Dublin v Donegal

7 days is not much time to prepare for Dublin, but I think Donegal can still pose a very serious threat to Dublin.

Donegal are Championship battle hardened by now, almost every Championship game they've played in have been really tight battles, and primarily against sides who have played in Division 1 football in 2016. Not only have they been playing really tough matches, those matches have been coming fast and furious, with the Dublin match being Donegal's 5th match in 6 weeks. The battle hardened element will help them, but 5 tough matches in 6 weeks might be draining.

Dublin are currently the benchmark team in Gaelic football, with superior firepower combined with solid defending, and I think every other team in Ireland who have real ambitions of winning the All Ireland have one eye on Dublin. Where most sides have maybe 2 or 3 players who are comfortable or relatively comfortable shooting, Dublin have 6 forwards plus maybe 2 or 3 others who are expert marksmen. It's having so many scoring options that make them the team they are, as defending against them is exceptionally tough.

Dublin would have been clear favourites entering this game regardless, but probably even clearer favourites given Donegal have been on the road so many week running now and have little time to prepare. But I think Donegal might pull off the win here, although I expect Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh to be marked out the Dublin game, with others like MacNiallais, Thompson, McGlynn, McLoone and O'Reilly perhaps been required to play more significant roles. Ciaran Kilkenny and Cian O'Sullivan are the key men for Dublin this year, I think their particular roles are a big part of what makes Dublin tick.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 31/07/2016 16:02:29    1892868

Replying To TheUsername:  "It was thourally deserved as well, although the guff about Dublins advantages is ridiculous, that said Paul Durcan enjoyed many of those advantages playing for Ballyboden this year pity he decided not to tog out for his county. I for one won't beleive the hyperbole surounding Dublin this week. This game will be very tight and a bruising affair.

Will be nothing easy in this real route to an Ireland."
Fair points and analysis there. But when Dublin play every championship game at home, bar one token game in Kilkenny to appease the rest of us, you can't say Dublin don't have advantages.

Durcan was a magnificent servant for Donegal. Wonderful keeper, one of the best ever alongside Cluxton. If he decides to move abroad and not line out, he's only doing what others like O'Carroll and McCaffrey have done. Good luck to them all.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 16:10:48    1892872

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Fair points and analysis there. But when Dublin play every championship game at home, bar one token game in Kilkenny to appease the rest of us, you can't say Dublin don't have advantages.

Durcan was a magnificent servant for Donegal. Wonderful keeper, one of the best ever alongside Cluxton. If he decides to move abroad and not line out, he's only doing what others like O'Carroll and McCaffrey have done. Good luck to them all."
I agree mate it is a massive advantage, it is defacto Dublins home ground with other counties visiting occasionally, the fact that Croke park is in Dublin though isn't going to change, it's our county after all. Dublin also has a big migrant population I wouldn't say there would be much in the difference of fans travelling from Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and fans from those counties who live and work in Dublin, so while it suits Dublin it also suits a lot of ex pats see their county in the championship.

Personally I would like Dublin to have a 40k-50k stadium in the City that we could blow the roof of, anyone who was down in Kilkenny would tell you what the atmosphere was like, simply amazing, in a lot of respects playing league and earlier Chapuonship games in Croke park takes awsome thing away in how well Dublin fans san support there team.

Realistically though the only ground that hold the Dublin support from a Leinster semi onwards safely is Croke park in terms of capacity, transport and infrastructure.

Personally I would like more away games, but would leave the GAA with a ghost town stadium like we saw over ge weekend.

