Dublin v Kerry

Getting closer to the game I am not nearly as pessimistic I was a few weeks ago.
Now I am only 70% Dublin and 30% Kerry lol

I think Kerry have a great chance of winning if we get goals and for that to happen we will need Donaghy in at full forward.
Basically I dont think our back line is good enough to keep out the Dubs but if somehow we can score 2/3 goals more than Dublin we can win.

we will not win this game by out pointing Dublin and as unlikely as it would happen I would be happy to see Sheehan in goals.

If Kerry are too defensive the Dubs will pick us off eventually so I would think we should just have a go at them...win or lose

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/08/2016 10:48:27    1905232

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Surprise Surprise Dara O Se tips Kerry to win Sunday. One thing I admire about Kerry ex players and their people they always always back Kerry to win. Read every ex Kerry's players article before a game and they all always tip Kerry. Dara is convinced it's a Kerry win Sunday and they'll win the all Ireland only time will tell Dara."
His name is Darragh not dara clondalkin :-0 and not all ex Kerry players used to back Kerry teams to win but for some reason they're a lot of them tipping us this year for sure.
Could we do it? I'm starting to believe we can.
Yerrah im only joking we're fecked I tell ye ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/08/2016 10:55:55    1905235

Honestly I'm not for one minute saying Kerry cannot beat Dublin in a one off game of course they can but its funny on here when we're playing someone it's starts like this;

3 weeks til game;
We have no chance of beating the Dubs their just too good.

2 weeks til game;
I can't see us winning but you never know if we got a few goals we could rattled them.

Week of game;
Jesus you know what I've a feeling we're going to beat the Dubs I can feel it in my bones.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2016 11:04:14    1905240

ya clondalkin...but i think it more in hope and likely false hope at that!
I probably watched too much of Macgyver when I was younger so there was always hope....even in the most unlikely scenarios, just like next sunday!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/08/2016 11:52:38    1905271

I'll just leave this here :)

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ill-go-on-recorddublin-stole-sam-maguire-off-us-in-2011-kerry-captain-bryan-sheehan-34990464.html

Amazing stuff and fair play to him

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/08/2016 12:31:42    1905289

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Honestly I'm not for one minute saying Kerry cannot beat Dublin in a one off game of course they can but its funny on here when we're playing someone it's starts like this;

3 weeks til game;
We have no chance of beating the Dubs their just too good.

2 weeks til game;
I can't see us winning but you never know if we got a few goals we could rattled them.

Week of game;
Jesus you know what I've a feeling we're going to beat the Dubs I can feel it in my bones."
Life has conquered, the wind has blown away,
Alexander and Ceaser and all their power and sway,
Tara and Troy have had their stay,
Perhaps the [Dubs] too, will have their day.

We're going to do it, I can feel it in the waters! We will get within 2 points of Dublin!!! :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2016 12:38:03    1905293

If that's what he thinks, that's what he thinks. He wouldn't be the only one.

But I don't see why in God's name you would air something like that in the press the week of a game. Why give any sort of motivation to the opposition by making such a statement.

Although given the paper it's reported in it wouldn't surprise me if they have put words in the man's mouth and passed it off as gospel.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2016 12:55:36    1905299

This is actually a breath of fresh air.
Are we not sick of the usual BS being spouted?
Honest and from the heart, you might not agree with it and maybe some of the wording could be better but I applaud Bryan.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/08/2016 13:02:24    1905303

Lads for years Kerry have been famous for saying nothing this is obviously some tactic to get at the Dubs, Kerry are rattled they know the Blue Juggernaut is coming for them ha.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2016 13:10:32    1905305

Replying To westkerry:  "This is actually a breath of fresh air.
Are we not sick of the usual BS being spouted?
Honest and from the heart, you might not agree with it and maybe some of the wording could be better but I applaud Bryan."
I totally agree westkerry! He should be applauded for telling it how he thinks it is. The timing however might just work in our favour....especially for Kev Mac.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/08/2016 13:11:49    1905306

Admin your stirring it with that picture, your good doh I like it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2016 13:56:31    1905337

I see all the usual theories being well and truly banded about on here at this stage but I expect an extremely close game with Kerry very definitely going all out to atone for last years no show in the final - they owe their followers a huge performance after that and I expect them to be within striking distance throughout.
I have a feeling there will be plenty of incidents during the course of the game and there will be huge pressure on the Referee.
Gaelic football badly needs a good game - Mayo would DEFINITELY prefer Kerry in the final.
Would not rule out a draw but hope the Kingdom will prevail.
JOD first goalscorer at 7/1 catches the eye!!!!!!!!!!!

