NEUTRALS:Who do you WANT to win - Tyrone v Mayo

jafallon - you hoping yer own Hurlers loose this year?
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7589 - 04/08/2016 16:24:09
Why would he care if they loose?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 04/08/2016 17:15:41    1895756

100% Tyrone

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/08/2016 17:20:31    1895760

Because surely he would care if they lost? If they lose its bad but who cares if they loose

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 04/08/2016 17:38:38    1895769

Replying To Seansy48:  "I'm just really glad Tyrone fans aren't mentioned here.

I do have a peach of a Donegal fan story though, I compete in athletics and in 2011 on the way back from Santry...fairly sure it would have after the Kildare quarter final for Donegal, traffic jam outside Enniskillen and we end up behind a Donegal fan bus. They come off the bus for the toilet and they're rowdy as they should be I suppose. 1 lad notices the red and white rope...thing around our main mirror and himself and another lad come over and start roaring at us through the window before they started going to the toilet on the back wheels and heading back to the bus laughing to themselves.

No harm done and for the most part we were just laughing at the utterly ridiculous event but it was a bit much, luckily there were no kids in the car although those lads didn't look like it would have stopped them"
I had a run in with Tyrone fans during our 08 clash...we shook hands after though. I felt we should have had a free in and advantage played when Mortimer was fouled...Cormac Teilly was ref that day too. I celebrated in Dublin the night Tyrone won the all Ireland a few weeks later with a load of Tyrone fans...mighty craic.

Moral of story...whatever is said during the game always shake hands with the opposition after and wish them well.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/08/2016 18:15:58    1895791

Mayo , I think regardless of what county you from, when you are out of championship, there is a thing that the nearly men might eventually get over the line. Also the whinging has subsided about 96 , so that barrier is removed for mayo, .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/08/2016 18:39:33    1895805

I like to see both counties do well but I'd prefer see Tyrone win this one

NiamhM (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 04/08/2016 19:11:15    1895823

Replying To yew_tree:  "I had a run in with Tyrone fans during our 08 clash...we shook hands after though. I felt we should have had a free in and advantage played when Mortimer was fouled...Cormac Teilly was ref that day too. I celebrated in Dublin the night Tyrone won the all Ireland a few weeks later with a load of Tyrone fans...mighty craic.

Moral of story...whatever is said during the game always shake hands with the opposition after and wish them well."
Bloody right!

I remember a lot about that game and it was in the melting pot for the majority, those are the matches you're likely to have a tussle afterwards. One bad ref decision, one bad tackle, one bad shot selection and the game ends and all you're left with is a tank full of adrenaline and the drive home.

You sound like a true fan of Mayo to me for what it's worth. It's more than a game at times

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 04/08/2016 19:14:50    1895825

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "
Replying To jacktheDub:  "Plenty of reports from Donegal and Ros fans of them being unsavory winners also

Can vouch for that. Remember 2012 very well the behaviour of some of there fans in the cusack stand that day was disgraceful,

Hope Tyrone win"
Yeah we can all identify with occasions like that. I saw a group of adult supporters from Dublin go on to a Mayo bus at the end of the 2013 final, to laugh and jeer at Mayo supporters who were mostly twelve and thirteen year olds. Very mature. Every county has them so be careful climbing down off the high horse."
I agree, every county has supporters like that. That day was particulary bad. A garda had to be called down to get one particular supporter to calm down.

Always found Kerry fans decent in defeat remember they were very gracious after '13 and 15.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 04/08/2016 19:18:11    1895828

Replying To cluichethar:  "Don't think Mayo or Tyrone give a crap who the neutrals want to win As a Mayo man I've always taken the "Id love to see Mayo win one" as a bit of a slap at us from the neutrals We've never wanted pity expected pity or asked for pity All we want is a level playing field"
Is it pity? Is it even patronising? I'd rather see Mayo win it than Kerry or Dublin, not because I've anything against either because I haven't. Just like to see a "new" winner. That said I want Tyrone to win this one.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 04/08/2016 19:37:19    1895839

Most definitely Mayo....would prefer to meet them later in the Championship (if we get there) than Tyrone...Althugh, I have never forgiven Mayo for Hillgate in '06.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2016 19:44:39    1895844

Would like to see Tyrone triumph but I have absolutely nothing against Mayo and if they win good luck. I think Tyrone have the firepower and mental strength and I don't think Mayo are the team they were. However Tyrone are just as likely to lose a game like this too. 50/50 match.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 04/08/2016 20:42:33    1895871

If you aren't from either Tyrone or Mayo why would "WANT" lol either of them to win ! As Fergie once said, "why do you ask these stupid questions" go on anyway.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2016 20:42:40    1895872

I hope tyrone..something different ..fed up watching dublin beat mayo now..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/08/2016 20:48:19    1895874

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Is it pity? Is it even patronising? I'd rather see Mayo win it than Kerry or Dublin, not because I've anything against either because I haven't. Just like to see a "new" winner. That said I want Tyrone to win this one."
Talk about sitting on the fence..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 04/08/2016 20:50:40    1895875

Replying To GGdub:  "I hope tyrone..something different ..fed up watching dublin beat mayo now.."
Aw bless!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/08/2016 22:01:33    1895916

Replying To GGdub:  "Talk about sitting on the fence.."
Sitting on the fence? The question was who do you want to win out of Mayo v Tyrone, despite the preamble, I answered the question directly!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 04/08/2016 22:27:54    1895931

Replying To avonali:  "Most definitely Mayo....would prefer to meet them later in the Championship (if we get there) than Tyrone...Althugh, I have never forgiven Mayo for Hillgate in '06."
Just as a matter of interest what was your problem with 'Hillgate".
In my opinion we lost the plot that day falling into the most obvious of traps.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 05/08/2016 00:46:45    1895983

Replying To Condorman:  "Just as a matter of interest what was your problem with 'Hillgate".
In my opinion we lost the plot that day falling into the most obvious of traps."
I never got the whole "Hillgate" thing. Why should Dublin always warm up in front of Hill 16?

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 05/08/2016 11:52:06    1896140

Personally I like both teams. Would love to see Mayo win an All-Ireland. So Mayo for me tomorrow. Whether they have left that elusive All-Ireland behind them is another matter.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 05/08/2016 12:39:07    1896177

Always thought Dublin missed a trick in 06.If they kept the head and warmed up in front of the canal end, where they had plenty of support, they would have been better off.
It was great crack at the time though!
Mayo to beat Tyrone this weekend.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 05/08/2016 13:49:59    1896237