As for the game I thought we would blow you away in 2014, I won't make that mistake again, Ive been saying all year I don't think Dublin will win an AI this year and this was the one game I feared. I'd hate to miss though, will be a great spectacle and how the championship should be, proper all ireland football by two top counties as opposed to the turkey shoot we are seeing in the Munster Championship two on the other side of the draw, that must be more gauling for yee, given the games you have already played, all respect to Donegal as a result, I think yee will be battled hardened despite the quick turn around.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/07/2016 16:49:08    1892886

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Durcan, a multi All-Star winning keeper you're on about? His kick outs are generally immense. His kick outs destroyed Dublin in 2014. Is that what you're on about?"
No. I'm on about his kickout in the final in 2014 that gifted Donaghy a goal and lost them the game. Or are you the only one allowed to find the outcome and aftermath of a game 'hilarious'?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 16:51:21    1892887

Replying To CroiGorm:  "No. I'm on about his kickout in the final in 2014 that gifted Donaghy a goal and lost them the game. Or are you the only one allowed to find the outcome and aftermath of a game 'hilarious'?"
I'm sure you found it amusing alright, I'm glad we gave you one laugh that summer along with the nightmares we left you with too after beating yous!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 17:20:15    1892907

Replying To TheUsername:  "I agree mate it is a massive advantage, it is defacto Dublins home ground with other counties visiting occasionally, the fact that Croke park is in Dublin though isn't going to change, it's our county after all. Dublin also has a big migrant population I wouldn't say there would be much in the difference of fans travelling from Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and fans from those counties who live and work in Dublin, so while it suits Dublin it also suits a lot of ex pats see their county in the championship.

Personally I would like Dublin to have a 40k-50k stadium in the City that we could blow the roof of, anyone who was down in Kilkenny would tell you what the atmosphere was like, simply amazing, in a lot of respects playing league and earlier Chapuonship games in Croke park takes awsome thing away in how well Dublin fans san support there team.

Realistically though the only ground that hold the Dublin support from a Leinster semi onwards safely is Croke park in terms of capacity, transport and infrastructure.

Personally I would like more away games, but would leave the GAA with a ghost town stadium like we saw over ge weekend.

As for the game I thought we would blow you away in 2014, I won't make that mistake again, Ive been saying all year I don't think Dublin will win an AI this year and this was the one game I feared. I'd hate to miss though, will be a great spectacle and how the championship should be, proper all ireland football by two top counties as opposed to the turkey shoot we are seeing in the Munster Championship two on the other side of the draw, that must be more gauling for yee, given the games you have already played, all respect to Donegal as a result, I think yee will be battled hardened despite the quick turn around."
Fair play to you being amicable but there's no county that face the media pressure that Dublin do when they're not winning!

So yeah there's a negative to croke park being home as well as a positive.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 31/07/2016 17:27:26    1892913

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I'm sure you found it amusing alright, I'm glad we gave you one laugh that summer along with the nightmares we left you with too after beating yous!"
Ah yeah. It affected us terribly. Terrible nightmares were had. We've never recovered from it. Oh wait.....

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 17:29:57    1892918

Replying To TheUsername:  "I agree mate it is a massive advantage, it is defacto Dublins home ground with other counties visiting occasionally, the fact that Croke park is in Dublin though isn't going to change, it's our county after all. Dublin also has a big migrant population I wouldn't say there would be much in the difference of fans travelling from Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and fans from those counties who live and work in Dublin, so while it suits Dublin it also suits a lot of ex pats see their county in the championship.

As for the game I thought we would blow you away in 2014, I won't make that mistake again, Ive been saying all year I don't think Dublin will win an AI this year and this was the one game I feared. I'd hate to miss though, will be a great spectacle and how the championship should be, proper all ireland football by two top counties as opposed to the turkey shoot we are seeing in the Munster Championship two on the other side of the draw, that must be more gauling for yee, given the games you have already played, all respect to Donegal as a result, I think yee will be battled hardened despite the quick turn around."
Great post.

I do think the one week break issue will catch up with us, and Dublin are an exceptional team who will take advantage of that. I also think beating us will give them real pleasure and revenge, so that motivation for an already seriously talented bunch of players doesn't help Donegal.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 17:35:01    1892925

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Ah yeah. It affected us terribly. Terrible nightmares were had. We've never recovered from it. Oh wait....."
Let's both pretend it didn't bother you. Good man!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 17:37:29    1892928

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I'm sure you found it amusing alright, I'm glad we gave you one laugh that summer along with the nightmares we left you with too after beating yous!"
Nightmares?! Clean sweep in 2015 followed by 2/3 major trophies on offer to us again this year so far........

