Dublin v Donegal

Replying To shaggykev:  "Donegal were 7/1 back in 2014 but only 9/2 this year????
World of difference between games and the deck fully loaded in Dublin's favour

1. Home advantage-but sure ye poor lads need that advantage for every game
2. Panel-Dublin have a factory of players whilst Donegal cobble together our broken warriors for one more battle
3. Short turnaround-if Donegal had their games as spaced out as Dublin, this would be a fair fight but this will be their sixth game in ten weeks. Dublin have played twice in that time
4. Fatigue- see point 2&3 combining.
5. Extra time- the increase in added time only suits bigger panels and if Donegal were competing after 60 minutes now it's likely these tired players will not only face another seven fresh championship quality players, they'll need to hold them off for a further five minutes injury time.

Donegal have been on the end of a big defeat each of the last three times they made this stage through qualifiers.

Dublin will probably win handily next week but it won't be true revenge for 2014. You can never take that defeat away and this time you've been handed the chance to get victory with the deck fully loaded in your favour. With all the millions ye have, more coaches than bus eireann and a the biggest depth of squad the game has even seen, it would have been nice if the GAA could find a structure to give the smaller teams a fighting chance"
Make things easy for youreselves and win youre province. that way you wouldn't have 6 games in 10 weeks.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 31/07/2016 09:44:07    1892660

Donegal and/or Mayo reaching the semi-finals can't be ruled out.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7879 - 31/07/2016 09:49:26    1892663

Whose not giving Donegal a chance? Besides nearly all there own on here, everyone gets bed Donegal a chance. They bet us two years ago so I don't get the ambush comment but anyway we Dubs are nervous and excited cause we know Donegal can cause us big problems. I went to the league game for me sins and Thats exactly how Donegal will try and win this game , they will be twice as defensive next Saturday as they were yesterday we just have to stay patient and hold our positions in defence.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2016 10:11:27    1892668

Replying To legendzxix:  "Donegal and/or Mayo reaching the semi-finals can't be ruled out."
No shit sherlock. Gold star for you

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 10:36:43    1892680

"Gets bed" wtf ha, "gives Donegal a chance"

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2016 10:37:14    1892681

Ah yes bitegate....gougegate....try to break a mans fingergate....stampgate.....no doubt a huge amount of mudslinging on its way. Oh joy.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 10:40:43    1892685

Donegal would be foolish to not at least start Murphy full forward for this one.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 10:59:46    1892693

Was at the game yesterday. They were ultra defensive. But the lack of physicality by both teams was obvious. Cork ran through the Donegal blanket quite easily. Just look at the scoreline!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 11:00:59    1892694

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Whose not giving Donegal a chance? Besides nearly all there own on here, everyone gets bed Donegal a chance. They bet us two years ago so I don't get the ambush comment but anyway we Dubs are nervous and excited cause we know Donegal can cause us big problems. I went to the league game for me sins and Thats exactly how Donegal will try and win this game , they will be twice as defensive next Saturday as they were yesterday we just have to stay patient and hold our positions in defence."
Defence as yesterday???? Lazy analysis- we scored 21 points...

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 11:26:59    1892703

Replying To JayP:  "Was at the game yesterday. They were ultra defensive. But the lack of physicality by both teams was obvious. Cork ran through the Donegal blanket quite easily. Just look at the scoreline!"
Ultra defensive??????

How ye figure that out with 21 points ???

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 11:28:25    1892704

Replying To superdub:  "Make things easy for youreselves and win youre province. that way you wouldn't have 6 games in 10 weeks."
Have you's even had a real game yet?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 11:32:05    1892708

How can anyone say ultra defensive when a team has scored 21 times? Guys need to check what they are posting

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/07/2016 11:36:43    1892710

Replying To JayP:  "Was at the game yesterday. They were ultra defensive. But the lack of physicality by both teams was obvious. Cork ran through the Donegal blanket quite easily. Just look at the scoreline!"
With a week to prepare for the next game, it is impossible to give 100% in both fixtures. Same with cork. They had to keep a bit up their sleeve. Also, I have never seen McGynn being subbed in my life, but he was taken off yesterday for the same reason.

I also think there was a burn out issue going on from our 2016 campaign. Anyone who knows anything about modern training cycles will realize that you cant peak for every fixture that you have in front of you. There will be more intensity brought next saturday, but it will be impossible to keep it up for 70 minutes.

We should put murphy in around the house this time as he will be at sea against the dubs the way his mobility is now if he is played out the pitch.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/07/2016 11:42:54    1892713

One match up that all neutrals will want to see. Neil McGee on Diarmuid Connolly. Talk about a match made in heaven. They'll still be trying to dig them out of each other at bedtime.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 31/07/2016 11:51:00    1892716

And by that stage the ref won't have a card left in his pocket.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 31/07/2016 11:52:01    1892717

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You clearly didn't watch the gsme as Murphy spent most game inside with PMB"
Murphy spent 80+ percent of yesterday's game between the two 45's. You seem to be a great man Eunan's for the contrary view, and don't let the facts get in the way. Donegal made and took some good scores yesterday, but the vast bulk were created through a very structured approach. It's been the hallmark of Donegal's play this year, with fairly common situations when all 15, including PMB, were back behind the halfway line. This should have delivered a win against Tyrone, in my view Donegal left the game behind. Against Cork yesterday it wasn't winning the game until Cork ran out of energy. But against the Dubs, who are excellent at using their bench, I feel your lads will need to mix things up a bit. It looks like other posters think the same.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2016 11:57:16    1892721

Well browncows, after checking my post I will repeat Donegal set up ultra defensively!!!

Also note my comment on physicality, both sides lacked the intensity usually seen in later championship games. There wasnt a big tackle in the game. The game was played at challenge game pace.

Both teams navigated the others defensive system with ease. So a high scoring game resulted. Cork just ran lines straight through Donegals denfensive cover at will.

All Im saying is the ultra denfesive system was there, it just lacked any intensity. Now Donegal will up it next week Im sure. If Donegal play at that tempo next week we all know what the result will be like.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 12:03:43    1892726

Pericles....

Correct about Murphy. When Donegal moved up the pitch and were forced to handpass and recycle possession he drifted in towards the posts to try link a pass to get runners in. He drifted up the pitch a couple of times within 30 yards of McBrearty but most of the game he spent between the 45s. McBrearty spent long periods of that game on his own up top. Donegal had 13 bodies including Murphy inside their 45 when Cork were held up on the break.

I accept both teams have had games over a number of weeks that would drain them. But it lacked real intensity.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 12:23:25    1892733

I agree with JayP, the game yesterday was like friendly, but the Dubs can expect a lot more bite next Sunday, given the rivalry between the sides.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2016 12:30:44    1892736

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree with JayP, the game yesterday was like friendly, but the Dubs can expect a lot more bite next Sunday, given the rivalry between the sides."
Saturday, not Sunday.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2016 12:34:38    1892738