Mayo and Donegal under most pressure?

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The only team under any pressure in 2016 is Dublin. The media has put them up on a pedestal as unbeatable and the best team of all time etc etc. The reality is that they are missing a couple of key defenders and their midfield is average at best. They are a good team in a desperately poor era, that the worst Kerry team in 20 years is joint second favourite with Tyrone (who were soundly beaten by Kerry in 2015) tells you all you need to know about the standard of the opposition they face.

I doubt very much that the public of Mayo or Donegal are expecting their teams to win Sam. Either of them could do it, but they've no right to expect to do so. Mayo should have at least 1 AI in the bag at this stage, and Donegal should possibly have a second (although I don't believe they deserved to beat Kerry in 2014) but that means nothing in the context of this years championship. Good luck to both of them.

It really is an open championship this year. Dublin are deserved favourites but I sense a vulnerability about them that wasn't there last year. They've a lot of players that aren't necessarily old but have a lot of miles on the clock and I think we've already seen the best of them as a team. Will the hunger still be there having won so much in recent years? The best thing going for them this year is the frankly pathetic chasing pack IMO."
This Dublin team is well used to pressure, 3 sams in 5 years, 4 league titles in a row, all the pressure is on the chasing pack.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/08/2016 10:40:59    1894532

Replying To superbluedub:  "This Dublin team is well used to pressure, 3 sams in 5 years, 4 league titles in a row, all the pressure is on the chasing pack."
I didn't say they weren't used to pressure. What I said was they are missing key players and I think we have already seen the best of this Dublin team (I may well be proven wrong). O'Carrolll could be a huge loss when they come up against proper forwards from now on and they will miss McCaffreys runs forward when they counter. McCarthy is fit for this weekend apparently, but how fit will he be really?

They have yet to make consecutive finals btw, something Kerry do at their ease. They have already proven twice that they are vulnerable the year after they win the championship. Look, they are the strongest team left, no doubt about it. The best team doesn't always win though. They are vulnerable if they come up against a team that really goes for them IMO. Who that will be, I don't know.

As for the pressure being on the chasing pack, I can tell you there is very little pressure on Fitzmaurice or Kerry to deliver Sam this year. We wouldn't expect to get over a semi with Dublin, although I think if we set up properly we have a chance. People are realistic about the quality of players available to us at this moment in time but we are absolutely sweeping the boards at underage level and are hopeful that in time this will translate to the senior team, probably in 3-4 years time. Any AI title before then is very much a bonus IMO.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/08/2016 11:06:01    1894561

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I didn't say they weren't used to pressure. What I said was they are missing key players and I think we have already seen the best of this Dublin team (I may well be proven wrong). O'Carrolll could be a huge loss when they come up against proper forwards from now on and they will miss McCaffreys runs forward when they counter. McCarthy is fit for this weekend apparently, but how fit will he be really?

They have yet to make consecutive finals btw, something Kerry do at their ease. They have already proven twice that they are vulnerable the year after they win the championship. Look, they are the strongest team left, no doubt about it. The best team doesn't always win though. They are vulnerable if they come up against a team that really goes for them IMO. Who that will be, I don't know.

As for the pressure being on the chasing pack, I can tell you there is very little pressure on Fitzmaurice or Kerry to deliver Sam this year. We wouldn't expect to get over a semi with Dublin, although I think if we set up properly we have a chance. People are realistic about the quality of players available to us at this moment in time but we are absolutely sweeping the boards at underage level and are hopeful that in time this will translate to the senior team, probably in 3-4 years time. Any AI title before then is very much a bonus IMO."
no pressure on this Dublin team,most have 3 all Irelands and 4 league medals in there back pocket
they owe the Dublin supporters nothing,if they get beat they can go out with there heads held high
every dog has its day!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/08/2016 11:40:04    1894600

Replying To superbluedub:  "no pressure on this Dublin team,most have 3 all Irelands and 4 league medals in there back pocket
they owe the Dublin supporters nothing,if they get beat they can go out with there heads held high
every dog has its day!!"
Fair enough, I would imagine they would want to secure back to back titles, especially given that they are clear favourites but if it doesn't happen then they can still be very proud of their success. It would appear that no team is under pressure then.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/08/2016 11:58:35    1894618

I don't see the 4 Regions under any pressure either. They've been making hay while the sun is shining. Donegal and Mayo have failed. The 4 Regions have profited despite being no better than they were in '05 to '09.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 12:01:27    1894625

Mayo are the team under pressure.They have had a squad good enough to win an All Ireland since 2012 but they haven't delivered.Time aint on their side.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 03/08/2016 12:16:22    1894646

Lads come on ye know well we are expected to win an All Ireland every year.

If Sam isn't being paraded down Ashe St next September the year will be shelved as a failure whether we beat Dublin or don't beat Dublin or whatever else might happen.

Kerry are under as much pressure going into a semi this year as they always are, but if its Dublin they are playing they will rightly go in as underdogs.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/08/2016 12:17:20    1894647

Replying To legendzxix:  "I don't see the 4 Regions under any pressure either. They've been making hay while the sun is shining. Donegal and Mayo have failed. The 4 Regions have profited despite being no better than they were in '05 to '09."
If Dublin is 4 regions maybe we should call Kerry an island since the Healy Rae's want Island status for ye down there...so what ye think fellow HS poster, lets refer to Kerry as the Island from now on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/08/2016 12:22:03    1894653

Replying To legendzxix:  "I don't see the 4 Regions under any pressure either. They've been making hay while the sun is shining. Donegal and Mayo have failed. The 4 Regions have profited despite being no better than they were in '05 to '09."
Any chance of you backing up that claim legend?

