Dublin v Kerry

Surprised that Sheehan would come out with that sort of stuff before a game.Schoolboy error really and sounds a bit desperate.
Do the talking on the pitch and you can say what you want afterwards.
Its one thing pundits and ex players saying this and that but a player should know better.Not so cute after all.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/08/2016 17:32:38    1905453

I'd have to agree with all of that.
I still think we haven't been properly tested yet and have been able to cope with what hasn't been great opposition.
Hope I'm wrong but I still have a nagging doubt about just how strong we are at the minute.It would be a great achievement if we can win it this year having lost the players we have.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/08/2016 17:40:31    1905456

Replying To avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.
Because any hurt Kerry are feeling is NOTHING to the decades of hurt that Dublin fans have felt at the hands of KErry.
WE want this one just as badly as the last one if not more!!!!!"
Feck right off. I doubt very much that y'ere all that much on their minds, if I'm honest.

The thing that's on their minds is the 'no show' last year. Losing is one thing. Not showing up is another matter.

There's been far too much prattling about this. It comes down now to brass tacks. Can Dublin compensate for absentees and continue to impose themselves as if to the manor born? Can Kerry play with pace and vary the play to deliver killer blows?

Come Sunday, let's hope the game compensates for all this blethering. Jayzus, if I hear 'yerrah boys' and 'blue juggernaut' one more time, I think I'll puke!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 24/08/2016 18:00:40    1905463

Replying To bernard3:  "lads just a quick question, do ye think Mannion could start if Begley is in corner back for Kerry.The reason I'm saying this is, the first league match between Dublin and Kerry this year Mannion gave Begley a tough lesson in the first half of that game. I know it was only January but would Begley like to be matched up against him again. In fairness to Begley he stuck with it and obviously Fitzmaurice didn't want to ruin his confidence by taking him off, plus being his first game. So Dubs supporters do ye think Gavin would be thinking along those lines."
No I don't think Paul will start. The inside forward line will likely be Bernard, Rock and Kev Mc. Who would you take out? Bernard and Kev have great records against Kerry. Rock's free taking accuracy is second to none. I think Mannion and Costello coming on with fresh legs are great options off the bench with O'Gara available if we need to vary it. I think Mannion would be better coming in fresh. He ripped through Donegal the last day. Anything could happen in this game. The match ups will be intriguing. Will Kerry play the blanket?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/08/2016 18:01:45    1905464

Replying To plike:  "
Replying To avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.
Because any hurt Kerry are feeling is NOTHING to the decades of hurt that Dublin fans have felt at the hands of KErry.
Feck right off. I doubt very much that y'ere all that much on their minds, if I'm honest.

The thing that's on their minds is the 'no show' last year. Losing is one thing. Not showing up is another matter.

There's been far too much prattling about this. It comes down now to brass tacks. Can Dublin compensate for absentees and continue to impose themselves as if to the manor born? Can Kerry play with pace and vary the play to deliver killer blows?

Come Sunday, let's hope the game compensates for all this blethering. Jayzus, if I hear 'yerrah boys' and 'blue juggernaut' one more time, I think I'll puke!"
Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/08/2016 18:13:58    1905466

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "
Replying To plike:  "[quote=avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.

Come Sunday, let's hope the game compensates for all this blethering. Jayzus, if I hear 'yerrah boys' and 'blue juggernaut' one more time, I think I'll puke!"
Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Post of the day my man...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/08/2016 18:32:36    1905468

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "
Replying To plike:  "[quote=avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.

Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Fair enough, boy.Game on!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 24/08/2016 18:34:13    1905470

Replying To plike:  "
Replying To Dubh_linn:  "[quote=plike:  "[quote=avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.

Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Fair enough, boy.Game on!"]Feck right off. I doubt very much that y'ere all that much on their minds, if I'm honest.

Come Sunday, let's hope the game compensates for all this blethering. Jayzus, if I hear 'yerrah boys' and 'blue juggernaut' one more time, I think I'll puke!"]Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Fair enough, boy.Game on!
plike (Kerry) - Posts:407 - 24/08/2016 18:34:13 1905470

LOL. Feck right off yourself. I made no claims whatsoever about Dublin being on Kerry's minds. To be frank I couldn't give a sugar what's on Kerry's mind. Did you actually read what I wrote. I think it's great that Sheehan is being honest and hopefully what he said will knock any complacency out of Dublin fans.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/08/2016 19:27:47    1905493

Very little talk of James O Donoghue he is by a country mile Kerry's best player it will be interesting who picks him up don't be surprised if it's young Byrne. Geaney O Sullivan O Donoghue these are Kerry's main forwards If they run amok they give Kerry a big chance. Can't see Gooch starting he'll come on no doubt , Walsh and Murphy are workhorses more than scorers even doh they can chip in with a point or two and O Brien will make up the other forward and still don't know if he's good enough against Dublin yet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2016 21:03:45    1905532

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To plike:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=plike:  "[quote=avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.

Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Fair enough, boy.Game on!"]Feck right off. I doubt very much that y'ere all that much on their minds, if I'm honest.

Come Sunday, let's hope the game compensates for all this blethering. Jayzus, if I hear 'yerrah boys' and 'blue juggernaut' one more time, I think I'll puke!"]Yeah ! You'd have a pain in your hole with it at this stage."]Fair enough, boy.Game on!

