Dublin v Kerry

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra never mind that fella, he's one of the main 'we hate Kerry brigade' on here.

Do you remember the story of the Mayo lad that was so pee-d off in 2014 that we had got to the All-Ireland that he drove down the morning of the game to plant a Donegal flag on Carrauntoohil?

Guess who it was!!"
Was it jamesH?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2016 12:17:31    1905730

If this Kerry Team were going by any other name they would be written off completely by the pundits. But the fact that they are called Kerry, that name has people doubting the simple facts that are in front of us all.

Dublin are the best team in the country by a country mile.
This Kerry team are aged in vital areas and rookies in other area.
Player for player i believe not one of the Kerry footballers would get on Jim Gavin's team.
Finally there is no comparison with the managers Jim Gavin is better in every department in preparing his team.

Heres how it will go, Kerry will be set up to stay in the game and look to protect there vulnerable back six (where i believe Dublin will win every one on won battle.). Yes Kerry's defense is shocking - 2-10 v tipp and 17pts the first day v Clare The second day they played clare, clare brought nothing new and the had ran out of legs. Dublin on the other hand have conceded less against better opposition.
Paul Murphy will try to sweep and will do a descent job for a while. Dublin will squeeze out the Kerry kick-out and eventually overrun them through Midfield and the half forward line. Dublin will get more traction here as the first half wears on

There probably wont be much in it either way at half time but as the second move on Dublin will pull clear and close out the win. My prediction Dublin by 6 to 8 pts.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 25/08/2016 14:49:59    1905845

bad luck on Kerry that they have drawn the Dubs in the semi this year. Dublin are a formidable outfit. So are Kerry but unfortunately for them this is one "war" they will lose. And it will be a "war". Expect fierce tackling and ferocious blocks. And at the end of it all Dublin should still be there.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 25/08/2016 15:10:51    1905859

Seems like there is unanimous agreement from the neutrals as to how this game will go.....................

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 15:32:08    1905881

Replying To Jonnycee:  "If this Kerry Team were going by any other name they would be written off completely by the pundits. But the fact that they are called Kerry, that name has people doubting the simple facts that are in front of us all.

Dublin are the best team in the country by a country mile.
This Kerry team are aged in vital areas and rookies in other area.
Player for player i believe not one of the Kerry footballers would get on Jim Gavin's team.
Finally there is no comparison with the managers Jim Gavin is better in every department in preparing his team.

Heres how it will go, Kerry will be set up to stay in the game and look to protect there vulnerable back six (where i believe Dublin will win every one on won battle.). Yes Kerry's defense is shocking - 2-10 v tipp and 17pts the first day v Clare The second day they played clare, clare brought nothing new and the had ran out of legs. Dublin on the other hand have conceded less against better opposition.
Paul Murphy will try to sweep and will do a descent job for a while. Dublin will squeeze out the Kerry kick-out and eventually overrun them through Midfield and the half forward line. Dublin will get more traction here as the first half wears on

There probably wont be much in it either way at half time but as the second move on Dublin will pull clear and close out the win. My prediction Dublin by 6 to 8 pts."
Judging the Kerry defence in June and July, will some people never learn.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 25/08/2016 16:17:28    1905910

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Seems like there is unanimous agreement from the neutrals as to how this game will go....................."
Lets just hope there's no whinging about free kicks, goals going in, the weather....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2016 16:17:55    1905911

Replying To surfdude62:  "JamesH, fear is Mayo's middle name.
Kerry don't fear anyone and therein lies the difference between Mayo and Kerry!!!"
That's waaay too deep for me.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/08/2016 17:56:48    1905967

This has been added as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Cavan_Slasher
Cavan

Are the Dubs nailed-on certs?

Everyone i have spoken to regarding the Dubs v Kerry are expecting a handy Dublin win.
I haven't met anyone who is going for Kerry. This is strange given their history.
Paddy Power the cutest bookie of them all has Dublin @ 4/9 and Kerry 5/2, a huge difference.

Is there anyone, anyone at all who fancies the Kingdom?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 25/08/2016 19:25:27    1906011

Replying To Administrator:  "This has been added as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Cavan_Slasher
Cavan

Everyone i have spoken to regarding the Dubs v Kerry are expecting a handy Dublin win.
I haven't met anyone who is going for Kerry. This is strange given their history.
Paddy Power the cutest bookie of them all has Dublin @ 4/9 and Kerry 5/2, a huge difference.

Is there anyone, anyone at all who fancies the Kingdom?"
I had seen the weather forecast a few days ago and it had rain for the day in croker but it has shown to be clear now closer to the date... If it was a wet rainy day I may have said Kerry could pip it on a prayer because it would make for a slower game but now MET has given the all clear and it will be a dry sunnyish day Sunday so on that grounds few could put their cash on the Kingdom although I might throw a tenner minus two or three for three craic because of the big odds.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 25/08/2016 20:01:07    1906036

What stood out from the Dublin Donegal game is that Dublin are quite suspect when a team runs at them . COS is positioned to stop direct ball into a full forward line which has affected Kerry a lot as they like to kick the ball direct. Will Kerry set up with a ball carrying half forward line??

