Do Kerry foul more than everyone else?

Replying To aidan64:  "Why are kerry people rising to the bait? Stupid thread."
Yerra Aidan this Ice fella was on here after Wexford played us in the hurling last March talking about how cynical the Kerry hurlers where.

Like a lot of the bregrudgers on here each has their stock arguments and they row them out when they deem it appropriate.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/08/2016 22:59:50    1893815

Replying To rossy15:  "It's common sense to slow the game down and take momentum away from a team
What do u expect them to do bow down to ye
Surely ye get enough of that in the leinster championship !"
What a heap of tripe...there's a big difference between 'bowing down' to a team and just plain bad sportsmanship...Ye bowed down long enough to Mayo in Connacht so have a look at your own province before casting aspersions on others..

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2016 23:17:50    1893825

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To icehonesty:  "Iv watched a good few Dublin games this year and Dublin seem to get a lot of easy frees at the start of first half and second halfs giving ye the chance to build a lead and totally deflate ye'r opposition .

So I want to know do Dublin get too many easy frees? And how many more easy frees do Dublin get compared to all the rest of us.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:3928 - 31/07/2016 23:28:31 1893283

That's a fair point and something I agree with you on. Which makes me wonder - why are Kerry deliberately and systematically fouling as a tactic, when they know well it won't be tolerated when they play Dublin? They'll be whistled off the pitch because you're right, Dublin do get handy frees. The foul, foul, foul out the field tactics they are employing are grand against most teams, but it won't be tolerated by a referee in a game against Dublin, no way."
I don't think it's deliberate or systematic tbh , I think it's very lazy/clumsy tackling and it is something they have to work on in training.

And you're right if we don't tidy up our tackling then dean rock will punish us."
Believe me it's deliberate!! Rarely do they foul in the scoring zone. Kerry defends deep into their opponents half and almost always foul on the other side of the half way line. And I'm not criticizing them for that. It's pretty clever play. And therefore Dean Rock won't trouble ye much. However, don't be surprised if it's Donegal yous meet. I have a feeling Donegal are still gonna have a big say in this years championship.

straw (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 02/08/2016 04:09:08    1893850

The free count in the first half of 2014 all reland final was donegal awrded 9 frees kerry 1 so nothing changed or will change.
As a poster said the mayo games against kerry 2014 were daylight robbery.

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 02/08/2016 09:04:09    1893867

Yerra Aidan this Ice fella was on here after Wexford played us in the hurling last March talking about how cynical the Kerry hurlers where.

Like a lot of the bregrudgers on here each has their stock arguments and they row them out when they deem it appropriate.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1602 - 01/08/2016 22:59:50

Making stuff up now. I didn't even see that game between Wexford & Kerry in hurling, let alone comment on it. I'm sure I've commented on the Kerry footballers being cynical before, because they are. Very cynical. But this season, and maybe it's because they've had the handiest run to the semi's in history that it's so visible, but they have been fouling deliberately in every game, in the same locations on the pitch, as a tactic.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 02/08/2016 20:01:48    1894265

With all this talk and guff on here about Kerry getting an easy time of it from referee's etc you'd wonder why the same lads never bother to mention that Dublin's last 3 titles were officiated by two seperate referees not only from Leinster but also ones living and working in Dublin.

Now isn't that strange?!

if they were referee's living in Tralee officiating Kerry in a final the media and ye lads on here would be in meltdown still.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2016 20:43:03    1894293

TheHermit I'm waiting for an admission you're wrong about me commenting on hurling saying Kerry fouled. You can throw in an apology for making stuff up too. Cheers.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 02/08/2016 21:36:23    1894328

Replying To icehonesty:  "TheHermit I'm waiting for an admission you're wrong about me commenting on hurling saying Kerry fouled. You can throw in an apology for making stuff up too. Cheers."
GOOD LUCK WITH THAT.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 02/08/2016 22:01:10    1894343

Replying To TheHermit:  "With all this talk and guff on here about Kerry getting an easy time of it from referee's etc you'd wonder why the same lads never bother to mention that Dublin's last 3 titles were officiated by two seperate referees not only from Leinster but also ones living and working in Dublin.

