Dublin v Kerry

Ever notice that ex-Kerry players never ever say that Kerry will not win a big game like this. Even if they believe it to not be the case I think they cannot bring themselves to say it! I often wonder if this is tactical to give the players more confidence as they are bound to read the papers in the lead up to a game.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 26/08/2016 08:52:01    1906178

Replying To woops:  "Good luck to the Dubs and Kerrymen(women) going to to the game.
Hopefully it will be a cracker and I will be back to ye next week with my whinging (70%) or celebrating (30%)
Too much "My daddy is better than your daddy" sh*te on this forum about the game..."
Ditto Woops. I just really hope a refs decision doesn't decide or ruin the game.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2016 09:27:26    1906191

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Exactly like I said my self a few posts back , Jim Gavin can't send his team out to play the way they played against Donegal or they'll be beat, he's gonna have to go double sweeper at least and and hope for the best , and swollow his pride and try and win ugly.
Eamon had to do it when we played Donegal in the 2014 final , can jim Gavin put the good of his team before his own pride?
Just asking is all ?"
I think he fairly answered your question by changing the way Dublin play to win the AI last year. I think he is one of the most astute managers in the GAA. I hope...actually, i know he has something different to offer on Sunday. May the best team prevail!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2016 09:30:48    1906194

Replying To unclegerry:  "Ever notice that ex-Kerry players never ever say that Kerry will not win a big game like this. Even if they believe it to not be the case I think they cannot bring themselves to say it! I often wonder if this is tactical to give the players more confidence as they are bound to read the papers in the lead up to a game."
Because when they do tip the opposition they get dogs abuse for it. Mickey Sheehy tipped Tyrone to beat Kerry in 2003 and was treated like a leper by a lot of his county men.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 26/08/2016 10:49:26    1906232

Replying To unclegerry:  "Ever notice that ex-Kerry players never ever say that Kerry will not win a big game like this. Even if they believe it to not be the case I think they cannot bring themselves to say it! I often wonder if this is tactical to give the players more confidence as they are bound to read the papers in the lead up to a game."
Paidi the scamp used to allways tip the opposition to win before a big game just to wind up Darragh Tomas and Marc but unfortunatly he's gone now.
God he would have loved the build up to this game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/08/2016 12:22:11    1906289

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think he fairly answered your question by changing the way Dublin play to win the AI last year. I think he is one of the most astute managers in the GAA. I hope...actually, i know he has something different to offer on Sunday. May the best team prevail!"
Sure we'll see on Sunday jackeen.
Jays it's great going into a game as the underdog, I mean if we lose it was half expected but if we win well then you get that Unbelievable feeling you get when you prove every1 wrong.
Ciarrai Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/08/2016 12:30:41    1906297

Hey posters from all counties remember at the end of the day it's just a game of football not life or death, a friend of mine from Clondalkin (lives in Ashbourne now) was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last year it's a 1 in ten million chance to get that disease in your 30's he's married with two boys under 5 and I've just heard he's been put into a hospice this week (I think you all know what that means) so be happy your alive and healthy cause life can be cruel. Safe trip to everyone travelling to Croker Sunday, good luck.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/08/2016 14:42:55    1906359

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Hey posters from all counties remember at the end of the day it's just a game of football not life or death, a friend of mine from Clondalkin (lives in Ashbourne now) was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last year it's a 1 in ten million chance to get that disease in your 30's he's married with two boys under 5 and I've just heard he's been put into a hospice this week (I think you all know what that means) so be happy your alive and healthy cause life can be cruel. Safe trip to everyone travelling to Croker Sunday, good luck."
Poor man; sorry to hear that. But reading that post helps regain a sense of perspective. At the end of the day it's only a game.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/08/2016 15:19:35    1906380

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Hey posters from all counties remember at the end of the day it's just a game of football not life or death, a friend of mine from Clondalkin (lives in Ashbourne now) was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last year it's a 1 in ten million chance to get that disease in your 30's he's married with two boys under 5 and I've just heard he's been put into a hospice this week (I think you all know what that means) so be happy your alive and healthy cause life can be cruel. Safe trip to everyone travelling to Croker Sunday, good luck."
Best wishes to you and your friend in particular, and his family as well of course in this very difficult time

As you say it's only a game and for our enjoyment, it's not the be all or end all.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/08/2016 16:06:57    1906406

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/news/10010961/The_Kerry_Senior_team_V_Dublin

TraleeDynamo (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 26/08/2016 21:03:01    1906487

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Best wishes to you and your friend in particular, and his family as well of course in this very difficult time

As you say it's only a game and for our enjoyment, it's not the be all or end all."
Brian Kelly; Shane Enright, Mark Griffin, Killian Young; Brian O Beaglaoich, Peter Crowley, Tadhg Morley; Kieran Donaghy, David Moran; Paul Murphy, Colm Cooper, Donnchadh Walsh; Stephen O'Brien, Paul Geaney, James O'Donoghue.

Kerry team announced I will be amazed if that's the team that takes the field on Sunday..

I reckon there could be 4 to 5 changes to that team come throw-in

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/08/2016 21:11:07    1906489

Jesus where do I start with that team?

Serious lack of pace and mobility thought, particularly in midfield and HF Line, we'll be gassed out by HT and it won't matter what our subs does the game will be long gone.

