Do Kerry foul more than everyone else?

Iv watched a good few Dublin games this year and Dublin seem to get a lot of easy frees at the start of first half and second halfs giving ye the chance to build a lead and totally deflate ye'r opposition .

So I want to know do Dublin get too many easy frees? And how many more easy frees do Dublin get compared to all the rest of us.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:3928 - 31/07/2016 23:28:31 1893283

That's a fair point and something I agree with you on. Which makes me wonder - why are Kerry deliberately and systematically fouling as a tactic, when they know well it won't be tolerated when they play Dublin? They'll be whistled off the pitch because you're right, Dublin do get handy frees. The foul, foul, foul out the field tactics they are employing are grand against most teams, but it won't be tolerated by a referee in a game against Dublin, no way.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 01/08/2016 09:56:37    1893355

Replying To icehonesty:  "Iv watched a good few Dublin games this year and Dublin seem to get a lot of easy frees at the start of first half and second halfs giving ye the chance to build a lead and totally deflate ye'r opposition .

So I want to know do Dublin get too many easy frees? And how many more easy frees do Dublin get compared to all the rest of us.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:3928 - 31/07/2016 23:28:31 1893283

That's a fair point and something I agree with you on. Which makes me wonder - why are Kerry deliberately and systematically fouling as a tactic, when they know well it won't be tolerated when they play Dublin? They'll be whistled off the pitch because you're right, Dublin do get handy frees. The foul, foul, foul out the field tactics they are employing are grand against most teams, but it won't be tolerated by a referee in a game against Dublin, no way."
I don't think it's deliberate or systematic tbh , I think it's very lazy/clumsy tackling and it is something they have to work on in training.

And you're right if we don't tidy up our tackling then dean rock will punish us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 13:16:21    1893474

That's nonsense. It is definitely systematic and deliberate. Kerry footballers all year have been doing the exact same stuff. If it was accidental, the management wouldn't allow it to continue. And further, there would be an even distribution of frees given away throughout the field, rather than frees being concentrated from 45 yards out, so they cannot be punished by scorable frees. It's deliberate alright.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 01/08/2016 17:08:26    1893623

Replying To icehonesty:  "That's nonsense. It is definitely systematic and deliberate. Kerry footballers all year have been doing the exact same stuff. If it was accidental, the management wouldn't allow it to continue. And further, there would be an even distribution of frees given away throughout the field, rather than frees being concentrated from 45 yards out, so they cannot be punished by scorable frees. It's deliberate alright."
Are we the only team doing this " so called systematic fouling" ? and have you evidence or stats to back up you're claim.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 18:20:12    1893673

I have been saying this for about 5 years now. The referees think Kerry are the saints of the GAA so they don't get punished for their persistent fouling. It wrecks yer head to watch it and takes the joy out of watching the GAA football. Just a pity that referees aren't aware of it.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 01/08/2016 18:56:46    1893693

If you have the reputation for coming in on time you can be late for the rest of your life.
That old saying comes to mind when I think of Kerry.The have the reputation of being pure footballers but they foul more than most and are as cynical as any northern side.
They get away with it too.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/08/2016 19:10:47    1893696

They use it as a spoiling tactic and are very adept at it. It is similar in ethos to a blanket defence. Donegal under mcguinness used it a lot too. It was probably the difference between kerry and ourselves in 2014.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/08/2016 19:23:13    1893703

Just on posts about Dublin getting handy frees.....

I think people really need to take a look at that. If people watched a game and tried be impartial. I've been on the Hill and lads surrounding crying for frees and shouting it wasnt a free and Im like "it was a push in the back, he didnt need to do it, it was a free". But the other side of that is the amount Dublins forwards are fouled, and the linesmen, white coats and ref just dont see it is frightening. The same "frees" arent given to both teams.

I rarely get into the handy frees argument. Im just used to Dublin not getting frees that are given down the other end. When we were brutal it happened, and now our team are in a better place it happens.

The game between Mayo and Kerry in Limerick just stunk of robbery. The carry on of the ref was diabolical. Im no Mayo fan, but Mayo were robbed. Every tackle was a Kerry free and Kerry were allowed bang up Mayo boys without punishment.

