Dublin v Kerry

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'd say Kerry played well enough in 2013 although the score line at the end didn't show it. 2011 we did ok too and could well have drawn / won but it's so long ago now it's irrelevant.

Last year was a disaster and kerry were dreadful. Were Dublin good, or just less bad than Kerry? Both teams scored a pathetic 8 points from play. Either way I think it's a generalisation to say we never play well against ye. It was one game. Let's see what Sunday week brings.

Btw nobody is trying to say Dublin are not better at the moment. If Kerry come through I expect it'll be down to a large slice of luck or a very fine margin. Dublin are undoubtedly ahead in most areas but we are not without hope."
Genius, to be fair, I was being a bit facetious if i am honest.

Just it does annoy me that with a lot of Kerry lads, its never that Dublin are better, its always that Kerry didn't perform
The inference being that Kerry are better, they just didn't turn up on the day. I remember before last years final, Newstalk had a broadcast from Paul Geaney's Pub on Main St in Dingle. To a man more or less the opinion was "Kerry have the better more natural footballers, and if they show up on the day….."

Its utter BS and it does annoy me!

I dont for one second really believe that we are that far ahead of ye atall. I know very well what writing the kingdom off can lead to!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2016 13:01:04    1903181

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Nobody knows the Kerry team, anybody that tells you they do (bar Fitzmaurice) is spoofing. It's a worry that we don't have a settled team at this stage. There's probably 3-4 places with a question mark and some crazy rumours going around as you've probably seen, full backs starting midfield, midfielders starting in goals etc."
Kerry: B Kelly; T Morley, M Griffin, B O Beaglaoich; S Enright, K Young, P Crowley; K Donaghy, D Moran; D Walsh (1-01), D O'Sullivan (1-02), P Murphy; J O'Donoghue (0-05, 0-03f), P Geaney (0-03, 0-01f), S O'Brien (0-01).

Subs: A O'Mahony for Morley BC, BJ Keane (0-03) for Walsh, A Maher for Donaghy, B Sheehan (0-01, 0-01f) for Moran, M O'Se for Crowley, T Brosnan for O'Donoghue.

The Kerry team, QF v Clare.

There have been very very few changes in the 3 matches they've played this summer.

Cooper? Sheehan in goal?

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 19/08/2016 13:20:52    1903191

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Genius, to be fair, I was being a bit facetious if i am honest.

Just it does annoy me that with a lot of Kerry lads, its never that Dublin are better, its always that Kerry didn't perform
The inference being that Kerry are better, they just didn't turn up on the day. I remember before last years final, Newstalk had a broadcast from Paul Geaney's Pub on Main St in Dingle. To a man more or less the opinion was "Kerry have the better more natural footballers, and if they show up on the day….."

I dont for one second really believe that we are that far ahead of ye atall. I know very well what writing the kingdom off can lead to!!!"
Liam I do appreciate what you mean that the term natural footballer is demeaning to other counties. I think this gets a little lost in translation I believe it to mean Kerry's natural instinct traditionally has been quick accurate kick passing. A skill that is dying in our game, I don't think anyone is doubting the ability of the Dublin lads who are a joy to watch ( when they are not playing us ofcourse )

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/08/2016 13:23:14    1903194

Replying To SirStrawHat:  "Kerry: B Kelly; T Morley, M Griffin, B O Beaglaoich; S Enright, K Young, P Crowley; K Donaghy, D Moran; D Walsh (1-01), D O'Sullivan (1-02), P Murphy; J O'Donoghue (0-05, 0-03f), P Geaney (0-03, 0-01f), S O'Brien (0-01).

Subs: A O'Mahony for Morley BC, BJ Keane (0-03) for Walsh, A Maher for Donaghy, B Sheehan (0-01, 0-01f) for Moran, M O'Se for Crowley, T Brosnan for O'Donoghue.

The Kerry team, QF v Clare.

There have been very very few changes in the 3 matches they've played this summer.

Cooper? Sheehan in goal?"
We know about the Sheehan rumour which is probably BS. There is a definite question mark around who will start midfield and there are a couple of spots up for grabs in the forwards. Have a look at the 'team for the semi' thread on the Kerry forum. The difference in some of the teams being named is gas. Will cooper start? Will Maher start? Will Sheehan start? All genuine questions at this stage.

Injuries have meant we haven't been able to start our strongest side at any point this year. The team just hasn't settled into a rhythm, playing so little football doesn't help either. I don't ever remember going into a semi not knowing 13-14 of the starters.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/08/2016 13:31:03    1903198

Replying To TheHermit:  "Trying to remember, didn't think Geaney or JOD did a whole pile wrong.

Star caused a bit of trouble and I still maintain Galvin didn't put a foot wrong when he came on either.

