by 10 points."
Ah would you give it a rest, have you nothing to do up about the glens?

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 28/08/2016 17:18:59    1906964

Cracking game, just always had that feeling they would get the job done somehow. Seems like we should keep apologising for making the final by the looks of things! It will be another cracker in a few weeks.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 28/08/2016 17:26:03    1906967

Cant understand anyone giving out about ref, Evan Spillane Sai he was brilliant. Best ref by a country mile.
On the match itself? Great game, better team won, Kerry threw the kitchen sink at them, dubs only chink (if they have one) is cluxton, mayo know what they must do.
But I've said this before and ill say It again, this dubs team is probably the best I have ever seen, to every county outside Leinster, welcome to what we have to face every year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/08/2016 17:26:38    1906968

Well done the Dubs. Absolutely great team. And what a mighty effort by Kerry and they were in it to the end. Have to laugh at Spillane lauding Dublin for their "tackling",when Tyrone and Donegal were doin it initially it was puke etc. There was no room for a tackling onus by him and the so called purists then but sure we all know their hypocrites when it suits. Also think Dublin got at least 3 handy frees in that second half to bring them back into it that were crucial given a 2 point win.Still the Dubs are a great team and they know how to win. What Kerry showed today though is that the Dubs can be beat and had they had the legs they might just have done it. Great game overall. Best game all year Infact and I'd say it'll stand as a better game than the final.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/08/2016 17:30:05    1906969

I didn't think this was the "Instant Classic" pronounced immediately after the game by some journalists, I didn't think Dublin played to their maximum. They put in a hell of a performance, 22 points and to come from behind without scoring any goal's is brilliant.

It was a good game, but not a classic. Dublin were systematically running away with the game until Kerry's lifeline from Cluxton's kick-out. Kerry then struck again in the aftermath of the ensuing chaos of the first goal.

HT: Kerry 2-08 v 0-09 Dublin
FT: Kerry 2-14 v 0-22 Dublin

Dublin outscored Kerry in the 2nd half by 13 points to 6 points, showing their clear dominance.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/08/2016 17:32:08    1906970

Great effort by Kerry, but the best team won. I think this defeat will hurt Kerry, I just cannot see Kerry beating Dublin for the next 3 to 5 years. Mayo are a younger, more physical team who will come very close in the final.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2016 17:34:31    1906973

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cant understand anyone giving out about ref, Evan Spillane Sai he was brilliant. Best ref by a country mile.
On the match itself? Great game, better team won, Kerry threw the kitchen sink at them, dubs only chink (if they have one) is cluxton, mayo know what they must do.
But I've said this before and ill say It again, this dubs team is probably the best I have ever seen, to every county outside Leinster, welcome to what we have to face every year."
I thought a lot of calls went against Kerry in the 2nd half. Murphy should have had a 45 then a minute later he gave McMenamin one when the umpire signalled it wide and it looked like a wide on replay. He also gave Dublin a couple of very soft tap over frees. One for a shirt pull which couldn't be viewed on replay and another for Murphy touching the ball on the ground when again on the replay it didn't look like it. Then there was the 'no call' on the frontal shoulder on Crowley which could have been a 2 point swing as Dublin went and scored at other end. In general Kerry couldn't buy a free in the scoring zone. I think the free count was over double in favour of Dublin and that doesn't seem like a fair reflection of the game.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 28/08/2016 17:36:06    1906976

Dublin were "quiet" for a lot of this game especially just before HT and had a few slip ups that almost cost them. But they had the legs and knew they had the legs and their kicking in last ten minutes was superb. Kerry gave it everything it was a great contest but Dublin were the last men standing and there is nothing to touch at the minute.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/08/2016 17:40:33    1906982

Replying To gotmilk:  "Me? It wasn't wides I was talking about either. It's booing every foul the referee gives against you."
Why don't you go back and read your own posts like I did You were on about booing the ref you were on about cheering the wides Can't change what you wrote and you wrote a lot

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2016 17:42:32    1906985

Replying To gotmilk:  "Me? It wasn't wides I was talking about either. It's booing every foul the referee gives against you."
And today Kerry fans booed Dublin frees and Dublin fans booed Kerry frees It happens in every game

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2016 17:44:26    1906986

Good game. Mayo though can and will beat the Dubs.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 28/08/2016 17:46:51    1906989

Great game. Thought the ref had a good game and let the things flow. He let them give fair hard shoulders, and I don't think there can be many complaints about the late frees for the Dubs. He kept an eye up the pitch and pulled guys for interfering with players off the ball. Would have been a hard game to referee and he did just fine in my eyes. Dubs pulled it out of the bag and were well worth it and coming from behind in the second half.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 28/08/2016 17:47:02    1906990

Eleven scoreable frees to Dublin four to Kerry from a teacher who works in Dublin.Thats what people are talking about

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 28/08/2016 17:47:54    1906991

How long is a ref normally to give for advantage Today for both Kerry and Dublin he seemed to give a long time He was allowing 3 4 5 passes and the calling it back

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2016 17:51:03    1906994