Tipperary v Mayo

I think the goals Mayo got came at the right time - first one a disastrous gave away of the ball by Tipp and indeed the done the same thing earlier but we're not punished for it.
But Mayo did play after that goal and scored seven points before half time
Yet they seemed all over the place in the second half and again the goal put the game to bed.
Can they win the All Ireland??? Yes I'd say. But they must play a lot better and keep at it for 70 odd mins
They have played bad all year but are in the All Ireland final
Let's hope Tipp keeps on going , get promotion and maybe win a Munster.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/08/2016 20:34:20    1904114

Not sure who is going to ref the final this year but surely Coldrick & his umpires should be demoted after this display, they had a shocker. Kiely & his marker both dived headfirst for the ball & their legs got entwined, not s black card at all, as the red card wasnt either, Lee Keegan was given the get out of jail card all day.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/08/2016 20:39:07    1904118

After the Galway game I was pretty sure they'd still make it to the final but thought it would be reflected in their performances. It hasn't, they really need to pick it up. Tipp got confused with their short game, got messy and were unlucky for the second goal.
Things worked out for Mayo today, but they have one game left to get it right!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/08/2016 21:19:06    1904143

Mayo still in need of a reliable free taker who can also convert 45s. May come back to haunt us in close game.
(Please don't come back with stats on easy tap overs and ocassional outrageous scores from sideline.)

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 21/08/2016 21:24:21    1904149

Replying To Pericles:  "Totally don't agree. Black card all day long. Sorry for the guy, and would have been regardless of jersey. Keegan's not remotely comparable.

About as unsatisfactory a victory as any supporter could experience. Will Mayo peak at all this year? Running out of games."
Eeh, were you replying to me??
I said it was a text book example of what the black card is supposedly for and I never mentioned Lee Keegan, in fact I didn't even see what he did as I had to leave shortly after the black card to go to a club game

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/08/2016 21:31:30    1904156

Replying To Seansy48:  "Yeah or they won't!

I mean everything they touched turned to gold against Tyrone, alot of players who don't show up on alot of big days showed up for them in the quarter final.

It's a lovely unsubtle way to undermine Tyrone by saying Mayo are playing in 2nd all year. O Shea played his best game against Tyrone, O Connor played his best game against Tyrone, Lee Keegan played his best game against Tyrone, most Mayo players who have really turned up this season did in fact, the exceptional being Diarmuid O Connor!

They played their final against Tyrone and barely won, I might get berated now but in 4 weeks time it'll prove to be true....what would Kerry or Dublin do with the sheer number of turnovers they coughed up!?"
They played rubbish all year doesn't bode well for the final but they at least played better than Tyrone and even coughing up the chances late on that a Dublin Kerry and even a Tipperary would have made us pay for showed up Tyrone for what they were this year I mean how will you get anywhere without a decent free taker!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 21/08/2016 21:37:03    1904162

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Doesn't say much for the other counties including your own pal does it? Playing crap and in the final."
Actually says more about the current championship set up, that they got to a final without playing a div 1 team pal. Also we kept dubs to a respectable score until 50 mins with worst ic manager EVER , that has changed now, trust me mayo were cr*p today and will have to up their performance considerably to keep beating by dubs to less than double digits.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/08/2016 21:43:35    1904169

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually says more about the current championship set up, that they got to a final without playing a div 1 team pal. Also we kept dubs to a respectable score until 50 mins with worst ic manager EVER , that has changed now, trust me mayo were cr*p today and will have to up their performance considerably to keep beating by dubs to less than double digits."
Did I say Mayo were good today? And as for your statement that if they don't improve they will be well beaten? Real Sherlock Holmes stuff there. Listen Mayo can do no right no matter what they do, as is being proven this year. Walk through Connacht and walk through their quarters and semis it doesn't matter people have a go at them. Struggle through the back door and still make the final, people still have a go, it's priceless.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/08/2016 21:54:38    1904176

And just to prove how bias people are against Mayo blabbing on about the ref.
Did everyone miss the constant goading off the ball from numerous Tipp players. It was constant, but sure let's have a go at Keegan and claim the ref was against Tipp. One of the Tipp players had D O Connor by the throat at one stage, but hey, who cares?

Anyone who has read my posts on Mayo in the past when they have been beaten will have seen I never blamed an official, even when we were screwed over in Limerick 2 years ago,but I just won't listen to this crap on how we get away with stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/08/2016 21:59:22    1904178

Would have to disagree, if he is in the top 2 refs on the country then we may give up. No one comes close to the standard or referring that Gough sets. Goldrick and Duffy as well have far more off days than they do good days.
kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts:118 - 21/08/2016 18:23:36

I agree with you comment and most folk inside the county would agree. I do hope Mayo win the All Ireland as they have got some very poor ref decisions over a number of years in important games

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/08/2016 22:09:28    1904183

Replying To Spoddgy:  "They played rubbish all year doesn't bode well for the final but they at least played better than Tyrone and even coughing up the chances late on that a Dublin Kerry and even a Tipperary would have made us pay for showed up Tyrone for what they were this year I mean how will you get anywhere without a decent free taker!"
I think you'll be playing Kerry and that will be great motivation but the fullback line will be tested the the extreme. Tyrone are a young team who have done well this year and have more to learn, Mayo have to win the final as the idea of having to go again next year could be too much. I wish them all the best for the final and on the day against Tyrone they deserved the win however it is very clear that mayos performance this year is much lower than past years and they are not playing with confidence. Good luck but keep it real.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 21/08/2016 22:14:56    1904187

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually says more about the current championship set up, that they got to a final without playing a div 1 team pal. Also we kept dubs to a respectable score until 50 mins with worst ic manager EVER , that has changed now, trust me mayo were cr*p today and will have to up their performance considerably to keep beating by dubs to less than double digits."
When did Dublin beat Kerry ?