The half back line were competent enough, but ya a lot of no shows last September. Still think Cian O'Neill has a lot of responsibility for that. Thhey looked like they had been run into the ground the week before!

Interesting point Kingdomboy, if we even go back to Tyrone we never got the chance to face them in the Championship the year after a defeat to them. Until now it was the same with Dublin. So it will be interesting to see can they react!!"
Ya I forgot we didn't get to meet Tyrone the year after they beat us either , good one. Well as our old buddy snuff would say we're after two cold bowls of capital cumupance in 12 months so if that is fuel for our boys they might as well throw the towel at it.

Liamo
of course Dublin were the " better team "
That's what happened us ;-)
You're a gas man :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/08/2016 13:34:42    1903201

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Genius, to be fair, I was being a bit facetious if i am honest.

I dont for one second really believe that we are that far ahead of ye atall. I know very well what writing the kingdom off can lead to!!!"
if you are using a pub from one of the Kerry players as representative of the Kerry view, I don't know what to say to yoiu.

I have met nobody here who thinks we have anywhere the same talent level or depth or thinks we have a chance of winning, quite a few are fearful of another hammering so please stop such false representations of the truth.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/08/2016 13:46:42    1903203

In 2009, Kerry struggled through the back door of the championship to arrive in Croke Park with unbelievable form. Dublin lost by 17 points. By 2011, Dublin was a team that grabbed the game. On skill, maybe Kerry were better but in bravery, it was Dublin. By 2013, the skill, tactics and speed was even with the exception of the subs. Here Dublin nailed it. By 2015, tactically Dublin surpassed Kerry and Gavin planned many moves ahead. His military prowess was exceptional. For Kerry, their tactics to stop Dublin running at them down the middle and prevent Dublin getting goals and to throw Cluxton, (arguable one of the best goalies in modern times) was indeed covering our perceived areas of weakness. Gavin, however had Dublin's defence closing down Kerry's gifted forwards. Even Gooch was playing back fiddle to Philly McMahon. This year, in the league, I was genuinely in awe of Dublin's full bodied capacity. They now are a team that has it all; fitness, skill, tactics and an ability to play with speed for 70 minutes plus.

I have been to every Kerry match this year and I'm at a loss to know what our capabilities are. Fitzmaurice disappointed me in the 2015 Munster final against Cork and the AI final last year. In the league final this year, I wondered what we had learnt from our mistakes.

Someone earlier said that hunger will have nothing to do with the forthcoming semi final and in a way, I agree. Everyone on both sides want to win.

In 2014 after the Munster final in Cork, I knew Kerry had the spark for Sam. Declan O Sullivan was in the best form that I had ever saw him and James O Donoghue was on a roll. Even in 2009, in the game against Antrim in Tullamore, I saw Mike McCarthy and Galvin come alive in the last quarter. I think I was one of the few people on the train up to Dublin for the QF that believed we could do it.

This year, we have Maher and James just back from injury with no significant match time since the AI final last year. We have been experimenting with a mass defence at the 45 which left Clare break through to a little defended goalie. Dublin would crucify us with that tactic. I feel our only hope is to attack.

So if I had to debate who would win the Kerry v Dublin game, the facts line up strongly in Dublin's favour. However, in Kerry I was brought up to believe and on the balance of it, Kerry has done me proud. I believe we can be a dangerous animal and I hope we win. If we do, I will say that we beat one of the best teams that I have seen in my lifetime.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 19/08/2016 13:59:22    1903210

Replying To westkerry:  "Liam I do appreciate what you mean that the term natural footballer is demeaning to other counties. I think this gets a little lost in translation I believe it to mean Kerry's natural instinct traditionally has been quick accurate kick passing. A skill that is dying in our game, I don't think anyone is doubting the ability of the Dublin lads who are a joy to watch ( when they are not playing us ofcourse )"
Kerry don't play that kind of football anymore in my opinion, not since Tyrone schooled them in Croker a few times, Dublin are playing great flowing football when they get the chance,
Dublin will win this and the final as well, they just need to keep focused and not get complacent.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 21:13:43    1903372

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Kerry don't play that kind of football anymore in my opinion, not since Tyrone schooled them in Croker a few times, Dublin are playing great flowing football when they get the chance,
Dublin will win this and the final as well, they just need to keep focused and not get complacent."
They do against footballing teams and you will see that next Sunday.
No disrespect it's the likes of Donegal that prevent it being played due to your view of how football is played. Personally I prefer out outlook.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/08/2016 21:49:11    1903383

Replying To westkerry:  "They do against footballing teams and you will see that next Sunday.
No disrespect it's the likes of Donegal that prevent it being played due to your view of how football is played. Personally I prefer out outlook."
I don't agree with you,I think Kerry have changed their style a lot as well, I'd rather we played a more attacking game and hope we do in the future if we get new management in,but you have to start with a solid defence,
you'll see Kerry try and defend in numbers to stop Dublin, if they don't the Dubs will run them over.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 23:32:34    1903410

Ah now hermit, kingdomboy1 etc, don't be twisting words. I never said you played for 10 mins, I said we were the better side for most of it and ye hit a purple patch mid way through the second half and nearly got out of sight.
We weren't lucky to be leading at half-time either, we could have been further ahead with AB going real close.