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 24/08/2016 14:48:30    1905359

lads just a quick question, do ye think Mannion could start if Begley is in corner back for Kerry.The reason I'm saying this is, the first league match between Dublin and Kerry this year Mannion gave Begley a tough lesson in the first half of that game. I know it was only January but would Begley like to be matched up against him again. In fairness to Begley he stuck with it and obviously Fitzmaurice didn't want to ruin his confidence by taking him off, plus being his first game. So Dubs supporters do ye think Gavin would be thinking along those lines.

bernard3 (Kerry) - Posts: 106 - 24/08/2016 15:02:16    1905365

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Lads for years Kerry have been famous for saying nothing this is obviously some tactic to get at the Dubs, Kerry are rattled they know the Blue Juggernaut is coming for them ha."
The Blue Juggernaut? They auld women at home will ate them alive if they return without giving a good account of themselves. That's enough to be getting on with, glick!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 24/08/2016 15:15:57    1905375

Ah here they come slowly but surely ex Kerry players backing Kerry to win John O Keffe now. Still the bomber ,Tomas , Mickey ned , Spillane , Moynahan etc to come with their "Kerry will win" quotes or articles.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2016 15:18:10    1905377

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah here they come slowly but surely ex Kerry players backing Kerry to win John O Keffe now. Still the bomber ,Tomas , Mickey ned , Spillane , Moynahan etc to come with their "Kerry will win" quotes or articles."
What's wrong with a little optimism?

There's little enough of it around this country these times...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/08/2016 15:42:15    1905389

I am not a fan of hearing players sput stuff like Sheehan did there.
Players should do their talking on the pitch...Sheehan might not even get on the pitch.
Even if he firmly believes about 2011...jesus that was 5 years ago, the time is now!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/08/2016 16:03:40    1905406

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah here they come slowly but surely ex Kerry players backing Kerry to win John O Keffe now. Still the bomber ,Tomas , Mickey ned , Spillane , Moynahan etc to come with their "Kerry will win" quotes or articles."
No pleasing ye ... giving out when there's too much 'yearring' going on and not happy when kerry folks tip their team n the media... sensing a bit of unease as Sunday gets closer boys !!!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 24/08/2016 16:50:33    1905434

Replying To rossy15:  "No pleasing ye ... giving out when there's too much 'yearring' going on and not happy when kerry folks tip their team n the media... sensing a bit of unease as Sunday gets closer boys !!!"
I'm delighted they are backing their county. Brian Sheehan's article is exactly the kind of stuff that Dubs fans want to read. Come on you great Kerry heroes...talk up your team...tell us how hungry they are...tell us how they are hurting.. etc.
Because any hurt Kerry are feeling is NOTHING to the decades of hurt that Dublin fans have felt at the hands of KErry.
WE want this one just as badly as the last one if not more!!!!!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/08/2016 17:16:19    1905445

Really looking forward to this one. I've fancied Dublin to win the AI all year but the closer this game gets the more I start leaning towards a Kerry victory. The reasons being that no matter how good you are it is very difficult to win back to back all irelands. Using a soccer reference I would compare Dublin to Barcelona. Barcelona are without doubt the best team in Europe and if they play to their potential no one beats them, Real Madrid included. During the 2015/16 soccer season nobody could see them losing and they looked like they were going to do back to back champions leagues. Then came the semi final and they lost out and it wasn't that they were beaten by a better side, they just weren't completely themselves and the performance level dropped enough for Athletico Madrid to take advantage. Going back to Dublin and again the talk all year is can anyone stop them etc. In the QF against Donegal I think Dublin showed signs of not being completely themselves, the 2015 version would of won that match by at least 10 points and wouldn't of let Donegal back into the game with 10/15 mins to go. I also think their star player, Diarmuid Connolly, is getting involved in too much nonsense this year and is lacking discipline. People will say he was the same in 2015 but bar that incident against Mayo he controlled himself very well last year but has been involved in something in almost every game this year. To look at him it looks as if there could be something bothering him outside football which could be causing the discipline problems on the pitch...who knows....

Looking at the game this weekend I feel if Kerry can bring their A game with the right gameplan which I expect them to do I think they will just have a bit too much for a 80%/90% Dublin. Obviously if Dublin perform to the levels we know they can they will win no matter who well Kerry perform. Dublin at their current best beats anyone at their current best but I just don't think Dublin will be at their best on sunday.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 24/08/2016 17:23:07    1905451