Dublin fans worried about the experience of Fenton, Small, Byrne etc they have worlds more experience at the top level than our 2 young defenders who have only played against Clare & Tipperary and are now expected to cope in a hostile atmosphere in the Coliseum!!!

I understand we have a limited squad and there is an element of rearranging the deckchairs of the Titanic about it, but that team is lacking pace and energy in too many places to have a hope of competing on Sunday

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/08/2016 21:55:36    1906509

KYTitletown, stop rubbishing your own team. You're not fooling anybody. Of course there is the traditional yerra banter. But that's just disrespectful.

In championship football Kerry (and Mayo) always push Dubs to the limit. Kerry are ready for this. It's a massive clash.

2013 semi went to the wire and if Declan O Sullivan had slotted his point with a minute to go Kerry probably would have defended their lead. Just missed and the rest we all remember.

Best match I ever saw in Croker.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 27/08/2016 09:00:24    1906593

Best of luck to everyone attending Sunday, or those of us who will watch from their favourite watering hole etc

Its a great rivalry, the best in the GAA, built on tradition and respect. We have a great relationship with Kerry and Kerry fans. Always good, never bitter.

I hope we all enjoy the day and afterwards, we will shake hands, sip a pint and pick our combined Dublin Kerry team from 1974-1984 !

Dublin and Kerry, early autumn, All Ireland Semi Finals.......

Lads, you cant bate it.

You cant bate it.

UP THE DUBS!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/08/2016 10:17:46    1906597

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "KYTitletown, stop rubbishing your own team. You're not fooling anybody. Of course there is the traditional yerra banter. But that's just disrespectful.

In championship football Kerry (and Mayo) always push Dubs to the limit. Kerry are ready for this. It's a massive clash.

2013 semi went to the wire and if Declan O Sullivan had slotted his point with a minute to go Kerry probably would have defended their lead. Just missed and the rest we all remember.

Best match I ever saw in Croker."
Disrespectful!!!! So you are going to ignore the bookmakers, TV & Radio media, newspapers, online forums, even our beloved HS poll which stands 20 - 4 (only counting neutral votes) but yeah I'm disrespectful

I actually thought we had a chance (not a great chance, but a chance) to compete and possibly win but that was on the proviso that there would be significant changes to previous blowout defeats to Dublin. There are a couple but not anywhere near enough and I'm not happy. Am I not entitled to question the management?

Of course, like a lot of others on here you are patronising us about previous meetings. Let me give you some facts. Kerry have not scored a goal in last 4 H2H games, lost last 3 Major games by an average of 7 points, lost I believe 9 of the last 11 vs Dublin.

Not to mention to we're facing a team who is unbeaten in 28 on their turf, there is zero room for error in terms of selection and matchups if we want to even dream of winning.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 27/08/2016 10:39:52    1906606

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Disrespectful!!!! So you are going to ignore the bookmakers, TV & Radio media, newspapers, online forums, even our beloved HS poll which stands 20 - 4 (only counting neutral votes) but yeah I'm disrespectful

I actually thought we had a chance (not a great chance, but a chance) to compete and possibly win but that was on the proviso that there would be significant changes to previous blowout defeats to Dublin. There are a couple but not anywhere near enough and I'm not happy. Am I not entitled to question the management?

Of course, like a lot of others on here you are patronising us about previous meetings. Let me give you some facts. Kerry have not scored a goal in last 4 H2H games, lost last 3 Major games by an average of 7 points, lost I believe 9 of the last 11 vs Dublin.

Not to mention to we're facing a team who is unbeaten in 28 on their turf, there is zero room for error in terms of selection and matchups if we want to even dream of winning."
Dublin are a great league team but the league doesn't count.

Last 5 championship semi finals?

Played 5 won 2 lost 2 drawn 1.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 27/08/2016 12:02:35    1906626

Two fine teams. Looking forward to tomorrow's game. Funny watching supporters from both sides trying to out do each other in playing down their chances. Enjoy the crack leading up to big games at this time of year between two giants of modern day football. Was 100% leaning towards the Dubs but maybe because it's Kerry the closer the game get I'm not so sure. Still it's been great watching the not so subtle "yerraing" from both sides

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 27/08/2016 16:52:02    1906687

Replying To Weary:  "Two fine teams. Looking forward to tomorrow's game. Funny watching supporters from both sides trying to out do each other in playing down their chances. Enjoy the crack leading up to big games at this time of year between two giants of modern day football. Was 100% leaning towards the Dubs but maybe because it's Kerry the closer the game get I'm not so sure. Still it's been great watching the not so subtle "yerraing" from both sides"
Was just about to say that, the "yerra"-ing seems to be ferocious on both sides!

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 27/08/2016 22:12:40    1906765

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Best of luck to everyone attending Sunday, or those of us who will watch from their favourite watering hole etc

Its a great rivalry, the best in the GAA, built on tradition and respect. We have a great relationship with Kerry and Kerry fans. Always good, never bitter.

I hope we all enjoy the day and afterwards, we will shake hands, sip a pint and pick our combined Dublin Kerry team from 1974-1984 !

Dublin and Kerry, early autumn, All Ireland Semi Finals.......

Lads, you cant bate it.

You cant bate it.

UP THE DUBS!"
Ulster 'bate' the both of ye.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 28/08/2016 00:37:54    1906786

Got My 5/2 on Kerry Today! I didn't know it was so easy to make Money..

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 28/08/2016 00:54:01    1906788