Dublin v Kerry

Replying To legendzxix:  "Limerick are doing well in underage."
They are indeed. And your point is???

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/08/2016 18:10:56    1897507

Replying To legendzxix:  "Limerick are doing well in underage."
Come back to me when your county are competing in both codes at all levels and we'll discuss further. Good lad.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/08/2016 18:17:17    1897514

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Come back to me when your county are competing in both codes at all levels and we'll discuss further. Good lad."
Ahem, the 4 Regions and Kerry will be the only two starting next year's leagues in a position to win Division 1 in both codes! :D ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 07/08/2016 19:05:17    1897545

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Our juniors had a good win against ye yesterday jamesh.
Were you at the game kid?
That's two in a row for us now at that grade."
In all fairness that was a great achievement to win two junior all Ireland's in a row as by my understanding when you win the all ireland at that grade you cannot have a single member of the panel on the following years panel.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 19:16:28    1897548

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ahem, the 4 Regions and Kerry will be the only two starting next year's leagues in a position to win Division 1 in both codes! :D ;)"
Ahem.... I said at all levels. How are your minor and U21 hurlers doing?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/08/2016 19:41:16    1897568

This is my honest opinion we have a better team than Kerry right now and if we play to our full potential we should win, but do I think Kerry can beat us in a one off game ? Of course they can but again a lot will have to go there way , O Donoghue on any given day can destroy a team on his own but I'm not sure he's at his full fitness best after two years of shoulder injuries.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2016 19:59:07    1897581

Replying To Adamski:  "Good man Richie, you'll enjoy it more if the kingdom win I an sure."
No I'll enjoy it if we get the game of football we all have being craving all year, a type of game that both these teams can provide. I like to see footballers win games not brainwashed robots and both Kerry and Dublin have footballers so I'm happy to see this clash and just think the race is a bit more open than maybe some people thought, all four semi finalists can have realistic ambitions of reaching the final and winning it, nothing would surprise me in terms of what Tipp could achieve as their team spirit and determination is top notch and they can play football, Kerry and Mayo haven't hit fourth gear this year let alone fifth and we all know what Dublin can do but at times I thought they lost their composure and gameplan after the Donegal goal and Connolly's sending off yesterday, so no beef wit the Dubs I'm just hoping, and praying, that the final three games can save what had been a pure cat melodjen of a championship

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/08/2016 20:42:57    1897606

Looking forward to this 1
Don't think it's as big a foregone conclusion as folks may think
I Have a feeling kerry might just edge it

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 07/08/2016 20:49:36    1897610

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Ahem.... I said at all levels. How are your minor and U21 hurlers doing?"
Kerry is a rural county on the southwest coast of Ireland. The hurling community is 8 small rural clubs north of Tralee. Is Fingal's participation in the Nicky Rackard the future direction of the 4 Regions?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 07/08/2016 20:57:53    1897617

Replying To Richieq:  "No I'll enjoy it if we get the game of football we all have being craving all year, a type of game that both these teams can provide. I like to see footballers win games not brainwashed robots and both Kerry and Dublin have footballers so I'm happy to see this clash and just think the race is a bit more open than maybe some people thought, all four semi finalists can have realistic ambitions of reaching the final and winning it, nothing would surprise me in terms of what Tipp could achieve as their team spirit and determination is top notch and they can play football, Kerry and Mayo haven't hit fourth gear this year let alone fifth and we all know what Dublin can do but at times I thought they lost their composure and gameplan after the Donegal goal and Connolly's sending off yesterday, so no beef wit the Dubs I'm just hoping, and praying, that the final three games can save what had been a pure cat melodjen of a championship"
Take amy teams best player out and any team will suffer. The dubs are no different. Remember we already were down James Mc too so we had to play a different type of game. I think people expect too much of this dublin team tbh.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/08/2016 21:10:54    1897630

Real conundrum for Kerry in terms of how they set up for this one. If they sit back the way they did last year Dublin will pick them off over the 70 mins. If they run at them from the start Dublin will get many opportunities to counter and will probably pick them off over 70 minutes. The answer? I have no idea, and I don't envy Fitzmaurice. He's probably finished if he doesn't win this one, but at the same time we've no right to expect a win.

One thing I do know is that Sheehan has to start if he is even 80%. Our dead ball efforts against Clare were embarrassing quite frankly. If we can get Darren and JOD on the ball I would expect numerous scorable frees, we simply cannot be wasting these.