Look I've a healthy respect for Donegal but if you win next Saturday I'll purchase you a Quarter Final Trophy to put beside your Semi Final Trophy from 2014. As I said, if we beat Kerry by 40 points in a semi final it would feel hollow if we didn't go on and win the ultimate prize. After provincial honors are handed out, there's only one winner. At the business end of things, that's where Mayo, Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin want to be.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 18:02:08    1892960

We could be in changing times now in terms of tactics. Ultra defensive will win you nothing as we learned in the ulster final, and as galway found out today. I would say we will see a lot more scores from play. I think that McBrearty will open up a lot more space for us, as he is hitting fine form now. Hopefully there will be a good and sensible ref too, that allows the game to flow a bit.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/07/2016 18:12:45    1892993

Replying To JayP:  "Nightmares?! Clean sweep in 2015 followed by 2/3 major trophies on offer to us again this year so far........

Look I've a healthy respect for Donegal but if you win next Saturday I'll purchase you a Quarter Final Trophy to put beside your Semi Final Trophy from 2014. As I said, if we beat Kerry by 40 points in a semi final it would feel hollow if we didn't go on and win the ultimate prize. After provincial honors are handed out, there's only one winner. At the business end of things, that's where Mayo, Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin want to be."
Yes of course it was terribly disappointing to lose the final and gift Kerry another soft All Ireland but it didn't take away from the day.

No trophy but Jim still left with three Ulster titles & an All Ireland.

However despite all those final wins most folks would say that 2014 semi final was the most enjoyable day out.

After 15 minutes we thought we were in a world of trouble. The Dubs around me were beating their chests and this one bleach blonde young buck kept turning around at the front of the Canal End and kept gesturing to us how easy it was.

Come half time, Dublin had thrown the kitchen sink but were still losing. Come full time, the aura of invincibility was over. I never did see that bleach blond fella slink out as after the 30th minute he seemed to stop his gloating.

As a said before Dublin under these circumstances should be winning by at least eight points. If they fail again though, many of the dubs on here will disappear for life

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 203 - 31/07/2016 18:24:12    1893011

according to Colm O'Rourke Kerry used todays game to prepare for the semi final with Dublin,
how did I manage to miss the Dublin v Donegal game? what was the score lads?

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 31/07/2016 18:25:12    1893012

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Let's both pretend it didn't bother you. Good man!"
It bothered us so much we went on to win the treble in 2015
Remind us again what donegal won in 2014??no point in crowing about winning semi finals,winning sam is all that matters.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/07/2016 18:27:20    1893015

This game will be a cracker. I think Dublin will win the all Ireland so I do feel we will win this game, However it would not surprise me either if we were to actually lose. Its set up perfectly.

I know Donegal don't have the Jim McGuinness factor. Other people will point to the fact that Donegal have played a lot of games recently. It will either go one of two ways. It will either help Donegal in that they have game practice against very difficult opposition (Monaghan x2, Tyrone and now Cork) under their belt, Or they will end up being out on their feet and Dublin over run them. Dublin on the other hand have not had a difficult championship game this year and there is a slight worry that we will come into this game undercooked. They have a defence that, although in league and championship so far has feared okay, they will now be under even more pressure given that this really is do or die against a top Donegal team.

Donegal are very capable of producing a 2014 type display. A display whereby they get a foothold by being hugely intensive in the tackle and winning possession and transition at break neck speed. They could also use the high ball in on top of the Dublin FB line to test them out. Though again, Dublin will come into this game remember the harsh lessons Donegal dished out on them when they set up so attack minded and completely forgot to defend, So will they make the same mistakes again ?

There are a lot of questions to be answered in this game next week, I firmly believe it will be an absolute belter and Dublin will have to up their performance rate about 30-40% if they are to come out of this with a win. I expect we will up it and just have a little too much for Donegal. If we are going to be beaten I think they will need at least 2 or 3 goals. That said, If Dublin get any kind of a lead here id fully expect them to see it out this time.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 18:28:25    1893017

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "according to Colm O'Rourke Kerry used todays game to prepare for the semi final with Dublin,
how did I manage to miss the Dublin v Donegal game? what was the score lads?"
Agree.