Now isn't that strange?!

if they were referee's living in Tralee officiating Kerry in a final the media and ye lads on here would be in meltdown still."
Sure they'd never pick refs from Tralee. Imagine the expenses the GAA would have to pay for the 10,000 mile journey to Croker.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 02/08/2016 22:03:13    1894347

Do Kerry foul more than everyone else?
No , ask Donaghy's buddy, Referee Cormac Reilly

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 02/08/2016 22:16:57    1894361

Replying To icehonesty:  "TheHermit I'm waiting for an admission you're wrong about me commenting on hurling saying Kerry fouled. You can throw in an apology for making stuff up too. Cheers."
Sincere apologies Ice, apparently it was another Wexford poster calling himself Jimmyfloydd that had gone on and on about Kerry cynicism, our hurlers etc last march after the League game. There aren't too many Wexford posters talking about Kerry on here so I mistook him for you.

Still don't agree with any of your analysis mind - its all supposition, as other have pointed out.

And my point about the anti-Kerry bregrudgers on here and their stock arguments is perfectly valid and there for all to see, on numerous idiotic threads started before, during and after every game we play.

But sure as Caligula was fond of saying 'let them hate us as long as they fear us'

There is an awful stench of fear on here when Kerry play.

And so there should be....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2016 23:24:36    1894413

Replying To TheHermit:  "With all this talk and guff on here about Kerry getting an easy time of it from referee's etc you'd wonder why the same lads never bother to mention that Dublin's last 3 titles were officiated by two seperate referees not only from Leinster but also ones living and working in Dublin.

Now isn't that strange?!

if they were referee's living in Tralee officiating Kerry in a final the media and ye lads on here would be in meltdown still."
Good one!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/08/2016 01:57:09    1894443

the foul count was Kerry conceded 29 frees to Clare 20

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 03/08/2016 16:04:46    1894885

TheHermit fair play. I just don't want people thinking I'm a WUM when I'm not. Just commenting on what I see. I'm not anti-Kerry by any means and hope Kerry beat Dublin mind you if they play them.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 03/08/2016 16:06:54    1894887

Replying To TheHermit:  "Sincere apologies Ice, apparently it was another Wexford poster calling himself Jimmyfloydd that had gone on and on about Kerry cynicism, our hurlers etc last march after the League game. There aren't too many Wexford posters talking about Kerry on here so I mistook him for you.

Still don't agree with any of your analysis mind - its all supposition, as other have pointed out.

And my point about the anti-Kerry bregrudgers on here and their stock arguments is perfectly valid and there for all to see, on numerous idiotic threads started before, during and after every game we play.

But sure as Caligula was fond of saying 'let them hate us as long as they fear us'

There is an awful stench of fear on here when Kerry play.

And so there should be...."
You are right about one thing anyway, there is an awful stench when Kerry play,is that part of the tactics too or does it just come natural?

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 03/08/2016 16:16:43    1894898

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "You are right about one thing anyway, there is an awful stench when Kerry play,is that part of the tactics too or does it just come natural?"
Yerra I'm sure the fancy dans in Tralee and Killarney have their aftershaves and what not, but aye there's probably a whiff of the bog and sillage pit about the North Kerry lads. And sure what harm, don't we bring our players up in North Kerry to be tough and hard, good solid country stock!

At least we don't be sending out lads to inspect our opponents fingers ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/08/2016 10:00:26    1895194

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I'm sure the fancy dans in Tralee and Killarney have their aftershaves and what not, but aye there's probably a whiff of the bog and sillage pit about the North Kerry lads. And sure what harm, don't we bring our players up in North Kerry to be tough and hard, good solid country stock!

At least we don't be sending out lads to inspect our opponents fingers ;)"
Ya hermit we'll have the finger breakers v the eye gougers Saturday evening at 6 ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2016 14:28:46    1895543

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya hermit we'll have the finger breakers v the eye gougers Saturday evening at 6 ;-)"
Jaysus to think of all the trouble we have had down through the years with that kinda stuff

More protection needed from the ref the next day whichever one of them we meet -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/08/2016 15:36:59    1895623

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Jaysus to think of all the trouble we have had down through the years with that kinda stuff

More protection needed from the ref the next day whichever one of them we meet -)"
getting no protection from referee. Donaghy and Gooch been targetted and nothing done

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 04/08/2016 16:05:47    1895677

Now isn't that strange?!

Is Cavan in Leinster?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 04/08/2016 17:22:08    1895764