Mayo v Tyrone

Congratulations to Mayo and good luck for the rest of the year. The game could have gone either way but that said Tyrone did defeat Mayo by one point in 2008 and look what happened then. Its been a very good year for Tyrone with promotion and an Ulster Championship but we certainly need a good free taker and sharper forwards to make further progress but all in all plenty to build on.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 07/08/2016 12:14:16    1897264

A tough game to watch for both sets of supporters, my fingers are ate down to my knuckles, mistake by Tyrone having their goalie taking frees and this applies to every county, you need at least 2 if not 3 outfield players taking frees but as usual with all matches it's the referee that was centre of attention, most supporters want to watch an enjoyable game and a victory just adds to the enjoyment but when refs makes wrong calls or slows down a game the fans get agitated and then anger is vented by shouting, booing and swearing, this happened again yesterday in the 1st half when most of us had no intention of roaring at refs but bad calls 5 soft frees meant we couldn't bite our tongue and we had to let it rip, we have trial by media on players and some get reprimanded by the ccc now is beyond time refs were treated the same, there is at least 5 refs that shouldn't ref a training match never mind an important match and the ccc or GAA should give them a rap on the knuckles for their performances

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/08/2016 12:46:31    1897284

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Valid questions indeed .
It sometimes seems like it's sacrosanct to question MH but while a fine manager he is it was obvious that Sean Cavanagh was not at it yesterday at all and he was left on too long.Equally your goalie is not reliable in the free taking department in big games and missed 3 the last of which was decisive."
MH has a problem with taking off big names when they're going bad, he just keeps them in unlike Dublin who yanked brogan off without a second thought as the team comes first not individuals

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 07/08/2016 13:54:41    1897326

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Apart from the two one sided finals against Kerry, Mayo have lost by three points, one point, three points, four points and one point in the other five finals. All of those games were in the balance until the end. So why would another Mayo final not be a spectacle. To suggest Mayo are incapable of putting in a performance in a final is nonsense. They have a twenty percent chance of beating Dublin same as anyone else. Now just congratulate Mayo on their gritty performance today and move on. If the Tyrone lads can do it why can't you?"
listen, hats off to Mayo for winning yesterday. believe it or not i have cheered them on in most finals they have appeared but not one of those finals did i ever get the feeling that they would have it in them to get the job done. too many players have gone missing in action at crucial times and seem to freeze on the big day. that's why id like to see how a fresh young Tipp side get on as mayo have had more than enough opportunity in the past.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/08/2016 15:42:45    1897392

Replying To riverboys:  "A tough game to watch for both sets of supporters, my fingers are ate down to my knuckles, mistake by Tyrone having their goalie taking frees and this applies to every county, you need at least 2 if not 3 outfield players taking frees but as usual with all matches it's the referee that was centre of attention, most supporters want to watch an enjoyable game and a victory just adds to the enjoyment but when refs makes wrong calls or slows down a game the fans get agitated and then anger is vented by shouting, booing and swearing, this happened again yesterday in the 1st half when most of us had no intention of roaring at refs but bad calls 5 soft frees meant we couldn't bite our tongue and we had to let it rip, we have trial by media on players and some get reprimanded by the ccc now is beyond time refs were treated the same, there is at least 5 refs that shouldn't ref a training match never mind an important match and the ccc or GAA should give them a rap on the knuckles for their performances"
We don't have the free takers, that's why Morgan is hitting them. Christ if we had one good one never mind 2 or 3!
Not all tight calls went against Mayo, few soft ones going either way, it wasn't Limerick!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 07/08/2016 15:51:09    1897397

A great result by the boys. This game was a real stare down and Tyrone blinked first. Years of big game experience came to the fore yesterday for the Mayo team and the control and calm we showed in the finish was exemplry. We have a top side and we are well capable of winning this All Ireland. I expect Mayo to approach the Tipperary match now with the same professional attitude they showed yesterday and make our date with destiny. On all known form I would expect a Mayo versus Dublin final at this stage. Bring it on!!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 07/08/2016 16:01:55    1897403

Replying To alano12:  "what about the cynical fouling by both teams or did you ignore that?"
I just wanted to highlight the sledging that was going on.

