Mayo fans

Replying To gotmilk:  "Why do Mayo fans boo everything? They boo any decision that goes against them no matter how obvious it is. Fermanagh, Kildare and now Tyrone game i've noticed this. Is it the bandwagon fans that come at championship time or why does this happen? It's not nice to see."
Most counties supporters do the same to be fair

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 07/08/2016 11:28:33    1897229

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I think royal pain in the ar4e and a few Down fans (not all Down fans and we all know who they are) have it in for you guys - they are prolific posters on anything Ulster and particular Tyrone. I feel you left that one behind - you really need to sort your free taking out and I also believe I would put big McNulty on the square with the nippy small forwards you have - bar that you're not far off."
FGS will you drop all this nonsense. Down
fans are better fans than Tyrone in general
as they are more easy going etc. There are
some many good genuine Tyrone fans but there is a larger "nasty" element to the Tyrone fan base than there is with other
counties ie they have more "slabbers" per
head at matches. Thats what makes them
unpopular. Tyrone fans seem to love
beating Down as well and a good lot of
Tyrone fans were slabbering to Down fans
in both Championship games in 2014. Its
this element of their fan base that makes
me personally dislike them, nothing
against the genuine Tyrone fans.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 07/08/2016 11:51:21    1897244

Replying To Unsullied:  "This thread is a complete nonsense. I was at the Fermanagh game and yes Mayo fans were booing some of the referee decisions in that game. However killian o connor was denied a clear penalty that should have been awarded. I always see other counties fans letting their dissatisfaction be known with the referee during gamea, that is normal. Personally I think this thread was started by a bitter Fermanagh supporter who is still blaming AOS's dive for them being out of the championship even though they lost by 6 points!"
It's in the past and I couldn't care about it. I was annoyed at the time but it doesn't change anything.
I'm passing comment on the fact that three games this year booing by supporters is quite loud.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/08/2016 12:38:54    1897281

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id be more worried about the sledging by Tyrone players, mayo are reacting , and while I wouldn't be his biggest fan, and he also partakes , but the treatment of Aidan ose in this game has been shocking."
What about the treatment of Sean Cavanagh yesterday Lee Keegan constantly gets away with dragging players down and get them booked along with him self 3 times yesterday he did it to Sean first time was right in front of the lines man in the first half and the ref ticked the 2 of them , he did the same thing last year to Connolly against the Dubs pulled dragged him do and DC reaction got him red carded.
There was plenty of uproar the past few year when Tyrone have done thing both McCann and Sean called out by the media funny how other teams get away with it.
Rant over we will be back stronger and better next year a free taker needs to be found as this is where we lost the match yesterday 14 sides is not good enough. Tir Eoghain Abu total faith

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 07/08/2016 13:17:18    1897302

Was sitting with a bunch of Mayo supporters yesterday. They were a grand bunch. Really passionate supporters. The booing can be irritating but what really gets me is how delighted they got with Tyrone's wides and mistakes. The Ironic cheering and pleasure they got from this was immense.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 07/08/2016 13:27:23    1897309

Replying To TheMaster:  "Well replays showed the ref was wrong so i dont see how you can come to that conclusion... Nor do i care."
Yes and the replay show clear diving in Castlebar and I don,'care either. Furthermore I do hope ye win the AI as I think ye have got some very poor decisions in the past fro Refs.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/08/2016 14:01:57    1897331

Replying To HandballRef:  "Was sitting with a bunch of Mayo supporters yesterday. They were a grand bunch. Really passionate supporters. The booing can be irritating but what really gets me is how delighted they got with Tyrone's wides and mistakes. The Ironic cheering and pleasure they got from this was immense."
I don't understand why anyone wouldn't cheer the opposition hitting a wide. The opposition missing is essentially another point for your team. You are a point better off than if they score. Why wouldn't you be happy with that?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 07/08/2016 14:16:29    1897338

This booing and jeering has been endemic with Mayo supporters for quite a while now. No they're not the only county to do it but are by and large the worst I've come across. Have had first hand experience of it going back a while between Mayo v Donegal league games in Castlebar and Mayo v Donegal championship games in Croke Park. Yesterday was bad but I've witnessed a lot worse from them. It's not nice and extremely irritating and the main reason I hope they never win another All Ireland

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/08/2016 14:22:29    1897341

Replying To the_walls:  "I don't understand why anyone wouldn't cheer the opposition hitting a wide. The opposition missing is essentially another point for your team. You are a point better off than if they score. Why wouldn't you be happy with that?"
Nah sorry I can't agree with my own supporters cheering the other teams wides. Sure, people can be happy without being d*cks about it. Few of our own supporters were at it against Monaghan this year and were quickly told to shut up by our own fans.. It's cingeworthy stuff in my opinion

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 07/08/2016 14:33:54    1897348

Replying To the_walls:  "I don't understand why anyone wouldn't cheer the opposition hitting a wide. The opposition missing is essentially another point for your team. You are a point better off than if they score. Why wouldn't you be happy with that?"
Naturally you don't want the opposition to score but is there really any need to stand up and jeer / cheer a wide in the same manner as you would a score for your own team? Had never noticed it as bad against any other opposition before yesterday not that it annoyed me greatly just thought it was a bit much, even a turn over was greeted in the same manner at times. Anyway good luck Mayo for rest of the year.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 07/08/2016 14:39:28    1897352

