Dublin v Donegal

Replying To Donegalman:  "With a week to prepare for the next game, it is impossible to give 100% in both fixtures. Same with cork. They had to keep a bit up their sleeve. Also, I have never seen McGynn being subbed in my life, but he was taken off yesterday for the same reason.

I also think there was a burn out issue going on from our 2016 campaign. Anyone who knows anything about modern training cycles will realize that you cant peak for every fixture that you have in front of you. There will be more intensity brought next saturday, but it will be impossible to keep it up for 70 minutes.

We should put murphy in around the house this time as he will be at sea against the dubs the way his mobility is now if he is played out the pitch."
He was taken of in Clones in Ulster final- did u miss the game?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 12:41:16    1892742

Replying To Pericles:  "Murphy spent 80+ percent of yesterday's game between the two 45's. You seem to be a great man Eunan's for the contrary view, and don't let the facts get in the way. Donegal made and took some good scores yesterday, but the vast bulk were created through a very structured approach. It's been the hallmark of Donegal's play this year, with fairly common situations when all 15, including PMB, were back behind the halfway line. This should have delivered a win against Tyrone, in my view Donegal left the game behind. Against Cork yesterday it wasn't winning the game until Cork ran out of energy. But against the Dubs, who are excellent at using their bench, I feel your lads will need to mix things up a bit. It looks like other posters think the same."
Nope your 100% wrong- Murphy was inside with Paddy and made all the unselfish runs then to free the space for Paddy to lord it up......

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 12:42:36    1892743

I would be very impressed with a team scoring 21 points and been ultra defensive!!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 12:45:56    1892745

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I would be very impressed with a team scoring 21 points and been ultra defensive!!"
You can set up ultra defensively and score lots.........depending on who you are playing!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 13:02:03    1892750

I can't see donegal winning this, cork were walking through them yesterday so if they our that open they will get well beaten, one thing i want to see is murphy on the square he will destroy copper but fear rory will play him around the middle again.
Dublin by 8 plus.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 31/07/2016 13:09:48    1892753

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I would be very impressed with a team scoring 21 points and been ultra defensive!!"
+ 1...

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 13:33:51    1892764

Replying To JayP:  "You can set up ultra defensively and score lots.........depending on who you are playing!!!!"
Did we set up ultra defensive in semi in 2014?? we scored 6 more than ye.......

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 13:34:20    1892765

Replying To Yourjoking:  "I can't see donegal winning this, cork were walking through them yesterday so if they our that open they will get well beaten, one thing i want to see is murphy on the square he will destroy copper but fear rory will play him around the middle again.
Dublin by 8 plus."
Your joking , right !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 31/07/2016 13:42:23    1892768

Colm orourke has ...4 times already mentioned kerry thinking about dublin. Mental stuff considering they still have to win this games against donegal next week. This will be a seriously difficult game for the dubs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 13:49:23    1892771

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Did we set up ultra defensive in semi in 2014?? we scored 6 more than ye......."
How's that semi final trophy looking?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 14:35:56    1892797

Replying To JayP:  "How's that semi final trophy looking?"
There's no such thing as a semi-final trophy you know. There is a nice satisfaction however when you've smashed a team which was lauded as unbeatable, going for 5 Sams in a row (despite having only one behind them on that imaginary run), knowing they have 10 or 11 times the size of your population to pick from, limitless financial resources, had ridiculous betting odds, a totally biased media behind them... It was hilarious afterwards as well as throughly enjoyable.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 15:10:48    1892824

Replying To waynoI:  "Colm orourke has ...4 times already mentioned kerry thinking about dublin. Mental stuff considering they still have to win this games against donegal next week. This will be a seriously difficult game for the dubs."
Tommy Carr also talking about Kerry not being as sloppy v Dublin

As RTE don't have TV rights for Dublin v Donegal - maybe they have a deal done on the semi final pairings !

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 31/07/2016 15:15:45    1892829

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There's no such thing as a semi-final trophy you know. There is a nice satisfaction however when you've smashed a team which was lauded as unbeatable, going for 5 Sams in a row (despite having only one behind them on that imaginary run), knowing they have 10 or 11 times the size of your population to pick from, limitless financial resources, had ridiculous betting odds, a totally biased media behind them... It was hilarious afterwards as well as throughly enjoyable."
Yeah, when ye lost to Kerry that must have gave you comfort. We moved on and won the National League and Leinster Title and All Ireland the following year.

Just saying....

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 15:20:12    1892832

Replying To JayP:  "Yeah, when ye lost to Kerry that must have gave you comfort. We moved on and won the National League and Leinster Title and All Ireland the following year.

Just saying...."
So in actual fact they did us a massive favour you could say!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 15:23:59    1892836

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There's no such thing as a semi-final trophy you know. There is a nice satisfaction however when you've smashed a team which was lauded as unbeatable, going for 5 Sams in a row (despite having only one behind them on that imaginary run), knowing they have 10 or 11 times the size of your population to pick from, limitless financial resources, had ridiculous betting odds, a totally biased media behind them... It was hilarious afterwards as well as throughly enjoyable."
As hilarious as Paul Durcan's kick-out?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 15:27:07    1892838

Replying To JayP:  "Yeah, when ye lost to Kerry that must have gave you comfort. We moved on and won the National League and Leinster Title and All Ireland the following year.

Just saying...."
For a county with the resources and manpower that I mentioned above, your All Ireland title return is actually pretty lame.. You can act all high and mighty and rubbish counties with much less resources than your own county, but statistically, you should have about 20 more All Irelands than everyone else; instead you're number two on the list to Kerry.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 15:29:13    1892840

Replying To CroiGorm:  "As hilarious as Paul Durcan's kick-out?"
Durcan, a multi All-Star winning keeper you're on about? His kick outs are generally immense. His kick outs destroyed Dublin in 2014. Is that what you're on about?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 15:35:06    1892843

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "For a county with the resources and manpower that I mentioned above, your All Ireland title return is actually pretty lame.. You can act all high and mighty and rubbish counties with much less resources than your own county, but statistically, you should have about 20 more All Irelands than everyone else; instead you're number two on the list to Kerry."
That hurt. I'm crying on the inside and my heart bleeds for you!

See you next week.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 15:37:05    1892847

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Nope your 100% wrong- Murphy was inside with Paddy and made all the unselfish runs then to free the space for Paddy to lord it up......"
Thought Murphy was wearing the number 14 jersey Eunan, my mistake if that wasn't so.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2016 15:38:19    1892848

It was thourally deserved as well, although the guff about Dublins advantages is ridiculous, that said Paul Durcan enjoyed many of those advantages playing for Ballyboden this year pity he decided not to tog out for his county. I for one won't beleive the hyperbole surounding Dublin this week. This game will be very tight and a bruising affair.

Will be nothing easy in this real route to an Ireland.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/07/2016 15:39:41    1892850