Mayo v Tyrone

Replying To ta32:  "Of course you didn't think Tyrone were contenders !! Yet another meath poster . I would worry seriously the setup of meath GAA and stop having your county mens obsession on Tyrone . Would you say so"
No I wouldn't I think your reaction to a genuine opinion means that is you who should worry, I have no beef with Tyrone I am simply stating my opinion that I felt Mayo would win and that I did not believe Tyrone were contenders this year and the quality of Ulster was poor, produce any facts that may alter my opinion and I will gladly consider them. And seeing as you believe that the set up in Meath is a cause for concern then by extension maybe you should be concerned for Tyrone seeing as you just managed to squeak by us in our last two championship encounters one of which was in your own back yard!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/08/2016 23:20:49    1897021

Replying To MourneArmy:  "A great game of football. Thoroughly enjoyable throughout and some fantastic scores taken by both sides. I really do believe the standard of football is in a good place at present. I think Mayo deserved the win, but just about. Hard luck to Tyrone, they gave it their all but just fell short. I feel Tyrone are lacking a free-taker and a marquee forward along the lines of a McBrearty or a McManus. This will cost them at the business end of the championship, as it did today. Well done Mayo. Massive credit to a side who consistently perform at the business end of the championship, year in year out. Tyrone will learn a lot from today, and this season. They will be back again next season."
Good post mournearmy - have seen this Tyrone team develop over past few years and they have 2 missing ingredients - a guy who can score frees - their keeper is not the answer brittle when pressure is on - and a proper marquee forward - they just haven't replaced the ONeills, Mulligans, Canavans, Dohers etc etc - if they had a brogan Connolly or McManus they actually would be a fantastic team.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/08/2016 23:33:06    1897025

Replying To centerfield:  "could have would have should have. if that meant anything Mayo might have 4 all Ireland in the last 20 years.

At the moment the standard in Ulster is poor with no team in the last 4 and no team that are realistic AI contenders. how you can claim it's the strongest province is beyond me"
Very gracious I have to say - you do realise that you have Tipp and possibly Dubs/Kerry next and one has a good chance of beating you and the other will most certainly will and then it will be the annual sympathy for Mayo day - you guys never learn.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/08/2016 00:03:00    1897042

Their ignorance of the rules was glaring. They yelped and yahooed when the referee correctly applied the grabbing around the shoulders and hands on the back. However their antics when Sean Cavanagh was sent off were pretty disgusting. Jumping and celebrating like baboons in the jungle who have just killed a rival; very rustic, medieval, gombeen behaviour.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 07/08/2016 00:24:34    1897051

For the second year in a row Tyrone kicked away and lost a game that they had in their grasp and it's time for some self analysis in the county. From the start they looked leggy and off the pace. Are Tyrone over-drilled, over-trained and over-tactic(ed) before they take to the pitch? While they have some very talented footballers at times these fellas look more obsessed with blanket defence, stopping the opposition scoring and negativity INSTEAD of letting their own very good footballers like Peter Harte and Mattie Donnolly take the game to their opponents. So wrapped up in their own navel gazing, not losing focus have they become that Tyrone have actually forgotten how to close out and win these big games. It's not often that Tyrone teams lose the mental, physical and fitness battle but they did against an experienced Mayo side who showed they are the team that has been at the business end the past 5/6 years. I don't agree often with Spillane and Brolly BUT I AM starting to come around to the theory that this tactical nonsense and negativity on the pitch IS stifling young talent. Down and Derry are examples of that; traditionally they were the aristocrats and football teams of Ulster and their decline says it all. I wish Mayo all the best but they are up against a very good, fearless Tipperary side whose positive tactics and play are the future. Ulster sides COULD learn from Tipperary.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 07/08/2016 00:42:34    1897055

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Mayo/Tyrone ? It don't make a whit of difference. Both would whip Tipperary. But you're right. Its Dublin's All Ireland. And have no idea what Michael Cusack was doing when he invented this game in his head out of nothing. Pure farce."
What a peculiar post. Michael Cusack did exactly what the FA in England did for soccer, he looked at a sport that was being played and codified them into a single set of rules.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 07/08/2016 00:57:59    1897063

Hard luck to Tyrone. Very little between the teams. Those missed opportunities at the end were the difference. You got the big scores in the Ulster Final but they didn't come today.
Most honest Tyrone supporters would have started the season hoping for an Ulster title and anything else would be a bonus. You are back in Div 1 and are Ulster Champions. That's not a bad season for a young team.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/08/2016 01:10:04    1897073

iv always enjoyed ulster football but i do feel it has reached a point where it is too conservative and stifles the excellent footballers in the province...tyrone really blew it today with their game plan and some decisions...why not take the game to mayo?....tyrone really lacking a top class forward and free taker and also some composure that tyrone normally have in abundance..id love for mayo to win the all ireland but i think todays result is bad for the final as mayo never seem to perform to their best in a final and i have 0 faith in them when it counts

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/08/2016 01:13:30    1897076

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nothing git to do with been out of sorts or not at the races. Just not good enough. Less of the excuses, the better team won, and the scoreline flattered Tyrone, the gulf in class was evident, from the 3rd ranked county in Connaught."
3rd ranked county in connacht?...who did the rossies beat to get to final again and surely u must expect tipp to hammer mayo if they are only the third best in connacht like you claim?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/08/2016 01:17:46    1897079

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Good man.Bury your head in the sand that's the bets way to deal with the issue.

It can clearly be seen on the TV by the whole country so you don't need to be down on the sideline."
what about the cynical fouling by both teams or did you ignore that?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/08/2016 01:19:02    1897080

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Good man.Bury your head in the sand that's the bets way to deal with the issue.