TraleeDynamo (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 25/08/2016 20:19:18    1906045

If we play to our best and keep 15 men on the pitch for 70 mins then we should win. If we play below par and Kerry have a stormer then it could be in the balance. Likewise if the weather turns bad it may be a lottery. But we coped much better than Kerry in those conditions last year. It's going to be a battle. Nothing comes easy to you at this stage.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2016 20:39:16    1906052

Replying To TraleeDynamo:  "What stood out from the Dublin Donegal game is that Dublin are quite suspect when a team runs at them . COS is positioned to stop direct ball into a full forward line which has affected Kerry a lot as they like to kick the ball direct. Will Kerry set up with a ball carrying half forward line??"
Good question Traleedynamo the thing is even when the team is named tomorrow evening we still won't really have a clue.

What I'm wondering Is will him Gavin pop a surprise or 2 . I'm sure he's not just going to back the game plan that got him this far. I think he could get his team to sit back with 2 sweepers and I could see us go the same , this could possibly be the worst game of football we'l have seen in years. Since the Dublin v Donegal 2011 semi. With both teams making a burst for it in the last 15 /20 mins.
Time will tell.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2016 20:50:23    1906070

Replying To Joxer:  "If we play to our best and keep 15 men on the pitch for 70 mins then we should win. If we play below par and Kerry have a stormer then it could be in the balance. Likewise if the weather turns bad it may be a lottery. But we coped much better than Kerry in those conditions last year. It's going to be a battle. Nothing comes easy to you at this stage."
In fairness we didn't turn up last year and only lost by 3. We wont mention the obvious penalty

TraleeDynamo (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 25/08/2016 20:51:38    1906071

Replying To Administrator:  "This has been added as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Cavan_Slasher
Cavan

Is there anyone, anyone at all who fancies the Kingdom?"
The odds on Kerry are falling...they were 3/1.....does someone know something? Has EF got a big plan????? Heck no....People and their money are easily parted. Take the handicap : Dubs -3 6/5 all the way..

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2016 20:53:21    1906072

All the fascination is on what EF has up his sleeve to surprise the Dubs. That he's been planning for this for a year. I put it to you that just maybe Jim Gavin has his own surprise in waiting. Just saying ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2016 21:31:35    1906092

If anyone has the ability to come up with a game-plan for this match it's Fitzmaurice. He is a canny operator and cuts his cloth to suit the occasion. I DO believe Kerry have a great chance as Westmeath and Donegal showed that Dublin can be frustrated and they are not as invincible as they were. However Dublin's overall squad strength and scoring ability will probably shade it for them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 25/08/2016 23:40:04    1906142

Replying To Jackeen:  "All the fascination is on what EF has up his sleeve to surprise the Dubs. That he's been planning for this for a year. I put it to you that just maybe Jim Gavin has his own surprise in waiting. Just saying ;)"
Exactly like I said my self a few posts back , Jim Gavin can't send his team out to play the way they played against Donegal or they'll be beat, he's gonna have to go double sweeper at least and and hope for the best , and swollow his pride and try and win ugly.
Eamon had to do it when we played Donegal in the 2014 final , can jim Gavin put the good of his team before his own pride?
Just asking is all ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2016 23:46:18    1906144

Replying To TraleeDynamo:  "In fairness we didn't turn up last year and only lost by 3. We wont mention the obvious penalty"
That sounds like an excuse, a bit like the 'dubious free' in 2011. Kerry were well beaten last year. Dubs should have won by 6 or 7, Fenton, Rock, Andrews all missed great goal chances, but Dublin didn't even get out of second gear.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/08/2016 00:04:43    1906145

Replying To Joxer:  "That sounds like an excuse, a bit like the 'dubious free' in 2011. Kerry were well beaten last year. Dubs should have won by 6 or 7, Fenton, Rock, Andrews all missed great goal chances, but Dublin didn't even get out of second gear."
I also remember Kerry hitting a lot of uncharacteristic wides throughout the game, it wasn't just Dublin that missed chances. Both sides were very poor, Dublin less so obviously, probably down to the conditions.

Hopefully we'll have a dry day and a better game on Sunday.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/08/2016 08:40:09    1906170

Good luck to the Dubs and Kerrymen(women) going to to the game.
Hopefully it will be a cracker and I will be back to ye next week with my whinging (70%) or celebrating (30%)
Too much "My daddy is better than your daddy" sh*te on this forum about the game...

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/08/2016 08:44:58    1906171