LOL. Feck right off yourself. I made no claims whatsoever about Dublin being on Kerry's minds. To be frank I couldn't give a sugar what's on Kerry's mind. Did you actually read what I wrote. I think it's great that Sheehan is being honest and hopefully what he said will knock any complacency out of Dublin fans."]Sell out then, what will the split be 60.000 Dubs, 20.000 Kingdomers?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/08/2016 21:05:52    1905534

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To avonali:  "[quote=plike:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=plike:  "[quote=avonali:  "I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.

LOL. Feck right off yourself. I made no claims whatsoever about Dublin being on Kerry's minds. To be frank I couldn't give a sugar what's on Kerry's mind. Did you actually read what I wrote. I think it's great that Sheehan is being honest and hopefully what he said will knock any complacency out of Dublin fans."]Sell out then, what will the split be 60.000 Dubs, 20.000 Kingdomers?"]There'll be at least 1 Cavan man there too!

(Me, not Dublin Joe)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 24/08/2016 22:33:40    1905571

yis are getting carried away with Dublin Kerry some bet at 3/1. O'Donoghue first goalscorer and Dublin to win 16/1 nice bitta money to be made there Kerry to win by 2

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 25/08/2016 00:31:45    1905597

If you follow the GAA media at all you would have noticed a lot of huff and puff coming from various Kerry media pundits and one panel member in particular this week. Who are they trying to convince? Themselves? To be honest, much of the bluster just smacks of fear and understandably so at this stage. Dublin have Kerry's number, they know it and we all know it.

Meanwhile, Dublin silently waits waiting to devour their prey on the field where it matters, Dublin are focused on Dublin and winning but Kerry are focused on Dublin (see the difference). Dublin don't have to talk a good game, they know, they are genuinely confident and fearless. People are talking about this being a close tight game - I just don't see it. I genuinely think Dublin will win this game in a canter with a possible 8-10 point victory being no surprise. You might not believe or want to believe me now but come Monday many others might finally realise that just like the Dublin v Meath rivalry a genuine Dublin v Kerry rivalry is currently dead. Nostalgia is making this game more that it actually is while in reality you have a far superior team up against an inferior one.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 25/08/2016 09:06:33    1905617

Replying To JamesH:  "If you follow the GAA media at all you would have noticed a lot of huff and puff coming from various Kerry media pundits and one panel member in particular this week. Who are they trying to convince? Themselves? To be honest, much of the bluster just smacks of fear and understandably so at this stage. Dublin have Kerry's number, they know it and we all know it.

Meanwhile, Dublin silently waits waiting to devour their prey on the field where it matters, Dublin are focused on Dublin and winning but Kerry are focused on Dublin (see the difference). Dublin don't have to talk a good game, they know, they are genuinely confident and fearless. People are talking about this being a close tight game - I just don't see it. I genuinely think Dublin will win this game in a canter with a possible 8-10 point victory being no surprise. You might not believe or want to believe me now but come Monday many others might finally realise that just like the Dublin v Meath rivalry a genuine Dublin v Kerry rivalry is currently dead. Nostalgia is making this game more that it actually is while in reality you have a far superior team up against an inferior one."
JamesH, fear is Mayo's middle name.
Kerry don't fear anyone and therein lies the difference between Mayo and Kerry!!!

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 25/08/2016 10:19:10    1905652

Anyone that takes any notice of articles of ex players is missing a sandwich or 2 from a picnic.
All they are are fillers for the week, mostly talking nonesence and just their opinion and they would not have a clue really what is happening within the camp.

I liked Mike Quirkes's article as I had to laugh as it is exactly how I am feeling about this match.
I had us totally written off but nearer the game to more hopeful I am becoming ....but it is the hope that is killing us, we hope we can win but not really expecting it.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/08/2016 10:23:21    1905654

Replying To surfdude62:  "JamesH, fear is Mayo's middle name.
Kerry don't fear anyone and therein lies the difference between Mayo and Kerry!!!"
Surfdude
JamesH isn't a mayo supporter at all, he never posts on the mayo board he's just a WUM .
James we can't all bend the knee to the dubs like you lad ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2016 10:56:25    1905673

Replying To surfdude62:  "JamesH, fear is Mayo's middle name.
Kerry don't fear anyone and therein lies the difference between Mayo and Kerry!!!"
Yerra never mind that fella, he's one of the main 'we hate Kerry brigade' on here.

Do you remember the story of the Mayo lad that was so pee-d off in 2014 that we had got to the All-Ireland that he drove down the morning of the game to plant a Donegal flag on Carrauntoohil?

Guess who it was!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2016 10:57:29    1905674

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra never mind that fella, he's one of the main 'we hate Kerry brigade' on here.

Do you remember the story of the Mayo lad that was so pee-d off in 2014 that we had got to the All-Ireland that he drove down the morning of the game to plant a Donegal flag on Carrauntoohil?

Guess who it was!!"
Was it jamesH?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2016 11:34:50    1905696

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Was it jamesH?"
He got two flat tyres on the way back to Ballyhanius but made it up just in time to see Kieran Donaghy in the Cusack lifting Sam Maguire on the telly :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2016 11:54:16    1905710

Replying To TheHermit:  "He got two flat tyres on the way back to Ballyhanius but made it up just in time to see Kieran Donaghy in the Cusack lifting Sam Maguire on the telly :D"
Ballyhanius ??
No such place.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 25/08/2016 12:08:43    1905723