Dublin v Donegal

Replying To JayP:  "
Replying To Mobot:  "[quote=KYTitletown:  "link

Give it a rest Gentleman Jim please"
Very good analysis and really highlights alot of Dublin's strenghts as well as how they had obvious instructions from Gavin to stop Ryan McHugh from running."
I can pause clips and draw circles too! Take any still from any game and you can claim what you like. Lots of lazy analysis there in that piece of "journalism""]Haha how can you call that lazy? It is, in fact, less lazy than most journalism since he actually puts pics in to show it. What more do you actually want? Watch it back yourself if you need any more than that. Rob is a Dub himself so you can't even accuse him of bias.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 10/08/2016 20:05:47    1899611

On a completely separate note, I noticed the last day that Dublin made their substitutions on Donegal kicks out. I thought at first it was just coincidence but it happened every time. I don't know if all teams do this or is it another example of Dublin being ahead of the posse.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 10/08/2016 22:24:28    1899670

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What aload of bs article that is."
On what grounds do you think it's BS
Mchugh was taken out of it on numerous occasions - Do you disagree

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/08/2016 22:35:05    1899677

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "On a completely separate note, I noticed the last day that Dublin made their substitutions on Donegal kicks out. I thought at first it was just coincidence but it happened every time. I don't know if all teams do this or is it another example of Dublin being ahead of the posse."
Breaks in play presumably.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2016 22:59:19    1899687

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "...Gavin comes across as a poor winner highlighting poor Connolly's plight when he got himself sent off on Saturday but I suppose mission accomplished because some people actually think he didn't deserve his 2 yellows.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts:388

Which of the following scenarios do you think is most likely:

i) After the match, Gavin entered the press conference, asked for silence and declared that Connolly was targeted and needs more protection from refs etc.

or

ii) After the match, Gavin entered the press conference, was asked by one of the reporters present whether he thought that Connolly was targeted given that it had happened in the past, other pundits had shared this view and one manager came out and said that this was part of their plan. Gavin then said that he thought Connolly was targeted etc.

If you think scenario i) occurred, then I would concur that Gavin appears to be a poor winner.
If you think scenario ii) occurred, then I can't see how you could come to that conclusion.

I guess the headline, "Gavin blasts opponents for targeting Connolly" is much sexier than "Man gives honest opinion to question based on all available evidence". It sure swayed your opinion."
Obviously he was asked a question and answered it. However I find it rich when this particular red card was 100% deserved. We're at the business end so Gavin will do what he feels has to do to gain any sort of advantage, and maybe Connolly will get away with the odd lazy tackle the next day who knows, and if he does then well done Jim Gavin.

I'm just honestly in disbelief that some Dublin fans, after winning the game deservedly, seem to have a problem with admitting that Connolly deserved both yellows, that you targeted Ryan McHugh to stop his runs and counter attacking, and were more than capable of some cynical fouling to close out the game. You are winners, and as frustrating as it was to watch from a Donegal POV, I'd be raging if my team didn't do the same in a winning position.

The best team in the country - yes. The most talented attacking and footballing team in the country - yes. But let's not pretend that you are angels "trying to play football the right way" like Gavin is saying - you do what you have to in order to win Sam, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/08/2016 10:21:24    1899762

Replying To Joxer:  "Breaks in play presumably."
But not a break in play as Dublin were about to take a kick out. Every Dublin substitution slowed down a Donegal kick out. Watch it back and see. You lads leave nothing to chance and why not.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 11/08/2016 12:10:25    1899814

Replying To JoeSoap:  "
Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "...Gavin comes across as a poor winner highlighting poor Connolly's plight when he got himself sent off on Saturday but I suppose mission accomplished because some people actually think he didn't deserve his 2 yellows.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts:388

Which of the following scenarios do you think is most likely:

i) After the match, Gavin entered the press conference, asked for silence and declared that Connolly was targeted and needs more protection from refs etc.

or

ii) After the match, Gavin entered the press conference, was asked by one of the reporters present whether he thought that Connolly was targeted given that it had happened in the past, other pundits had shared this view and one manager came out and said that this was part of their plan. Gavin then said that he thought Connolly was targeted etc.

If you think scenario i) occurred, then I would concur that Gavin appears to be a poor winner.
If you think scenario ii) occurred, then I can't see how you could come to that conclusion.

I guess the headline, "Gavin blasts opponents for targeting Connolly" is much sexier than "Man gives honest opinion to question based on all available evidence". It sure swayed your opinion."
Obviously he was asked a question and answered it. However I find it rich when this particular red card was 100% deserved. We're at the business end so Gavin will do what he feels has to do to gain any sort of advantage, and maybe Connolly will get away with the odd lazy tackle the next day who knows, and if he does then well done Jim Gavin.

I'm just honestly in disbelief that some Dublin fans, after winning the game deservedly, seem to have a problem with admitting that Connolly deserved both yellows, that you targeted Ryan McHugh to stop his runs and counter attacking, and were more than capable of some cynical fouling to close out the game. You are winners, and as frustrating as it was to watch from a Donegal POV, I'd be raging if my team didn't do the same in a winning position.

The best team in the country - yes. The most talented attacking and footballing team in the country - yes. But let's not pretend that you are angels "trying to play football the right way" like Gavin is saying - you do what you have to in order to win Sam, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that!"
Exactly . This Connolly thing is getting cringe at this stage.

Ryan McHugh was physically and verbally abused throughout but he didn't react .

Connolly is a great baller but cannot always be in the right . He needs to mature as it's not what a good role model would do .