Do people have to include all issues in games if they want to make a particular point about something

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 07/08/2016 16:11:42    1897415

Replying To JamesH:  "A great result by the boys. This game was a real stare down and Tyrone blinked first. Years of big game experience came to the fore yesterday for the Mayo team and the control and calm we showed in the finish was exemplry. We have a top side and we are well capable of winning this All Ireland. I expect Mayo to approach the Tipperary match now with the same professional attitude they showed yesterday and make our date with destiny. On all known form I would expect a Mayo versus Dublin final at this stage. Bring it on!!!"
You do everything you can to win, mayo deserved their win as experience told in the end. No complaints about anything and lots to look forward too for Tyrone, will hope now Mayo go all the way and I for one will cheer them on.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 07/08/2016 16:39:25    1897437

It was hard to enjoy that game yesterday. Nothing between the two teams and a real tactical battle of wills, and in every respect the sort of game played very much to the Ulster template than Mayo's normal approach. Tyrone played their system and the Mayo lads had to curb their normal instincts to not overcommit lest they leave themselves open to Tyrone's counters. They almost overdid it for that final 9 minutes, and I honestly thought they were blowing it, only Tyrone's frailties saved the situation. That said Mayo showed a lot of maturity to grind out that result. Tyrone will have learned a lot about themselves and if the few gaps can be plugged by an extra player or two, and Sean Cavanagh's shoes can be filled in a year or two, then there's no better coming contender. Our lads are still not where they need to be to land Sam. Tipp will present a real challenge the next day out with no pressure on them whatsoever and Mayo with everything to lose. Let's hope we don't do a Galway on it, and bring a knife to a gunfight. Good luck Tyrone... it's never comfortable or enjoyable playing ye, but it's always intriguing and a great match to win.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 07/08/2016 18:26:38    1897520

Replying To JamesH:  "A great result by the boys. This game was a real stare down and Tyrone blinked first. Years of big game experience came to the fore yesterday for the Mayo team and the control and calm we showed in the finish was exemplry. We have a top side and we are well capable of winning this All Ireland. I expect Mayo to approach the Tipperary match now with the same professional attitude they showed yesterday and make our date with destiny. On all known form I would expect a Mayo versus Dublin final at this stage. Bring it on!!!"
The control and calm ye showed in the finish .....???
Now don't get me wrong I was glad ye won and hope ye go on to win the All Ireland but please there was nothing calm or controlled about mayo in that last 10 minutes yesterday if anything ye got the bit of luck ye didn't in any other years ....

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 07/08/2016 19:33:57    1897558

Marty Morissey admitted on radio his heart was in his mouth when AOS played a risky ball across field at the end. Incredible lack of impartiality for a professional commentator of GAA games many of which involve Tyrone.

Very disappointed with Tyrone.Never got their usual fluid counter attack going.Their shooting was woeful with an awful goal attempt straight at the keeper from McCurry which could have won it. seemed to lack a physical edge.Fair play to Mayo really showed they are made of tough stuff. AOS Keegan C OConnor Harrison very good..

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 07/08/2016 19:36:35    1897562

Replying To Ulsterman:  "For the second year in a row Tyrone kicked away and lost a game that they had in their grasp and it's time for some self analysis in the county. From the start they looked leggy and off the pace. Are Tyrone over-drilled, over-trained and over-tactic(ed) before they take to the pitch? While they have some very talented footballers at times these fellas look more obsessed with blanket defence, stopping the opposition scoring and negativity INSTEAD of letting their own very good footballers like Peter Harte and Mattie Donnolly take the game to their opponents. So wrapped up in their own navel gazing, not losing focus have they become that Tyrone have actually forgotten how to close out and win these big games. It's not often that Tyrone teams lose the mental, physical and fitness battle but they did against an experienced Mayo side who showed they are the team that has been at the business end the past 5/6 years. I don't agree often with Spillane and Brolly BUT I AM starting to come around to the theory that this tactical nonsense and negativity on the pitch IS stifling young talent. Down and Derry are examples of that; traditionally they were the aristocrats and football teams of Ulster and their decline says it all. I wish Mayo all the best but they are up against a very good, fearless Tipperary side whose positive tactics and play are the future. Ulster sides COULD learn from Tipperary."
I have to agree that Down are suffering from this new tactical side of the game. But it's more to do with the fact that we just aren't producing top quality underage teams, for a number of reasons.