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "This booing and jeering has been endemic with Mayo supporters for quite a while now. No they're not the only county to do it but are by and large the worst I've come across. Have had first hand experience of it going back a while between Mayo v Donegal league games in Castlebar and Mayo v Donegal championship games in Croke Park. Yesterday was bad but I've witnessed a lot worse from them. It's not nice and extremely irritating and the main reason I hope they never win another All Ireland"
I sense another curse coming our way!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/08/2016 18:20:08    1897515

And with that you've just proven the argument made in the OP

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 07/08/2016 18:40:52    1897528

In Rugby you cheer when the opponent fails to score a try, normally because your defenders were good enough to stop the opposing players from getting in. I believe that it's the same idea in GAA, if an opposing player hits a wide it's because your teams defenders had him under pressure or forced him to take a difficult shot. No badness in it, just happy your team is doing well.

Unsullied (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 07/08/2016 18:56:32    1897539

Replying To gotmilk:  "Theres bandwagon fans for every county and they are some of the most annoying people you can come across. There seemed to be a few bandwagon fans around me the day I was in Castlebar that were very infuriating. A Mayo fan actually turned to me and said 'I hope I never have to sit beside that bol*x at a game again.' There were quite a number of those types of fans in the surrounding area. In saying that there are some genuine good Mayo fans and I would not begrudge them winning an all Ireland. Those bandwagoners however are very annoying."
You can hardly accuse people at Mayo v Fermanagh in the 2nd round of the qualifiers of being a 'bandwaggoner'. I'd imagine there will be people jumping on it now after yesterday.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 07/08/2016 19:23:36    1897549

Mayo's players and supporters when they thought they had the '14 semi-final won the first day is the closest we've come to seeing Mayo's true colours.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 07/08/2016 19:32:29    1897557

Replying To Unsullied:  "In Rugby you cheer when the opponent fails to score a try, normally because your defenders were good enough to stop the opposing players from getting in. I believe that it's the same idea in GAA, if an opposing player hits a wide it's because your teams defenders had him under pressure or forced him to take a difficult shot. No badness in it, just happy your team is doing well."
It's unsporting.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 07/08/2016 21:00:08    1897618

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I sense another curse coming our way!!!"
Christ! One that means Mayo won't even make the final??

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 07/08/2016 23:43:01    1897748

Most counties do it but Mayo for me are extremely bad at it .

I think it even made their own radio station talk show after they beat us in a league match in 2013. It was in relation to the abuse Durcan got behind the goals .

All counties do it but the worst I've ever witnessed is from Mayo . Their fans go way over board and it's not nice .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 08/08/2016 10:20:13    1897849

Replying To benched:  "Naturally you don't want the opposition to score but is there really any need to stand up and jeer / cheer a wide in the same manner as you would a score for your own team? Had never noticed it as bad against any other opposition before yesterday not that it annoyed me greatly just thought it was a bit much, even a turn over was greeted in the same manner at times. Anyway good luck Mayo for rest of the year."
I dont mind the turnover much because turnovers are generally caused by good defensive play.
Booing a free taker and when they miss is very annoying for me. Or when a player is sent off for 2 yellow offenses. To me that isnt worthy of shouting abuse. Sometimes its shows the real supporters from the Fair weather ones.

Its not just mayo but I have noticed it a lot with them. other teams that can be bad for it are Dublin and surprisingly Cavan.

Overall though I met a lot of brilliant Mayo/Tyrone/Dublin/Donegal/Kerry supporters and with the amount of support Mayo bring at this time of the year there will always be a group of idiots who bring a bad reputation. I remember being disgusted by a story about Donegal supporters after our semi final win over cork in 2012.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 08/08/2016 10:33:35    1897863

First and foremost congrats to mayo for reaching another AI semi final. A fantastic achievement by any side. Mayo have alot of great genuine support but I have noticed the booing when watching games on TV and having being in attendance when Mayo played Westmeath. I was sitting in the Hogan stand generally among mainly Westmeath and Cork supporters (I was there mainly for both Donegal v Cork games). Some of the Westmeath support were in a jovial mood, they obviously had had a few drinks but nothing extreme and were all in good nature. Some of the Westmeath support had no drink taken either I might add. Anyways when Mayo went 2 or 3 points up after finding some impetus in the match I could not help but notice a couple of the Mayo supporters especially one in particular standing and staring down at the Westmeath support. He was shouting and giving the fist at every opportunity in the match his face contorted with aggression all towards the Westmeath lads. Everyone in the area I was in noticed it and some of the Westmeath lads were telling him to rightly sit down and cop on. I was sitting there thinking what a muppet and he is the type of supporter that put other supporters off that side. I mean this was Westmeath a division 4 side after all not an AI final or semi final or even a Connaught final. I left at HT to beat the traffic shaking my head at ur mans antics. On another note has anyone seen the eulogy doing the rounds on social media for a teary eyed Aidan O'Shea made by some Mayo supporter group? Cringe worthy to say the least especially given Mayo's recent history and fact it was a quarter final. As much as people would like Mayo to succeed some of this stuff does ye no favors among the neutrals.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 08/08/2016 12:16:23    1897952