Unbelievable.

And he will be the very man only dying to kick us when we are down if indeed Donegal do win next week.

Noone will look past Donegal, Although I think we will win the game, its crazy to suggest we are already there or only have to show up

I'd like to think we, as a fanbase, and as a panel and management group, learned out lesson from the last time we met in the championship.

If we prepare for an ambush, Turn up and keep our heads sticking to how we play football and trust in ourselves, leave nothing in the changing room (clichéd talk, but true all the same), Then we will win.

Anything less and we will be in serious bother.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 18:34:50    1893022

Replying To shaggykev:  "Yes of course it was terribly disappointing to lose the final and gift Kerry another soft All Ireland but it didn't take away from the day.

No trophy but Jim still left with three Ulster titles & an All Ireland.

However despite all those final wins most folks would say that 2014 semi final was the most enjoyable day out.

After 15 minutes we thought we were in a world of trouble. The Dubs around me were beating their chests and this one bleach blonde young buck kept turning around at the front of the Canal End and kept gesturing to us how easy it was.

Come half time, Dublin had thrown the kitchen sink but were still losing. Come full time, the aura of invincibility was over. I never did see that bleach blond fella slink out as after the 30th minute he seemed to stop his gloating.

As a said before Dublin under these circumstances should be winning by at least eight points. If they fail again though, many of the dubs on here will disappear for life"
I actually think If Dublin are beaten you will get most Dubs on here wishing you well going forward.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 18:39:07    1893025

Replying To waynoI:  "This game will be a cracker. I think Dublin will win the all Ireland so I do feel we will win this game, However it would not surprise me either if we were to actually lose. Its set up perfectly.

I know Donegal don't have the Jim McGuinness factor. Other people will point to the fact that Donegal have played a lot of games recently. It will either go one of two ways. It will either help Donegal in that they have game practice against very difficult opposition (Monaghan x2, Tyrone and now Cork) under their belt, Or they will end up being out on their feet and Dublin over run them. Dublin on the other hand have not had a difficult championship game this year and there is a slight worry that we will come into this game undercooked. They have a defence that, although in league and championship so far has feared okay, they will now be under even more pressure given that this really is do or die against a top Donegal team.

Donegal are very capable of producing a 2014 type display. A display whereby they get a foothold by being hugely intensive in the tackle and winning possession and transition at break neck speed. They could also use the high ball in on top of the Dublin FB line to test them out. Though again, Dublin will come into this game remember the harsh lessons Donegal dished out on them when they set up so attack minded and completely forgot to defend, So will they make the same mistakes again ?

There are a lot of questions to be answered in this game next week, I firmly believe it will be an absolute belter and Dublin will have to up their performance rate about 30-40% if they are to come out of this with a win. I expect we will up it and just have a little too much for Donegal. If we are going to be beaten I think they will need at least 2 or 3 goals. That said, If Dublin get any kind of a lead here id fully expect them to see it out this time."
Good analysis, Donegal will need 2 or 3 goals to have any chance of winning. I think Donegal should try the long ball into Murphy and McBrearty but RG plays a possession type game so I doubt if this will happen. I expect Donegal to have everybody behind the ball and try to frustrate Dublin. Dublin will need to show patience, something they didn't do in 2014, they tried to blow Donegal out of the water early and ran out of steam. I think Dublin will have learned from that though.

Not sure if this will be an open and attractive game. The league in February between the two sides was defensive enough. Both teams filtered a lot of men back but obviously Dublin attacked with greater vigor.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 31/07/2016 18:47:17    1893032

2014 is long gone lads. Its all about 2016. 50/50 game no matter what shaggykev thinks. COYBIB!! Can't wait!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 18:56:36    1893042

Replying To superbluedub:  "It bothered us so much we went on to win the treble in 2015
Remind us again what donegal won in 2014??no point in crowing about winning semi finals,winning sam is all that matters."
The treble.. You sound like a Man Utd supporter there! If you're counting Leinster titles, well...

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 19:00:35    1893049