Tipperary v Mayo

Replying To cavanman47:  "Gough. . .?

Jesus wept! He is the very definition of inconsistent. Wait until next Sunday when he gets rapturous praise from rte for letting the game flow then gives a free for the exact same thing he let go 2 minutes earlier.

The standard of refereeing has been worse this year that in any year I can remember. Deegan is the best of a bad lot right now.

For what it's worth, Coldrick had a poor game but was spot on with the black card and I've been told by someone who was at the game that kev Mac was punched in the crown jewels for the red. If so, correct decision obviously."
Standard of refeering has been poor but unfortunately nothing will be done about it. It will be even worse next yesr with the mark being briught in.

Not sure about the black card I fail to see how the ref was sure it was deliberate, as the rule states it has to be deliberate. To me it looked like a tangling of legs.

They showed the replay of the red card and it looked like a shoulder and all the commentators said it looked like a shoulder. If it was for a strike then he deserved to walk.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 22/08/2016 07:10:22    1904256

Good to see some sensible posts and one from a Tipp man as well calling a spade a spade. There are a few posters from my own county and others who like to have a pop at Dublin but in the past couple of weeks the amount of stuff and threads talking mince about Mayo is beyond belief. I'm actually glad to many people dislike Mayo and are hoping they get pasted, we used to be a team that was liked and people wanted to see get over the line, now we are the opposite so we must be doing something right.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/08/2016 08:26:54    1904264

Good game I quietly fancy Mayo this year. I think Mayo have real quality on the bench which is real weapon and they are using it very well. I don't buy into Mayo are not playing quality as Tyrone are and so are Tipp. I taught Tipp Played really well Mayo are a top side for years now and they stuck with them and didn't look out of the dept at all. Some fantastic scores on by Tipp FF. If anyone else scored them you never here the end of it. A Lot more to come from Tipp over the next few years. The game was more else ruined for me, for what could only be described as shocking commentary by Tommy Carr. I feel some people actually take him serious. Saying it wasn't a black card ??? The clearing took him out. Then he said another tackle was a fair and shoulder to shoulder. When clearly the Tipp guy took the legs from under him. Carr cant even get the calls right when its in slow motion and 3 different angles. Then he said there was a deflection when Evan Regan slipped and fell and the ball was played through. there was not deflection. What game is he watching ? I give up and Carr is giving out about the referee ? Sure the reffing is poor but I wouldn't like Tommy refereeing my game thank you very much. Someone please make it stop.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/08/2016 09:48:53    1904301

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Good game I quietly fancy Mayo this year. I think Mayo have real quality on the bench which is real weapon and they are using it very well. I don't buy into Mayo are not playing quality as Tyrone are and so are Tipp. I taught Tipp Played really well Mayo are a top side for years now and they stuck with them and didn't look out of the dept at all. Some fantastic scores on by Tipp FF. If anyone else scored them you never here the end of it. A Lot more to come from Tipp over the next few years. The game was more else ruined for me, for what could only be described as shocking commentary by Tommy Carr. I feel some people actually take him serious. Saying it wasn't a black card ??? The clearing took him out. Then he said another tackle was a fair and shoulder to shoulder. When clearly the Tipp guy took the legs from under him. Carr cant even get the calls right when its in slow motion and 3 different angles. Then he said there was a deflection when Evan Regan slipped and fell and the ball was played through. there was not deflection. What game is he watching ? I give up and Carr is giving out about the referee ? Sure the reffing is poor but I wouldn't like Tommy refereeing my game thank you very much. Someone please make it stop."
He is shocking, Twitter is awash with jokes every time he is on a game. He makes these rash statements and as you said even when the replay shows he was wrong he usually says something like" well maybe, but I still think it was harsh". He was so down on Mayo it wasn't even funny. The hawkeye point was the best bit, before hawkeye was called he said it looked a definite score even though it looked like it was probably just wide. Then after hawkeye confirmed it was wide he was still half in denial.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/08/2016 10:13:21    1904316

Replying To kevin03:  "Standard of refeering has been poor but unfortunately nothing will be done about it. It will be even worse next yesr with the mark being briught in.

Not sure about the black card I fail to see how the ref was sure it was deliberate, as the rule states it has to be deliberate. To me it looked like a tangling of legs.

They showed the replay of the red card and it looked like a shoulder and all the commentators said it looked like a shoulder. If it was for a strike then he deserved to walk."
I thought it was a black card as he was pulling him back and got tangled as a result. If he'd given a yellow, no-one would have complained but if you want your refs not to bottle the big decisions then Coldrick should be praised for not taking the easy way out.

