Kilkenny v Waterford

Replying To perfect10:  "would you agree to playing tipp in thurles?"
We have played them in Thurles in u21, league finals, I could see no probllem

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 09/08/2016 21:08:53    1899101

Replying To therealtmo:  "Waterford will be delighted with Thurles, they will bring a massive crowd to Thurles as Junior said its a home game for them.
I think they might have blown their chance I know Tipp did in the 14 final I said it coming out the gate you don't beat KK in replays but then again is this a different KK to a few years ago, they don't have that serious bench anymore to Spring a player from nowhere"
Well they have won a lot of replays but Wexford, Waterford and Dublin have beaten them in replays also.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 09/08/2016 22:23:35    1899164

Replying To johnwhite12:  "We have played them in Thurles in u21, league finals, I could see no probllem"
Ha ha ha ha i can hear brian cody now "right lads...we played them here in the u21...this will be a piece of pish" ha ha ha dont be daft

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 09/08/2016 22:34:02    1899171

Anyone who thinks that Thurles is even a slight advantage to Waterford haven't a breeze.KK are just as much at home there as anyone bar Tipp.
In the drawn game Waterford score 24 points which is a good haul anyday.But 19 of them came from just 2 players, POM and Gleeson.Thats 80% of their score.
I'm pretty sure Cody & Co won't allow that to happen again.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/08/2016 16:55:44    1899514

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/bbarry/waterford-advantage-relay/

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 10/08/2016 18:03:20    1899555

Replying To johnwhite12:  "If it is like a home game to them why did they not wont to play the munster final in Thurles this year , I think a lot of people have a short memory of Kilkenny playing in Thurles."
Are ye a bit wound up down Nore side John ? Big bad Waterford poke the bear with the stick ? Don't worry John think ye will be ok come Saturday evening.
Tipp and Waterford have no agreement on home and away leaving Waterford well within their rights for a neutral venue that's why they didn't want to play the Munster final in Thurles.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 10/08/2016 18:18:31    1899562

We played Tipp in Nowlan Park in the 2013 qualifiers but that was as a result of either luck of the draw or a home and away agreement between the two county boards. I'm not sure how it works exactly but I've seen All-Ireland under-21 finals between the two counties in Semple, Nowlan and Croke Park and I've seen senior League Finals between the two counties in Semple and Croker (though not Nowlan, I think).

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 10/08/2016 19:40:15    1899599

Kilkenny record in Thurles in big games under cody

League wins in 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2012, 2014
Championship wins in 2004, 2006, 2012, 2013

Thurles wont faze kilkenny, I still think they will win if they get more out of TJ, Fennellys along with Richie Hogan. Dont be suprised if Cody dosent throw in an unknown saturday night, in both replays in 2014 against galway and tipp, kieran joyce and conor fogarty gave man of the match performances along with Walter Walsh in 2012 final.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 10/08/2016 20:11:21    1899615

Fair play for telling me about the home away fixture they hardly have a pitch for a league match not alone a championship game .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 10/08/2016 23:31:40    1899698

I thought up to last Sunday that Waterford would have to score two or three goals to win but as it turned out they nearly won without scoring any, and even though the Cats grabbed a late goal the Deise still managed to draw without scoring any goals.
Who will win the replay and how will the game go. There are a lot of stats about replay's and how they usually differ from the draw game.
Dublin played a draw against Kilkenny in the 2013 Leinster championship after dominating for most of the game.
The replay as far as i can remember followed much the same pattern as the first game but this time Dublin took more of their chances and won the game. If Waterford can stop the Cats scoring those vital goals Saturday evening they may be well on their way to the All Ireland Final.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 11/08/2016 17:56:13    1900025

Replying To johnwhite12:  "Fair play for telling me about the home away fixture they hardly have a pitch for a league match not alone a championship game ."
Walsh park always has a nice friendly atmosphere to it, unlike other ground that's you can smell the bitterness a mile away.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 11/08/2016 20:34:58    1900066

Replying To therealtmo:  "Walsh park always has a nice friendly atmosphere to it, unlike other ground that's you can smell the bitterness a mile away."
Which other ground?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 11/08/2016 22:18:05    1900122

think kilkenny will win - thurles will be help for waterford - but you could put kilkenny playing on the moon and they would still win - im going hope its great match i want waterford to win - thurles is great venue - you can park beside the ground and have puck about with kids after game -inspiring place to be - unlike croke park where we dont be downladen with mental and emotional baggage

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 12/08/2016 10:26:48    1900195

ive tipped Kilkenny for this from the moment the final whistle went in the drawn game when a handful of Waterford lads fell to he ground like they'd been beaten. Might as well cut yourself and jump into shark invested water

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 12/08/2016 13:30:11    1900288

Im going for the total optimist scenario for the week end and predict Waterford and Galway to reach the all Ireland final.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 12/08/2016 19:50:47    1900404

Replying To clonjon:  "Im going for the total optimist scenario for the week end and predict Waterford and Galway to reach the all Ireland final."
Yeah I 've a twenty euro on that one to come off over 200 euro back I hope fingers crossed

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 12/08/2016 20:28:35    1900418

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Yeah I 've a twenty euro on that one to come off over 200 euro back I hope fingers crossed"
Worth a punt lads. I wouldn't be surprised it this happens. It's hard to explain but I sense Waterford will win. The other one is a flip of a coin.

Course KK will probably make a complete mug out of me and win well.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/08/2016 04:35:50    1900494

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Worth a punt lads. I wouldn't be surprised it this happens. It's hard to explain but I sense Waterford will win. The other one is a flip of a coin.

Course KK will probably make a complete mug out of me and win well."
Yeah I don't know who will win either to be honest. Hard to know if the same Waterford team will show up or the same Kilkenny team.Think the odds are in Kilkenny's favour simply based on them being Kilkenny.The other game I'm unsure of too.Bit more hype around Tipp this year after that drumming of Waterford but I really think it was a case of Waterford collapsing around that system of theirs on the day.Nothing between Galway and Tipp really.I can't call either ,can't wait for this one tonight anyway,hopefully it is as good as the last game.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 13/08/2016 10:15:10    1900523

My prediction for the first game was way off, I expected Kilkenny to win with a bit to spare. So to the replay. I'm going for Kilkenny again. I don't think Waterford can play any better then they did in the first game, and for them to repeat the same levels of intensity and accuracy will be a great achievement. Whereas Kilkenny have room for improvement. Interestingly, Cody has chosen the same starting 15 from the first match, to start the replay. This gives a lot of KK players a chance to make up for their poor first game performances. I think goals will be crucial in deciding this game and I can't see Waterford scoring more then one, which will not be enough to beat an improved KK side. The score: Kilkenny 2-25 Waterford 1-23

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 13/08/2016 10:54:42    1900534

Unlike the majority of people here i predicted Waterford would give KK a real scare last weekend and im going for waterford again. 3/1 absolutely crazy odds and too good to refuse. Tipp will beat Galway tomorrow. Could win with a bit to spare too.

Rayo (Galway) - Posts: 90 - 13/08/2016 17:26:00    1900606