Just a quick list of the Dublin players from 05-09 that would make the current side (11-16).

I've asked you a number of times now on different threads but you keep running away from the question. Probably because it is very dumb to think that Mark Vaughan was much better than Bernard Brogan.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 03/08/2016 12:29:29    1894664

Replying To TheHermit:  "Lads come on ye know well we are expected to win an All Ireland every year.

If Sam isn't being paraded down Ashe St next September the year will be shelved as a failure whether we beat Dublin or don't beat Dublin or whatever else might happen.

Kerry are under as much pressure going into a semi this year as they always are, but if its Dublin they are playing they will rightly go in as underdogs."
Noone's doubting that. It was no different from '87 to '96.

Mayo and Donegal were being paraded as the main challengers. They deserve to be under the spotlight for their failure.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 12:32:23    1894668

Replying To MesAmis:  "Any chance of you backing up that claim legend?

Just a quick list of the Dublin players from 05-09 that would make the current side (11-16).

I've asked you a number of times now on different threads but you keep running away from the question. Probably because it is very dumb to think that Mark Vaughan was much better than Bernard Brogan."
He never said that did he? Scarlehhhhhh! :0

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2016 12:34:11    1894671

Replying To legendzxix:  "Noone's doubting that. It was no different from '87 to '96.

Mayo and Donegal were being paraded as the main challengers. They deserve to be under the spotlight for their failure."
Of the last five All Irelands, three were contested by Kerry, three by Dublin and two each by Donegal and Mayo. Kerry had three chances and won one, Mayo two and won none and Donegal two and won one. So you are blaming Mayo and Donegal for not beating Dublin in order to excuse Kerrys inability to beat them. At least both Mayo and Donegal, who have a poor history in winning All Irelands managed to beat the Dubs in the last five years. Kerry on the other hand.........

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/08/2016 13:38:57    1894738

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Of the last five All Irelands, three were contested by Kerry, three by Dublin and two each by Donegal and Mayo. Kerry had three chances and won one, Mayo two and won none and Donegal two and won one. So you are blaming Mayo and Donegal for not beating Dublin in order to excuse Kerrys inability to beat them. At least both Mayo and Donegal, who have a poor history in winning All Irelands managed to beat the Dubs in the last five years. Kerry on the other hand........."
You don't seem to be grasping a few years on the quiet side. We know the current crowd are not as good as the great team of '04 to '09. We neglected our youth.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 14:32:38    1894799

You don't seem to be grasping a few years on the quiet side. We know the current crowd are not as good as the great team of '04 to '09. We neglected our youth.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:4837 - 03/08/2016 14:32:38

I disagree, Kerry as a County have clearly focused on their youth and developing the next generation of players. Deploying former All Ireland winning manager Jack O'Connor to oversee the Minors 3 years ago hardly looked like a County board neglecting your youth.

Kerry's problem has been failure to consistently transition players from U21 grade to Senior level in last year or two, they may have brought them players in to the larger senior panel, but few if any are currently considered key starting talent in the current Kerry starting lineup. If you look around the other contenders, they all have a higher ratio of recent U21 players in their starting lineups.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/08/2016 15:12:56    1894842

Replying To legendzxix:  "You don't seem to be grasping a few years on the quiet side. We know the current crowd are not as good as the great team of '04 to '09. We neglected our youth."
You need to stop saying that as though it's a positive thing

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 03/08/2016 15:32:02    1894857

Replying To GaryMc82:  "You don't seem to be grasping a few years on the quiet side. We know the current crowd are not as good as the great team of '04 to '09. We neglected our youth.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:4837 - 03/08/2016 14:32:38

I disagree, Kerry as a County have clearly focused on their youth and developing the next generation of players. Deploying former All Ireland winning manager Jack O'Connor to oversee the Minors 3 years ago hardly looked like a County board neglecting your youth.

Kerry's problem has been failure to consistently transition players from U21 grade to Senior level in last year or two, they may have brought them players in to the larger senior panel, but few if any are currently considered key starting talent in the current Kerry starting lineup. If you look around the other contenders, they all have a higher ratio of recent U21 players in their starting lineups."
Obviously we're addressing the problem. '14 was the first minor All-Ireland since '94. Neglecting our youth through out the 00's is a hindrance. Our responsibility.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 15:43:42    1894866

Replying To Seansy48:  "You need to stop saying that as though it's a positive thing"
Your own county seems to be coming out of a few years on the quiet side.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 15:47:57    1894869

Replying To legendzxix:  "Your own county seems to be coming out of a few years on the quiet side."
We certainly are!

I'm not talking about the quiet side aspect, i'm talking about neglecting the youth.

In fairness you might see it as a down period for Kerry but I'd take your 2014 AI no bother at all....it must be good to be the kings!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 03/08/2016 16:06:32    1894886

Replying To Seansy48:  "We certainly are!

I'm not talking about the quiet side aspect, i'm talking about neglecting the youth.

In fairness you might see it as a down period for Kerry but I'd take your 2014 AI no bother at all....it must be good to be the kings!"
It's terrible how the youth were neglected in the 00's. We're paying the price for it. We expect our team to deliver regardless. They know the currency they are judged on.

I would see it as an internal pressure. Nationally the focus should be more on Donegal and Mayo at this moment. It's no secret that our great team has not been adequately replaced.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 03/08/2016 16:21:48    1894904

This thread is either a complete wind up attempt or completely out of touch with reality.

How can you describe 2 counties who are both experiencing their greatest period of sustained success as having put up a disappointing challenge.

It's loopy.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 03/08/2016 16:37:59    1894920