It can clearly be seen on the TV by the whole country so you don't need to be down on the sideline."
my own county was the worst of the 4 for their antics today

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/08/2016 01:19:26    1897081

Serious kicking of Tyrone when they're down here.

Not All Ireland challengers and the like.

They lost by 1 point in a game where they had a load of chances against a side that over the last 5 seasons could hardly have been any closer to winning Sam without actually doing it.

Mayo are now 5/2 for the whole thing. Tyrone could very easily be in their spot.

Fine margins make the difference and the best teams come good more often than not but Tyrone were legitimate challengers this year. I expect they will be next year also.

They need to sort out their attack though. They are consistently not getting enough out of the chances they're creating.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 07/08/2016 01:32:58    1897085

Replying To bdbuddah:  "What a peculiar post. Michael Cusack did exactly what the FA in England did for soccer, he looked at a sport that was being played and codified them into a single set of rules."
Had a feeling there was more in Mayo and that if they played to their best, they would win. As it turns out, they didn't even need to play to their best to win, though this performance was better than anything we've seen from them so far this year. Tyrone, I was disappointed with. Their forwards weren't great, some poor wides and I'm very surprised that Mickey Harte hasn't cultivated any of these players into a reliable free-taker. If they had a Cillian O'Connor or Dean Rock type player to take frees, they may have drawn the match at the very least. There's still great potential here with this Tyrone team though.

On Mayo though, their management performed very well. They seemed to know the Tyrone set-up and key individuals inside out and got the key battles and match-ups correct. The fact that Tony McEntee is in the Mayo ranks now has to have something to do with how well they played this.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 07/08/2016 01:45:04    1897089

Replying To bdbuddah:  "What a peculiar post. Michael Cusack did exactly what the FA in England did for soccer, he looked at a sport that was being played and codified them into a single set of rules."
Thankfully Dublin have learned to play the game the way he envisioned.

daddyo (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 07/08/2016 05:31:04    1897120

I can't make my mind up if Mayo won because they were better or did they win due to Tyrone being so bad, I'm leaning towards the latter. Having seen Dublin play I don't think it really matters as that is where Sam is going. Regardless, Mayo had the physicality and commitment to beat Tyrone who failed to convert basic chances time and time again.

Questions for Micky - why was Sean cavanagh allowed to remain on the field with a yellow card and who was also playing badly? Why does Morgan allowed to take free kicks when he is not up to the job? Why was Matthew Donnelly allowed to stay on when he was clearly hobbling and offered zero to Tyrone in the last ten minutes?

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 07/08/2016 09:15:00    1897148

Fair play Mayo.....deserved it on the day. Poor game over all but that won't make a difference to the Mayo people.
Tyrone were very poor and I feel for the players and management after a massive effort this year. Extremely proud off each and every one of them.
Hope Mayo go one to win the all Ireland. Best of luck

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/08/2016 09:21:30    1897151

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I can't make my mind up if Mayo won because they were better or did they win due to Tyrone being so bad, I'm leaning towards the latter. Having seen Dublin play I don't think it really matters as that is where Sam is going. Regardless, Mayo had the physicality and commitment to beat Tyrone who failed to convert basic chances time and time again.

Questions for Micky - why was Sean cavanagh allowed to remain on the field with a yellow card and who was also playing badly? Why does Morgan allowed to take free kicks when he is not up to the job? Why was Matthew Donnelly allowed to stay on when he was clearly hobbling and offered zero to Tyrone in the last ten minutes?"
Good questions and why didn't he throw big McNulty either into FF or midfield and mix things up a little - think Mickey lost it on bench.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/08/2016 10:44:34    1897197

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I can't make my mind up if Mayo won because they were better or did they win due to Tyrone being so bad, I'm leaning towards the latter. Having seen Dublin play I don't think it really matters as that is where Sam is going. Regardless, Mayo had the physicality and commitment to beat Tyrone who failed to convert basic chances time and time again.

Questions for Micky - why was Sean cavanagh allowed to remain on the field with a yellow card and who was also playing badly? Why does Morgan allowed to take free kicks when he is not up to the job? Why was Matthew Donnelly allowed to stay on when he was clearly hobbling and offered zero to Tyrone in the last ten minutes?"
Valid questions indeed .
It sometimes seems like it's sacrosanct to question MH but while a fine manager he is it was obvious that Sean Cavanagh was not at it yesterday at all and he was left on too long.Equally your goalie is not reliable in the free taking department in big games and missed 3 the last of which was decisive.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/08/2016 10:52:17    1897204

A good year for Tyrone, getting promoted and winning Ulster.

But some problems keep reoccurring. As mentioned before this match Tyrone's lack of a free taking strategy and high scoring forward means we will likely fall short in big games in Croker.

Again yesterday 5 different free takers including 5 wides that other top teams would likely score. Even if we had scored 2 or 3 of those we would have won instead of lost. So that has to be addressed somehow. If we can't score them then work it in closer but there should be some strategy.

As someone else said here Cavanagh should perhaps have been taken off in the second half after had a yellow.

How Ronan O Neill gets picked ahead of Darren Mc Curry, I don't know.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 07/08/2016 11:53:23    1897248

cacsmckilly- I would agree with your comments and add that, in-experience in attack with poor shooting cost ye the game. The forward who missed the clear cut goal chance kicked for a point at the end to level the game when it was obvious that he should have held the ball and gave it to a better placed team mate. Mayo have had some poor luck over the years with bad Ref decisions and poor decisions by themselves so I wish them the best of luck going forward. Quite a few good forwards including SK have no idea of how to tackle without fouling.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/08/2016 12:08:53    1897258