NEUTRALS:Who do you WANT to win - Tyrone v Mayo

Replying To jafallon:  "10 years ago and I think the answer would be Mayo to a man. We've had a few instances since involving the team directly such as ousting management, the time wasting keep ball when winning games, or individual actions of the likes of Boyle or o'Shea. Worse again is the embarrassing Mayo4SAM crap from the fans or the utterly cringeworthy "Mayo Day". Plenty of reports from Donegal and Ros fans of them being unsavory winners also. Moral is that whereas once everyone had pity for Mayo and they we're a lot of peoples "second team", much of that good feeling has fallen by the wayside in recent years."
Fair comment Ja.... One of the worst days I have had as a football fan was the AI quarter final against Mayo was in 2013, where they absolutely hockeyed us... It wasn't the defeat that left a sour taste in my mouth it was the abuse that I and other Donegal fans took that day, was so bad I had to leave with 20mins to go as my then 8 year old son was scared senseless and balling his eyes out, but the abuse continued as we left..... I will never forget that day and for that reason I will never want a mayo team to win again... I know there is a few bad eggs in every counties supporters so apologises to the good Mayo fans which I'm sure there is plenty off....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 14:29:24    1895544

Replying To jafallon:  "10 years ago and I think the answer would be Mayo to a man. We've had a few instances since involving the team directly such as ousting management, the time wasting keep ball when winning games, or individual actions of the likes of Boyle or o'Shea. Worse again is the embarrassing Mayo4SAM crap from the fans or the utterly cringeworthy "Mayo Day". Plenty of reports from Donegal and Ros fans of them being unsavory winners also. Moral is that whereas once everyone had pity for Mayo and they we're a lot of peoples "second team", much of that good feeling has fallen by the wayside in recent years."
Good man Ja, glad to see ya back on the forum, you must have licked your wounds by now after the hammering ye got.
Plenty of Galway people on here trolling after Mayos defeat.
We are still in it while ye are in the armchairs for the rest of the champo.
Hon Mayo

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 04/08/2016 14:30:45    1895546

Tyrone

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 04/08/2016 14:33:55    1895548

Don't think Mayo or Tyrone give a crap who the neutrals want to win As a Mayo man I've always taken the "Id love to see Mayo win one" as a bit of a slap at us from the neutrals We've never wanted pity expected pity or asked for pity All we want is a level playing field

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 04/08/2016 14:35:03    1895550

That's good,
Being everyone's second team is damning place to be by definition

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 04/08/2016 14:46:19    1895560

Mayo as they haven't won an AI since 1951 and because Kerry aren't in the running this year

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 04/08/2016 14:56:22    1895578

Mayo . Their need is greater.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/08/2016 15:03:39    1895588

Tyrone!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 04/08/2016 15:15:22    1895599

Replying To ben1977:  "Fair comment Ja.... One of the worst days I have had as a football fan was the AI quarter final against Mayo was in 2013, where they absolutely hockeyed us... It wasn't the defeat that left a sour taste in my mouth it was the abuse that I and other Donegal fans took that day, was so bad I had to leave with 20mins to go as my then 8 year old son was scared senseless and balling his eyes out, but the abuse continued as we left..... I will never forget that day and for that reason I will never want a mayo team to win again... I know there is a few bad eggs in every counties supporters so apologises to the good Mayo fans which I'm sure there is plenty off...."
I'm sorry to hear that, especially as I've always had a lot of time for the Donegal support, found them very gracious after the recent championship games we've played against them (seems to be a lot of mixed marriage etc. between those two counties too!).

But honestly, I don't care if other supporters like us or not, seems like there's plenty just waiting for Mayo to slip up every summer anyway.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/08/2016 15:27:14    1895611

I see the issue of the management heave is still being used as a stick to beat teams with and coming from a Galway person no less.

Personally, I've never understood the contempt people seem to have for teams who try to effect a change in management. Inter-county players dedicate a ridiculous amount of their personal time and effort to the GAA these days. I know people who have sacrificed work and travel opportunities for the GAA, who regularly travel miles across the country for training sessions in the freezing cold and pissing rain, and have had relationships suffer because of their commitment to the GAA. Why shouldn't they speak up if they don't believe in the management set-up? They're well within their rights to do so given their dedication and the fact that it's an amateur sport. If the GAA was their employer, it would an entirely different matter. But they're not, so it isn't. In any case, it seems very few people, especially people who aren't even from Mayo, are privy to what went on within the Mayo camp under the last management. The team likely knew they would be attacked by certain sections of the GAA community and they still had the courage in their convictions to do what they did. I don't know anyone who would expose themselves to that kind of public criticism from people who don't know them and know even less about what went on behind closed doors unless they were very certain that something needed to change. Some onlookers might not like how it was handled, but none of those people had to train under the management, talk tactics with them or interact with them on a regular basis. The days of amateur players being seen and not heard are long gone, and good riddance.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 04/08/2016 15:36:37    1895622

Plenty of reports from Donegal and Ros fans of them being unsavory winners also

Can vouch for that. Remember 2012 very well the behaviour of some of there fans in the cusack stand that day was disgraceful,

Hope Tyrone win

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 04/08/2016 15:40:31    1895632

I like both counties but Mayo for me this time.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/08/2016 15:44:50    1895645

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "I see the issue of the management heave is still being used as a stick to beat teams with and coming from a Galway person no less.