I think another important point to mention would be that we live in an era of over-analysis; society in general. We enjoy sensationalising and exaggerating. Likewise, every aspect of our game is scrutinised by the media. In some cases I believe many pundits and journalists do so to justify their jobs. This over-analysis has fed its way into the GAA in the last number of years, particularly by GAA coaches at club and county level. But I believe that the defensive style of play we have become accustomed to over the last number of years is a phase and will wear off. In fact, I believe it already is in the process of wearing off.

The point I'm trying to make is that we shouldn't buy into the hysteria that the GAA is doomed, or dead, as a result of defensive systems. As some pundits have stated in the past. Gaelic football is certainly not perfect, but it never was. More aspects of Gaelic football are in a healthy position, than unhealthy.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 07/08/2016 20:10:39    1897586

Replying To Byanthon:  "Congratulations to Mayo and good luck for the rest of the year. The game could have gone either way but that said Tyrone did defeat Mayo by one point in 2008 and look what happened then. Its been a very good year for Tyrone with promotion and an Ulster Championship but we certainly need a good free taker and sharper forwards to make further progress but all in all plenty to build on."
I'd bite your arm off for an Ulster title. The reason Tyrone folk are so hurt is because they believe this Tyrone team is capable of much more. What that tells you, if anything, is that Tyrone football is in a very healthy place. Division 1 football will bring this Tyrone team on.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 07/08/2016 20:13:50    1897587

Replying To Ulsterman:  "For the second year in a row Tyrone kicked away and lost a game that they had in their grasp and it's time for some self analysis in the county. From the start they looked leggy and off the pace. Are Tyrone over-drilled, over-trained and over-tactic(ed) before they take to the pitch? While they have some very talented footballers at times these fellas look more obsessed with blanket defence, stopping the opposition scoring and negativity INSTEAD of letting their own very good footballers like Peter Harte and Mattie Donnolly take the game to their opponents. So wrapped up in their own navel gazing, not losing focus have they become that Tyrone have actually forgotten how to close out and win these big games. It's not often that Tyrone teams lose the mental, physical and fitness battle but they did against an experienced Mayo side who showed they are the team that has been at the business end the past 5/6 years. I don't agree often with Spillane and Brolly BUT I AM starting to come around to the theory that this tactical nonsense and negativity on the pitch IS stifling young talent. Down and Derry are examples of that; traditionally they were the aristocrats and football teams of Ulster and their decline says it all. I wish Mayo all the best but they are up against a very good, fearless Tipperary side whose positive tactics and play are the future. Ulster sides COULD learn from Tipperary."
Tipp and their positive tactics will be mauled by mayo the next day
Hate to say it but it's the reality to be one of the top teams u need a fairly ruthless cynical streak
Nice football has got Tipp so far this year but if they want to take it to the next level their going to have to play a different brand of ball it's nice to watch but ultimately they'll win nothing playing. That style of game against the kerrys dublins mayo tyrones donegal of this world and I'd be fairly sure that will be confirmed n 2 weeks time

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 07/08/2016 20:21:05    1897589

Tyrone, you are in transition.Mayo still have nucleus of a good team, which is starving for success on the third September Sunday.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 07/08/2016 20:33:53    1897599

Mayo management played this very cleverly. They recognised that Tyrone don't have a proper full-forward and decided to play without a traditional full-back. Instead, having Lee Keegan stuck to Sean Cavanagh (Keegan roasted him) and Alan Dillon on the 40 was very sharp stuff. They knew plenty about this Tyrone team and what they were likely to do. I think they played Tyrone at their own game really.