Dublin weren't particularly impressive yesterday for me, but didn't have to be and I expect they will be very happy with their lot going on to the semi. Kerry have better forwards than Donegal and shouldn't be as wasteful but you'd still feel Dublin should have too much. If we get a bit of luck it is definitely a winnable match though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/08/2016 21:21:13    1897637

I thought before the quarter finals that Dublin would beat Kerry and I feel even more strongly about that now after the Donegal-Dublin match. Not only do Kerry not have the same kind of athletes that Dublin have, but they're coming into this semi-final rather cold. They've just not really been tested or pushed too hard so far in the championship. In contrast, Dublin's match with Donegal took on a peculiar tone where at times Dublin looked like they were cruising and other times Donegal looked like they might get back into it. Dublin, in the end, had to battle maybe a bit more than they would have liked for the win. I think this will stand to them going forward. They're now coming into a semifinal off the back of a win where they were forced to hold their nerve and had to deal with at least one baffling referee decision (O'Gara's sending off was harsh especially since Murphy got away with a closed fist on young Fenton). There is no preparation better than matches that test your mettle. This will give Dublin an even greater edge on Kerry.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 07/08/2016 21:27:13    1897641

Ha the four regions Vs the Four Healy - Rae, the flat cap mafia will be in force in the City on the 28th.

Be really interested to hear from a few Kerry lads on here their opinions on how Kerry will set up to try and beat Dublin or what strategy/game plan they will employ?

Is there any chance they might try and go toe to toe with Dublin, like 2013?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2016 21:28:58    1897645

Replying To Jackeen:  "Take amy teams best player out and any team will suffer. The dubs are no different. Remember we already were down James Mc too so we had to play a different type of game. I think people expect too much of this dublin team tbh."
Yeah I'd agree with you, no more than Murphy with Donegal there is a lot of expectation on Connolly's shoulders although undoubtedly the Dubs have a far better supporting cast than Donegal. Also O'Carroll and McCaffrey are being missed and when you add in McCarthy that's a fair lump of talent missing at any one time. Burden of expectation can be a noose around the neck, perhaps for a short time it showed yesterday with combined knocks of losing a goal and a key player, the Donegal team of two or three years ago most likely would have taken more advantage of that situation. Still Dublin and Kerry will be most interesting and as I said hopefully a good game with both showing their vast array of talents.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/08/2016 21:34:55    1897652

Gerry the way Donegal set up its hard to be impressive you just have to get through as best you can, I personally thought we were very impressive against that Donegal system.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2016 21:36:47    1897653

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha the four regions Vs the Four Healy - Rae, the flat cap mafia will be in force in the City on the 28th.

Be really interested to hear from a few Kerry lads on here their opinions on how Kerry will set up to try and beat Dublin or what strategy/game plan they will employ?

Is there any chance they might try and go toe to toe with Dublin, like 2013?"
I think they have to, not gung ho with everybody flying forward but I expect a positive approach. Donaghy wil go between midfield and FF and they'll test that full back line with Geaney, Darren and JOD around as well.

If they sit back the way Donegal did yesterday they shouldn't even wait for the match to finish before getting rid of the current management. Dublin cannot be beaten that way.

One issue they cannot solve in time is the last 15 minutes. Dublin are the fittest team ever to take the field in GAA. We have faded badly in the closing stages in the past and will probably do so again. If we don't have a good lead by then we're goosed.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/08/2016 21:42:52    1897661

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think they have to, not gung ho with everybody flying forward but I expect a positive approach. Donaghy wil go between midfield and FF and they'll test that full back line with Geaney, Darren and JOD around as well.

If they sit back the way Donegal did yesterday they shouldn't even wait for the match to finish before getting rid of the current management. Dublin cannot be beaten that way.

One issue they cannot solve in time is the last 15 minutes. Dublin are the fittest team ever to take the field in GAA. We have faded badly in the closing stages in the past and will probably do so again. If we don't have a good lead by then we're goosed."
Geaney is pure klass . Dark horse for poty
Geaney Donaghy n jod in ff
With o sullivan n Gooch in half.forward line not convinced the dubs r strong enough defensively this year to cope with our sullivan running or Gooch pulling the strings from hf forward line
Imo It has to be a shoot out cause kerry.arrnt strong enough to play.the defensive game they tried last year
Looking forward to it

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 07/08/2016 21:55:37    1897671

Gerry, I was actually really impressed with Dublin yesterday. Thought they where fantastic.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2016 21:56:35    1897673

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Ahem.... I said at all levels. How are your minor and U21 hurlers doing?"
We are going for 5 Minor B Titles in a row and our U21's won by 36 points yesterday

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 07/08/2016 21:59:30    1897674

Replying To waynoI:  "Gerry, I was actually really impressed with Dublin yesterday. Thought they where fantastic."
They did what was needed but Donegals setup made for a bad game. They were very negative, and wasteful in front of the posts. It wasn't pretty to watch. I did say Dublin would be very happy with it, it's ideal preparation for the semi.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/08/2016 22:02:39    1897683