I think the inconsistency of refs is bad for fans. I'm all for video reffing to help the lads reffing on the field. It would help make things a bit more clear and biased reffing would be under the spotlight. I think Kerry get away with a lot of fouling, but the only people who can answer why that is is the officials.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/08/2016 19:50:52    1893722

Replying To icehonesty:  "Just watching Kerry beat Clare here and really, Kerry must foul more than everyone else. Jersey pulling, hands on the shoulder, pushes in the back. They must have given away dozens of fouls today and that doesn't include the ones the referee turned a blind eye to. I watched Kerry play against Tipperary and again they were unreal in the way they fouled TIpperary any time they looked to threaten. They base their defence on fouling and then getting numbers back. I don't think there is any other team in the country who is as systematic at these fouls which they know while persistent, can't be punished by black cards. Very poor to watch and very cynical."
NO they don't. People just like to claim they do because it's easier to explain away their consistent high achievements. They are no dirtier or cleaner than other teams. One things I have noticed though is that in recent years Kerry teams seem pre-occupied with acting the 'hard men' when a flash point occurs. Throughout the league skirmishes and scraps were a consistent feature of Kerry games. I think somewhere deep down there is a belief that Kerry teams of the past may have been class footballers but they had an aversion to 'manning up'. Seems to me they are pre-occupied now with acting the hard man.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2016 20:38:16    1893743

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are we the only team doing this " so called systematic fouling" ? and have you evidence or stats to back up you're claim."
National league is the only set of stats, where all teams played same number of games, weather conditions, etc. 2015/16 league 1, disciplinary stats were not too complimentary towards Kerry! Donegal game in particular is very damning..

Expertinexile (UK) - Posts: 6 - 01/08/2016 20:45:17    1893746

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are we the only team doing this " so called systematic fouling" ? and have you evidence or stats to back up you're claim."
The hogan stand match tracker alluded to Kerry's persistent fouling in their reporting of the Kerry v Clare game yesterday. They thought it was quite blatant and was going unpunished for the most part.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/08/2016 20:56:55    1893751

As a big football fan and I always defened Kerry but can't anymore after witnessing the way Kerry are playing hope they go no where best of luck to Dublin and tipp the two teams trying to win football games by playing football

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 01/08/2016 21:02:25    1893755

During an interview about Armagh and Tyrone I think it was Billy Morgan who said that the most cynical team he had ever encountered was from the south west and not the north.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/08/2016 21:27:23    1893764

Its not the just the systematic fouling it the likes of Donaghy, Sheehan, Cooper constantly in the ref's ear trying to influence him. Its standing in front of a free taker to stop the quick free, kicking the ball away when a free has been awarded against them, throwing the ball into the crowd when a side line goes against them, slapping the ball out of a players hand to slow the game down and they have even re-sorted to kicking the ball of the tee to stop cluxton taken a quick kick-out.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/08/2016 21:34:52    1893771

Judging by the match tracker it's quite clear kerry are constantly fouling. The phrase "masters of the sneaky foul" was even used in the match tracker.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 01/08/2016 21:37:24    1893773

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Its not the just the systematic fouling it the likes of Donaghy, Sheehan, Cooper constantly in the ref's ear trying to influence him. Its standing in front of a free taker to stop the quick free, kicking the ball away when a free has been awarded against them, throwing the ball into the crowd when a side line goes against them, slapping the ball out of a players hand to slow the game down and they have even re-sorted to kicking the ball of the tee to stop cluxton taken a quick kick-out."
Jackthedub
Kicking the ball off the tee , exactly Jack and done it against P Durcan in the All Ire final two years ago
In 50 odd years watching football they were the first and indeed last I saw do it. Not good sportsmanship.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 01/08/2016 21:46:35    1893778

Why are kerry people rising to the bait? Stupid thread.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 01/08/2016 21:57:11    1893786

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Jackthedub
Kicking the ball off the tee , exactly Jack and done it against P Durcan in the All Ire final two years ago
In 50 odd years watching football they were the first and indeed last I saw do it. Not good sportsmanship."
It is shocking sportsman ship, and bj Keane should have been sent off and about 4extra minutes played that time.
But keepers have been only allowed kick ball off tee since about 10-12 years so 50 is a bit harsh. I've seen loads of other teams do it as well especially v Dublin, but cluxton only has a 2-3 step run up which allows him to control situation.and it's no bother to him:)

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 01/08/2016 22:17:45    1893796

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Its not the just the systematic fouling it the likes of Donaghy, Sheehan, Cooper constantly in the ref's ear trying to influence him. Its standing in front of a free taker to stop the quick free, kicking the ball away when a free has been awarded against them, throwing the ball into the crowd when a side line goes against them, slapping the ball out of a players hand to slow the game down and they have even re-sorted to kicking the ball of the tee to stop cluxton taken a quick kick-out."
It's common sense to slow the game down and take momentum away from a team
What do u expect them to do bow down to ye
Surely ye get enough of that in the leinster championship !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 01/08/2016 22:32:10    1893805

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are you asking us or telling us? And have you stats to back up that claim?
It I want you to get Dublin Mayo Tyrone Donegal and our stats so we can compare them all."
Kerry committed 25 fouls against Clare. Compare this to 18 committed by mayo and wait for it 10 yes TEN committed by Donegal against cork. Donegal picked up two cards in their game while Kerry picked up 5 when you take into account the fact that the Kerry game was over by half time while Donegal were still fighting for their lives at the end this is a truly remarkable statistic. Of course many of us have known for years that Kerry are a team based on cynicism

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/08/2016 22:46:54    1893808