2014? We were the better side in the first half and Donegal were in the second, when it counted.
2013 ye played real well but ran out of juice.
2015 was a write off for ye.
2016, i know it was the league final, I myself don't rate them hugely. But I know that ye were really intent on winning that and came no where near.
I expect Sunday week to be very close, we've gone a back a little and ye are hungry as fuck!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/08/2016 23:47:52    1903415

Replying To westkerry:  "They do against footballing teams and you will see that next Sunday.
No disrespect it's the likes of Donegal that prevent it being played due to your view of how football is played. Personally I prefer out outlook."
Don't mind that Donegal lad Westkerry if we were playing aliens he'd shout for ET .
He's been bitter since we schooled them in the 2014 final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 01:01:44    1903430

Kerry are going to win, they are absolutely Flying in training. Kerry by four.

royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 20/08/2016 06:20:11    1903438

Replying To royce:  "Kerry are going to win, they are absolutely Flying in training. Kerry by four."
For sure you can never right off Kerry, but flying in training is no guarantee of winning
Its all on the day which team performs, gets a bit of luck, a dodgy decision etc
its a hard one to call, roll on the 28th!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/08/2016 09:48:05    1903452

Replying To realdub:  "Ah now hermit, kingdomboy1 etc, don't be twisting words. I never said you played for 10 mins, I said we were the better side for most of it and ye hit a purple patch mid way through the second half and nearly got out of sight.
We weren't lucky to be leading at half-time either, we could have been further ahead with AB going real close.

2014? We were the better side in the first half and Donegal were in the second, when it counted.
2016, i know it was the league final, I myself don't rate them hugely. But I know that ye were really intent on winning that and came no where near.
I expect Sunday week to be very close, we've gone a back a little and ye are hungry as fuck!"
Yerra it should be close alright.

As I've said earlier its hard not to have Dublin as favorites but I'm expecting a huge performance from Kerry. IF, IF, we play to our potential you never know what might come.

Just thinking back its hard to recall the last time Kerry did actually put in a big 70 min performance, maybe Q-final last year? So they're certainly overdue for one!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2016 10:48:43    1903458

I have a small wager on Kerry to win, heard Kerry are chomping at the bit to beat the Dubs, 3 times Tyrone beat Kerry on the spin and in 12 they finished that Tyrone Team, Kerry to beat the Dubs, not by being the better team, but on Hunger and desire, Kerry by Blood London by Birth.
Hon the Kingdom

royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 20/08/2016 11:50:12    1903476

Replying To realdub:  "Ah now hermit, kingdomboy1 etc, don't be twisting words. I never said you played for 10 mins, I said we were the better side for most of it and ye hit a purple patch mid way through the second half and nearly got out of sight.

I expect Sunday week to be very close, we've gone a back a little and ye are hungry as fuck!"
Fair play realdub well said, and hopefully our lads can at least put in a good 50/60 minutes in this game .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 12:16:18    1903486

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "I don't agree with you,I think Kerry have changed their style a lot as well, I'd rather we played a more attacking game and hope we do in the future if we get new management in,but you have to start with a solid defence,
you'll see Kerry try and defend in numbers to stop Dublin, if they don't the Dubs will run them over."
If you think Kerry play anything like the Ulster sides then I'm afraid there is nothing I can say to you

Dublin had 13 men and totally outplayed Donegal ultra-defensive system. Don't be fooled by the 5 point margin, Dublin were on the way to winning by about 15 points until the red cards and it was only a once in a blue moon error from COS that allowed ye get a goal.

And even at that Donegal never looked like coming close, the booing from their fans at Dublin's keep ball near the end was absolutely laughable, a team with 2 men less and they still stayed in their defensive zones like zombies.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/08/2016 12:46:37    1903495

Replying To royce:  "I have a small wager on Kerry to win, heard Kerry are chomping at the bit to beat the Dubs, 3 times Tyrone beat Kerry on the spin and in 12 they finished that Tyrone Team, Kerry to beat the Dubs, not by being the better team, but on Hunger and desire, Kerry by Blood London by Birth.
Hon the Kingdom"
You have a wager on them because you 'heard Kerry are chomping at the bit to beat them'. Kerry are always chomping at the bit to beat the Dubs. This time is no different.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:43:35    1903524

Replying To royce:  "Kerry are going to win, they are absolutely Flying in training. Kerry by four."
Flying in training?! Sh*t, might as well not bother turning up!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:45:51    1903525