Jaysus you'd think id remember our 2016 semi final if you are talking about a Dublin v Mayo final.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2016 22:16:09    1904190

Replying To cavanman47:  "Gough. . .?

Jesus wept! He is the very definition of inconsistent. Wait until next Sunday when he gets rapturous praise from rte for letting the game flow then gives a free for the exact same thing he let go 2 minutes earlier.

The standard of refereeing has been worse this year that in any year I can remember. Deegan is the best of a bad lot right now.

For what it's worth, Coldrick had a poor game but was spot on with the black card and I've been told by someone who was at the game that kev Mac was punched in the crown jewels for the red. If so, correct decision obviously."
Standard of refeering has been poor but unfortunately nothing will be done about it. It will be even worse next yesr with the mark being briught in.

Not sure about the black card I fail to see how the ref was sure it was deliberate, as the rule states it has to be deliberate. To me it looked like a tangling of legs.

They showed the replay of the red card and it looked like a shoulder and all the commentators said it looked like a shoulder. If it was for a strike then he deserved to walk.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 21/08/2016 22:17:18    1904192

It's been said gaelic football is dying a slow death, and the only thing that keeps it going is "Contraversory"

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 21/08/2016 22:21:20    1904194

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And just to prove how bias people are against Mayo blabbing on about the ref.
Did everyone miss the constant goading off the ball from numerous Tipp players. It was constant, but sure let's have a go at Keegan and claim the ref was against Tipp. One of the Tipp players had D O Connor by the throat at one stage, but hey, who cares?

Anyone who has read my posts on Mayo in the past when they have been beaten will have seen I never blamed an official, even when we were screwed over in Limerick 2 years ago,but I just won't listen to this crap on how we get away with stuff."
Flaker no team is whiter than white, everyone of the major teams are at it including Mayo, some poor decisions against you today but finished the game well. There is no such thing as a sure thing in football so Mayo can really go for it no matter who they play and I for one will cheer you on.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 21/08/2016 22:21:56    1904195

Not long home as traffic was crazy. Huge support there today. Got over the line. Not a great display but if we beat Tipp by 20 would any credit have been given? Nah...the only credit worth salt is that is given to to the winners. We are huge underdogs make no mistake. Still on the day....anything can happen. Will be going east in 4 weeks with hope in my heart as always.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 21/08/2016 22:31:08    1904209

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And just to prove how bias people are against Mayo blabbing on about the ref.

Anyone who has read my posts on Mayo in the past when they have been beaten will have seen I never blamed an official, even when we were screwed over in Limerick 2 years ago,but I just won't listen to this crap on how we get away with stuff."
All manly stuff Tipp were never gonna lie down. I'm glad we gave ye a game Tipp have been accused in the past to lying down to Kerry and Tyrone.
I'm sure there's a valid reason why the Tipp player had the Mayo man by the throat!!
Mayo in fairness gave plenty back and both teams got the rub of the green at times.
I can see from a lot of social media Tipp GAA Pages the blinkers are on sum lads blaming the ref as usual.
Yes an off day for the ref but Mayo got the crucial goals and when on top for 15 minutes the only time they were on top they scored 1-07 and to Tipp 0-01 and that won them the game.
Best of luck in the final.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/08/2016 22:35:56    1904210

Replying To 65years_overdue:  "There'll be at least one change to that team by 3:30 p.m on Sunday. I wouldn't be surprised if Barry Moran was brought in to sweep in front of the full back line or as a third midfielder. Parsons has surely got to be brought into midfield also"
Good call !

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 21/08/2016 23:50:57    1904227

Poster after poster on here has been reading the tea leaves and predicting a hammering for Mayo after every round this summer. They've been wrong on each occasion but still come back with the same tired, overused ..........."if they play like this against Dublin or Kerry"...crap. An all Ireland final is a game that takes on a life of it's own and only an idiot would discount a team in it's 3rd final in 5 years. 6 semi finals and 3 finals in 6 years must surely garner some respect even from those on here who can't see past an average performance that achieved it's desired result. Peaking on the 3rd Sunday in September is far more important than looking glossy in February. I for one am happy where we're at and let Kerry and Dublin kick the s***e out of each other next week.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 22/08/2016 00:48:57    1904239

I actually seen a little of that alright , was surprised Tipp had that in them , was only saying yesterday how they were quiet lads

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 22/08/2016 01:24:38    1904246