The keep ball stuff at the end was risky and could have backfired, but I got the sense that Mayo knew the Tyrone forwards were hesitant and would have been correct in thinking so as Tyrone failed to take any of their chances at the end. I thought Tyrone showed a surprising lack of confidence going forward at times. Peter Harte being the only one to really go for it. Many Tyrone players opting for the pass rather than getting the shot off themselves.

Tyrone's lack of a reliable free-taker is not good enough at this stage of the championship either when every score counts. I'm surprised that Mickey Harte hasn't done anything about this.

Diarmuid O'Connor didn't look in it at all (fitness issue?) and should have been subbed earlier. However, Lee Keegan, Cillian O'Connor and Aiden O'Shea really showed their worth.

I'm interested to see what the Mayo management do the next day tactics-wise. Tipp have a couple of big lads in the forward line that could cause some havoc.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 07/08/2016 20:54:30    1897614

Just watched the game back. Jesus Tyrone kicked very bad wides. If it was Mayo that kicked then we would be called bottlers. Was like a game of chess. Mayo management done well, got match up's correct and made substitutions when needed. I dont think Tyrone were excepting an ultra defensive double sweeper Mayo and a non start from Kevin Keane. Brendan Harrison was excellent as was keegan and O Se. Boyler again driving on. I wouldn't call it a vintage Mayo display but it was a case of getting the job done.

Tipperary will pose a different threat and will need to be respected. As for Tyrone, chin up lads. A young team who have had a successful year. Mayo's need was greater.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 07/08/2016 22:00:36    1897676

Who got man of the match in this game? I must have missed that bit.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/08/2016 22:58:33    1897727

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Mayo management played this very cleverly. They recognised that Tyrone don't have a proper full-forward and decided to play without a traditional full-back. Instead, having Lee Keegan stuck to Sean Cavanagh (Keegan roasted him) and Alan Dillon on the 40 was very sharp stuff. They knew plenty about this Tyrone team and what they were likely to do. I think they played Tyrone at their own game really.

The keep ball stuff at the end was risky and could have backfired, but I got the sense that Mayo knew the Tyrone forwards were hesitant and would have been correct in thinking so as Tyrone failed to take any of their chances at the end. I thought Tyrone showed a surprising lack of confidence going forward at times. Peter Harte being the only one to really go for it. Many Tyrone players opting for the pass rather than getting the shot off themselves.

Tyrone's lack of a reliable free-taker is not good enough at this stage of the championship either when every score counts. I'm surprised that Mickey Harte hasn't done anything about this.

Diarmuid O'Connor didn't look in it at all (fitness issue?) and should have been subbed earlier. However, Lee Keegan, Cillian O'Connor and Aiden O'Shea really showed their worth.

I'm interested to see what the Mayo management do the next day tactics-wise. Tipp have a couple of big lads in the forward line that could cause some havoc."
You mean Mickey should of bought a good free taker in the last transfer window???
We don't have one! They can't be created at 22 years of age! We may just hope Lee Brennan fufills his potential or Conor McKenna comes home from Australia, other than that we struggle on with what we have

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 08/08/2016 00:05:06    1897760

Replying To benched:  "You mean Mickey should of bought a good free taker in the last transfer window???
We don't have one! They can't be created at 22 years of age! We may just hope Lee Brennan fufills his potential or Conor McKenna comes home from Australia, other than that we struggle on with what we have"
So all these young players are coming through and not a single one of them can kick a free? This is an area that needs urgent attention from Harte. Having a reliable free-taker is invaluable in the game now.

And no kicking frees isn't some God-given talent. It's something that's worked on and perfected. Ask Dean Rock about how much he works on perfecting his technique and we've all heard the stories about Cillian O'Connor's obsessiveness when it comes to his placed ball accuracy.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 08/08/2016 01:04:59    1897772