Personally, I've never understood the contempt people seem to have for teams who try to effect a change in management. Inter-county players dedicate a ridiculous amount of their personal time and effort to the GAA these days. I know people who have sacrificed work and travel opportunities for the GAA, who regularly travel miles across the country for training sessions in the freezing cold and pissing rain, and have had relationships suffer because of their commitment to the GAA. Why shouldn't they speak up if they don't believe in the management set-up? They're well within their rights to do so given their dedication and the fact that it's an amateur sport. If the GAA was their employer, it would an entirely different matter. But they're not, so it isn't. In any case, it seems very few people, especially people who aren't even from Mayo, are privy to what went on within the Mayo camp under the last management. The team likely knew they would be attacked by certain sections of the GAA community and they still had the courage in their convictions to do what they did. I don't know anyone who would expose themselves to that kind of public criticism from people who don't know them and know even less about what went on behind closed doors unless they were very certain that something needed to change. Some onlookers might not like how it was handled, but none of those people had to train under the management, talk tactics with them or interact with them on a regular basis. The days of amateur players being seen and not heard are long gone, and good riddance."
I agree 100%. How much would Aidan O'Shea, Cillian/Diarmuid O'Connor earn if they went over to America for the summer playing football? I'm not criticising guys who choose to head off but you have to admire players who commit to training 10 or 11 months of the year for their county. No doubt the knives will be out for the players if Mayo lose at the weekend but I respect their decision fully.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 04/08/2016 15:49:54    1895654

Yeah everyone has pity on you when you're in the gutter but try and pick yourself up.....As for anyone from Galway having Mayo as their second team, you are joking, right!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/08/2016 15:51:09    1895658

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Plenty of reports from Donegal and Ros fans of them being unsavory winners also

Can vouch for that. Remember 2012 very well the behaviour of some of there fans in the cusack stand that day was disgraceful,

Hope Tyrone win"
Yeah we can all identify with occasions like that. I saw a group of adult supporters from Dublin go on to a Mayo bus at the end of the 2013 final, to laugh and jeer at Mayo supporters who were mostly twelve and thirteen year olds. Very mature. Every county has them so be careful climbing down off the high horse.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/08/2016 16:02:25    1895672

I could give a few stories about "fans" from other counties including Galway, Meath, Cork, Dublin but if you allow it to cloud your judgement on a whole county forever it's very sad indeed. Every county has clowns and some people get carried away in the moment. As for Mayo fan's jeering Donegal supporters in 2013...well that's sad if happened cause we know exactly what getting hammered is like.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/08/2016 16:16:47    1895693

jafallon - you hoping yer own Hurlers loose this year?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/08/2016 16:24:09    1895699

Replying To Gleebo:  "I'm sorry to hear that, especially as I've always had a lot of time for the Donegal support, found them very gracious after the recent championship games we've played against them (seems to be a lot of mixed marriage etc. between those two counties too!).

But honestly, I don't care if other supporters like us or not, seems like there's plenty just waiting for Mayo to slip up every summer anyway."
Welcome to our world so!! Its lonely at the top :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2016 16:49:38    1895733

Replying To yew_tree:  "I could give a few stories about "fans" from other counties including Galway, Meath, Cork, Dublin but if you allow it to cloud your judgement on a whole county forever it's very sad indeed. Every county has clowns and some people get carried away in the moment. As for Mayo fan's jeering Donegal supporters in 2013...well that's sad if happened cause we know exactly what getting hammered is like."
I'm just really glad Tyrone fans aren't mentioned here.

I do have a peach of a Donegal fan story though, I compete in athletics and in 2011 on the way back from Santry...fairly sure it would have after the Kildare quarter final for Donegal, traffic jam outside Enniskillen and we end up behind a Donegal fan bus. They come off the bus for the toilet and they're rowdy as they should be I suppose. 1 lad notices the red and white rope...thing around our main mirror and himself and another lad come over and start roaring at us through the window before they started going to the toilet on the back wheels and heading back to the bus laughing to themselves.

No harm done and for the most part we were just laughing at the utterly ridiculous event but it was a bit much, luckily there were no kids in the car although those lads didn't look like it would have stopped them

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 04/08/2016 16:58:19    1895741

Replying To waynoI:  "Again, simple question

Not who you think will win, who you WANT to win.."
Mayo.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 04/08/2016 17:10:08    1895751