Donegal couldn't score much from play as McHugh got dragged down / fouled almost every time . Dublin do what they do and fair play .

Despite all that - Dublin were a distance the better side .

I don't think Dublin get enough credit for their work rate . They hound in packs and are good at turning it over . Gavin deserves credit here .

Their forwards are frightening and it's going to take some performance to beat them .

All credit to Dublin though . The lessons they have learned from 2014 are admirable and I think they will do the back to back .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 11/08/2016 13:10:36    1899853

Time to move on to the next game. This game is long over.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/08/2016 13:27:10    1899861

Ryan McHugh was physically and verbally abused throughout but he didn't react .
Connolly is a great baller but cannot always be in the right . He needs to mature as it's not what a good role model would do .
Donegal couldn't score much from play as McHugh got dragged down / fouled almost every time . Dublin do what they do and fair play .
I don't think Dublin get enough credit for their work rate . They hound in packs and are good at turning it over . Gavin deserves credit here .
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts:1461 - 11/08/2016 13:10:36 1899853

The Sunday Game focused on both of Diarmuid Connolly's yellow cards, and I think both were justified, although the first should have probably been a black for blocking Ryan McHugh's run and dragging him to the ground. The 2nd yellow was also shown on highlights, and he clearly folded Thompson. I was baffled at chat of him being targeted, as Diarmuid Connolly seemed to be doing a lot of the targeting himself.

Ronan O'Gara shouldn't have got a red card for his belly tap on Neil McGee, that was a stupid decision. But Diarmuid Connolly is lucky he wasn't black carded much earlier, I think his poor discipline is something that detracts from his undoubted ability.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 11/08/2016 13:55:43    1899878

Simple as this

He's being targeted, it's been stated in the media by managers who were directly responsible for ordering it in the first place

He was targeted

He shouldn't have got a yellow in the first half. Now ay was that a yellow and the ref got that call wrong, and took the lazy options.

His 2nd tackle was mistimed and the Donegal lads made sure to make a huge fuss about it, all got around the ref etc etc

It was a yellow card, but all this stuff is getting very unsporting and ugly and all sides are guilty of it

Connolly's actions did not warrant a red card in that game

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 11/08/2016 15:00:49    1899922

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Ryan McHugh was physically and verbally abused throughout but he didn't react .

The Sunday Game focused on both of Diarmuid Connolly's yellow cards, and I think both were justified, although the first should have probably been a black for blocking Ryan McHugh's run and dragging him to the ground. The 2nd yellow was also shown on highlights, and he clearly folded Thompson. I was baffled at chat of him being targeted, as Diarmuid Connolly seemed to be doing a lot of the targeting himself.

Ronan O'Gara shouldn't have got a red card for his belly tap on Neil McGee, that was a stupid decision. But Diarmuid Connolly is lucky he wasn't black carded much earlier, I think his poor discipline is something that detracts from his undoubted ability."
Yeah I think Connolly is nothing but an awesome footballer but he keeps letting himself down .

This 'targeting ' though is laughable . Players on both sides were at it and it will go on in the next few games too .

Look at Mayo - Dublin last year . Shocking stuff but that's the way it goes .

Anyway let's move on .

Donegal are out and Dublin advance .

The better team won and that's all that matters.

A lot of those players know each other quite well personally so at the end of the day it's only a game. Look at the likes of Philly McMahon and Neil McGee . Both tough as nails and hard men but good guys off the pitch .

Even though my county are gone - I cannot wait for Dublin Kerry .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 11/08/2016 15:12:21    1899933

Replying To jimbodub:  "Simple as this

He's being targeted, it's been stated in the media by managers who were directly responsible for ordering it in the first place

He was targeted

He shouldn't have got a yellow in the first half. Now ay was that a yellow and the ref got that call wrong, and took the lazy options.

His 2nd tackle was mistimed and the Donegal lads made sure to make a huge fuss about it, all got around the ref etc etc

It was a yellow card, but all this stuff is getting very unsporting and ugly and all sides are guilty of it

Connolly's actions did not warrant a red card in that game"
You're right, His first card shouldn't have been a yellow, The Sunday Game showed him blocking Ryan McHugh's run during a Donegal attack, and actually dragging McHugh to the ground. It should have been a black card!! And Ryan McHugh should not have been booked at all.

Both incidents considered, Diarmuid Connolly definitely deserved to be sent off. I just don't see how he is targeted anymore than any other top player,

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 11/08/2016 15:36:50    1899949

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "
Replying To GaryMc82:  "Ryan McHugh was physically and verbally abused throughout but he didn't react .

Ronan O'Gara shouldn't have got a red card for his belly tap on Neil McGee, that was a stupid decision. But Diarmuid Connolly is lucky he wasn't black carded much earlier, I think his poor discipline is something that detracts from his undoubted ability."
Yeah I think Connolly is nothing but an awesome footballer but he keeps letting himself down .

This 'targeting ' though is laughable . Players on both sides were at it and it will go on in the next few games too .

Look at Mayo - Dublin last year . Shocking stuff but that's the way it goes .

Anyway let's move on .

Donegal are out and Dublin advance .

The better team won and that's all that matters.

A lot of those players know each other quite well personally so at the end of the day it's only a game. Look at the likes of Philly McMahon and Neil McGee . Both tough as nails and hard men but good guys off the pitch .

Even though my county are gone - I cannot wait for Dublin Kerry ."
Completely agree with you. I think it's time we moved on form this game and like you as a netueral I'm really looking forward to the Dublin v Kerry game. I think the game will have everything and although Dublin are rightly favs you can never write off Kerry.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 11/08/2016 15:47:39    1899957