Only saw the front view of the red once but did he not punch him in the stomach?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/08/2016 10:37:32    1904333

Replying To benched:  "Eeh, were you replying to me??
I said it was a text book example of what the black card is supposedly for and I never mentioned Lee Keegan, in fact I didn't even see what he did as I had to leave shortly after the black card to go to a club game"
Sorry Benched I might have picked up the wrong post for my response... I was fairly bewildered by what I'd just witnessed, and not for the first time this year.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/08/2016 11:59:23    1904365

bobkarlgees (Meath) - There was a very obvious penalty for Tipp in the second half which would have seen Keeghan side lined- not sure what the ref was watching -thought he was poor and nothing new there. I do hope Mayo win the AI because of all the wrong calls against them in the big games over the past few years

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/08/2016 12:00:22    1904367

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "I actually seen a little of that alright , was surprised Tipp had that in them , was only saying yesterday how they were quiet lads"
It's just coincidence youre from Tyrone?! I've yet to hear any Tyrone man say anything good about Tipp since last years 21 final
Peter Canavan being the main man that comes to mind!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/08/2016 12:01:24    1904368

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mayo all over the place, how have they reached a all ire semi?"
By not meeting a Division 1 team along the way one would imagine.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2016 12:21:59    1904385

i don't think people are giving Tipp enough credit here, they did not get to an All Ireland semi final by a fluke, they beat 3 decent sides Cork, Derry and Galway. all the talk seems to be about Mayo's under performance but i think it was a lot to do with Tipp not allowing them to execute their game plan. ask yourself if yesterday was a Mayo v Tyrone semi what would media say? "Mayo in control of game, never looked like loosing etc etc" why is it then the everyone is disrespecting the Tipp performance by saying Mayo under performed just because they are not a household name? i think you have to give respect to Tipp and the game they played, ok they were blitzed for 10 mins at end of first half outside that they won the game. and credit to them.

???

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 22/08/2016 12:48:36    1904413

First of all. Hard luck to our lads, had some great days following them this year and hopefully they build on it and more lads will answer the call to go play with them because a Munster championship is a realistic goal at the moment.

On the match itself, the black card was a huge huge blow to Tipp. Kiely was a massive loss that Tipp couldnt afford. I havnt seen it yet but it probably is a black card but how often do we see yellows given instead?
Hopefully Tipp will learn from the experience and become a little more street wise. Next year we really need to get out of division 3.
Mayo didnt play great and havnt been playing well all year, but semi finals are for winning and they're in the final where anything can happen. I'd love to see them win it but can see it happening.
I reckon Dublin will get over the line next week but I wouldnt be expecting a classic. I think it will be low scoring with Kerry parking the bus.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 22/08/2016 13:00:29    1904419

I personally think we were lucky to draw Mayo in the semi because our bench,unfortunately,is limited and Mayo are an ageing side well past their best.

Would not like to have drawn Dublin or Kerry.

I've always liked,and cheered for,Mayo and I think that in my lifetime this has been the best Mayo team ever but they've just been poxed to run into super Dublin & Donegal teams.

Scary thing for Mayo is that if we had all our footballers yesterday we'd probably have beaten them.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 22/08/2016 13:33:26    1904435

Replying To Jackeen:  "By not meeting a Division 1 team along the way one would imagine."
Could have sworn the league ended months ago...either that or there's divisions now in the cship. Must've missed that
Wasn't the whole country going on about how great tyrone were and mayo beat them.
Anyone that has watched football the last couple of years know that there has been only 3 contenders the last few years and one has to go at the semi stage

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/08/2016 13:33:50    1904436

Replying To Jackeen:  "By not meeting a Division 1 team along the way one would imagine."
Dublin, only met one div 1 team, And I think Dublin would have preferred Donegal rather than Tyrone. I think Mayo are coming in under the radar we vary Dublin or Kerry.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/08/2016 13:56:42    1904457

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Dublin, only met one div 1 team, And I think Dublin would have preferred Donegal rather than Tyrone. I think Mayo are coming in under the radar we vary Dublin or Kerry."
How can a top 3 team come in under the radar?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2016 14:01:43    1904458

Replying To tiobraid:  "Could have sworn the league ended months ago...either that or there's divisions now in the cship. Must've missed that
Wasn't the whole country going on about how great tyrone were and mayo beat them.
Anyone that has watched football the last couple of years know that there has been only 3 contenders the last few years and one has to go at the semi stage"
Gas isn't it, you are bang on. Tyrone are now a division one team and were tipped to beat Mayo as they were a hungry and improving team. But Mayo don't play all that well and still beat them and now it turns out Tyrone are not up to much!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/08/2016 14:04:57    1904460

Yesterday red was clear cut, he thumped the mayo player in the side. Black card was obvious to. Better team won and tipp never looked like they had the belief to really win it.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 22/08/2016 16:46:07    1904546

Replying To Jackeen:  "How can a top 3 team come in under the radar?"
Beats me especially when they are the only team to have beaten a 'Big 3' team this year in the Champo.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 22/08/2016 16:49:08    1904551

People on here giving out about Mayo stumbling to a final, not playing a division 1 team etc. I think that Mayo have gotten to an All Ireland Final without leaving second gear and without playing anywhere close to their full potential. That, gentlemen is pure class.

Unsullied (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 22/08/2016 18:29:34    1904588

Replying To Muilleann:  "I personally think we were lucky to draw Mayo in the semi because our bench,unfortunately,is limited and Mayo are an ageing side well past their best.

Would not like to have drawn Dublin or Kerry.

I've always liked,and cheered for,Mayo and I think that in my lifetime this has been the best Mayo team ever but they've just been poxed to run into super Dublin & Donegal teams.

Scary thing for Mayo is that if we had all our footballers yesterday we'd probably have beaten them."
If you had all your players back , many others would not have been given their chance at this level , and you probably wouldn't be playing in a semi final.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 22/08/2016 20:50:01    1904632